Customer Reviews


555 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (153)
3 star:
 (118)
2 star:
 (61)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the JOBS done.
I'm surprised I liked JOBS as much as I did, considering that the reviews surrounding the film were mediocre at best, not to mention that Ashton Kutcher is one of my least favourite actors EVER. Much to my surprise, Kutcher was actually astonishingly good in the title role.

Take him out, and you are left with a limp, unfocused, poorly paced, and incredibly...
Published 12 months ago by Anthony L.

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Jobs' a flawed, yet informative biopic
A great many words can be used to describe the late Steve Jobs. Atop the list, you'd probably find innovator and visionary, followed by several harsher words that there's no need to use here. His contributions to the technology industry are undeniable, and while he clearly had a life full of conflict, history will always remember him as the man that started a technology...
Published 15 months ago by FNDNreview


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gets the JOBS done., November 21, 2013
By 
This review is from: Jobs (DVD)
I'm surprised I liked JOBS as much as I did, considering that the reviews surrounding the film were mediocre at best, not to mention that Ashton Kutcher is one of my least favourite actors EVER. Much to my surprise, Kutcher was actually astonishingly good in the title role.

Take him out, and you are left with a limp, unfocused, poorly paced, and incredibly boring biopic. Put him back in, and you are still left with the above, but with a daring and riveting performance at its centre.

Now, this is isn't saying much, but this is Kutcher's best performance by about 300%. He absolutely *nails* Steve Jobs's mannerisms - his stooped walk, the way he held his hands in front of him, the way he pursed his lips, etc. He holds surprising gravitas and charisma, and holds up excellently in scenery-chewing moments. The scenes where he brutally rejects the woman he impregnated, and gives Bill Gates a piece of his mind ("And I will make sure you NEVER earn a dollar again, that I don't get 90 cents from!") show a different, extremely competent side of the actor. The material surrounding him might be rote and unfeeling, but Kutcher has steel in his gaze and power in his presence.

It's a pity then, that JOBS is unfocused in it's storytelling, in need of a damn good edit, uninformative, and rather dull. No really, at times this was one of the most boring films I've ever seen. The scene where Wozniak leaves Apple should have been emotional and heartrending, but nearly put me to sleep. I would rather have had more fun reading up on infections of the large intestine.

Jobs had scenes that had no impact whatsoever on the film - extraneous, useless scenes that do nothing that bore the audience. 90% of the movie are actors talking quietly (or loudly) to each-other - just talking. Talking WELL, yes, but still talking. And lastly, JOBS is incredibly uninformative. We get nothing about WHY Apple became big, how it sustained losses through tough times, really WHY Steve Jobs was fired, subsequently rehired, and how Apple recovered.

JOBS is not without it's positives, however. The first I went over above - the performance of Ashton Kutcher. The rest of the cast is rather excellent as well. Josh Gad as Steve Wozniak is enjoyable, and JK Simmons chews scenery as Arthur Rock. The costumes and wigs are excellent. The period design is incredible - from the terrible hairdos to the tacky suits to the giant computers. I never felt that I was anywhere else but in the 70's and 80's. Kudos to the the production designer.

In conclusion, I don't think Steve Jobs would have been very happy with JOBS. It's not daring enough. It never strives for something edgy or dangerous. It is content to roll along at documentary pace, with poor editing and dull pacing.

But I still think you should see this movie. See it for an extraordinary performance from Ashton Kutcher, a fine cast, and excellent production values. See it to remember a great man. A difficult man; a daring, edgy, cruel, prickly, brilliant man: Steve Jobs. 3.5/5 Stars, rounded up to 4.

Here's to the Crazy Ones.

PS: Remember that the like/dislike buttons are not for saying whether you agree or disagree with the reviewer, but whether the review helped you make a decision to use the product or not. Please drop a line in the comments to share your opinion. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Jobs' a flawed, yet informative biopic, August 20, 2013
A great many words can be used to describe the late Steve Jobs. Atop the list, you'd probably find innovator and visionary, followed by several harsher words that there's no need to use here. His contributions to the technology industry are undeniable, and while he clearly had a life full of conflict, history will always remember him as the man that started a technology revolution by co-founding the multi-billion dollar company, Apple. Today, a rough estimate projects Apple to be worth in the ballpark of $600-700 billion. And, the odds are (since you're reading this) that you probably own a piece of technology that Steve Jobs oversaw at one point - whether it's an iPhone, iPod, Mac, or one of several other forms of Apple technology. For all his flaws and rocky relationships, Steve Jobs managed to found a company, lose his place in it, and come back to make it bigger and better than ever. These real life events are chronicled in the biopic, Jobs.

