Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding British TV
It's about time..!!!.....this is a series of mysteries involving Jonathan (who designs magic tricks for a magician) and Maddy who is a journalist. Maddy always seems to get into situations where she needs Jonathan to bail her out. VERY good scripts and acting. If you like real British mysteries with lots of twists then this is the series to buy. Can't wait to see them...
Published on August 12, 2006 by Seen Them All

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The cliche partner harms the show
I'd love to give this series a better review as I like the premise a lot and Alan Davies' character is fun, but the part of his crime solving partner Maddy is absolutely painful. The writers pull out every cliche of an overweight nearing middle-age woman. She is desperate, pushy and a slob. They never miss a chance to show her shoving food (ideally multiple candy bars)...
Published on December 30, 2011 by A. Crane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding British TV, August 12, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
It's about time..!!!.....this is a series of mysteries involving Jonathan (who designs magic tricks for a magician) and Maddy who is a journalist. Maddy always seems to get into situations where she needs Jonathan to bail her out. VERY good scripts and acting. If you like real British mysteries with lots of twists then this is the series to buy. Can't wait to see them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not just the ending., December 27, 2006
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
I'm so happy that season one of Jonathan Creek has been released in North America. This season, which features Alan Davies and Caroline Quentin (another reviewer refers to an actress and plot from shows which haven't been released yet) creates a wonderful relationship between the two stars. What appeals to me about the series is not the solutions to the mysteries. They are ingenious, but not always very plausible or, in some cases, original; Dorothy L. Sayers provided some of the inspiration for one of the stories in her book Busman's Honeymoon, written in 1935!

What makes this series memorable is the clever and funny writing and the not-quite-fulfilled relationship between the lead characters. Jonathan, who devises stage illusions, is quiet and thoughtful, but has some great lines delivered with impeccable timing by Alan Davies, who cut his teeth as a comedian. His way of saying "Hmmmm" is priceless- you always know exactly what he means. Maddy, the journalist, is loud and vulgar and over the top, and Caroline Quentin plays her with great relish. The two make perfect foils for each other- by the end of the series the viewer is left wondering whether they will ever get together, but hoping that they will.

The photography is beautiful, the locations outstanding (Jonathan lives in a windmill in Sussex) and the support players are of the usual high standard in BBC productions. If you like subtle and clever humor, with some unusual mystery thrown in, this series is for you. I'm eagerly waiting for the next series to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great British mystery series..., September 9, 2006
By 
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
I discovered this show on BBC America after hearing some good buzz on the internet and I wasn't disappointed. Alan Davies is great in the title role as a man who thinks 'outside the box' to come up with great illusions for a popular magician. His unusual way of seeing things turns out to be useful in solving crimes and he finds himself teamed with Maddy Magellan in a series of clever mysteries.

I can't recommend this series enough. Let's hope the other seasons will be released here in the US soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, March 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
This is one of the cleverest shows I've seen in a long time. It reminds me somewhat of "Lovejoy". You can easily spend an evening watching the entire 1st series and being throughly entertained. Jonathan and Maddie are just wonderful the way they play off each other. If you want a detecive show with lots of blood and violence, you'll have to look elsewhere. If you want an entertaing, fun and something a little differnet then this is worth checking out. I hope they will release the rest of them soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show!, February 16, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
I loved this show when I first saw it on BBC America! It's hard to catch an episode these days, but I occasionally find one on BBC or PBS. Since they are shown so seldom these days, I was elated to find this DVD set. I hope the other seasons are released soon!

If you haven't seen the show, it's a comedy/mystery series, where the mysteries are usually something that seems totally inexplicable. I love the aspect of seeing "how it was done", but I also love the characters. I would definitely recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series with terrific actors., January 5, 2007
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
A comedy mystery series that is a lot of fun because the characters are as real as they are quirky. The actors do a great job of making you care about their characters' predicaments. You will be glad you spent time with them to solve a mystery (which is really secondary to the complex relationships of the main characters). Alan Davies and Caroline Quentin have an interesting chemistry that is anything but predictable. They are terrific and make this series poignant and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, July 4, 2007
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
So clever, witty and engaging. I wish the series had lasted longer. One of the funniest, smartest shows on TV. Phenomenal acting by both actors, and Alan Davies is so cute as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jonathan Creek, January 11, 2007
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
I have loved this series ever since I saw it on cable and prayed it would be put in the U.S. on DVD. It is the very best. I can't wait for the rest to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Series, April 6, 2010
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
Jonathan Creek creates illusions for a smarmy magician. He lives in a windmill that has been in the family for five generations; he's shy, reclusive and generally put off by the oversexed magician who employs him. Maddy Magellan is an indefatigable journalist who partners with Jonathan to solve locked-room and other, seemingly impenetrable mysteries. Jonathan draws on his illusionist's craft to do this and, in the meantime, enjoys the sexual tension with Maddy. The shows are nicely written, well acted, clever romps. While the crimes can be violent, the overall tone is light. The concept behind the stories is very imaginative and the chemistry between the key characters is quite special. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up with creek!, June 2, 2007
This review is from: Jonathan Creek - Season One (DVD)
An excellent series all around! The acting is spontaneously brilliant and humorous. Time flies when in the company of Maddy, Johnathan and their clients. Johnathan's conclusions are amazing and the process he uses to arrive at them, engages the viewer quickly and completely. My only complaint is that there isn't more to the series....truly a loss for viewers like me, who have immediately become fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jonathan Creek - Season One
Jonathan Creek - Season One by Alan Davies (DVD - 2006)
$34.98 $19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.