Facility Spring Cleaning BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$10.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This documentary was made shortly before Joseph Campbell's death and is a nice mix of biographical and academic material. That said, it's really only an introduction to both. If you really want to dig in deeper, check out Mythos or Hero with a Thousand Faces. Also, the sound quality on this DVD wasn't great - at times, I struggled to hear Campbell talk, even with the volume on my computer turned all the way up.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2008
The Hero's Journey is the journey of one of our greatest mythologist's own life journey - that of Joseph Campbell. It shares his life and philosophies in some wonderful dialogues. Beautifully presented, it is a wonderful addition to any Campbell enthusiasts library, though perhaps not for a Campbell novice.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
Joseph Campbell is my hero. His belief system is very much like mine so playing any of his work is like having a spiritual experience. Everyone should try him at least once, and then pass it on to a friend. I bought the whole series to replace the ones my late husband and I bought years ago that got lost in a move.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2011
Training wheels are required for novices into Joseph Campbell's world. This is an excellent DVD start into the world of spiritualism and metaphysics. Hopefully the sojourner will visit Mr. Campell's books as well. Never once does Joesph Campbell impose his perspective as he is merely a catalyst to stimulating the viewers' or readers' thoughts.Campbell performed a tremendous service to those in search of the development of the spiritual self.
In conjunction with a plethora of writers and artists I methodically developed through fiction not "The Hero With a Thousand Faces" but The 'HEROINE With Multiple Countenances' through my 4 novels guaranteed to charge a new and improved attitude; spirituality, in order to be effective, must connect with other currents:
Hear the Calliope: A sentimental journey on the Earth Ride
Legacy: Let the games begin (Volume 2)
Reason Void of Reason: Spirituality Honeymoon Style (Volume 3)
BREATHE: Noumenon (Volume 4)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
This DVD was shorter than I expected, but none the less, a good film. I wish it talked more about the process of the Hero's Journey and not Joseph Campbell's life. I felt it was more of a biography.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
If you have read Joseph Campbell and were a little mystified, this documentary will send you back to his work for another read. Once you understand the man, you will have a better appreciation for his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2004
"The Hero's Adventure" is drawn from Joseph Campbell's study of mythology. Joseph Campbell is one of the world's foremost authorities of mythology, which really makes the movie interesting because of his ability to tie mythology in with the every day events of people's lives. He presents the idea that a hero or heroine is not just a person that commits a supernatural act, but that we can find a hero or a heroine all around us in different shapes and forms. Joseph presents a hero as someone who has given his life to something bigger than himself or other than himself. According to Joseph Campbell, the moral objective of heroism is saving a person or idea. Also, all heroes must go through trials and tribulations in order to complete the serendipitous task asked of them. They must also under-go a near death experience.

Joseph Campbell's ability to tie in the hero's path with other things, Star Wars for example, helps to provide a relationship from the movie to the viewer. I think the Star Wars movies are very interesting and to know that they are based around Joseph Campbell's hero's path helps me to make a connection with the movie. In one of the Star Wars videos, there is a scene where three of the people are stuck in a trash compactor, which is very much like a belly of the whale experience, or a near death experience. The hero's act includes a departure, a fulfillment, and a return. The Star Wars trilogy goes through all three of these acts. Which indicates that the Star Wars videos are based on this type of hero mythology.

In other ways, however, this movie is also uninspiring as Joseph Campbell sometimes makes it seem that he is reaching in order to tie in mythology to everything in every day life. Sometimes mythology can be tied in, and other times, it can't. Overall, it was an okay movie. It wasn't life changing, but it was an informative movie and very educational.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
This video gives a beautiful explanation of the 'Hero's Journey' alongside Joseph Campbell's fascinating biography through the medium of video. My only complaint was that it's only an hour. Like most work from this great man, it left me wanting more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
Campbell unites the different concepts of all the world's religions into his philosophy, not favoring any particular one. Very thought-provoking though the program itself is boring to watch.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2007
This Biographical Portrait is beautifully done and most informative. Mr. Campbell has long been one of my "Hero's!" I am inspired to continue "following my bliss!"
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.