Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confessions of a star
Joe Pepitone's autobiography does not always reflect kindly on him. In this look at the sexual side of baseball, Pepitone examines not so much his successes as his failures; as a husband, father, and a could-have-been superstar. Pepitone attributes a portion of his flaws to his troubled upbringing and near addiction to sex, but also accepts responsibility. Young...
Published on July 17, 2004 by K.A.Goldberg

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Insight into a Professional Athlete
Just okay. If I wasn't a Yankee fan from that era and from NYC I wouldn't be interested.
Published 6 months ago by Mcard1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confessions of a star, July 17, 2004
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
Joe Pepitone's autobiography does not always reflect kindly on him. In this look at the sexual side of baseball, Pepitone examines not so much his successes as his failures; as a husband, father, and a could-have-been superstar. Pepitone attributes a portion of his flaws to his troubled upbringing and near addiction to sex, but also accepts responsibility. Young Pepitone seemed to have it all; charm, charisma, superb baseball talent, and Italian-American heritage playing in his hometown (New York) with many thousands of Italian-American fans. Yet he was immature and insecure, eager to flee his problems, and probably clinically depressed - at a time when issues like depression were rarely discussed. One wonders how many other athletes and celebrities face similar ordeals and keep them hidden. This is a pretty good baseball book, one where the subject both celebrates his triumphs and confesses his failures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great baseball reading!, March 28, 2000
By 
Michael Ruane (Hudson, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
I read this book 20 years ago, the first time, read it again recently, great baseball book,tells so much about the on field/off field adventures of this Yankee great. Meant more to me after meeting Joe Pepitone, who I found to be a very fine individual. Would reccommend this book to any baseball fan, especially Yankee fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe, you gotta do a sequel!, July 12, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
I love this book! I still pick it up and read a chapter at a time.I still have my original copy of this book. I pass it around all the time.
I recommend it to all baseball fans, but especially anyone who is Italian or anyone who has grown up in NYC.
A true gem if you want to recall the craziness of being a youth in NYC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Damn Shame, May 3, 2008
This review is from: Joe, you coulda made us proud
Joe Pepitone was a gifted and flamboyant major leaguer who played for the Yankees, Cubs and Braves in the 1960's and 1970's. He showed a plethora of promise, which landed him in the line-up of the Yankees, with Mickey Mantle, Yogi Berra, Bobby Richardson, among others.

Although his accomplishments put him in the upper spectrum of major league ballplayers in the pre-expansion and pre-steroid era, Pepitone relates the loneliness and outsider feelings he struggled through.

Much of this was a result of his eccentric and even deviant behavior. During one passage he giggles as he talks of turning Mickey Mantle onto marijuana for the first time. Mantle was somewhat of a redneck at heart.

He stuggles with what Wade Boggs would later identify as sexual addiction, and some of his candid revelations are pretty creepy.

For all his eccentricities, Pepitone was a lovable figure from a fans standpoint. He would spend over $500- a week on toupe's and wigs in a time when the $100,000 ballplayer was more rarity than commonplace.

In Ball Four, Jim Bouton wrote a hilarious passage about putting talcum powder in Pepitone's hairdryer so he came out to first base as a white-haired geezer.

But here, the pathos is thick. Pepitone prevails as a sympathetic figure, mostly because he couldn't get out of his own way.

It reads as a fascinating chronicle of a celebrity fighting depression, and his own demons, and falling short of his promise.

He holds back little here, and we see a man who failed as a husband, friend, and ultimately fell shy of his own expectations.

Shame is the predominant emotion here, and Pepitone deals it in heavy dosages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a category by itself .... "Instant Replay it ain't!", November 27, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
After having heard about this book in 'wink-wink-hush-hush' contexts over the past twenty years or so, I finally saw a copy on the "N - O - P" shelf of a liquidator of estate sales. The first time in a while I didn't even attempt to barter, for fear of losing this putative gem, at the one chance I had to grab it - I felt like I'd won the lottery, and hadn't even paid for it yet. Just what kind of "Estate" must this have been from!?!
So, I bought it ("No bag, please.") and began reading on the sidewalk, on my way back from lunch.
Quite a book, this is. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me look around my commuter-rail car to see if anyone had kepped to what I was reading and emoting about. Oh Joe, Joe, JOE @!#$&^@%#%$(!@%#*
Indeed, you coulda made us more than proud.
If you're a baseball fan, and you want a book to memorize, this is one of the very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Book!, June 20, 2004
By 
Mike Dowling (West Palm Beach, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
I read it in high school more than 25 years ago and I still remember it well. This is the perfect compliment to Jim Bouton's "Ball Four." Meet the mob, Frank Sinatra, and more. How many books have a chapter called "When fu&&ing couldn't compare to baseball"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side Of Sports And Celebrity, March 11, 2009
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
I remember reading Joe You Coulda Made Us Proud way back in 1977, and this dark biography of Joe Pepitone's life not only brought me closer to baseball as a lifelong Yankees' fan, but it also offered me some great insight into the dark side of sports celebrity--organized crime buddies, the celebrities, the hangers-on, the drugs, the scores of women, along with the sullen aftermath of what happens when a once-proud sports dynasty, falls into the bottomless pit of mediocrity.

Pepitone's story is a must-read for many sports fans, as it takes us on a ride through the unglamourous side of the genre. Amidst the pressure to perform and live up to top billing once one steps between the white lines, few, if anyone, could even begin to fanthom the balls and strikes that athletes deal with off the field.

Pepitone's life (which, ironically, runs parallel to former Mets and Yankees star Darryl Strawberry) was no fairy tale from the beginning.

Feeling survivor's guilt over his father's sudden death when he was a teen star at Manual Training High in Brooklyn, to the sex addiction that resulted in two failed marriages, his irresponsible ways that led him into debt, and his associations with organized crime members along with his contempt for authority that led to his premature exit from the game that he loved, Joe You Coulda Made Us Proud makes for a very compelling, gritty, sometimes humorous but oftentimes painful read in its profoundly honest presentation, as readers will be left with the feeling at the end, that somehow, Pepitone could've done a hell of a lot more with the God-given skills that he had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very real inside look at pro baseball players behavior, April 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
i read this book about 22 years ago and i was very surprised at some of my baseball idols behavior on and off the field. at that time i thought pro players were god, came to the ballpark to play and then went home and led a normal family life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars met him once, August 14, 2005
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
in the late 1970's probably 1979 I, like a lot of my generation was experimenting with assorted drugs during one of these times there was a knock on the door and he answered as Joe Pepitone I among others assumed this was a joke This must have occured while he was playing with the cubs as it happened on the north side of chicago I always wanted to read his book when I heard about it to see if he would be honest about this part of this life it seems that he was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baseball's dark side -- THE NATURAL meets THE SOPRANOS -- MEAN STREETS on a FIELD OF DREAMS!, April 1, 2014
By 
This review is from: Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud (Hardcover)
There are a million ways to describe this lost, long-forgotten (and possibly suppressed) sports auto-biography by failed Yankees slugger Joe Pepitone. This racy, sordid, despairing, defiant, uplifting, frightening, complex, challenging account of a great star who never quite achieved superstardom contains everything the baseball industry does not, can not, will not ackknowledge about the game.

Pepitone tells all, in a tough, street-wise, Italian-American voice entirely unacquainted with self pity. How he grew up in the toughest Italian neighborhood in New York. How his father, a brutal and psychopathic figure, by turns bullied and spoiled his baseball prodigy son. How the Yankees signed him with no questions asked, rushed him into training camp, and stuck a bat in his hand. How Mickey Mantle, who turned the face of a golden-haired Good Ol' Boy to the world, was in reality an aging, pain-wracked prima donna whose loathing for young competition approached clinical paranoia.

You'll see night life in these pages. Decadence and sin. Hardened mobsters at the Tropicana, forcing soul great Sam Cooke to "jump around and make monkey sounds" for the Italian nobility that was the original mob. You'll see Pepitone drunk, hungover, pilled up, brain addled by hashish, smashing titanic home runs one minute and dropping easy fly balls the next. Lost youth, failed illusions, the tragic desolation in the soul of a sensitive, decent man asked too young to make other people's dreams come true. Joe, you coulda made us proud.

Instead you wrote a masterpiece -- and spoke a truth America refuses to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud
Joe, You Coulda Made Us Proud by Joe Pepitone (Hardcover - 1975)
Used & New from: $21.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.