Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of my favorites
This has to be one of Dolph Lundgren's best movies. I saw this years ago under the name Army of One. I am so glad they are bringing it to Blu-ray...
Published 23 months ago by Kindle Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could've been better.
Vic Armstrong is no Hal Needham. Nice to see Vic Armstrong influenced by John Woo and Hong Kong flicks of the late 80's early 90's. But on a whole, a very weak movie.
Published 10 months ago by S. E. Hermo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of my favorites, December 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
This has to be one of Dolph Lundgren's best movies. I saw this years ago under the name Army of One. I am so glad they are bringing it to Blu-ray...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great improvemnet video audio and special features, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
This is one hell of a movie. You may know it as Army of one. Dolph's Best in my opinion. ''Santee You learn from me'' Jimmy Shoeshine. Great action Gunplay Car Chase. Nice Letterbox Transfer Re-Mastered DTS master Audio in 5.1 Surround. Vic Armstrong the man who directed this gem of a movie is a legendary stuntman. This movie will not disappoint you. Thank you whoever decided this would make a great bluray release. I thought it would be the last movie to be released on bluray. Now if we can just get Avenging Force. You hear me MGM Sony AVENGING FORCE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a violent desert trek with the lovely kristian alfonso..., February 11, 2013
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Action star Dolph Lundgren (Rocky IV, Universal Soldier) is an escaped convict on a mission of revenge, in Joshua Tree (1993), an entertaining comic book adventure, directed by stunt specialist Vic Armstrong (Starship Troopers, Tomorrow Never Dies), which features an abundance of nicely executed action sequences, car chases, gunfights, and pyrotechnics. Also known as "Army of One", the film is produced by Vic's brother Andy Armstrong (Rambo III), who also serves as the second unit director, and stunt coordinator.

Things are not going well for ex-race car driver Wellman Anthony Santee (Lundgren), when his best friend is killed, and he is wrongfully convicted for killing a cop, in a deal that has gone bad. Santee escapes from custody while in transit to prison, and flees into the southern California desert. In need of wheels, Santee grabs a truck, and kidnaps off duty sheriff Rita Marek (Kristian Alfonso) at a gas station. The innocent hostage being dragged into danger has been way overdone, but it works well in this case, as Alfonso is sassy, sexy, colorful, and does not lose her cool. She is always trying to figure things out, which helps the viewer, since there is often a certain element of mystery regarding what is happening.

Lt. Franklin Severance (George Segal) and his partner Jack Rudisill (Beau Starr), the Los Angeles cops who originally arrested Santee, join the law enforcement posse pursuing Santee, but they have a slightly different agenda. Santee's quest to get money owed to him, results in a crazy mad battle at a warehouse full of stolen sports cars. The mayhem is surreal, and quite amusing, as Santee is all over the place, blasting everything in sight. He escapes with Rita in a sports coupe that does amazingly well off road, as the chase in the desert continues.

Santee goes through the adventure operating at less than full strength, having been shot and wounded several times. Fortunately he heals quickly. The obnoxious Severance and his partner, are able to hold their own in a fight, only because Santee is injured. Their fight scenes are hilarious, choreographed like a pro wrestling match, with Santee repeatedly receiving blows in his wounded areas.

The storyline is unpolished and rough in places, but the entertaining stunts and fights, help make Joshua Tree a mostly exciting ride, and one of Dolph Lundgren's better films. Soap star Kristian Alfonso (Days of Our Lives), who's career had mostly been in television, is quite good here.

Shout Factory's Bluray release features a widescreen presentation that is a huge improvement over the 1999 full screen DVD release. Extras include a commentary track by directors Vic and Andy Armstrong, an alternate ending, and interviews with the Armstrong's, and stars Lundgren and Alfonso.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past., April 3, 2014
By 
Richard Or Wendy Rudy (Whitehall, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
My husband and i remembered this from our past and saw it on this tv one night. After that we had to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could've been better., January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Vic Armstrong is no Hal Needham. Nice to see Vic Armstrong influenced by John Woo and Hong Kong flicks of the late 80's early 90's. But on a whole, a very weak movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, October 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Dolph Lundgren Fans, May 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
The story is okay, but the film shows its low budget in a number of places. Oddly enough, one of those is the fight scenes. It suffers from the problem Jackie Chan say he tries to avoid: I call it the one-at-a-time-fight. It's hard enough to choreograph a fight between 2 people, but when you have a dozen bad guys or more and one good guy, the action often deteriorates into a bunch of guys waiting in line to attack the star. Looks pretty lame most of the time.

Also, in one scene, the bad guys show up in 2 or 3 cars, then turn into at least 2 or 3 dozen fighters (with unlimited ammo). Again, kinda lame.

Fortunately, I like Dolph. Not so much as a star, but as a supporting guy as in The Expendables. Geoge Segal does a good job as do some of the other supporting cast members, though everybody with major injuries heal almost completly in time for their next shot. The "supercars" are quite clearly replicas, and not particularly good ones. The chase scenes are pretty good as would be expected of the Armstrongs. The script kinda is what it is; quickly written for maximum action.

All in all, it's a pretty predictable movie. You're not going to say, "Wow, I didn't see that coming!" If you like Dolph, like lots of semi-fake gunplay and fights and like chases, you'll be pretty happy, but don't go in expecting to see The Expendables, Rambo, etc. That's not what this is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
The movie is ok. The special features are very good. Good job Shout! Factory. Keep them coming and I will buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo)
Joshua Tree (Army of One) (Blu-ray / DVD Combo) by Vic Armstrong (Blu-ray - 2013)
$19.93 $14.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.