Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Have Had A Third Season!
I couldn't believe that CBS cancelled this wonderful show after only 2 seasons! It received a lot of attention and even won awards during its first season, but for whatever reason, was dismissed in its second season. The season/series finale had the show poised for a terrific third season, had the show continued, with Joan now battling her foe, a young man possibly...
Published on August 25, 2006 by Buffy

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as the first season
The first season was original and compelling. This second season doesn;t come ñup to the same level. Some of the story lines seem a bit contrived, as though the writers are running out of ideas. It still manages to show religious faith in a positive light and point the moral compass in a values-oriented direction. The acting is excellent.
Published on March 8, 2007 by Barry007


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Customer Review of Joan of Arcadia 2d Season, January 14, 2007
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
Quite simply the best series ever produced. This is a TV drama with real characters and universal issues beautifully captured in today's culture. It is a 33 hour epic drama with every chapter building on the previous. Every chapter stands on its own, but don't try to pick it up in the middle. There are lots of threads but the best theme is the way they all come together--it is incredible how everything kept coming together. JoA is above all the story of an average middle class family. Admittedly the teenage daughter is the central character, but every family member is developed better than even the lead characters in most TV dramas. Every character deals with the universal issues in their own way. Yet the family holds together amid great stress. I am among those who are very disappointed the series was cancelled after the 2d season, but I am even more incredulous that it was produced at all. It is not surprising, really, that it was cancelled because the counter-cultural subject matter began controversial and necessarily became ever more so. The last chapter reveals the path where the series just had to go in the 3rd season. No popular producer could ever go there. This TV series deserves a place with the world's best literature, and also with the very best theology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting a face on God..., December 3, 2006
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
Sixteen-year-old Joan Girardi thinks she's cracking up when God begins speaking to her. In the form of a cute teenage boy on the street, of an elderly woman volunteering at her school, or of someone on television, Joan keeps getting messages from God, telling her what she needs to do.

It's about the last thing Joan needs. She's just moved to Arcadia, where her dad Will is the new police chief, and she and her geeky younger brother Luke have to get used to a new school. Meanwhile, Joan's older brother Kevin has his own struggles since becoming a paraplegic in a car wreck just after high school graduation -- struggles which have drastically changed the entire family.

More interestingly, Joan's mother Helen also begins to experience dreams and encounters much like her daughter's...unbeknownest to either of them. Geeky Luke falls in love with tough Grace, who is actually softer than she likes to admit; Kevin struggles to find closure regarding the accident; and Joan discovers that just as she has chosen to become God's follower, others may have chosen the alternate path and will fight her til the bitter end.

Although Joan doesn't understand the directions that God gives her, she does her best to obey...even when it causes misunderstandings and sometimes arguments between herself and those around her. Ultimately, she tends to see that whatever God tells her to do ends in a positive change reaction, such as when she befriends a classmate named Adam, whose father is a janitor for the police department, and knows of an impounded handicapped accessible car that could help Kevin put his life back together.

In Season 2, Joan learns to pay closer attention to the people around her -- including her now-boyfriend Adam, whose family fell apart after his mother's suicide three years earlier; and Grace, the rebel only daughter of a rabbi and an alcoholic mother. She also finds out, the hard way, that she cannot save everyone.

This was, quite unexpectedly, one of my all-time favorite television shows. I was so disappointed when it was abruptly taken off the air after only two seasons...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking as the first season., June 1, 2007
By 
Rick L. Earsley (Elgin, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
It's a shame this show was cut after 2 seasons. The interactions of the family, friends and strangers show how small the world really can be. Each episode provides more food for thought and discussion. The youth at my church use this program to discuss many of the social and personal issues of not only Joan, but the other family and friends of the family relating to faith, trust, belief structures and the many religions of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still want more after all this time, July 28, 2011
By 
Meredith "Meredith" (Gladstone, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
When the second season came out on TV, I found myself preferring the first season. Now that time has elapsed, upon watching both seasons, I appreciate the second season at least as much as the first.

Joan has a crisis of faith, has her faith renewed, and goes through a lot of changes, as adolescents do. Some of those changes were difficult ones, as life's decisions can be for us all. The writers handled this with aplomb, and I applaud them, as well as the fine actors who breathed life into the characters of Arcadia.

We were left with a season 2 cliffhanger, before TPTB decided to call it quits. The first indication of trouble was when CBS dropped the show from May ratings sweeps, airing the last few episodes outside of a ratings period.

Those of us who appreciated Joan of Arcadia really lost out. To this day, fans of the show continue writing episodes on fanfiction sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great show, now cancelled, so the networks can bring you more drivel, March 22, 2007
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
In the vast wasteland of TV, *Joan of Arcadia* was one and only shining exception to the sea of drivel (except this years "Friday Night Nights"). Happy, sad, touching and always well-acted. The only show in the history of TV to be nominated for best drama in it's first season. Wonderfully moving.

