Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upgrade, The Sound Is Fantastic...
The music on this album is 5 stars, no argument. This review is mainly for Thin Lizzy fans debating on whether to purchase this "remastered" import.....DO IT! From the very first track, "Johnny", I was flat out blown away by the improvement in the sound compared to previous releases (the sweep of Brian Downey's drum fills on "Johnny" from the right to left channel are...
Published on May 3, 2005 by "The Woj"

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half n Half
This record following the success of Jailbreak is more of a consolidation of those gains from its predecessor. The first four tracks Johnny, Rocky, Borderline and Don't Believe a Word are an awesome quartet of strength to this release. Phil introduces two character roles here in the third person of the qualities of the dangerous Johnny and cocky Rocky the rock star...
Published on April 18, 2011 by Thirty-Ought Six


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upgrade, The Sound Is Fantastic..., May 3, 2005
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
The music on this album is 5 stars, no argument. This review is mainly for Thin Lizzy fans debating on whether to purchase this "remastered" import.....DO IT! From the very first track, "Johnny", I was flat out blown away by the improvement in the sound compared to previous releases (the sweep of Brian Downey's drum fills on "Johnny" from the right to left channel are right in your face and super clean....I knew right then this was going to be a fantastic listen). So if you still have this album on vinyl or are thinking about upgrading from your current cd version, add to cart now. You will not regret this purchase, I guarantee it. Lastly, look int zShops, you can get this album at a really, really fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mainstream Lizzy., October 18, 2002
By 
Mark Lahren (Bismarck, North Dakota USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
One of my fondest memories of this album was when my grandmother, a church organist and music lover, remarked on how good the drummer was, never missing a beat even during his rolling and inventive fills. While this could be said of many top-notch rock drummers, it says something that even my grandmother appreciated at least the drumming on this album. However, this is my review, not my grandmother's, so...

This is Thin Lizzy doing mainstream. And doing it exceptionally well. I love every track on this album. The dual guitar solos are perfect, right in line with those found on "Jailbreak", which is saying a lot. The whole album feels like an extension of "Jailbreak", which is a good thing. The songwriting is great, Lynott's vocals are great; everything is tight, polished, and professional. If you like Lizzy, you'll love this. And if you've never experienced them before, you'll still love this. It's one of '70's rock's classics. A must-have for any music lover. All the tracks are strong, with the possible exception of "Boogie Woogie Dance", which seemed sort of silly to me, although still quite listenable. My personal favorite Lizzy album though will always be "Night Life", which came out a few years earlier and has a much softer and jazz-influenced sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Thin Lizzy album, March 21, 2001
By 
Camargo, (Limeira, SP BRA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
I am from Limeira,SP BRA a city 150 Km from Sao Paulo and I am a #1 fan of this R&R band. They are not so known here and is pretty difficult to get a CD. I have 11 Cd's on my private collection and I consider "Jhonny the Fox" one of the best Thin Lizzy album. It is the maximum that a R&R band can reach. Starting with "Jhonny the fox"(the song) simply fantastic, "Fool's gold" with amazing guitar solo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half n Half, April 18, 2011
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
This record following the success of Jailbreak is more of a consolidation of those gains from its predecessor. The first four tracks Johnny, Rocky, Borderline and Don't Believe a Word are an awesome quartet of strength to this release. Phil introduces two character roles here in the third person of the qualities of the dangerous Johnny and cocky Rocky the rock star. Borderline is a quiet tune about a tumultuous relationship between a struggling musician and his estranged girlfriend left behind. Don't Believe a word is in abbreviated form here, orginially begun as a slow blues number, Robertson and Gorham beef this track up to a great hard rock number. In the live sets that followed, "Word" would become a tour de-force for the twin Lizzy axemen. Fools Gold, while an interesting tale of perhaps an old Irish origin, drops the quality a bit here with the flow of the record. With continuance of the first track, comes tale #2 in Johnny the Fox Meets Jimmy the Weed, which would also be a live staple among most future Lizzy tours. Old Flame again seems a bit of filler here and this is certainly true of the record's closing numbers Sweet Marie and Boogie Woogie Dance, which I feel, really bring this album down. Massacre is shoehorned in between those three and while an extremely powerful number, it cannot save the letdown of what this record could have been. Lizzy would begin to develop a habit of padding some of their future releases with inferior tracks (or if you like, more of a glossy pop sensibility of a song)amongst the harder and better arranged ones. I really want to like this record in its entirety, but because of the 3 or 4 lesser numbers, Johnny the Fox never quite makes it there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In steps the Fox to thunderous applause..., December 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
God I love this album; it may be my favorite of Lizzy's with a slight bump over its predecessor 'Jailbreak'. In less than a year's time, Philip and the boys went back to the studio to contruct another opus to take advantage of the buzz around their previous hit record. When released in October of 1976, seven months after 'Jailbreak', 'Johnny the Fox' stalled commercially. The biggest reason might be that there was no follow up single along the lines of "Boys Are Back in Town" and the fellas were denied rock superstardom, especially in the US. Also another psuedo concept lp, 'Johnny the Fox' represented a peak in artistic abililty for Lizzy. The guitar partnership of Gorham and Robertson was flawless along with Brian Downey's performance. Philip's voice and lyrics were even more soulful and heartbreaking as he warned of the foilibles of life on the road or a life of crime. "Don't Believe a Word" was the lone single on 'JtheF' but it may not be the best song, though it is one of Thin Lizzy's greatests. "Massacre" is quite simply a masterpiece and would later be covered by Iron Maiden (whose dual guitar interplay was heavily influenced by Lizzy!). "Fool's Gold", "Borderline" and "Old Flame" tug at the heart strings as they portray lads and lasses who suffer through life at their own or others' hands. "Boogie Woogie Dance" is indescribable with an amazing rhythm section. "Johnny" and "Rocky" seem to be about rivals or old friends, one a career criminal and the other a rock star wannabe (or are they both the same man?). Some may prefer 'Jailbreak' but either way you can't go wrong with 'Johnny the Fox'....it'll take you right up to heaven. Play on voodoo rhythm devils!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Thin Lizzy album, December 1, 2002
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
This is a very good Thin Lizzy album. Not quite up there with the sublime Live and Dangerous and Fighting albums but then what is! Several of the better songs on the album are also on Live and Dangerous (Johnny the Fox...,Massacre, Don't Believe a Word) although I do like the other songs too: Borderline, Fools Gold and Sweet Marie (surprisingly soft), for example.

