Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Berryman
All the poems but the /Dream Songs/, which are collected separately (also from Amazon). The included /Sonnets/ are from the original ms carbons, unemended, but with the five extra of the 1964 first edition.
Easy typeface and size, stanzas properly divided.
Adequate bio for all but Berryman scholars.
You like Berryman in whole or part, or you don't,...
Published on August 17, 2008 by Dennis M. Hammes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I took a class from John Berryman at the University ...
I took a class from John Berryman at the University of Minnesota in 1967 - 68. The U of M is celebrating the 100th anniversary of his birth this month so I want to read some of his poetry now.
Published 2 months ago by Melinda Wells


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Berryman, August 17, 2008
This review is from: John Berryman: Collected Poems 1937-1971 (Paperback)
All the poems but the /Dream Songs/, which are collected separately (also from Amazon). The included /Sonnets/ are from the original ms carbons, unemended, but with the five extra of the 1964 first edition.
Easy typeface and size, stanzas properly divided.
Adequate bio for all but Berryman scholars.
You like Berryman in whole or part, or you don't, and this is where you'll find out. If you do, a must-have (also the /Dream Songs/).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neglected once famous poet still an exciting read, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Berryman: Collected Poems 1937-1971 (Paperback)
I read these poems 30 years ago and 4 lines stuck in my head all those years, and it was truly wonderful to find the poem that they were from, and to revisit these that were so vibrant and exciting when I first read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All in One Place -- Almost!, May 3, 2013
By 
Allen Mahan (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Berryman: Collected Poems 1937-1971 (Paperback)
This is a great book since it includes all of Berryman's poetry, save "The Dream Songs," which I like to tackle on its own, anyhow. I'm one of those annotaters who writes directly in and on his books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I took a class from John Berryman at the University ..., October 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Berryman: Collected Poems 1937-1971 (Paperback)
I took a class from John Berryman at the University of Minnesota in 1967 - 68. The U of M is celebrating the 100th anniversary of his birth this month so I want to read some of his poetry now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 23, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Ottawa, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great author, great book. Been waiting a while for this one. Now give us Robert Lowell please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Berryman, Collected Poems, February 3, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Berryman: Collected Poems 1937-1971 (Paperback)
I ordered this book as a birthday present to myself. It came quickly, and it's fine--I'm about halfway through reading it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

John Berryman: Collected Poems 1937-1971
John Berryman: Collected Poems 1937-1971 by John Berryman (Paperback - August 1, 1991)
$25.00 $18.11
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.