Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Big Savings in the Amazon Fall Sportsman Event STEM Toys & Games
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The case shows normal wear. The CD shows very minor wear if any at all.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Jlw
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player


1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, June 7, 1994
"Please retry"
$46.94 $0.01
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

Joe Louis Walker's JLW has never been in more soulful voice nor has his guitar playing ever been so lean and eloquent. He has chosen his songs wisely--mixing three originals with four excellent contemporary numbers plus four R&B standards revamped as blues tunes--and he has fleshed out eight of the arrangements with either a horn section or a gospel quartet. As a result, Walker's emotionally charged vocals have top-notch material to work with and are supported by the most sympathetic context imaginable.

Walker is a former gospel singer himself, and he brings the full-chested sound of conviction to secular laments such as "Rain on My Window" and "Alone." He opens his own composition, "12-Step Lovin'," with a stinging guitar summary of the melody and then has his guitar comment caustically on every vocal complaint about the addictive qualities of love. The album's best song is Carl Schumacher's "Inner City Man," a slow blues about the trials of modern life in urban America; Walker's robust vocal is echoed in the sustaining harmonies of the Gospel Hummingbirds and saxophonist Branford Marsalis.

Walker is joined by duet vocalist Angela Strehli, the Tower of Power Horns and his rocking road band, the Bosstalkers, on a punchy version of "Hold On"; he is accompanied only by his own dobro and James Cotton's harmonica on the rural blues of "Going to Canada." Either way--electric or acoustic, pained or exuberant--Walker is a tremendous singer who can grab hold of both melody and story and squeeze them dry. --Geoffrey Himes

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song Title Time Price
  1. I Can't Get You Off My Mind (Album Version) 4:38$0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. I Need Your Lovin' Every Day (Album Version) 5:30$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Rain On My Mind (Album Version) 5:58$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Inner City Man (Album Version) 6:38$0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. On That Powerline (Album Version) 3:21$0.69  Buy MP3 
  6. Hold On (Album Version) 5:40$0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. 12-Step Lovin (Album Version) 6:27$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Alone (Album Version) 4:05$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Got To Find My Baby (Album Version) 4:16$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Lost The Will To Love Me (Album Version) 4:48$0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Going To Canada (Album Version) 3:55$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 7, 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Polygram Records
  • ASIN: B0000046V8
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #335,048 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By PhruagDubba on June 11, 2000
Format: Audio CD
Joe Louis Walker lets it all hang out there on every track. Backed by his tight group "the Bosstalkers", Joe Louis Walker plays the a blues that is no style but his own. This collection also has a number of great surprises. The Tower of Power horn section blares through a few number. And if that's not enough for you, Bradford Marsallis plays is meloncholy tenor sax during Inner City Man. Guitar driven with a whole lot of soul Joe Louis Walker's JLW is surely a must own for all you blues finantics.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in