Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Well-researched and Very Thorough Biography
For those who grew up 'worshipping' Jimmy Page as the cream of the pantheon of guitar-gods & rock royalty, they will undoubtedly find this to be the best biography of Jimmy in existence. The author does not hide the fact that he is a massive fan, but despite that, he seems to have maintained as unbiased an approach as possible. The bibliography shows a huge list of...
Published on February 18, 2012 by P. Jarosz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched and Well Written .... Just nothing new.
This is one of those biographies that the author received no cooperation from the subject in the writing of the book. The author went ahead anyway and researched and wrote the book from existing information from various and wide ranged sources. The book is well organized with the sources of the information explicitly documented.

The author writes very well. I...
Published 23 months ago by JBB1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Well-researched and Very Thorough Biography, February 18, 2012
By 
P. Jarosz (Gulf Coast, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
For those who grew up 'worshipping' Jimmy Page as the cream of the pantheon of guitar-gods & rock royalty, they will undoubtedly find this to be the best biography of Jimmy in existence. The author does not hide the fact that he is a massive fan, but despite that, he seems to have maintained as unbiased an approach as possible. The bibliography shows a huge list of materials that the author pulled from. His exhaustive research has provided the best insight into one of the most mysterious and elusive musicians of the rock era. My assumption is you can't find anything more accurate out there. I believe the author when he said he did not make up anything, and he did his best to corroborate everything he included. It naturally starts when Jimmy was a young lad and runs all the way through the Beijing Olympics where he made a surprise showing at the closing ceremony, and of course everything in between. The book covers all aspects of Jimmy's life, including the dark side of his drinking, drugs, and occult interests. The good news is that unlike other books, the author does not glorify or sensationalize it in order to increase sales. It happened, therefore he recorded it, end of story. The book is also excellent for guitarists since the author mentions some of the technical side of Jimmy's playing e.g. the guitars he used, his tunings, scales, etc. The author is very good with a phrase, and along with his broad vocabulary & knowledge of adjectives, he sometimes comes across as trying a bit too hard to sound like a literary master when this is just a biography. Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable, fast read that brings back a lot of memories for those of us who grew up in this era and were massive fans. The book also contains a nice number of excellent photos and a section listing every song Jimmy has ever played guitar on (which is quite useful for the completist or fanatical fan). Overall Highly Recommended and rated five stars (although I took one off since Jimmy never endorsed or commented on this book). Zoso forever.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched and Well Written .... Just nothing new., August 7, 2012
By 
JBB1 (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
This is one of those biographies that the author received no cooperation from the subject in the writing of the book. The author went ahead anyway and researched and wrote the book from existing information from various and wide ranged sources. The book is well organized with the sources of the information explicitly documented.

The author writes very well. I particularly liked how he used his musical background to give insight on how a particular song was written or played.

Despite the positives of the book I only rated it three stars since there were no relevations in the book about Jimmy Page since everything in the book had previously been known, but just not consolidated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Page - Guitar Man, May 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
I found the book rather insightful of the man and his craft. Moreover the early days when the Yardbirds were spliting up and Led Zeppelin was forming, this was very helpful. After the death of John Bonham, Jimmy's attempts at his own style, which actually was Led Zeppelin, but not under his name, was very helpful in seeing his struggle. All in all, 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book about the virtuoso Jimmy Page., October 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Jimmy Page! This book was very interesting, I learned quite a few new things about the greatest guitarist alive. He is the sexiest man alive, even now at almost 70. He is aging like a very fine wine. The silver fox. The music from Led Zeppelin is like a Van Gogh. Priceless! I also remember when the first album came out, it was 1969, and I was 8 years old. The songs touched my soul, imprinting on me like a tattoo. The best music ever created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rewarding read, even if you're not a devoted fan, March 4, 2013
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
This is easily one of the best-written rock biographies anywhere, what with being clear-eyed and analytical about the artist and his group, and not at all beyond turning out a critical assessment of the admired musician who's its subject. The discussion about the musician, more so than about Jimmy Page the person, is detailed, probing and well-informed -- in fact, musicologically it often ranges well beyond me, what with spelling out special tunings of his guitar, niceties about Page's sound-board wizardry as a producer, the array of amps and legendary guitars used onstage, etc. And it's well-written to boot! Can't complain...

Once George Case has done the above, traversing the career chronologically, he suddenly has a full section where he compares Page to his contemporaries and peers (Jeff Beck, Clapton, Hendrix, etc.), as well as to his progeny (guitarists for Grand Funk, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Rush, Van Halen, Guns 'n Roses, etc). His analyses and observations, and these guitarists' own cited views, were illuminating. They even helped me nail down just why I admired and tapped to this music, and still do, while I never quite came to love it. In Clapton's words, very often it was "...unnecessarily loud ...a lot of it was just too much. They overemphasized whatever point they were making" (p. 87) I'm no Clapton worshipper -- well, not beyond the 'Layla & Other Love Songs' double LP -- but he's pretty much on the money here.

Apparently Page was annoyed that Led Zeppelin was often compared to and lumped in with Grand Funk, Black Sabbath and the heavy metal crew. But heavy metal was generally earnest, not known for humour, dark and unsubtle, and sometimes malevolent. And Zep were, in fact, often loud and hard. Apart from the tenor of the music, their roadies' decree that there'd be "No backstage passes without head" for gals wanting to welcome their idols, plus their manager's and crew's reputation for occasional send-you-to-the-hospital violence, certainly placed them in the malevolent sector of rock, and of music.

Mind you, when I hear the music, especially their early songs, I realize just how outstanding it is, and after reading this book I plan to invest in a better collection of that material.

A rewarding read, then, even if you're not a devoted fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I understood a lot more about guitar playing in general and how the very best players create their own signature styles while ta, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book focused a lot on his guitar playing; the author provided detailed descriptions of his playing styles and the methods he had invented and developed himself. I understood a lot more about guitar playing in general and how the very best players create their own signature styles while taking little bits from each other. The best seem to challenge each other while teaching each other at the same time. I'd never looked at guitar playing with such a critical eye before. I seriously see it as such a creative process now and understand why so many players have a guitar nearby at all times. It's pretty amazing. Seeing Jimmy's professional character fleshed out the way it was in this book was interesting to me in a way that all of his personal flaws and demons weren't. I'm so glad that this book placed more importance on the music and the musician as opposed to the wildly unbalanced drug addict and sexual sadist. His lust for young girls painted him as a pedophile, and that was tough reading. There was much written about the band's etiology; how and why the band got together in the first place. My reaction to this was: who the hell cares? I mean, really? Whatever the formula, it worked. Led Zeppelin created some of the best and most innovative rock music of the decade and ultimately, of the century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's the Best of the Best, April 17, 2014
By 
J. Lavoie (VT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
This is an unauthorized biography but I loved it all the more because it was written by a true fan. A fan who thoroughly honed in on his craft of writing a book without offending Jimmy Page, as well as giving us Page fans an expansive look into his very early years, then the stardom years (which extend into these present years) of being Jimmy Page.

I grew up listening to Led Zeplin and knowing that they had something more than other rock groups had; thus said, it's a wonder to me still how Page wrote such pioneering songs of rock n' roll. He took the blues, but no one had ever really written music from such a hard or loud edge, combining all into rock and roll.
Before long those of us that wanted to hear more of this type of music did from artists such as Jimmy Hendrix, Jopplin, Aerosmith, Motley Crue, Van Halen, to name only a few. From there, it branched out. (And I don't mean to ignore The Stones, Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck), or the 1970's bands that came out with their on-going rock and roll tunes such as STYX, REO Speedwagon, Boston, and the list goes on of rocker bands.

I am proud to see Jimmy Page put his heart into a foundation that is close to his heart in these later years and I thank him for doing so as every humn being should give of what ever they can of themselves at some moment in their lifetime to a meaningful charity(s).

This is a 5 star book to me because it was so well put together, chronicalized, and all material in this book can be looked up and shown in the back of the book to any and all questionable statements and truths. I truly enjoyed this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Zep Fan Should Read This Book!, May 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
This was an excellent look into the world of one of rock's greatest guitarist/songwriters. Very well written & informative. I highly recommend this book to all Rock & roll fans, especially if you like zeppelin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written, full of speculation, November 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
I am a Jimmy Page freak. I love Everythging he has ever done on the guitar. I was really lookingforward to this book. Having read pretty much every book published and several guitar magazine interviews, I can tell you with absolute truth that this book is horrible. The writing style is jumbled and nonsensical, with no clear direction. The entire work is nothing but interview quotes and snipes from other published works, followed by the authors opinion. He has never met Jimmy Page, nor has he ever met anyone associated with him (to his credit, he does mention this at the end of the book). This reads like a poorly structured term paper. The obvious unoriginal and uninformed information is not the issue however, its the authors complete speculation. Example - The author feels that the reason Jimmy Page has security is partially due to his attachments to the occult - over 30 years ago. Please do not bother with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for the Zepplin fans, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography (Paperback)
Great guitarist, great story. I'm a huge Zepplin fan so this was easy for me to read. I read this book in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography
Jimmy Page: Magus, Musician, Man: An Unauthorized Biography by George Case (Paperback - April 15, 2009)
$16.99 $11.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.