Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Juegos De Guerra
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$18.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 26, 2004
I heard about Vicente Aranda's magnificent film "Libertarias" ("Freedomfighters") shortly after I first heard of Ken Loach's "Land and Freedom". In this film, instead of the retelling of the George Orwell "Homage to Catalonia" story, we instead follow the lives of a group of anarchist CNT militia women at the opening phase of the Spanish Civil War, some liberated from a brothel, and some former nuns liberated from a church. The two movies have some similarities - both are based around the Spanish Revolution that occurred during the Spanish Civil War... but there as a far greater focus on the anarchist state of mind in this film. It also does not shy away from the issue of free love, of the Revolution's effects on the minds of liberated religious people, or even mysticism, as in one curious scene where an old anarchist ghost is channeled through a woman in a trance - the grumpy spirit criticizes the anarchist militia hero, Durruti, and tells the militants how to defeat a nearby enemy.

This film is a lot of fun. Originally I was a little put off by the less serious "feel" of the characters in the film than I initially expected (Prostitutes? Nuns? Sex?) ...but as the film took it's course I could see how different threads - the war, personal transformation, feminism, catholicism, anti-fascism, sexual feelings, and anarchist direct action - were all woven together quite cleverly.

As with Loach's "Land and Freedom", don't expect a happy ending in this film - we all know who won the Spanish Civil War! But this movie helps us see deeply into the world of the left libertarians who resisted Franco and Fascism and dared to imagine a more free, more libertarian world than the one we have today.
review image review image
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2004
This film tells the mostly unknown story of anarchist militiawomen in the initial days of the Spanish Civil War, "the last idealist war". It is the story of a nun and a prostitute who join a group of loyalist militiawomen in their fight to resist the rebellion of the majority of the Spanish Army led by General Franco against the Republic and the people's revolution.

Seeing "Libertarias" will be an unforgettable experience and the acting is superb. Famous spanish film actors and actresses like Ana Belen, Victoria Abril, Blanca Apilanez, Loles Leon and Miguel Bose all deliver excellent and convincing performances.

This action packed film is guaranteed to become a favorite of those who see it. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
Great movie for true lefties and Anarchists and history buffs. Pretty accurate, its rare in the states to see a history of the Spanish Revolution from the point of veiw of the Anarchist struggle. The film is also told from the point of view of members of Mujeres Libres (Free Women), a women's Anarchist collective whos membership numbered in the tens of thousands at it's hight. However the film isn't all politics and has a bit of humor in it as well that makes the film an enjoyable yet educational journey into an unknown history (at least here in north america). The film is well made and acted although the DVD itself is a bit on the low end. It is in 4:3 aspect ratio only and seems like a low quality transfer but the material is rare so that can be forgiven.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2006
I agree with most of the comments and reviews here except for the quality of the dvd. It is a mediocre reproduction of the original European PAL version. As I pointed out in other reviews, Venevision is putting out there some so-so quality films from Spain. Get the original since they tend to edit the films for content and/or rating. I kid you not. I own the original version and saw the Venevision version. Examples of these and other mediocre quality reproductions of them can be found in El Palo, with Carmen Maura and La Celestina with Penelope Cruz. They are mediocre copies transfered to dvd,and they will look horrible on your big plasma tv, and I am not going to talk about the sound.

About the film. It has all been said and more than so by previous reviewers. The actors gathered in the film are highly respected and they are working for one of Spain's most respected and sometimes controversial director, Vicente Aranda (Carmen with Paz Vega and Leonardo Sbaraglia). You have probably seen these female actors in such films as Y tu mama tambien, Tacones lejanos (High Heels), Soldados de Salamina, etc. The original Pal version is rated between an R and a NC 17 (US similar rating) because of it's violent content. If you want a femenine or pro-womyn perspective of the Spanish Civil War, this is a "what if" film based on the role of womyn in the Spanish Civil War from an active military role, as their Mexican counterparts during the Mexican Revolution.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2005
I own the VHS WIDESCREEN VERSION and was anxiously awaiting the DVD release. To my dismay it's FULL SCREEN. What happened to the WIDESCREEN VERSION? A cinematic film like this (shot in 2:35 anamorphic) that ended up cropped loses a lot of detailed visual information. Bummer!

Guess I'll have to wait for an overseas letterboxed version to be available.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
A young, very naive nun is swept up by the chaos of the Revolution and ends up mostly by accident as a member of an anarchist group fighting for the Republic. She learns about herself and the world of ideas beyond the convent, until the inevitable, brutal end in the victory of the Fascists.

This is a moving, sometimes humorous, sometimes violent, portrait of a group of women fighting for respect within the Republican forces, and for survival against the forces of repression.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2007
Libertarias is excellent film. I thought the story about these women and their struggles was interesting. Their struggle was unique, because they were not only fighting against fascism but sexism as well.

The cinematography and music throughout the film was awsome too. I like how it was in black and white in the beginning of the movie.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2008
June 1936. The military uprising has been fought back by the anarchist FAI and other leftist groups. In the middle of this ongoing revolution are the women, who don't just have to fight the fascists but also their fellow radicals who think that womens place are not in the front line but behind the stove.

The story circulates around a nun, Maria, who joins a band of working women and former prostitutes to fight the fascists. Not really belonging there she experience the initial welcome of the promised future, but also the cruel reality of war.

Good actors and an interesting script makes this a good movie, but for those who wish to understand more of the radicals visions and ideas will fall short. But still a movie I recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2008
I love this movie. Did any one esl notest that when the acters talked about the submachine guns that they call them tommy gunns but they are not tommy guns. I am some what of an arms historian from the Spanish Civil War.May be they thought that no one would notace.Aother rise it is as good as Land and Freedom.

Long Live the Workers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2010
Excellent movie, although anything about anarchist during the Spanish Revolution is bound to be depressing.

I don't like how they made the cover look like its some type of love story. That is a very small part of the flick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$17.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.