Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it from beginning to end
Update 9/7/2011: I bought the film and listened to the commentary. It was so dreadfully boring. I'm always hesitant to listen to commentary when the director is the main speaker because they bring up all this stuff that viewers truly don't care about (ex. tent leaning to the side, boat in the distance, why a certain color was used). But this director just went on and on...
Published on May 8, 2011 by Shamontiel L. Vaughn

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where Have I Seen this Before?
I've seen this movie before... it was a film released not too long ago called "Our Wedding", which featured America Ferreira, Forest Whitaker and Carlos Mencia among others. The cast actually was pretty good, but the film itself was a little poor. Though that one tried to deal more with ethnic twists (one of Latin background, the other of African-American), the premise...
Published on August 29, 2011 by bordersj2


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it from beginning to end, May 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
Update 9/7/2011: I bought the film and listened to the commentary. It was so dreadfully boring. I'm always hesitant to listen to commentary when the director is the main speaker because they bring up all this stuff that viewers truly don't care about (ex. tent leaning to the side, boat in the distance, why a certain color was used). But this director just went on and on with these long-winded lectures about culture, skin complexion and relationships. I wanted him to talk about the actual movie, but I felt like I was sitting through a motivational speak, which would've been cool if that was what I was looking for. I liked the playful arguing and friendly flirting between Laz Alonso and Paula Patton though. I did learn a few things like Tasha didn't know how to swim, Mike Epps hurt his leg and like a trooper kept going and Paula Patton's obsession with her breath. These were those funny quirks I wanted to hear about. Oddly enough, Romeo was never acknowledged during the commentary (unless I missed it), but all the other actors were. I wondered why, but every time Romeo came up, the director was back into another lecture. My opinion: Just watch the film without the commentary.

Cons: Absolutely none (Edit: 9/7 minus the commentary)!

Pros: I loved this movie. From the previews, we already know that two people are getting married, and their families are from two different classes. What I was worried about was the non-elite group would be extra ghetto, stereotypical, loud and obnoxious, basically everything that awful "Tyler Perry's Madea's Big Happy Family" was. Instead we got an intelligent group of blue collar workers with a couple family members who just weren't impressed with the bells and whistles. Yeah, they kept it "real," but it was real in the sense that it wasn't degrading, and I LOVED that about this film. I'd never seen Loretta Devine play a role that wasn't overly nice and motherly in the sweetest way, so it was fascinating to see her as the obnoxious post office worker and mean mother-in-law-to-be. I was equally ecstatic to find out that Tasha Smith would FINALLY not be playing the angry black woman. I was completely thrown off at how Angela Bassett pulled off such a snobbish, catty role. She did really well, even though she seems so chill in real life. Paula Patton continues to progress as an actress, and I loved her in this film. I already knew Laz Alonso and Mike Epps (the latter being ridiculously funny) were going to kill it, and Laz Alonso and Paula Patton had a ginormous amount of onscreen romantic chemistry. Romeo did his thing, and his acting has improved a lot, too. DeRay Davis was funny in the way only DeRay can do, and I liked him and Mike Epps in the same movie together. Neither was trying to out-funny the other, and they both worked well. Mike Epps was actually doing a lot of serious acting in the middle of his jokes, so I give him MAJOR respect for doing it in such a convincing way.

I just read that Brian Stokes Mitchell, who played the elite father, was Trevor on "The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air." Although I don't recognize him from that television show, he's so handsome and he did so well in this film. I would love to see him in more stuff, but apparently I've never seen anything he's done outside of that television show. When I first saw him, I was thinking, "Where did he come from? Please hire him more often." I almost always like anything Meagan Good is in, and I love everything about Valarie Pettiford. Her personality just bursts on television and in movies.

To sum it up, two people are getting married after going out for six months. Paula Patton's character, Sabrina, got a job in China. Laz Alonso's character, Jason, doesn't believe in long distance. They decide to get married but Sabrina's family hasn't met Jason's family. That's where the fun starts! When Mrs. Taylor's relatives come into town to this rich family's home, there are definitely some choice words, side eyes, secrets released and a lot of laughs.

