Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all-purpose carbon steel wok
Been using this for 2 months, love it. It is everything you expect it to be. Few comments worth thinking about before buying:

1) 1.5mm diameter is actually quite thick compared to thinner 1mm diameter woks. Heats up slower, distributes heat more evenly, is heavier to lift. 1.5mm is good for slightly longer stir frys, I find 1mm to be handy for very quick flash...
Published on April 16, 2010 by TK

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the 2.0mm thickness
This wok is just too thin; the metal is only 1.5mm. When you lift this wok by the handle, the metal around the joint flexes and stresses, and after just a few weeks, it's already bent out of shape. I have tossed it, and purchased another carbon-steel wok with wall thickness of 2.0mm. If you're looking for a carbon-steel wok, you're on the right track. Just buy one with...
Published 5 months ago by Henry David Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all-purpose carbon steel wok, April 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
Been using this for 2 months, love it. It is everything you expect it to be. Few comments worth thinking about before buying:

1) 1.5mm diameter is actually quite thick compared to thinner 1mm diameter woks. Heats up slower, distributes heat more evenly, is heavier to lift. 1.5mm is good for slightly longer stir frys, I find 1mm to be handy for very quick flash stir frys.

2) This wok is moderately heavy to lift if you like to toss when stir-frying. It's more of a stationary wok but the handles are solid and function all the same.

3) Treating is a pain but a necessary step for all carbon steel woks. Treating this one is no different than any others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really happy, September 5, 2011
By 
Brien (Ballston Spa, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
Quality: The wok is excellent. It sits well on an electric burner and heats quickly for good stir frying. We don't flip it to toss food so we haven't noticed a weight problem. Have you noticed that some frying pans tilt on a burner because the handle is too heavy compared to the pan? That doesn't happen with this wok. The wooden handle is substantial but there is no wobbling.

Seasoning: The initial process was a little time consuming, but since then we can clean it with just hot water and a cloth. Works great! Then I warm it and wipe it with a little oil. Cleanup is amazingly easy and fast. No rust problems here. We got our seasoning instructions from Eating Well Magazine.

Cost: I think this is a great price and when you add free Prime shipping, wow.

Recommendation: It's used in and recommended by the Eating Well test kitchen. We agree - highly recommended.

Assembly: Ours came with the handle assembled which meant the box was huge. Thank goodness for cardboard recycling in our town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all I use to cook now!, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
Love this wok! As long as you take the proper steps to season it (which I think is where most wokkers fail), this wok is a great addition to the kitchen. I love that it has a regular handle instead of two helper handles as I can never flip properly with those helper handles. I could do without the wooden accents on the handles, however. That makes it not a good fit for oven cooking if you wanted to throw it in the oven for a spell.

Other than that, I love it! Make sure you season it, make sure you get a proper wok burner for it so you can generate enough heat, and don't ever wash it with soap!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wok This Way!, March 15, 2012
By 
N. Toy "normstoys" (Alameda, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
This is a unique example where a cheap thing is, actually good- I purchased this model (found it at a Ross Store Kitchen section for $10.99) and have seasoned it after every use and is developing the nice black patina that gives it a non-stick surface (without the Teflon / silverstone leeching of worn non-stick woks) and continues to add more character and depth of flavor to each stir fried meal I make.
The wok-weight is a little heavy but its purpose is perfect for stir-frying. Stay away from the "high-end" name brands (and prices) that we're used to seeing as carbon steel will run circles and wok wonders for your stir-fry meals compared to the fancy-shmancy anodized aluminum or stainless tri-layered designer woks. It's why your favorite Chinese restaurants have always used and continue to use carbon steel for their delicious entrees. Simple is healthy. Simple tastes good.
One word of caution- make sure you completely scrub off and clean the "protective" layer BEFORE it initial seasoning (and invest in a cheap $3 bamboo cleaning whisk; you won't be sorry). Look for youtube videos that show how to properly clean & season a carbon steel wok. Now you're ready to wok & roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent carbon steel wok for all stir frying tasks, December 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
After having used several expensive modern "non-stick" stir fry pans, I grew very tired of having to deal with their poor non stick performance and eventual chipping of the cooking surface. I decided to go the more traditional route and picked up this wok. Let me just say it has been one of the best decisions I've made in terms of cookware. If this is your first carbon steel wok, here are some tips to get you started:

Preparation - When you first get your wok, give it a real good scrubbing with soap and water. They come coated with machine oil to prevent rusting from the factory.

Seasoning - If you're unfamiliar with this process, there are some good articles online on how to do this. A good initial seasoning will give your wok a non stick surface that will last years. Unless you don't mind having a smoke filled house, I suggest doing this outside if at all possible. After the first few uses, you might want to do a few touch up mini seasonings to help build the coating along.

Care - Never use soap on your wok. Simply clean with hot water and a soft scrubbing sponge (the less abrasive the better).

I've been cooking with this wok for a little over 6 months now and it has developed a great non stick coating. Considering how things are going, this wok (my first) is probably the last wok I will ever need to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value but make sure you season properly, March 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
Carbon Steel is the way to go - don't bother with non-stick coating. It will just scrape off and you will end up eating it. It takes some time to properly season the wok but after you do you won't need to scrub or wash it ever again. Just rinse with hot water and wipe out with a towel. Then apply some oil and you're done. The seasoning process (described in the instructions) will create a natural non-stick surface which will discolor the inside and outside of the wok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is quite simply the very best wok you can find, at a great price!, January 31, 2014
By 
David Marks "norcalidave" (Paradise, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
We've had this wok for over a year now and it just gets better and better, and our stir fries themselves get better and better in terms of the flavors, etc. Plus the price of this wok is unbelievably low!

For those who criticize it because it "rusts", please trust me when I say that it will never rust if you season it properly and wash and dry it properly, AND then coat the inside with a light layer of oil (olive or canola both work fine).

And of course you never use detergent on it....

Again, as others have said, the way to dry it is to use a clean kitchen towel, and then put it on one of your stove/range top burner for a couple minutes to finally dry it. After that you oil it and put it away.

The only way this wok could rust is if you don't bother to do the above, although I have sympathy for you if you live in a very humid, wet climate, because that would make things more difficult for you. On the other hand, if you follow the above drying instructions (including the oiling), even a humid climate shouldn't be an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the 2.0mm thickness, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
This wok is just too thin; the metal is only 1.5mm. When you lift this wok by the handle, the metal around the joint flexes and stresses, and after just a few weeks, it's already bent out of shape. I have tossed it, and purchased another carbon-steel wok with wall thickness of 2.0mm. If you're looking for a carbon-steel wok, you're on the right track. Just buy one with 2.0mm metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite Simply The Best, October 7, 2012
By 
Richard Kenyada (Atlanta, Georgia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
This is the best wok I've ever owned. I first saw it in a demonstration video featuring noted author and expert on Chinese cooking, Grace Young. The wok has been everything I hoped it would be. It is the recommended 14" size and thickness, and it stir-fries food magnificently. The concentric circles etched in the sides gives food something to hold onto when pushed to the side. There are many videos available online with instructions on how to properly season a wok. I highly recommend the one by Ms. Young. The first time I cooked a meal with this wok - shrimp fried rice- it came out better than ever before. I'm convinced that this wok made the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well made wok, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Joyce Chen 21-9978, Classic Series 14 Inch Carbon Steel Wok (Kitchen)
Replaced a Meyers Circulon non stick wok that had to be used with medium heat. This wok was easy to season and does a much better job at a higher cooking temperature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.