Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T GIVE UP ON US BABY...
Johnny English has been 5 years in retirement in Tibet learning the ways of the master. He is called out of retirement for a mission to China to hunt down "Vortex" an assassination group out to kill the Chinese premier. There are 3 keys, or key parts that must be gathered together to have access to a secret weapon.

The first good joke was the "Toshiba" sponsor...
Published on October 4, 2011 by The Movie Guy

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts surprisingly well but runs out of steam too soon
For the first half hour or so Johnny English Reborn is a surprisingly funny spy spoof that's a huge improvement on the dire first big screen outing for Rowan Atkinson's hopeless yet supremely self-confident spy who was originally dreamt up for a series of credit card adverts and seemed ill-suited for anything longer than 30 seconds. Where that misfired more than it hit,...
Published on November 3, 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T GIVE UP ON US BABY..., October 4, 2011
Johnny English has been 5 years in retirement in Tibet learning the ways of the master. He is called out of retirement for a mission to China to hunt down "Vortex" an assassination group out to kill the Chinese premier. There are 3 keys, or key parts that must be gathered together to have access to a secret weapon.

The first good joke was the "Toshiba" sponsor sign for MI-7 secret services. The humor is more than just slapstick. Rowan Atkinson combines the sophistication and intellect of James Bond with the zaniness of Peter Sellers. Indeed, for those who loved Peter Sellers would also enjoy Atkinson who doesn't attempt to copy Sellers, but rather create a character in his own style reminiscent of the master. The early scene with the cat had me laughing out loud at the classic style of Atkinson.

English is aided by agent Tucker (Daniel Kaluuya), a sidekick that has his own failings. Excellent use of the sound track. Worth seeing. Simply hilarious.

Good family movie for the older kids. Imagine a good comedy without all that crude humor (okay it has some kicks to the groin). No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silly yes but a lot of fun, October 10, 2011
By 
Big Mike (Bradford, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Johnny English Reborn (DVD)
Rowan Atkinson shows once again why he is widely considered to be one of the top living comics. In lesser hands this film would not have been worth the price of admission. It took me back to the glory days of Peter Sellers and the inimitable Inspector Clouseau. Atkinson is also supported by a strong supporting cast including Gillian Anderson and the very lovely Rosamund Pike (Die Another Day). I can actually remember some James Bond films that I didn't find as entertaining as this movie is. I don't know why it took eight years to get this sequel. I would not mind another outing for Johnny English if it is as much fun as this one. Be sure to watch the end credits for one last scene!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, with the classic "Johnny English" genius, February 14, 2012
This movie is a well written, action packed, dimwitted flick with the characteristic Johnny English intelligence (literally.) His adventures and misadventures alike will leave you chuckling throughout the whole movie. But beware, you have to like the persona of Johnny English if you want to enjoy this movie, otherwise you will just think it is stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts surprisingly well but runs out of steam too soon, November 3, 2012
For the first half hour or so Johnny English Reborn is a surprisingly funny spy spoof that's a huge improvement on the dire first big screen outing for Rowan Atkinson's hopeless yet supremely self-confident spy who was originally dreamt up for a series of credit card adverts and seemed ill-suited for anything longer than 30 seconds. Where that misfired more than it hit, the sequel begins rather well as the now disgraced spy is called out of his retreat in a Tibetan monastery (where he's learning, among other things, the martial art of dragging boulders with his testicles) by a reluctant MI7 to uncover an assassination plot aimed at the Chinese premier.

Some of the jokes are out of date - his sparring with Gillian Anderson's unimpressed spymaster, all impeccable but monotonous pronunciation, is like a flat rewrite of Judi Dench's scenes in GoldenEye that's 16 years too late - but there's plenty that does raise a smile or the odd laugh, not least a particularly well-executed parkour chase scene across the rooftops and along the dockside of Hong Kong where the joke is that, despite obvious audience expectations, English's ineptitude constantly fails to materialise as he never puts a foot wrong and repeatedly outthinks a killer with a minimum of effort. But once the action leaves Hong Kong it obviously forgets to pack the jokes for the return trip and becomes a tired but watchable run-through of stale routines that weren't that funny when they were being done back in the 60s when people first started making mediocre Bond spoofs - the clumsy would-be knowing banter with a villain over a game of golf, the gadget filled chase scene (here in a motorised wheelchair), the assassination attempts by a ridiculous villain (here an elderly Chinese cleaning lady) survived through dumb luck rather than skill... you've seen it all before, and better done, and compared to the likes of OSS 117: Cairo, Nest of Spies it seems stuck in the last century in the wrong way.

There are some compensations, with the biggest surprise how much better Rosamund Pike is here than in her genuine Bond film, Die Another Day, giving a much more natural and appealing performance in a role that's not much more than reaction shots and exposition before turning into the romantic interest just because that's part of the formula. It's a shame that she doesn't get more to do, but that could apply to most of the cast in a comedy that seems to have been made by a director who doesn't really want to do a comedy in a classic case of trying to turn the film he's been hired to make into the different kind of film he'd rather be making instead.