I definitely recommend this film for anyone looking for quality work that you may not expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY, May 29, 2011
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
At the risk of sounding prejudice, I saw this movie with a theater full of black people, which I contend is the best way to enjoy this movie as the audience reaction was perhaps more enjoyable than the movie. Paula Patton plays Sabrina Watson who has prayed to God to meet the right man. She gets her sign when she runs into (with her car) Jason Taylor (Laz Alonso). After dating for 5 months they opt to get married. Sabrina's family is wealthy and act like "white people." They frown on black culture. Jason's mom works for the post office and takes anger management classes. When the families get together for the first time for the wedding, there is a clash of personalities and cultures as Jason's mom (Loretta Devine) reminds the bride's family they are still black. The phrase "jumping the broom" was new to me. It is what black people traditionally do at weddings, dating back to the time of slavery. Since slaves were not allowed to marry, they would perform their own marriage ceremony by jumping the broom.

By having the bride's family be black also, the film could do more with the cultural clash and get away with it than if it was a black-white wedding. For instance, the groom's family wants to do the Electric Slide, a nearly time-honored tradition at black weddings. The bride's family rejects the idea to wit the groom's family responds, "So I suppose you are going to do the River Dance?" This would never work with a black-white wedding, but works remarkably well with two black families, judging from the roar from the audience.

Oh yes. And the happy wedding couple have not yet consummated their relationship and everyone knows it and thinks it is odd. And the bride's family has a few secrets. The low point was when Jason's mom plays the trump card. The movie shifts from funny to awkward.

No swearing. No sex. No nudity (bra/panties). Adult themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenty stars if they had it!, May 8, 2011
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
This movie is so awesome in every aspect! This movie is filled with comedy, drama, love and inspiration and many more things that impact our everyday life. I could not believe the feeling of joy that this movie left me with.

My mother, sister, and I went to see this movie today for mothers day and this movie did not disappoint. Bishop Jakes and the characters of this movie out did them selves. Mike Epps was soooooooo funny to me in this movie! To me he put on a great show as did the other characters.

This movie was so good to us that we wanted to see it again at midnight... I can not wait until this movie comes out on DVD, as I plan to watch this movie over and over again!

We needed a good clean movie with comedy like this to make us laugh, after all laughter is the best medicine!

I also can not begin to tell you about the scenery in this movie.. It was breath taking!

Each and everyone will be able to relate to both families, I love the story line as it felt so real! I felt like I was there with the characters just waiting for the next incident to unfold!

This movie has great characters and lots of fun and unfolding events that will keep you on the edge of your seat or rolling on the floor laughing! Everyone in the movie theater was laughing and carrying on at the comedy and great acting by the characters in this movie.

If you have not seen Jumping the broom, you need to get out and go see it right now... You are missing out... I could not wait to write a review about this move, as it is that good!

I wish that more movies like this would be made.. This is just great clean family fun at its best!

Thanks to Bishop Jakes, all of the characters of this movie and everyone who had a part in bringing this movie to life and to the movie screen! Please please make more movies like this.. And keep of the great work!

Thanks, as you made a joyful day for mothers day for my family and I! We were truly Blessed and many who view this movie will also be Blessed!

Get ready to get your laugh on, your tears on and dust off your dancing shoes!

Another good movie to view is called A Good Man Is Hard To Find, I purchased this movie through Amazon... You won't be disappointed.

