Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and absurd
Jubei-chan is about as absurd as anything you would want to see. It's also undeniably funny, but certainly not for everyone. Poor 13 year-old Jiyu, as the unwilling heir to the greatest swordsman of all time, is threatened by the grudge of that swordsman's enemies. Poor Koinusuke, the swordsman's servant who has wandered the earth for 300 years looking for Jiyu,...
Published on September 8, 2000 by Steven Myers

versus
9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ... like a carnival freak.
Jubei Chan is a unique growth. Disturbingly comic, while also trying to be dangerously violent. Perhaps the best way to put this series into perspective is to say it is like 'Sailor Moon' meets 'Tenchi' meets 'Ninja Scroll'....even then, you won't have an adequate description. To start, the ancient swordmaster Jubei is dying. He leaves a heart shaped eyepatch (?)...
Published on August 27, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and absurd, September 8, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
Jubei-chan is about as absurd as anything you would want to see. It's also undeniably funny, but certainly not for everyone. Poor 13 year-old Jiyu, as the unwilling heir to the greatest swordsman of all time, is threatened by the grudge of that swordsman's enemies. Poor Koinusuke, the swordsman's servant who has wandered the earth for 300 years looking for Jiyu, only to find she keeps throwing away the heart-shaped eyepatch which grants her skill with the sword. But note: that's the least of the silliness. Basically every guy who sees Jiyu, from the other students to her teachers, takes one look at her chest and falls in love with her. This is even more peculiar, because that chest is always safely hidden away beneath a school uniform shirt and sweater, and--at least by anime conventions--it's not especially out of proportion. There's no nudity worries here, at least in this first disc. Jubei-chan is certainly much less lewd than the average American sitcom (basically, the boys think about Jiyu and picture her still-in-sweater chest).
This show is NOT a drama, at least not in this first disc: it is a comedy which has some very nicely done fighting sequences in it. While some conventional elements of a drama are present, they are deliberately absurd--you aren't supposed to take Jiyu's predicament seriously. The characters, not any sense of drama, make this work: some of the best scenes are between Koinusuke and Jiyu's father, who repeatedly tries and fails to understand why a samurai is now living in his house as his daughter's servant. If you can deal with the frequent references to Jiyu's chest, you will laugh a lot while watching this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable!, February 6, 2002
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
**screams like a little girl**
i love it. It's hilarious. Most silly animation I've seen. Voices (subbed version) are exellent! This anime goes from humor to drama to action and back again in 5 minutes, it's amazing.
Content wise there's nothing wrong with this anime aside from a couple boob jokes. No nudity, profanity, or blood.
the storyline is relatively compelling, but not super. The episodes seem to center more on entertaining the viewer than progressing the storyline.
The dubbed version is even good with the exception of Jubei's voice. She's supposed to be like 14 or 15 years old and her English dub over voice make her seem like she's 25 or so.
On a final note, the DVD menu for scene selection is the most organized I've seen, some dvd's put a very poor effort into this aspect of their product, resulting it it being hard to figure out where you need to start playing at. Say if you stopped at episode 2, then the next day went back to watch the rest, it was very easy to find your place. If anyone has ever tried to use scene selection on the DVD of Angel Sanctuary, you know what I mean.
Report Card
Animation: A
Characters: A+
Storyline: B+
Voices(sub): A+
Voices(dub): B
--------------
Overall: A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Entertaining, October 18, 2002
By 
starrdragon (Castle of Eternity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
I first saw the trailer for Jubei-chan on one of the vollumes of Outlaw Star, and in my head it clicked and said that I should see this little mini seris. I am glad I did. The 13 episode seris all starts with this volume. If you don't watch this one you will have no Earthly idea what is happening in the rest of the seris.
300 years ago the great swordsmen Yagu Jubei lost his life in the desprate fight against the Ryojoji Shinkagario. Before he died Jubei told his trusted friend Koinosuke Odago to find his succesor. When Koinosuke asks Lord Jubei how he will know the individual that will carry out his sword, he answers "A big pair of bouncy bon-bons" (sub version).Just prior to Jubei dieing he hands Koinosuke an eye patch, in the shape of a heart. He said that the pupil who wears the Lovely Eyepatch would aqurire his skills.Then Jubei dies. For the next 300 years, surviving on his spirit alone, Koinosuke Odago takes up the quest to find the succsesor of Yagu Jubei.
Then you meet Jiyu "Jubei" Nanohana, a 14 (?) year old 8th student who just moved to a new town. Along with the struggles of being a new student in a middle school, Jiyu has attracted the attention of 2 middle school boys, Shiro, and Bantaro (AKA Ban.
When Jiyu gets lost on her way home from school, she runs into Koinosuke. Koinosuke dose his best to convice Jiyu to behold the Lovely Eye Patch. Jiyu, being a normal teenager refuses to listen to Koinosuke. But when a new evil force appears and attacks Sai Nanohana (jiyu's dad), as if on cue Koinosuke appears, and puts the Lovely Eyepatch on Jiyu. Then Jiyu transforms into the great warrior Yagu Jebei The Second. After defeateing her first new enemy, Jiyu refuses to yeild the eyepatch.