That problem is increasingly apparent from the deleted scenes on the Blu-ray and director Oliver Parker's rationale for cutting most of the funnier moments purely to keep the story moving while bizarrely leaving the now redundant and occasionally laborious moments setting them up in the final cut: in this kind of film the story is really nothing more than a near irrelevant coat rack to hang the jokes on, and it's the jokes that should take priority. As he rationalises his decisions as "small sacrifices worth making" to get to the next mundane plot point you can't help thinking he's the kind of director who'd cut the farting cowboys out of Blazing Saddles because it wasn't really moving the story forward. Not that there's much originality on display in them, but some - an extended walk-through the newly privatised MI7, English so preoccupied with trying out the gadgets in his car that he doesn't notice machine-gun firing killers are chasing him or a throwaway gag with some exploding chewing gum - are much better than what did make the final cut even if they did need a bit of tightening. The same could be said of the deleted scenes presentation as well since the disc doesn't offer the option to skip Parker's near-identical explanations for cutting the jokes out of a comedy.

Aside from a decent 25-minute making of and a not particularly funny gag reel the rest of the extras are the usual puff pieces on how Atkinson is the comic Messiah, though his perfectionism is absent from what makes it to the screen in the last two thirds of the movie. Like so many movies shot digitally rather than on film the 2.35:1 widescreen picture quality tends to vary from sharpness (usually in studio scenes and the Hong Kong section) to a rather soft, pallid, undetailed and lifeless look (most of the exteriors) but is acceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's a mole AND a vole!", April 16, 2012
This review is from: Johnny English Reborn (DVD)
JOHNNY ENGLISH REBORN (seemingly a/k/a JOHNNY ENGLISH UK REBORN, 2011, 102 minutes) was awaited by me for years. It figures that I see it floating around, hidden in my pay-per-view cable over a year after its release - at least I finally got to see it. Well worth it, as most anything is when it stars Atkinson. This is one of the funniest films I've ever seen.

Five years after the original Johnny English, Johnny (Rowan Atkinson), sporting a lovely silvering head of hair, is in a Buddhist monastery in Tibet studying wu-shu and meditating. There is one more discipline he is practicing, and you'll know it when you see it, which is horrific but is a real discipline some monks practice. Of course anything Atkinson does produces instant howls of laughter. Most of my British friends begin laughing out loud upon hearing his name.

That is well-earned star power my friends!

Through his lama/master, "MI 7" recalls Johnny to root out a mole (shades of Le Carré's Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy: A George Smiley Novel). This film departs from the original JOHNNY in several ways, which I will leave for you to discover because it is mostly quite brilliant. Lots of it, in typical Atkinson fashion, is not so much in the belly-laugh category as in the wonder-awe-inspiring mode. A bit like Buster Keaton.

You won't be seeing a kung fu extravaganza here, but let's just say Johnny knows how to avoid fights and other difficulties with a panache that is literally unmatched in cinema. THIS would make real life evildoers quake in their boots. While I fail to understand the silly, needless presence of Gillian Anderson as the Director of the Ministry - she is by my count the 3rd American star to defect to purely British roles - you'll see a few Atkinson standard funny bits. He has an obsession with the CCTV traffic cameras; he usually makes gestures at them or blow them up, but here he uses it to his advantage. Then he blows it up.

This is pure fun. No one but Atkinson could take a past disgrace (the reason Johnny retired) and do the alchemy to make its mere mention funny every time, and it was the best tonic I've had thus far for a miserable year. Don't fail to get this no matter what. This is a classic of British comedy with by the modern master of British comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, March 1, 2012
I thought this movie was hilarious.. it had me laughing so hard! If you liked the first movie, you'll love this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comedy he's done since the Mr. Bean TV Show!!!, March 11, 2012
By 
Ryan Crouse (Yorkton, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Johnny English Reborn (DVD)
Just finished watching Rowan Atkinson's (aka Mr. Bean) new movie - "JOHNNY ENGLISH REBORN"
I must say that this movie is FUNNY AS HELL !!! Best Movie he's done yet and the FUNNIEST Movie to come out in the past few years!!!!
This is for ALL Mr. Bean fans, or for someone who wants a good laugh!!
Oh, and don't forget to watch the ending credits as there is a "Special" Scene that is just Genius!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Johnny English, you'll love Johnny English Reborn, April 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When we realized that Johnny English Reborn hadn't been released for the holidays (2011). We purchased the original Johnny English to view with family . We are hooked! Johnny English Reborn will be viewed as many multiple times as the original for sure! So much is this a family favorite that we are sharing it with our kids friends and gifting these often! "Reborn" has a bit more adult dialog than the first.Its family friendly for kids 11 and older for that reason. Though it may fly over the heads of younger kids, as mom I felt that the content is better for older kids. Both the original and "Reborn" do not disappoint with many. Great fun for the whole family. Many laugh out loud scenes and unexpected turns to keep you wanting more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome! so funny!, March 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Johnny English Reborn (Amazon Instant Video)
I really enjoyed watching this movie. It is really truly funny, with lots of hilarious scenes, has great action, and Rowan Atkinson, who plays his role as Johnny English very well. It also has a great plot in the story. I think that this is a really awesome movie. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who wants to watch a really entertaining movie that will make you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic English, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Johnny English Reborn (Amazon Instant Video)
Classic spy spoof. If you liked the original, you will enjoy this film as well. Take some time out to appreciate Atkinson in one of his best rolls ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Johnny English Reborn
Johnny English Reborn by Oliver Parker
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.