Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Journeys To Abstraction: 100 Paintings and Their Secrets Revealed
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2012
This book is terrific for any artist interested in the experimental and abstract painting process. The quality of work from well known artists is exceptional. The images are large and excellent. The thought processes and painting procedures written by the artists themselves are detailed and illuminating. This is a very well designed book filled with textbook information as well as some step-by-step demos. This can be your workshop without leaving home.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
This book tells how many artists create abstract works of art. Each of the artists whose works are shown explain their approach to the creative challenge. Some begin with a preconceived idea while others simply play with materials and let this process determine the direction they will take. Succesful works display an aesthetic awareness and sensitivity to design.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2012
While I agree with the other reviewers that there is a wealth of information presented here and a wide range of styles, I was very disappointed in the quality of the photography. Many of the large photos look as if they were taken at a low resolution and enlarged to blurriness. Details and textures are not crisp, and some photos appear too contrasty. The pages jump with gorgeous color, but the fine details, brushstrokes, and sharp edges are often lost. A bit too much Photoshopping?
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2012
There are a lot of art books out there, but this is one that you'll find yourself referring to time and time again. Sue St. John has done something amazing for artists (and art lovers): she sought out, selected, and compiled abstract works by dozens of contemporary artists and allowed each artist to describe HOW the piece was created. It's a celebration of the creative process and shows the variety of ways that strong paintings come together, guided by the artist's hand (and mind). As a bonus, she includes a few step by step exercises at the end of the book--I can't wait to try these! A very well designed book and essential reading for all abstract/experimental painters.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
I have found this book to be one that you cannot lay down. I am looking and reading in the wee hours of the morning. Sue St. John has make this beautiful and educational.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
This book provides great artistic insight to Abstract Art for non-artists and practicing Artists aswell. It features beautifully
reproduced works of many Contemporary Artists aswell as several descriptions as to how the artists achieved their
respective works-(I can hardly wait to try some of the techniques). Inspirational aswell as beautiful, "Journeys to
Abstraction..." is one of the few books I've purchased recently that actually justifies it's price! ----Marian Rosson
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
I like this book very much. I like the size and quality of the pictures of the paintings. I am also glad that some of the descriptions of how the painting was done are long enough for the reader to get a good understanding and idea of the process to create it. Thank you.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
A must have for any artist's library. The working process detailed by each artist featured is inspirational and precise. Learn new techniques and medias plus enjoy the images of art work !
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
I hated almost all of the art in this book. Almost every piece looked like it was composed of pure color with very little neutrals or sophisticated color mixing. This is what artist James Gurney referred to as suffering from the "fruit salad" disease. Sure, red, blue, green, and yellow are pretty colors, but unless you know how to neutralize them with complementary pigments, they can never really stand out in their full glory. A good percentage of the reproductions were extremely low quality (i.e. low res), so you couldn't really see the technique anyway. I think this book was well-intentioned, and the text is probably okay, but personally I wasn't inspired by any of the images, so I didn't care about the technique described and didn't end up reading much. It's too bad, because there really aren't any good books on this subject that I know of. If anyone knows of one (or even a website), please comment on my review.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
This is a well-meaning book that seeks to fill a genuine need for practical examples and instruction on abstract painting. Descriptions include methods and materials used. A number of the photos are poor quality. A few of the paintings have good compositions, but most are of the amorphous, decorative variety one is likely to find at shows by non-competitive artists' guilds. All or almost all of the work is by women, but the book does not acknowledge or explain its bias.

Another reviewer aptly puts a finger on another critical element that is missing: "how to abstract." Abstraction is not mere surface decoration, as this book's examples suggest it is. Studying nature gives the serious artist a vocabulary of observed relationships of forms, values, and colors. Abstraction is the re-working of these relationships, free from the constraints of a complete illusion of realism, but still alluding to it. For an abstract work to be good, it should also adhere to sound compositional structure. In other words, it should give the viewer reason to examine every part of the painting. Most of the paintings in this book don't.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse