Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 11, 2015
It wasn't for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2001
I have a small professional service firm and regularly read marketing books to "keep up." I think this book will help me "blow past." It helps you look at your company with fresh eyes and ideas (hard to do when you are too close). I knew about benefits and creating a difference between my firm and the rest. But the author takes both concepts further. The chapter on "real reason to believe" is worth reading and applying to any marketing strategy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2001
This is a great book for anyone interested in turning their creative ideas into profitable reality---lots of practical, proven, easy-to-use ideas for marketing and creating new products and services---will double your success rate if you follow the author's suggestions---also has good information on branding and lots of examples!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2001
This book will cause you to rethink how you look at your own products and advertising!! Doug gets to the point with detailed examples and well as to the point exercises to illustrate his thinking and ideals. This is a must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2001
These few dollars will transform your business & your profits.
If you have a business, or are developing one, this book is essential because it defines the 3 Requisites (LAWS) for biz success & helps you develop world-class ideas to Extraordinarily meet those Laws.
WHY struggle developing product/service, marketing, business plans/ideas & trying to guess/feel your way to decision making? Doug Hall takes the struggle & guess work out of business planning -- by putting his knowledge, analysis & transformation of '000s of ideas & businesses (& their successes & misktakes) to work for you, you will GIVE YOUR BUSINESS THE BEST ADVANTAGE POSSIBLE.
Operating a business without it is like looking for a needle in a haystack.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2001
Jump Start Your Business Brain Can Change Your Business. If you are a person who takes action and believes in their idea then this is the book to read.
Hall doesn't preach - he inspires and coaches. The examples in the book are examples of REAL small businesses and the success they've had using the methods outlined.
The most inspiring part about this book is not the data or the laws but the energy which Hall gives to entrepreneurs. A great idea that is articulated well has the power to CHANGE the World. If you own a business or have an idea that your passionate about this book is a definite read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2006
For those starting out in business, as a consultant or just need a tune-up at work, this is a great read. I found myself writing in the margins every time a new idea popped in my head. The concepts and principles were very helpful as I was rewriting my resume and creating a new brochure. While preparing for a presentation on Ethics, I found myself using the principles to include a dynamism and clarity to my presentation.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2003
Up Your Business Success Odds to 80 percent/TESTED TO WORK!!
Is your business or business or product idea focused in a way that makes its success chances from 60 to over 80%?
Or is it in the 17 to 23 % range that most people achieve?
Would you like a guide that explains the 3 principles that can help you to make that upgrade & that has been tested to work ??
Would you like a way to test your marketing materials IN ADVANCE & know how successful they're likely to be--that also has been found to be accurate in practice to within a few percentage points?
How about detailed, reasonably easy to use, tips from a man who successfully teaches Fortune 500 exec's how to do all this?
If so, immediately buy, read, & use this book !!
You'll be dramatically glad you did !!
I think it's one of the 3 best business books ever written.
David Eller
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2001
BUY THIS BOOK, and make yourself a business success. Find the secrets to Happiness, Joy, and True Love in the pages of this book!!!!
(okay so I used some of his principles to help sell the book). This book is very different from his first book on creativity. The focus is on marketing ideas, and making those ideas a success. Doug's first book was filled with great information, but a little hard to read. Jump Start your business brain, is not only filled with excellent, practical information, but is extremely well written. I found it very easy reading. He talks a lot about the, "MERWYN", system which is fascinating in itself. He has applied scientific methods to evaluating the success of ideas. So the first part is a marketing primer. The second part is how to get more and better ideas. No one does this better than Doug. He does repeat some of the tools if you read the first book, but the explanations and examples are much clearer. If you have a small business, or just want to own a well-written book on business oriented creativity, this is a MUST BUY, book. Plus, he includes a real bonus of a "FREE", idea evaluation. I am a trainer in innovation, and creativity. I have read hundreds of books on creativity. This is my new favorite! ...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2004
I buy about a book a week from Amazon and never write reviews - but I have to on this one.
Did you buy one of the original Apple Ipods? All the PR and reviews got your expectations up - only to find out that they went cheap on the battery. It lasts about 3-minutes. Big disappointment. It was capable of so much more.
Same with this book. I LOVED Hall's first book. Great breakthrough stuff. So when this one was released I got in the pre-publication line. I saved the book for a Saturday cross-country plane ride ready to savor. Had the highlighter all ready and - bummer. Couldn't believe it.
It's the equivlant of "Eat plenty of vegetables, get plenty of sleep and brush your teeth every day." Mundane, sophormoric stuff to be associated with the name Doug Hall. Not at all in the same league as his first book - a masterpiece. This guy is so much better than this cute little book of lists. I'll buy his next one, pay money to go see him - but this isn't the Doug Hall of the first book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse