Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Joe Arroyo - Greatest Hits
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2003
Please understand that the person that wrote the March 7th review has absolutely no clue what he's talking about. This is a salsa/CUMBIA compilation of Joe Arroyo's greatest hits. Understandably a person who can understand the lyrics and the music itself will appreciate this album, but even if you are not latin, and you feel the soul of the music, you'll like this. Instead of criticizing something you barely understand, write a helpful review on something you know, Mr. Olympia!
Que viva Joe Arroyo! Que viva COLOMBIA!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2000
Do not miss this compilation from one of the most important and innovative Latin Artists and composers. Songs like Rebelion, Suave Bruta, and very specially P'al Bailador are just some of the best Salsa or Tropical ever!!! If this guy was Cuban, Puerto Rican or Dominican he would be compared to el Gran Combo or Oscar De Leon, but I think that he is superior in many ways.... But he is from Colombia...
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2004
A must have for anyone who likes tropical music. This is a compilation of the best songs by Joe Arroyo who has been creating music for decades.
This Colombian created his own sound, very different of the typical salsa that you will hear on the radio.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2004
As in my 32 Cañonazos review:

Joe Arroyo is one of the greatest, yet unknown, tropical musicians of all times. His unique style, joeson, is a very interesting mixture of caribbean, african and latin rhythms, all in one. Great for dancing, listening or hanging out!!! This particular selection has his older hits, early 80's - early 90's. I'm not sure if it's available on Amazon, but if possible, get your hands on 32 Grandes Exitos (5 stars!!!)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2003
Because the person from Olympia, WA gave this product one star, the rating of this CD is less than it should be. Rebelion is one of the best salsa songs to date. Even in 3003, salsa clubs will still be playing this song. Also don't be fooled by versions, Raulin Rosendo also sang this song. Sometimes this song is also called "No Se Pegue La Negra".
I still like Joe Arroyo's work more when he was with Grupo Niche.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2005
Along With Grupo Niche, Joe Arroyo is one of the most important singers that Colombia has ever known, it is known in every city and every town here in Colombia. His music is filled with RITMO, BEAT, SOUL...call it what you want but this music is enough to get any party going. If You want to know how important he really is, check out his interview in ROLLING STONE (latin america edition) and if you want to dance and try to get the latin groove, get this cd...is the best of the Beast!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2005
Joe Arroyo is the greatest of the many great Colombian Salseros. This compilation hits on many of the varying styles that this wonderful entertainer represented. Joeson, Cumbia, and even straigt ahead Salsa. I love the cumbia tracks 2 & 12. Track 3 is played all the time on latin radio. Outstanding CD but as with Joe Arroyo who has a prevelant discography, more tracks could have been included.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2009
Great music, like Joe Arroyo's (and so many others'- Carlos Vives, Ruven Blades, Juan Luis Guerra...)help you enjoy life, forget about troubles, be a better person, and lot of other good things. Lissen to Arroyo's music and, believe me, you'll smile, you'll have a better day and you'll have all the chance to live longer and happier !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2005
Along with El Grupo Niche, Joe Arroyo represents hard core Colombian salsa. Trust me, you cannot go wrong with any track on this CD. If it goes out of print, use this CD's songs as a test for any other compilation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2003
I was reminded of music in a low-end latin restaurant upon the beginning of the first track. The rest of the disk did little to improve my opinion. Not being latin myself, I couldn't understand the lyrics, but it's probably best. They are probably as banal and mediocre as the lack of musicality that is the common thread throughout the cd. However, it does have a decent salsa beat and can be danced to; otherwise, I found it extremely dissapointing, akin to something someone threw together in a garage studio using an inexpensive synthesizer and a basic mixer.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.