I bought Bad Reputation and Black Rose before this -- I would recommend doing the same again. That may be splitting hairs - Thin Lizzy were great during this period and all of their albums are worth listening to. Here is how I think the albums compare (roughly), best first:

1. Live and Dangerous, Fighting -- joint first, perfection.
3. Bad Reputation, Jailbreak (excellent but overlaps Live and Dangerous a lot)
5. Black Rose, Johnny the Fox <--- Black Rose marks the end of the peak period
7. Nightlife, Thunder and Lightning, Renegade
10. China Town (I hate to say it, but the Snowy White period was a real low point, despite chart success with singles)

By the way, the CD version sounds excellent (unlike Live & Dangerous, which several of us think sounded better on vinyl, surprisingly). The title track, which starts the album, really makes you sit up and take notice...wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful album, August 31, 2001
By 
Chuck R. (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
Most of the songs on this album are outstandingwith the exception of a filler at the end. Thin Lizzy stands out as an original band that pounds out rock music with style. "Johnny" conveys the mood of being in the back streets at night, while Brian Robertson burns out his solos in a new style unlike the Jailbreak album. Brian Downey rips on the drums all through "Massacre" and Scott Goham puts one of his heavier guitar solos on this one. The album contains some very poetic songs in "Old Flame", "Back on the Boarderline", and "Fool's Gold". Most of the songs are able to draw you away in the mood they convey. Phil Lynott lays down his poetry in his lyrics while his bandmates Downey, Gorham, and Robertson give him excellent backing and guitar solos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Lizzy's Best, October 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
Man, what can be said about this band? One of the most overlooked of the "classic" rock bands, their name is rarely mentioned in the same sentence as Led Zep, the Stones, or the Who, but they surely deserve a place among the upper echelons of the genre. This album is one of the reasons why: the songs are top notch, the playing is tight and inspired, and the vocals courtesy of Phil Lynott are just breathtaking. Sort of an underworld "concept" LP (IMHO), the album just flows very naturally. Highlights include the hard rocking opener "Johnny", the funky "Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed", the 70's metal mania of "Boogie Woogie Dance", and the soulful "Borderline" (one reviewer remarked that it was a great drinking song, I agree). But my all time fave on the record is the ballad "Sweet Marie". This song should be a staple on classic rock stations, but unfortunately US radio stations never gave it play. It is simply put one of the most beautiful rock songs ever recorded, and if it were the only song on the CD, it would still be worth it. If you like classic rock, then just buy this, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most underrated guitarists of the 70's, November 5, 1999
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
Johnny The Fox is a must have for anyone who likes great guitar. Every song on this album is fantastic. Great song writing, great guitar and of course, Phil Lynott's awesome voice. The song Sweet Marie is a testament to the versatility of the Brian Robertson/Scott Gorham combo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most overlooked album of all (Christgau be damned!), May 30, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Johnny the Fox (Audio CD)
Johnny the Fox is by far the most overlooked and under appreciated album by the band. The guitar tandem of Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson really hit their stride on this effort, and Phil wrote some of his best lyrics to date.
The second of the four great consecutive STUDIO albums the band put out in the 70's. (Jailbreak (1976), Johnny the Fox (1976), Bad Reputation (1977), and Black Rose), many attribute the failure (in sales) of this album to it's early release after "Jailbreak". I think it's lack of sales had more to do with the diverse nature of the songs alienating those listeners who wanted more hard rock fare. Thin Lizzy's diversity (and singularity), hindered it's success. The audience wanted hard rock, because that's what they thought the band was (even though it wasn't).
I look back these days and appreciate this album, and the band, even more. I find myself appreciating the balls it took to do all those songs on side 2, knowing full well people might not like it. And the guitar work is fantastic. Brian and Scott were playing brilliant stuff on this album.
And as a sidenote, I really think that the album versions sound better. Not trying to be cool or anything like that, but scratches and all, I think albums are the way to go for some of the older stuff. Buy a turntable and purchase the vinyl at GEMM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Johnny the Fox
Johnny the Fox by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.