God, in various guises, is a character. Joan, like Joan of Arc, has conversations with him. God gives Joan a variety of assignments always with cryptic explanations. Sometimes she questions, sometimes she rebels, eventually she always tries to follow what He says, as best she can. The show demonstates the unexpected interconnectedness of actions.

It doesn't offer the pat answers and convenient simplicities which appeal to fundamentalists. God is more complicated. I guess that's what happened to it, a show about Spirit, a show which made people think about religious or spiritual matters in a new and unusual way. Cynics hated it. Materialists didn't care. Fundamentalists were REALLY challenged.

It takes a person with some desire for growth to appreciate this show. JofA resonates with People of Spirit.

Season two is more uneven than season one. It end with the introduction demonic being as a character (the Devil?), leaving everything hanging, never to be resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Bad it had to end, January 9, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
Joan of Arcadia is an exceptional TV series. It addressess real issues that real people go through, without being full of sex and violence. The theology is not very good, but wrestles with some really good subjects. The fact that the program recognized God as much as it did is really surprising considering it came from Hollywood.

It was a great series to watch with our teenagers, as it provided good opportunities to talk about the subjects. The only problem was the programs were so good we did not want to stop watching.

It is sad that CBS pulled this show after only two seasons. Both seasons are well worth watching and owning. It is best to watch season one first so you get all of the background as the characters develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Totally Excited!, September 19, 2006
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
I also was disappointed that the show was cancelled and was always on the outlook for a restart. Plus, I thought it was crazy that they did not finish the season! Either way, I am looking forward to Season Two as soon as possible and hopefully if enough people become interested, there is a slight chance they may bring back the show.

Granted, that is doubtful because of the fact that a few of the characters are now cast in other shows.

Buy the set! It's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Here!, December 18, 2006
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
I can't believe CBS FINALLY put this out. This show was amazing, canceled wayyy to soon, and really had some good thoughts and emotions behind it. It isn't all religious, as some people have said. The point behind it was to just make you think. I'm so excited to finally be able to have the second season for my home. If you haven't bought it yet, get season 1 & 2, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shame on you, CBS, for cancelling this show!, March 4, 2013
By 
Rosie (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When this show first aired, I caught only a few episodes, having been otherwise occupied on the nights it played. I remembered it as being stirring and since I had become a recent devotee of the amazing NBC series Parenthood, another Jason Ritter vehicle, I thought I'd rewatch the entire series of Joan of Arcadia, which comprises just two seasons. (I've been a full-fledged long-time fan of many of the shows the other Parenthood actors were in, including Gilmore Girls, Coach, and Everybody Loves Raymond, so I thought I'd check out Ritter's other work, too.)

To my relief, I found Joan of Arcadia to be one of the most--if not the most--thought-provoking, well-acted, well-thought-through series ever. It touched on so many profound topics, such as life and death, disability and ability, good and evil, and, of course, believing and nonbelieving, and it was done in such a way as to always be entertaining and oftentimes funny.

It is basically about an ordinary teenage girl, Joan, played by Amber Tamblyn, who has recently moved to the fictional town of Arcadia with her family, dad Joe Mantegna, a police chief/detective; mom Mary Steenburgen, who starts out as a secretary at Joan's school and then becomes the art teacher (she also becomes more spiritual throughout the series, which leads to some interesting revelations); older brother Jason Ritter, a paraplegic who used to be a high school jock; and younger brother Michael Welch, who is a math and science prodigy and to whom Joan often comes for possible scientific explanations for her encounters with God. Throughout the series, Joan never fully reveals her connection to God--when she alludes to it, she quickly dismisses it in order to fit in. I think a full revelation was upcoming in season 3, as Joan was about to do battle with the character portraying evil and as her mother's newfound spiritual connection progressed.

Amber Tamblyn is amazing--probably the best young actress of her time (why isn't she in more series or movies?), as are her back-ups, especially Mary Steenburgen. But all the actors portray their characters extremely well and are equally believable. Joan is an average teenager, not one with a special gift, until the God characters approach her to, first, do His work in small ways and then, at the end of season two, to challenge evil.

I can't say enough good stuff about this show. It is a travesty that it didn't survive past two seasons. This is definitely one that was killed off before its time. It deserved a third season, which, with the final episode of season two, was ramping up to be incredible. What a godawful shame that that season never came to fruition. Shame on you, CBS, for cancelling what is one of the most compelling series dealing with one of the most mature subject matters on television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After all these years, I still miss this show., May 17, 2012
By 
William R. Krapek (Dallas, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season (DVD)
I hope that after I die and go to Heaven God will let me watch the full eight seasons CBS didn't have the common sense to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season
Joan of Arcadia - The Second Season by Rob Morrow (DVD - 2006)
$39.98 $21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.