How will Koinosuke convince a pluky, loudmouthed, smart alleck teenager that she is the savior of the world? And will Jiyu listen the what Koinosuke was to say? Watch this and you will find out
If you are a fan of Sailormoon, then you will more than likely enjoy this. It has the magical girl plot. The reason that I only gave it 4 stars is because, a little too much time is spent on the DVD with Shiro and Ban fawnning over Jiyu. After a while that starts to get a little boring. Other than that the DVD is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jubei-Chan - Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch, June 21, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
I've seen the first episode of this show at an anime club screening in the Boston area, and it is HILARIOUS! Helmed by the same director as "Kodomo no Omocha," this show will delight and entertain with its over-the-top spastic nature. The breast jokes do get a bit repetitive after a while, but this would be only quibble I have with the show. Art is clean and crisp, and character designs are attractive. For non-stop laughs and also thrilling sword fight action scenes, this is the DVD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and satisfying, July 19, 2001
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
As soon I saw the trailer for this on one of my Escaflowne DVDs, I had decided that I was going to get the first DVD and see how this series was. And by the first DVD, or rather, the first episode, I was totally and utterly hooked into this new series!
First, you learn the sercret of Yagyu Jubei, the greatest swordsman, and how he died and passed the Lovely Eyepatch, containing his abilities, onto his suitable successor. And what's more, his disciple, Koinosuke Odago, had to search for 300 years to find the right person.... Jiyu Nanohana! Unwilling and unwanting, Jiyu (known as Jubei by her friends and family) does not really want to inherit the powers of the Lovely Eyepatch.. and Koinosuke must make her see that she must, in order to protect herself and others from the Ryujoji clan, who wants to rule the world with the power of the sword!
I am an all-out anime fan, and like any kind of anime, so I immediately liked this one. But if you're the type for "gloomy" anime, this "may" (and i mean may) not be something for you.... But then again, the sword fights are always fun to watch, and the humor will always keep you laughing.
So, if you do decide to buy it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! And as Vash the Stampede would say, Love and peace to everyone!! ^_~ ja!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome action packed humor!!, July 27, 2001
By 
ReindeerEmu (Oswego, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
Man this title threw me off. I thought it was going to be a bit like Shadow skills, but it was way better than that. The humor reminded me of a mix 'tween Maze and Those who Hunt Elves. The characters are awesomely funny! Of course my fave is the father but hey they're all great. Definately picking up Vol 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must get!, July 21, 2000
If you are an anime fan, and are looking for something new, and fresh, this is it! Jubei-chan is an extremely funny anime, and I would recommend it to all. Though I have only seen the first few episodes on the tape, it was enough to make me want to purchase it. I really do suggest your order this. =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ... like a carnival freak., August 27, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
Jubei Chan is a unique growth. Disturbingly comic, while also trying to be dangerously violent. Perhaps the best way to put this series into perspective is to say it is like 'Sailor Moon' meets 'Tenchi' meets 'Ninja Scroll'....even then, you won't have an adequate description. To start, the ancient swordmaster Jubei is dying. He leaves a heart shaped eyepatch (?) to his understudy with commands to give it to a 'Boom Boom' who will then be imbued with Jubei's abilities while wearing the cutesy head gear. 300+ years later he finds a young girl nicknamed Jubei and gets her to wear the eyepatch and she transforms into a sex swordswoman and defeats DARK FORCES conspiring to....do nothing very serious other then fight her.
Some of the kooky comic drawings are funny in their ridiculously simple and over exaggerated emotion. Young Jubei's dad is a writer who falls asleep constantly (at one point Jubei rides her bike up his butt crack). Every man in this universe can't keep his eyes off of Jubei's chest and instantly falls in love (for the first time....they all do) with her. One of the kids at school who dotes on his distant love has a t-shirt with a symbol that changes into appropriate words to match his situation. Confused? Sure....I am too. I just saw it twice and I still can't figure out if it is entertaining or just bizarrely unrefined culture stirred together like gumbo.
The art is fair, but the backgrounds are very nicely painted. MADHOUSE (the animation studio which spawned 'Ninja Scroll') produced this series, and while it shares no similarity with other anime from the same studio, it sure stands out like all their creations. I would recommend it to the cute and sexy anime crowd, not to the kick ass action or artsey fartsey anime fans. Rent it, sure. Buy it if you can't figure out what else to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A partial viewing of this Anime had me in stitches, June 29, 2000
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
I saw part of this film at an anime special showing of parts of series'. My friends and I were very impressed with the way the story was portrayed with both humor and great action sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Novice Anime watcher!, May 9, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl - Vol. 1: The Secret of the Lovely Eyepatch - A Legend Reborn (DVD)
If you are not used to the general oddness and hilarity with the comic relief of the basics of anime (Fushigi Yuugi, Cowboy BeBop and Princess Mononoke), then you may not understand some of the more "off-topic" tangents that happen in Jubei. Either way, this has a great plot with fantastic fight scenes and is some of the more well drawn anime out there. Jubei just doesn't understand that, even if she doesn't like it, she is the samurai successor.... and ignoring it just won't work.
This is one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.