Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships 1st class immediately. Our 40th year.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Josef Suk: Symphony "Asrael" op. 27
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Josef Suk: Symphony "Asrael" op. 27 Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, August 8, 2000
"Please retry"
$11.75 $9.00

Product Details

  • Performer: Jacques Prat
  • Orchestra: Orchestra of Montpellier Lanquedoc-Rouss
  • Conductor: Peter Schneider
  • Composer: Josef Suk
  • Audio CD (August 8, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Naive / Musicales Actes Sud
  • ASIN: B00004X0B2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,188,009 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Symphony in C minor, Op. 27 ('Asrael'): Andante sostenuto
2. Symphony in C minor, Op. 27 ('Asrael'): Andante
3. Symphony in C minor, Op. 27 ('Asrael'): Vivace
4. Symphony in C minor, Op. 27 ('Asrael'): Adagio
5. Symphony in C minor, Op. 27 ('Asrael'): Adagio maestoso

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By David Anthony Hollingsworth on April 8, 2001
Josef Suk's Asrael Symphony of 1905-1906 represents the turning point of his career (and his musical identity). Before the symphony, much of Suk's writing was under the heavy influence of his teacher and father-in-law Antonin Dvorak (in mannerism) and Richard Strauss (in orchestration), even to the point of being derivative. Hence, Suk's Seranade for Strings is pleasantly written, with the Adagio introspective & melancholic. But the Suk's personality have little presence while the world of Dvorak is profound (too profound for its own good I'm afraid).

The Asrael Symphony changed all that. Asrael, an angel who takes the soul from the departed in Muslim folklore, occupied Suk's mind after the death of Dvorak in 1904. Originally, the Symphony was to be in three movements, all of which were completed by the spring of 1905 and dedicated to the memory of Dvorak. Otilka, Dvorak's eldest daughter and Suk wife by 1898, passed away on July 5th, 1905 of a heart condition, and Suk added two movements to the symphony dedicated in her memory. Never before had Suk written a work of such profound originality and depth, with the conception every bit as powerful as a Mahler symphony (minus the neuroticism). It's striking how the Finale begins: with the announcement four timpanies, thus returning to the reality of the tragic losses after the sweet, innocent adagio portraying Otilka (with the irregular drum beat signifying her weak heart). In Asrael, and in every work since, Suk had entered a new music territory, his reflections of life in every way profound and genuine, giving us his journey from shock and uppermost despair, to his gradual acceptance of the beauties and the pains life has to offer.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category