Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2011
I purchased this box set after reading the horrible reviews on the other box set being sold.
I was very cautious about my expectations. Gozilla is an independent company and the claim of "digital remastered" did have me doubting. When the package arrived I was in for a good surprise. The packaging is well done and the 8 discs are well secured in the single case. The image quality was a lot better than expected. It is true that it is not 1080HD but Gozilla made a very good effort in enhancing and improving the original prints on each episode.
While some artifacts remain the image itself is very clean, sharper and the colors are bright and balanced.
Occasionally the sound levels drop but not a big deal. I recommend this to anyone since there are only a couple box sets available and I do not think the full collection will ever be officially released by any major studios.
Note: On each episode the Gozilla logo flashes in and out in the lower corner, not a major issue but wish it was left off of the actual episodes. Maybe a company spot in between each episode would be better.

This box set not only includes the entire series run but the movie Voyage Into Space. This set also includes bonus Ultraman and Spectreman episodes on disc 07.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2011
I got this collection as a gift for my boyfriend. He was so happy I thought he would cry. It literally took him back to his childhood.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on July 16, 2011
If you grew up in the 80's then you'll love to relive this show. The whole series has been remastered on the first 7 DVD's. The only down side is that the 8th DVD, (the movie) is not remastered. There are also some audio drop out in one episode and a few others have added seens that where deleted for commerical time or content, that are replace in their original Japanees.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2013
This series brings back some fond memories. Even before those "Power Ranger-clones" hit the airwaves, this was the after-school show to watch back in the late 70's-early 80's.
The story was pretty clever too: A scientist creates a super robot to be used by an evil overlord, but before the main villain can use it the robot has to be activated by voice-command only.
Problem was this: whoever spoke into the remote first was automatically "imprinted" as the robot's master (who just happens to be a reckless young boy, Johnny Sokko, who spoke to the robot by accident just to see what happens)
The rest was history as the boy ended up helping the japan government fight off the overlord's monster minions by issuing voice-commands to his flying robot to help defeat these monsters godzilla-style!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2013
It was fun looking at a show i haven't seen since i was a little kid.. I really enjoyed it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 29, 2012
This is a Great DVD! I'm so happy to have it. But there are two things about it I don't like. My Ultraman DVD's Have an audio select for English and Japanese and Johnny Robo don't. That's one. The other is the advertising of the seller of the DVD. But you can fast forward it. Other than that it's still good enough to have but don't lose the wheel lock to secure your DVD's in the case.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
I didn’t expect the image quality to be great but this is almost beyond bad and is responsible for my poor review of this item. The image on screen often looks like a lot of blotchy blocks (is this what they mean by “artifacting”?). Sure you could make out what was happening, but it was hard to enjoy the clarity of such a graded image. The sound wasn’t great but what do you expect from a mono track? Sometimes tinny. What was a bit of a problem on later eps was that it jumped to Japanese dialogue and then flipped back to the English dub. The other downer was that the company, Gozilla, frequently inserted their logo at the bottom of the screen. It was easy to get used to at least.

This product comes in a large case that holds 8 stacked DVDs, all labeled. Each DVD (except the last two) contain 4 eps. There aren’t individual chapters to the single eps. Chapters are essentially divided by the episodes themselves. The 7th disc concludes the series and also has two bonus features on it (the first episode of Ultraman and another of Spectreman. That was a nice and unexpected bonus. The final disc is the cobbled together movie that many people grew up on just as I did, “Voyage Into Space”. I have a VHS copy of VIS that I’ll keep because the picture is better.

If anyone is unfamiliar with what this series is about? It’s a pure boy’s adventure tale of sci-fi fantasy flight. Young Johnny Sokko (where were his parents) is recruited into becoming a Unicorn agent (one of the good guys) when he ends up being the first voice that the atomic Giant Robot hears and from then on forever obeys. Sokko and his other Unicorn compatriot battle the evil and otherworldly Gargoyle Gang who are bent on world domination and destruction. They constantly unleash wild giant monsters (like the freaky deaky floating eyeball!) that Giant Robot handily dispatches. The villains, in silver painted body suits and with garish bulbed foreheads and severely sideways jacked teeth are almost painfully comical. Remember that this was a Japanese kids TV show and the budget often was spent on explosions so the costumes and cardboard sets are brightly colored but are also sparse and not lived in or filled out. The show is especially violent with lots of hand-to-hand chop sockey combat and gunfire. There’s even a little blood from time to time though nothing gruesome. Still, given that the target audience seems to be little boys between the ages of 6-16 the violence can be a bit much for especially the younger viewers. But one thing not to worry about: the villains are clearly drawn as such as are the good guys easily identifiable. No moral quandaries there.

As I never grew up with the TV show but only the movie I’d give the series 3.5 stars simply for the weirdness and creativity. Some of the monsters that they came up with were just crazy and Giant Robot himself with is funky middle eastern/ Arabian look is just so cool. But the plots are redundant, the effects decent at times and sub-par at others, and the acting pretty stiff and characters one-dimensional. But while that’s not great for a kids TV show, it’s also not necessarily a bad thing for a crazy kids fantasy from back in the 1960s either. What is bad is the product image. I don’t know how bad the other product is (you can get this set from Shout! Factory too) but it’s hard to believe that it’s worse than this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2013
This dvd is great to reminisce when the show used to be on tv and if anyone is looking to buy a copy this is the perfect set to own.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
This set sucks. The dvd's are stacked one on top of each other. Everything about this ARE COPIES. NO ORIGINALS ARE HERE except for the case it came in. Got is for someone else. Picture quality is so bad, well, I just won't go there. If I can give this a negative star quality, I would. Looks like it was on vhs tape and transferred to dvd.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
The video and sound quality are lacking in this set but tolerable in order to see one of my favorite shows from many years ago. The sound is at a constant high pitch, so you will want to turn the volume down to make it more tolerable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Ultraman: The Complete Series
Ultraman: The Complete Series by Susumu Kurobe (DVD - 2009)

voyage into space
voyage into space by Sinister Cinema (DVD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.