Directed by Joshua Michael Stern (Swing Vote), Jobs stars Ashton Kutcher as the ambitious technology marketer, Steve Jobs. The film begins with Steve Jobs introducing the iPod in 2001, and quickly shifting to his free spiritedness as a young man during his college years. After dropping out, Steve becomes involved with Steve Wozniak - a tech guru that has been working on a personal computer. Together, Jobs and Wozniak - along with a handful of others, begin their quest to build a company, called Apple, from the ground up. After the initial success of Apple, business and egos come into play as Jobs struggles to find his way in his own company. J.K. Simmons, Matthew Modine, and Lukas Hass also star in supporting roles.

At first, Ashton Kutcher feels like an odd choice to portray Steve Jobs. However, Kutcher will eventually grow on you, despite his slightly irritating attempt to emulate Steve Jobs' ticks and movements. Drama is not Kutcher's strong suit, and probably never will be, but that doesn't mean his portrayal of Jobs is any less entertaining. For the people that actually knew Jobs, it's their job (no pun intended) to nitpick about whether this is an honest portrayal of the actual man himself. Jobs' death was only a short two years ago, so there's plenty of tape out there that Kutcher had the ability to study. Regardless, it's pretty safe to say Kutcher's portrayal of the driven, yet easily angry innovator is not so much of a questionable acting job as it is a question of whether or not Jobs was portrayed honestly and fairly. To the people that produced this film, they'll say Kutcher was right on the money. Others that actually worked with Jobs have criticized Kutcher's portrayal as being a bit off. In any event, and as far as this film goes, Kutcher's portrayal provides for high entertainment value (which is the point of a film) - especially in specific scenes, including one in which he's chewing out Bill Gates' voicemail.

Like all biopics, it's difficult to fully incorporate every meaningful moment of someone's life in two hours. Jobs starts at a point that allows Kutcher to pass as a young college student, frankly because he still looks like a twenty year old (and usually acts like one in most of his roles, too). From there, this film covers the most groundbreaking and strenuous moments of Jobs' life, including the moment he chose to avoid his responsibility as a parent and his constant battles with Apple's Board of Directors. Sadly, this script (penned by Matt Whiteley) is notable for all of things that it doesn't include, instead of the moments it does include. The most difficult moments in the final years of his life - fighting cancer - are completely avoided, leaving years of emotional experiences out of the film.

Today, people know Steve Jobs for his involvement overseeing modern technology. However, these technical works of art and their worldwide success are only touched upon briefly (except the iPhone), while the majority of the film focuses on Jobs' spats with the people around him and his supposed "flaws." Kutcher's portrayal leaves Steve Jobs looking like a man that had all the ideas and had everything figured out, but in reality he had very little to do with the actual implementation of Apple products. He spent most of his time perfecting and then marketing other people's work - a point several former employees, including Apple co-founder Steve Wozniak are on record pointing out.

The supporting cast is also quite enjoyable, featuring Josh Gad as Steve Wozniak - a portrayal that is slightly inaccurate as it portrays Jobs as more a commanding figure in their friendship when that wasn't necessarily always the case. Still, Gad does an excellent job depicting Wozniak, despite the implication that Wozniak was nothing more than a sidekick. And, if a film needs to have a corporate villain, there's really no one better to play the part than J.K. Simmons - portraying Arthur Rock. In the film, Rock is the Apple Board member that outmaneuvers Steve Jobs and pushes him out of his role of power, leading to Jobs' resignation from Apple. Simmons, like the real life Rock, perceived Jobs as a ticking time bomb and felt it was better to push him out before he sank the ship. Naturally, we now know Jobs was the saving grace and removing him from power is what fast-tracked Apple to its desperate decline before Jobs eventually rejoined the company in 1996.

Overall, Jobs is an opinionated film that depicts Steve Jobs as a bit of an evil genius that had a great deal of vision, but didn't know how to maintain working relationships. True or not, this depiction of Jobs makes for interesting filmmaking, and will inspire viewers to do their own investigating into the man that helped revolutionize personal technology. Ashton Kutcher is sustaining in his role as Steve Jobs, carrying the role from Jobs' college years through to the 1997 "Think different" advertising campaign. However the film leaves out a great many important moments in the life of Steve Jobs, and includes several falsities. While this is only one film's version of Jobs' life, it still tells an entertaining, made for Hollywood story of how Jobs was perceived during the years of Apple's formation and beyond. But, the contributions of Steve Jobs are undeniably important, making it difficult to say what the world would look like today if Jobs were not the man he turned out to be.

Grade: C+
FNDNreview.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suggested, rather than recommended, viewing, December 7, 2013
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jobs (DVD)
I showed this film to my movie group composed mainly of women (one man besides myself) over age 62, and it did attract a good turnout with nobody leaving during the movie. However, it's not a great movie and won't likely get any Oscar or Golden Globe nominations although Ashton Kutcher does a surprisingly good job in the title role.

This really is more about Apple than it is specifically about Jobs. It remains interesting for the best part of the film. But it won't be memorable. From me, it gets a suggestion rather than a recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jobs (Amazon Instant Video)
I found this movie to be inspiring for me to go after my dream in life. I would not treat people the way he did, I believe it can be done and take care of the people who helped you to get there. It is worth watching, I love true stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing. (The real) Steve Jobs deserves better. Read Isaacson's book instead., June 28, 2014
By 
Jane (Rochester, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jobs (DVD)
Ashton Kutcher did a pretty creditable job but there were just too many shots of him looking smug and self satisfied. Much of the time it felt like watching a hammed up caricature of Steve Jobs. Also, I know they cannot stuff too much into a movie, and they wanted to cover the early days and the return of Steve Jobs to Apple after his having been evicted and after having founded NEXT. But it was nonetheless a let down to see the movie end there, and not cover the period during which he launched iPod, iPhone. I felt sad watching this: Steve Jobs deserved a whole lot better. Read Isaacson's bio and give this movie a pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hoping for a sequel, March 27, 2014
This review is from: Jobs (Amazon Instant Video)
i thought this movie was great. and quite frankly i wish they would have made this into a mini series about the book. that way they could have told the story from beginning to end. rather than leaving so much out and cutting it off in 1996. there was so much more to tell. anyways... great movie. i appreciated the insight into the history of computing without all of the dramatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enigma, June 16, 2014
This review is from: Jobs (DVD)
Steve Jobs cared passionately about his computers- his onetime girlfriend and their lovechild- not so much, although he named an early computer for that daughter. This DVD is worth seeing for the bonus features alone. The commentary by director Joshua Michael Stern is full of insight and helpful back story. For example, without the commentary, I would have assumed that the garage workshop portrayed in the film was simply something arranged merely for convenience. Instead, we learn through the commentary that the garage IS the place where Apple began.

Anyone with the slightest interest in the computer as an icon of modern American needs to see this film.

Laurence J. Yadon, Co-author, One Murder Too Many: Whitey Bulger and the Computer Tycoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Film, September 8, 2014
By 
Robea (Houston, TX.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jobs (DVD)
Of course it was not the whole story of Steve Jobs - that would have taken a 10 hour movie. And Ashton Kutcher was not a perfect clone of Steve Jobs. But still, as I watched this I quickly forget that "Steve" was really just an actor and found myself getting all pumped up as if Jobs was hammering me with a pep talk.
And in my opinion, that is what makes this movie so great, in spite of the time constraint of the film seriously compressing the story. It captures the essence of who Steve Jobs was as a driven, sometimes heartless, motivator of excellence for people who worked for him (and avoided getting on his bad side).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, May 1, 2014
Count me as one of the shocked people who enjoyed this movie. This isn't based on the Walter Isaacson, Jobs endorsed bio (David Fincher is helping that - cackle) but it does cover most of the high notes of an extraordinary life.

Ashton Kutcher is also very good in this role. I've always associated him with meathead roles but he embodies Jobs here - both in looks and mannerisms.

The movie does have a HBO cable vibe here. Maybe it should have been a mini series instead of a film. Anyway, this is a pretty good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fictionalized accounting of one of the great men of our generation, April 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jobs [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
Bio pics tend to feel like they've glossed over the more horrific or questionable actions of the subject - this is no exception. It was ok, and Kutcher captured the essence of Steve Jobs without sounding too shrill - an enjoyable movie just wish it would be more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jobs
Jobs by Joshua Michael Stern (DVD - 2013)
$29.98 $13.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.