Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Buck
So far, the reviews seem right on point. This is a very interesting read and well worth the $0.99 that it is selling for. It is a fascinating breaking story that keeps the reader engaged. It is well written and provides some very candid insights into the recent life of John McAfee. However, as others have noted, it is very short -- more like an extended article than a...
Published 21 months ago by Ben Kickert

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Short but flat
The book appeared at first glance more interesting than it actually was. The writing style never left me with any suspense and ended abruptly. I learned a couple minor facts about mcafee and the history of the first virus. That's the most I got out of it.
Published 19 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Buck, November 25, 2012
By 
Ben Kickert (Bowling Green, KY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
So far, the reviews seem right on point. This is a very interesting read and well worth the $0.99 that it is selling for. It is a fascinating breaking story that keeps the reader engaged. It is well written and provides some very candid insights into the recent life of John McAfee. However, as others have noted, it is very short -- more like an extended article than a book -- I finished it in about 45 minutes and I think I read at a pretty average speed. It also leaves you hanging because the story is still very much in progress. I was shocked to find when I read the book, the closing accounts were less than a week old...talk about hot off the press.

I am not sure how this "breaking news" kindle book format will work on in the long run. I am willing to pay for great coverage of current events (which this books qualifies as), but it certainly has a short shelf life. If I bought this book after a major development occurred in the McAfee story, I would be disappointed.

Final thoughts: It is worth the money for a great story, but it has the feel of something rushed to press in order to scoop other writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I could not stop reading this fascinating glimpse inside a story that is currently unfolding before our eyes on an hourly basis. Based on numerous exclusive interviews conducted by the author--many of them conducted on-site in Belize--the author introduces us to a motley crew of interesting characters that McAfee has surrounded himself with. With respect to McAfee himself, the author does a great job portraying a complex man in a fair and accurate way. This is a must read for anyone who wants to understand how McAfee went from software tycoon to fugitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, November 16, 2012
By 
B. Kramer (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Great book, definitely worth the money. The reviewer who stated this is a 15 minute read is incorrect. I'm a fast reader and this occupied at least an hour of my time. Wired has a few free articles about him on their website that give you some flavor, but this ebook is way more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The author makes it feel as if you're in the jungle with madman McAfee (it's creepy), but he also explores what has led to the madness. It's a fascinating book - an in-depth look behind a big news story is something rare and this one is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart of Darkness, November 17, 2012
By 
Shamus Roller (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I saw this on the news and wondered what the whole story was. This tells it all in great detail: beginning, middle and insane end. McAfee is Kurtz, gone up the river and gone mad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is how do it--journalism, I mean, November 17, 2012
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is journalism at it's best: superbly written, great tempo and mind-blowingly weird. While everyone else tries to report the McAfee saga from the sidelines, Davis, it turns out, has been in on this for 6 months, with all kinds of exclusive access to McAfee. He provides clear answers and insightful context to what's going on. That's what's been missing from other coverage, and that's why you need to read this. I'm surprised it's not called, "The Untold Story of John McAfee."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Intriguing Narrative, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
An extraordinary story, beautifully written. Josh Davis knows how to craft an intriguing narrative and I thank him for bringing us this cutting edge work as it unfold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unreal, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This was wildly entertaining - reads like something that was made up. I do hope someone writes a whole biography of this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars true story of an eccentric genius, November 17, 2012
By 
Eliot B. Barron (West Hartford, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I think the best stories and films are TRUE.This is a good read of a life that is a work in progress. Josh Davis is a solid journalist and author and his subject is a tormented man on the run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight into a Troubled Mind, November 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: John McAfee's Last Stand (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
John McCafee's Last Stand accurately describes Mr. McAfee's current predicament brought upon him almost entirely because of his own personal paranoia. It mixes real life stories of paradise, business and a small, impoverished town with psychotic delusions allegedly not brought on by substance abuse but rather Mr. McAfee's own vision of reality.

It is a quick read and is highly recommended if you want to know about the current situation surrounding the former founder of one of the biggest anti-virus software programs in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.