Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid investment if you are new to Joomla development
Joomla Programming gives a solid, fairly in-depth overview into the core of the Joomla System, and how to design various extensions for it. Will it make you ready to join the core Development Team...no. But that's not what the book is designed to do. What it does is make accessible the extensible features of Joomla in a coherent way, instead of spending days (or weeks)...
Published on April 13, 2012 by An Avid Reader

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in Introductory Material?
Not coming from a 'joomla' background I found this book to be very lacking in introductory information. New constructs are introduced such as on page 73 where a 'tpl_' value is prepended onto the template name without any explanation of what it is or where it is coming from.

Very confusing. It is only later that you learn that the tpl_ is a naming convention...
Published 20 months ago by William Slaughter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid investment if you are new to Joomla development, April 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press) (Paperback)
Joomla Programming gives a solid, fairly in-depth overview into the core of the Joomla System, and how to design various extensions for it. Will it make you ready to join the core Development Team...no. But that's not what the book is designed to do. What it does is make accessible the extensible features of Joomla in a coherent way, instead of spending days (or weeks) browsing through their poorly organized and (in my opinion) god-awful community wiki.

I can only hope that the upcoming Joomla Templates (by Angie Radke) covers the templates as in-depth as this book covers the core. That's the one reason I gave this book 4 instead of 5 stars, there's just not enough on templates, which to me is an essential and integral part of Joomla Programming. They also glossed over the MooTools functionality, I would have liked to see more on that.

Also, let's face it, this is the most in-depth book on 2.5 that's out there.

Buy it, unless you are already programming extensions, in which case you probably don't need it (except maybe as a reference).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Introduction to Joomla! Development, April 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are someone who wants to create Joomla! extensions or who just wants to understand how Joomla works "under the hood" this is the book for you.

Joomla is an easy to use, open source content management system used to power millions of websites. Not only is it designed to make it easy to build and manage a website, it also is built to make it easy to add new functionality. This book explains how to extend Joomla in a variety of ways, starting from layout overrides and modules all the way through building platform applications and extending classes.

One of the great things about Joomla being open source, is that you can open up the files and see how things work. This can be a bit overwhelming for non developers -- there is PHP, javascript, HTML, and CSS all working together to make a web page and unified web site. For experienced developers new to Joomla understanding the design patterns and APIs can also take a while. This book works for both audiences. If you are new to development it takes you through the development process step by step and even provides good basic introductions to PHP, javascript and object-oriented programming. For experienced developers who want to understand Joomla architecture and design patterns it explains everything from the Joomla bootstrap to the distinctive aspects of the Joomla MVC (model, view, controller) implementation. It even explains in a clear way how plugins fit in to the Joomla architecture.

There is a third audience, too, which is self-taught people like me who have worked with Joomla code for a long time, but mainly to solve particular problems. For us, this book gives us the missing big picture view that will help us hack in the right way. And amazingly, the right way usually involves less work, not more, which is the power of the Joomla design patterns and platform.

There are many things to like in the book, but one thing that I particularly appreciated was the way security topics are integrated in each chapter. They really explain not only what you should do to build secure extension but also why some kinds of code can make your site vulnerable.

Written by two of the people who know Joomla best, Mark Dexter (project manager for the Joomla! CMS) and Louis Landry (principal architect of the Joomla Platform), this book is a must have for every Joomla developer and every webmaster who wants to understand how Joomla works and is thinking about modifying a file.

Elin Waring is a Joomla web master and hacker, contributer, active in the Joomla Bug Squad and co-author of The Official Joomla! Book (Joomla! Press)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The #1 Joomla Programming Book, May 14, 2012
This review is from: Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press) (Paperback)
I received my copy of Joomla! Programming a couple of weeks ago and I've learned more in those few weeks than from years of reading documentation. Mark and Louis took the time to explain how Joomla works and how to get it to work for you. My background is developing sites, but I always wanted to learn more about the actual programming aspect of Joomla. This book has already given me that and I expect it will continue to do so as I complete it (I'm only about 1/2 way thru!) Highly recommended if you want to learn to create extensions the right way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking in Introductory Material?, October 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press) (Paperback)
Not coming from a 'joomla' background I found this book to be very lacking in introductory information. New constructs are introduced such as on page 73 where a 'tpl_' value is prepended onto the template name without any explanation of what it is or where it is coming from.

Very confusing. It is only later that you learn that the tpl_ is a naming convention for language files.

To be fair, it may have been mentioned prior to page 73 but I can't find it anywhere in the index.

The book is a pretty tough go for me.

Best of luck in your reading / parsing of this text.

Bill S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Joomla!'s innerworkings revealed without having to study code to find them, May 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a newcomer to Joomla! development but not to building websites with Joomla! I am acutely aware of the difficulty in finding current Joomla! documentation that explained precisely how Joomla! 2.5 worked and used examples to show how to code for it. Mr. Dexter and Mr. Landry have given the community a real gift with this work. I found the explanations and examples easy to follow and very helpful in learning to code for Joomla! 2.5. I went from having only written Joomla! templates to now being able to create any type of extension I need or want. This book has allowed me to finally unlock the full power of Joomla! and I have never loved Joomla! more. Thanks Mark and Louis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are the great Joomla programming books?, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press) (Paperback)
This is the best Joomla programming book I have seen. That said, the bar is really low for the subject. Wordpress has tons of books on all kinds of angles on customization of Wordpress, why not Joomla? Drupal has some really good books on how to customize and develop with it too. All three projects (Wordpress, Joomla & Drupal) have great documentation online, but Joomla lacks in the published arena, no clue why.

Best book on Joomla development!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a valuable book!, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press) (Paperback)
It's a valuable book for the beginners. Well understandable, with clear explanations. Good ground to the advance. I'm very satisfied. Buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommend, May 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press) (Paperback)
I'm about half-way through the book right now and so far I would have to say that I would highly recommend it. It not only explains how to, but also walks you through the process of how the software works / flows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although this book goes deep into Joomla!, It gives the reader everiything he needs to understand every subject, provided the latter makes an honest effort.

For instance, I didn't know anything about PHP. But the primer gave me the essentials I had to know to understand any chapter of the book.

Plenty of explanation, clearly exposed...

I feel confident that I can use (and modify at will) Joomla! on a professionnal basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Joomla Programming is a must have for all the joomla cms programmers. Great Valuable guide for understanding joomla 2.5 platform and coding custom extensions like plugins, modules and components.
Although it's not as detailed as the Mastering Joomla series, it provides a deep explanation on the new forms and database typology, providing a good base for introducing to joomla 2.5 programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press)
Joomla! Programming (Joomla! Press) by Mark Dexter (Paperback - April 5, 2012)
$49.99 $32.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.