Facility Spring Cleaning BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Stone Cherry Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars19
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 11, 2006
You might think Juliet Dove Queen of Love is a lovey dovey book just for girls. It's actually a very interesting book.

The author is Bruce Coville. The genre is fiction adventure. The main characters are Juliet Dove, Jerome, Roxanne,and a lot of different goddesses. Juliet Dove has an amulet that she can't get off. So all these boys start following her because they become in love. You have got to read it!!

In the beginning of the story Juliet Dove goes to a magic shop and a lady gives her this amulet. She doesn't want to leave it so she puts it on. In the middle of the story Juliet gets into all of these adventures trying to find out how to get the amulet off because it starts to tighten. Read this book to find out about the rest of her adventures.

The theme of this book is never talk to strangers. This book reminds me of someone I know in the middle school because boys are always chasing after her too. This book is great for girls in grade 2-5.

Mor-Mor in Annapolis
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2012
Sometimes writers will write when they have something important to share, and other times they just need to keep the mill rolling. Unfortunately, this book falls into the second category where a lot of senseless and meaningless drivel interrupted the main storyline so much the reader falls away, closing the book, and wondering what the point is.

If you are a Bruce Coville fan, like we are, stay away from this book and look for other works by him. He really is a terrific author... on the times he really needs to share a dream.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
http://readfantasybooks.wordpress.com

Juliet Dove, Queen of Love is the second magic shop book that I have read. It is good, but will not make my favorites list. I thought the story was cute, but it just wasn't what I enjoy reading about. Basically, it felt like I was reading a romance novel with some magic thrown in.

Juliet comes across the magic shop, but it isn't Mr. Elives she runs into, but some woman who ends up giving her a locket. When Juliet finally puts in on she can't get it off, and then a huge fiasco ensues. She spends a long time trying to figure out how to get it off, while having to deal with hordes of boys following her around because they can't help but falling in love with her (thanks to the locket). Not my favorite story and I almost feel like it may be a little inappropriate for younger readers.

I definitely liked the characters more than the story, which was good otherwise I wouldn't have enjoyed the book as much. I love Juliet's sister! She is so cute and has the funniest imaginary friend. There are also some very interesting rats, Roxanne and Jerome, who are rather enjoyable characters. As well as the many different Greek Gods/Goddesses that Juliet meets on her adventures.

Overall, I did enjoy the book, but it definitely wasn't one of my favorites. If you enjoy more romance in your novels than this is a great book for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
This book is the final one in the "Magic Shop," series, and frankly it was disappointing.

It's about a supposedly shy girl, who isn't really shy because she has no problems talking to anyone or expressing her opinions, who gets an amulet. The amulet has a unique story and it makes any boys around her fall in love with her. The book also has appearances from our favorite librarian, Hyacinth Priest who helps Juliet out and gives her information, and it also has the Greek goddesses in it, Athena, Aphrodite, Hera and Eris.

The story is just kinda boring really. Sure it's got magic and talking animals in it, but it just wasn't as interesting as Dragon Hatcher or The Monster's Ring was to me. You can skip this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
Juliet gets an unwanted gift of a cameo necklace with love powers. What normally takes Author B. Coville 100 pages to tell is near 200 pages in this book. Just as delightful and filled with wonder. Great Read!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2004
The reading of this book on CD was wonderful, using a full cast. Even my 4 year old grandson liked listening to the parts with the voices of Jerome and Roxanne the talking rats. Very entertaining, and good story.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2015
Cute and terribly interesting book. I was expecting a typical young adult kind of story but this one's more than that. It has a very interesting story on some of our iconic Greek gods. This is definitely a good read even for folks my age!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2007
Juliet Dove Queen of Love is about a girl, Juliet, who wonders into a mystical magic shop hidden in a part of her town. When she walks into the shop a lady at the counter showed Juliet an amulet. Juliet fell in love with the amulet because of it beautiful color and shape. She was told do not open this amulet for its color will crack. Juliet took the amulet home. I really liked this book because Juliet takes you on multiple adventures. Juliet meets all these Goddess who help her on her journey. These adventures are very descriptive and you feel like you are on the journey with her. I recommend this book to everyone. I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 5, 2012
Bruce Coville wrote a delightful book for young readers. In this series, adventures occur around a magic shop in Venus Harbor. Juliet Dove is visiting the magic gift shop where she receives an ambulate necklace but there is more to this scenario. The necklace is not only magical but hiding a huge secret. Juliet goes on unforgettable journey and gets involved with gods and goddesses as well. Juliet needs to find a way to free herself from the ambulet's power and to return to her normal everyday life but that's not easy.

This book is a welcome addition to young readers who will find themselves emerged in Juliet's journey. I think though that the book did drag at times for me and could be a little faster but still's a worthy read to entertain readers, young and old alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2012
Juliet Dove is a fiction adventure book. It takes place in the real world and in a fantasy world where gods and godesses live.

Juliet has an amulet that she got from a magic shop that she has never seen before, when she thought that she knew everything and everywhere in Venus Harbor. The amulet turns out to have a magical power that makes everyone fall in love with the person wearing it, but that is not such a good thing for Juliet Dove because she is interested in everthing but boys! When Juliet got the amulet the first thing she did was put it on, but soon she realised that it had shrunk and she couldnt get it off of her neck. This was part of the curse attached to the amulet.

I think that this book is very intiresting and once you start reading it you get hooked and it makes you feel like you are going on the adventures with Juliet. I very much enjoyed reading this book because it had humor and excitment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.