Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blasting Off With Another WB "Exclusive."
Warner Brothers has started releasing these "exclusive" DVDs from their website on a made-to-order basis for those cult fans of the iconic Hanna-Barbera/Ruby Spears animated libraries, featuring television shows that several fans have waited for for many years but not quite enough fans for a "commercial" (retail) release. Among such animated classics was the 1973 retread...
Published on December 9, 2010 by KAB

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much for bootleg
This is manufactured with dvd-r, a basic disc like anyone can get in a stack of 100 for about $22.00. Without the attractive, colered, animated discs that most every real set has, this one looks like someone in a hot, sweaty room in Mexico made. That's where it really is from! What did this set cost Warner Bros. to make? : .10/ disc= .40, a package, .25, advertising, .00,...
Published 13 months ago by Gterrier3


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blasting Off With Another WB "Exclusive.", December 9, 2010
Warner Brothers has started releasing these "exclusive" DVDs from their website on a made-to-order basis for those cult fans of the iconic Hanna-Barbera/Ruby Spears animated libraries, featuring television shows that several fans have waited for for many years but not quite enough fans for a "commercial" (retail) release. Among such animated classics was the 1973 retread of "Josie," jetisonning the Pussycats into Outerspace for further adventures (apparently, stopping criminals on Earth wasn't enough for William Hanna and Joseph Barbera's tastes). Anyway, gone were the spies, criminals, and assorted antagonists of Earth, only to make way for a batch of robots, space pirates, and monsters for the Pussycats to match wits against. All of this; plus an additional creature, the Bleep (that Melody is somehow smart enough to understand!) to cast the underused Sebastian (possibly my favorite character) into an even more minor role than before. Sure; many fans of the original series have raised a valid point that this series was bordering on the pointless and downright goofy (even for an early-70's, post-Scooby-Doo, Hanna-Barbera production). Still, even I have to admit that there was a sense of comic charm behind it. After a run of sixteen episodes, it was still pretty hysterical to cap off each episode with another attempt to return to Earth (the ship's autopilot programmed "perfectly," of course) only to be foiled by Alexandra's constant meddling all of the way up until the last episode wherein, in a plot twist not to be taken lightly...their navigation toward Earth is thwarted by Alex instead. Anyway, as before with another selection from Warner's made-to-order "Archive Collection," I applaud them for releasing these cartoons again at all after so many years of so many demands from so many fans.

Were there shortcomings in this release? Of course. The production material could have used some cleaning up (although, to some, that just adds to the retro feel and its not as dirty as some of Warner Home Videos COMMERCIAL releases). The discs are not dual layer so, once again, they won't play in computer drives (I've been using my PS2 for these). The pilot episode uses the commercial opening for the rest of the series, rather than its personal opening sequence. And the logos capping off the ends of the shows are downright disslexic! Some episodes utilize the orange, HB logo appropriate for the time in which these were initially released. Some episodes use the white "comedy" montage developed by Turner Broadcasting in the early '90s. At least one episode even employs the swirling star logo with Taft entertainment byline from the mid-'80s (my personal favorite logo of any of its reincarnations).

All in all, a fair warning: if you were a fan of the original series and have yet to see this for yourself, BUY AT YOUR OWN RISK! If you were a fan of this reincarnation of Josie from its initial run, a few grievances with the end of episode bumpers or the opening sequence to one episode can be forgiven. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, January 14, 2011
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
I got this set the same time as Goober and the Ghost Chasers so you will need my review is nearly the same.

I really love the Pussycat series but it's so expensive! It's actually crazy how much it costs on Amazon when you can go to WB and get it for $24.95 + S&H. Amazon definitely needs to come down on their prices. I had trade-in credit so that ruled where I got my copy on this one. Amazon has been good to me, but pricey sometimes. Ok, i'm through griping. lol

If you enjoy the other Josie series on earth, then this is definitely for you. It's a really enjoyable show with lots of good music.

It starts out when they get trapped aboard a spaceship and launch into space, thanks to you know who, Alexandra. =) Well they end up meeting all kinds of alien races, some good some bad, and see different planets. They always try to get back home but someone, Alexandra, keeps messing things up so that leads to their adventure each time. lol

Very good series and I highly recommend both Josie DVD sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been cleaned up a bit..., May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
I'm a bit of a nostalgia buff so I've been searching for a lot of my favorite Saturday morning TV shows. I loved a lot of the Hanna-Barbera cartoons, but especially held Josie & The Pussycats in Outspace with such fondness. I ordered this DVD and am quite happy to finally own it. I also just ordered Wacky Races! My only caveat is that the original print should have been cleaned up...the dust or whatever you want to call it is quite noticeable. Don't get me wrong, I'm thrilled to own it but would have been in heaven if the product was shown the utmost care before it was sent out to the buying public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blast off!, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
Josie and Pussycats in Outer Space. I was glad to get this set since the last time I saw it was the original run on Saturday Morning in the 1970's. Definitely one of the kookier cartoon series, the music and artwork are great on their own (Alex Toth who also did Space Ghost, Super Friends, and my personal fav Herculoids). Only wish Warner Bros. would have shown greater care to remaster this series (as others have noted) since there are parts with visible scratches, dirt, smeared frame edges, and slightly blurred/dark images. Does it diminish the zany fun of this series? No, but it is annoying. For years I passed on bootleg copies waiting for an official release (same for Herculoids). Although the program is still very enjoyable (and I recommend), for fans they deserve better (Warner, are you listening?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to Watch, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
I enjoyed the Saturday morning cartoons, fun to watch with the kids. Nothing like this today. Loads of fun!! These were the best cartoons ever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Josie and the Pussycats, July 5, 2012
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
Josie and the Pussycats in Outer Space 4 disc DVD arrived safe and faster than I had expected. Great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Fun, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
This cartoon began when I was 12, but I can't say I watched it back then.I purchased the original Josie & the Pussycats
Series a few years ago and caught up with that again .Then I saw the "Outer Space" series on Boomerang and decided
To add it to my cartoon collection.I like the little adventures this gang leads us into,especially in the great looking spaceship.It's not "rocket science"(ahem!) It's just more Saturday-morning-in-the-Seventies fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will not play on RECORDED DVD PLAYERS & PC, April 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
On the back of the dvd case it says in small print,'This disc is expected to play back in DVD video 'PLAY ONLY' devices. And may not play in other DVD devises including recorders and PC drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much for bootleg, June 23, 2013
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
This is manufactured with dvd-r, a basic disc like anyone can get in a stack of 100 for about $22.00. Without the attractive, colered, animated discs that most every real set has, this one looks like someone in a hot, sweaty room in Mexico made. That's where it really is from! What did this set cost Warner Bros. to make? : .10/ disc= .40, a package, .25, advertising, .00, wages, .50, shipping, .25, packing, .05 + wages, .15. $1.60 total. Profit: $25.40. "Won't play in laptop or pc. Won't play in recorders. Forking over hard earned cash for these greedy JEerks, sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocking lost in space, March 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc) (DVD)
Dynamite! Better than the first Josie cartoon & suits the bumbling atomoshere of the characters and location. With the exception of Josie, more in depth character information, motivation & behaviour. Unfortunate only 16 episodes, merited more & conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Josie And The Pussycats In Outer Space (4 Disc)
$35.99 $27.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.