Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another stellar episode in the ever-entertaining Judy Moody series
Judy Moody is shocked to discover a new teacher in her classroom, a substitute named Mrs. Grossman. It seems that the class's beloved teacher, Mr. Todd, is in Italy at a teaching conference. Mrs. Grossman's method of teaching is quite different from Mr. Todd's, and Judy doesn't care for it. She has quite the attitude toward Mrs. Grossman's "Attitude Tent" set up in the...
Published on November 19, 2008 by KidsReads

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Annoying This Time
Although Judy Moody is usually entertaining, I think she was little bit annoying in this one. Judy has to go to math tutoring. At first, she is upset thinking she will be sorting jelly beans and making macaroni cats. But her tutor turns out to be a college student who Judy thinks is the coolest ever. So for the remainder of the book we have to listen to Judy use jargon...
Published on July 28, 2012 by Cherese A. Vines


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another stellar episode in the ever-entertaining Judy Moody series, November 19, 2008
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judy Moody Goes to College (Book #8) (Hardcover)
Judy Moody is shocked to discover a new teacher in her classroom, a substitute named Mrs. Grossman. It seems that the class's beloved teacher, Mr. Todd, is in Italy at a teaching conference. Mrs. Grossman's method of teaching is quite different from Mr. Todd's, and Judy doesn't care for it. She has quite the attitude toward Mrs. Grossman's "Attitude Tent" set up in the back of the room and about the fact that Mrs. Grossman rewards correct math answers with candy (Judy's major complaint is that she never gets any sweet treats).

Judy must take home a note to her parents in which Mrs. Grossman explains that Judy needs extra help with math. After much discussion, Mom and Dad decide to hire a math tutor for her. Judy is horrified, in spite of their assurance that being tutored will be an enjoyable experience. She believes her brother Stink, who tells her she'll be subjected to flash cards, bead counting and macaroni gluing. However, things look up when she discovers she will be tutored by a student, Chloe, at her college!

It doesn't take long for Judy to realize that Chloe is extremely cool. Soon, they are playing the Game of Life in the college coffee shop, where Judy is enchanted by Chloe's coffee order ("tall, skinny, nonfat, wet, extra-foam, no-whip latte with a double shot of vanilla") and with her own hot chocolate. Judy enjoys being the banker --- a subtle math lesson. She also learns some college vocabulary words from her new "peep" (friend) and gleans a few hip wardrobe tips.

Chloe, it turns out, is an unending source of purely pleasurable math-related games and projects. Judy is enthusiastic about counting the different colors of VW Beetles in the college parking lot and then graphing them in the appropriate hues. When her tutoring session ends, she is sorely disappointed.

Judy counts the days until her next trip back to college. Meanwhile, she sports a Chloe-inspired "this is my thing" outfit --- a dress plus ripped jeans along with a hoodie sweatshirt, scarf, funny flip-flops, glasses, many bracelets and tattoo bandages. When Judy "returns to college," Chloe's creativity extends to games of Tic-Tac-Toe played with Oreo cookies, making shapes with sponge blocks, and pizza fractions.

However, Judy's life is not perfect (a much appreciated touch of reality). She alienates her friends with her constant bragging about her college life. She also continues to clash with Mrs. Grossman and spends time in the Attitude Tent. These developments make Judy moody, but Chloe brightens her outlook with an enjoyable bonus day at college in which Judy gets a glimpse of dorm life, tie-dyes a shirt and invents a pop-art painting. At home, she can't resist making over her bedroom in an effort to make it more college-like. Her decorating efforts morph into quite the adventure. In fact, she must calm herself down afterward with a bit of college-inspired yoga.

This is yet another stellar episode in the ever-entertaining Judy Moody series, thanks to author Megan McDonald's trademark melding of plot, humor and education. Dynamo Judy's voice is pitch-perfect as she conquers life's peaks and valleys. Her escapades with the inspired Chloe will surely stir readers' imaginations, even as they devour the story.

--- Reviewed by Terry Miller Shannon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love judy moody it is a really good book I can not wait to read the next one I bet it will be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy Moody Goes To College Book Review, March 9, 2013
A hilarious representation of the way children like math..... none until it's fun! I give this book 5 out of 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book amazing series., March 10, 2012
This was the third book in the Judy Moody series and the eighth book with Stink and Judy Moody in it that I have read. I love the characters. The writing is wonderful. The illustrations are amazing. Together Megan and Peter have created some wonderful books to be shared by the whole family. One of the greatest strengths of these books is that even though there are now 23 books between the Judy Moody books, the Stink Moody books and the two cross-over books, they can be read in almost any order. Some of the books make reference to events in earlier books but never to the extent that they need to be read in order. You can pick up any of the books and will have a great read in your hands.

In this book Mr. Todd has gone away to Italy for a teachers' convention. Judy does not get along with the new teacher and soon she is in need of tutoring in Math. So her parents make arrangements for her to get some help at the local college. So Judy Moody goes to College, specifically Cononial College, where she meets her tutor Chloe Canfield or c Squared! The chapters in this volume are:

Who's Who
Math-i-tude
Mom-and Dad-i-tude
A New Attitude
Brat-i-tude
Not-So-Bad-i-tude
Art-i-tude
Cat-i-tude
Flunk-i-tude
Grat-i-tude
Glad-i-tude
Judy Moody's Not-Webster's New World College Dictionary, First Edition

While hanging out at College, Judy develops some new lingo, a new fashion sense and soon she is starting to annoy most of the people in her life with her 'at college' statements. But things might turn around. You will need to read to find out what type of mood Judy Moody ends the story with. This was one of my favorite books so far in these series. It was a great read and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for granddaughter., April 1, 2013
By 
Ella Koury (Lafayette, Louisiana, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
She loves the series and has completed it all. I always encourage the grandchildren to read so I get them all the books they want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Continuing my daughters collection as she keeps reading and loving Judy moody. She was Very excited to get for Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Annoying This Time, July 28, 2012
Although Judy Moody is usually entertaining, I think she was little bit annoying in this one. Judy has to go to math tutoring. At first, she is upset thinking she will be sorting jelly beans and making macaroni cats. But her tutor turns out to be a college student who Judy thinks is the coolest ever. So for the remainder of the book we have to listen to Judy use jargon like "peeps" meaning friends and "rents" meaning parents. Her friends think it's cool to go to college and use "cool" phrases, but it grated on my nerves a bit and I was waiting for her parents to tell her to just "chill out" with all the jargon. There is, however, a helpful list of meanings at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great auther, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
my daughter loves megan mcdonald books, she strugled reading but a teacher gave her the first book and she took to it like fish to water. just need to get her the rest of the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read!, May 26, 2014
We got this in the kindle format from our local public library for our daughter who has read many books of this series. She just told me to give it 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good spelling, May 19, 2014
It is a very good book. My son loved it so much . I only read it once and I liked it. It is the best book for children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Judy Moody Goes to College (Book #8)
Judy Moody Goes to College (Book #8) by Megan McDonald (Hardcover - July 22, 2008)
$15.99 $13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.