Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TIME TO KILL
NICK FRANCISCO PERIOD 2
"A Time to Kill" is John Grisham's first novel. His fluid, detailed storytelling is unlike the choppy first attempts of many modern authors.In a small town in the Deep South, two redneck hooligans rape and maim a ten-year-old black girl. Enraged, the girl's father, Carl Lee Hailey, takes justice into his own hands, killing the two...
Published on October 4, 2000 by nick

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All mixed up
The stories themselves are great, however, the discs are all marked wrong. For example, I put in the first disc marked "A Time to Kill" and it was "The Client" instead. I had to use a marker and rename all 11 discs!
Published on April 6, 2008 by Barbi B


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TIME TO KILL, October 4, 2000
By 
nick (new jersey) - See all my reviews
NICK FRANCISCO PERIOD 2
"A Time to Kill" is John Grisham's first novel. His fluid, detailed storytelling is unlike the choppy first attempts of many modern authors.In a small town in the Deep South, two redneck hooligans rape and maim a ten-year-old black girl. Enraged, the girl's father, Carl Lee Hailey, takes justice into his own hands, killing the two rapists in a courthouse shooting. He seeks the help of defense lawyer Jake Brigance to save him from the gas chamber.
Brigance, a young but sharp lawyer, has to find a way to win an impossible case: a black man is on trial for killing two white men, and his case is being heard by an all-white jury. Adding to the mix are violence between the Ku Klux Klan and the black community, and the fact that, during the shooting, Carl Lee had injured a sheriff's deputy.
When I first read this novel, I was angered and irritated by the depth of hatred that exists within racism. I was angered that had Carl Lee been a white man bent on avenging his daughter's suffering, he would never have had to face trial. The rape of ten year old Tanya, Carl Lee's daughter, by Billy Ray and Pete, A Time to Kill is a disturbing novel, aside from the raping and killing that opens the tale. It is not possible to look at our justice system the same way, especially from the viewpoint of the black community in the South.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is SO cool, April 4, 2000
John Grisham is of course my favorite author, and this is the perfect collector's item of sorts because it gives you all of his best books...in audio! If you listen to all his books, it just makes them come more alive and real, and it's just terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good listening, shoddy packaging, April 24, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client (Audio CD)
I always enjoy Grisham's way with words & a story, even if they're dated, & the three readers plus the fade out music are enthralling, however, RandomHouse Audio made a booboo with the packaging I received. The Firm discs (4-6) are correctly labeled & slotted, while A Time to Kill (discs 1-3) & The Client (discs 7-11) are mislabeled & mis-slotted. Bummer, especially if you're driving while listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VALUE COLLECTION FROM GRISHAM, September 5, 2005
By 
GERALD (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I HAD SEEN ALL OF THESE IN MOVIE FORM AND WANTED TO SEE HOW CLOSE THE MOVIE SCRIPT WAS TO EACH GRISHAM NOVEL IN THIS COLLECTION. THEY WERE REALLY CLOSE TO THE REAL GRISHAM! BUT AGAIN HOW CAN YOU IMPROVE ON GRISHAM'S WORK? I ENJOYED ALL THREE

AND ESPECIALLY THE READERS WITH THEIR INFLECTIONS! THEY SOUNDED

ALMOST LIKE THE MAIN CHARACTERS IN THE MOVIES. ANYTHING GRISHAM

HAS IN AUDIO I WILL CERTAINLY OBTAIN. THANKS TO AMAZON FOR YOUR WONDERFUL WEB SITE TO PURCHASE SUCH GREAT PRODUCTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great airplane/road trip listen!, August 2, 2005
By 
rini723 "rini723" (Chapel Hill, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client (Audio CD)
I had seen all these movies, so I thought I'd give this set a chance. The price is a steal! All 3 narrators do an excellent job, and the stories will certainly keep your attention. I would recommend this especially for trips. I plan to buy more John Grisham audio books in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Grisham Audio Book, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client (Audio CD)
He always has great books. I love the audio books and some times find it hard to stop listening before it is finished. I like that I can listen as I am driving also.....hard to do with a book. Anyone who has a hard time reading, for whatever reason, would benefit greatly with an audio book (especially, John Grisham's books.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, November 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed listening to
on my long workday commutes.
Readers do a great job. The stories are enjoyable and suspenseful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth a listen, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client (Audio CD)
All were good but I truly enjoyed two out three of the selections. A Time to Kill and The Client were very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client (Audio CD)
Grisham is great and this is a great deal on three really good books. What else is there to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, May 1, 2013
By 
Terry L. Wheeler (San Antonio, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client (Audio CD)
Can't beat John Grisham and this is 3 of his best. Great price and all compact in one box. Am looking for more of his in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

John Grisham Value Collection: A Time to Kill, The Firm, The Client
$34.95 $28.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.