Enjoy we sure did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last; a Movie with Good Old Fashioned Values!, December 17, 2011
By 
Carlisle Wheeling (The World of Diversity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
I just saw Jumping the Broom on cable this morning and, though it doesn't have any plot twists you haven't seen before, it is refreshingly old fashioned. The fact that such a current film contains the subject of waiting until the knot is tied to engage in physical activity is a big plus here, and the cliched storyline still works to optimum effect, like a comedic soap opera. There are so many subplots going on, you can't help but stay tuned. How many people have complained about the in-laws or--more to the point with our young couple--outlaws causing trouble with an otherwise happy couple? They all complain about them getting married after less than 6 months, but I've heard of couples being married until death in real life after only 6 weeks. It only goes to prove that love isn't a matter of time, but the right combination of people for the ultimate spark. Cute, vindictive, and funny on many levels, this movie is a must-see for anyone who can relate to family interference on an otherwise content couple. Angela Bassett shines as the uptight mother who brags about once owning slaves (!), and then comes down off her high horse after learning that the family has lost their wealth. Not only is this movie a surprise for someone who thought old fashioned values had gone out the window, but it will reinforce your belief that the best things about love are worth waiting for, no matter what obstacles lie in your way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movies!, December 22, 2011
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
I saw this movie on opening weekend and I can't begin to say how much I loved it. It was funny and wholesome and sexy without being over-the-top or inappropriate. As soon as it started showing on Starz I have watched it almost every day (sometimes twice a day). It's been too long since I've loved a movie this much, because there simply aren't many like this being made anymore. Most of the ones out now are filled with so much violence or sex or just silliness that they're almost unbearable to watch, and forget being able to watch them with your children. But my son and I can sit and watch Jumping the Broom without me having to worry about him hearing or seeing something he shouldn't. And that's refreshing. I even loved the soundtrack!
I liked Paula Patton before, but I love her now. She's such a great actress. And Laz Alonzo has grown so much over the years, and come a long way since his days hosting on BET. Loretta Devine has played many 'Mama' roles but this was a stretch from what I'm used to seeing her in. She effectively made me dislike her. Tasha Smith was endearing and a far (and welcome) cry from her all-too-familiar as the angry black woman (Why Did I Get Married?, For Better or Worse, The Game, etc). Romeo was smooth and sexy in his role as Sebastian, and while him and Tasha Smith's character Shonda was a bit of a stretch for me, they worked well together. The actor who played the father, Gregory Watson, looked way familiar to me and then I realized he was the one who played Cam Winston on Frasier, and Trevor on Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. He was awesome. And Angela Bassett was outstanding, as usual. They actually made me want to learn French! I could keep going but all of the actors in the movie were great, in my opinion. Even though I didn't care for Sabrina's friends, Blythe and whatever-the-other-one's-name-was, who seemed more catty and snobby than supportive of their 'best friend.'
I'm not ashamed to admit that I cry every time I watch this movie; it has so many touching and beautiful moments. It almost makes you believe in love and soul mates again. Laz Alonzo is just a pile of bow-legged yum who I love seeing go through this range of emotion over the course of the movie. This is by far my favorite role of his. I will definitely be getting the DVD to this one...awesome, awesome movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where Have I Seen this Before?, August 29, 2011
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
I've seen this movie before... it was a film released not too long ago called "Our Wedding", which featured America Ferreira, Forest Whitaker and Carlos Mencia among others. The cast actually was pretty good, but the film itself was a little poor. Though that one tried to deal more with ethnic twists (one of Latin background, the other of African-American), the premise and in some ways even flow and scenes of the movie felt eerily similar. "Jumping the Broom", produced by Tracey Edmunds, ex-wife of Babyface. She has had some fair movies in the past and this one is another that was 'ok'. Not good, not bad, just ok (to me).

The premise has been talked about already, and I can't really review this without giving away spoilers. So be warned! Ok then - what I did like about the movie was that there was an occasional twist to it. Especially with the aunt. And I also liked the way they handled Tasha Smith's character. I was also pleasantly surprised by Mike Epps role in the movie though at some times became a bit much - not for the lechery but preachiness. To put it another way, though the film dealt with different African-American families from different ranges in social status, they did not make the individuals from the 'poorer' end particularly ignorant. Granted, they just couldn't quite get away from having SOME of that there in the movie but overall I think it was handled well. Now... what I did not like, is easier to talk about. Paula Patton really over-acting the part on this one and the person that said she seemed un-realistic, to me, hit the nail on the head. From the voice to even the shock news in the end, it seemed a bit far-reaching. The movie couldn't get away from the tendency to preach in just about every African-American movie where there is always this big moment, usually too late, where the main character has had enough. There also seemed to be some rather serious issues in the end of the movie that would have needed to have been discussed, so you are left with a seemingly incomplete product. That or Paula Patton's character really was that big of a push-over. And really in regards to the characters, not many of them were likeable at all from the bridesmaids (the one they forcefully had falling for the chef) to the groomsmen - other than the person that Laz's character chose to be his best man. Funny but by not having that many lines and making the most of what he did have and actually standing for something; more than even Jason in my view.

All in all, I probably wouldn't recommend to buy this movie but renting it is ok. Seeing it once was probably enough for me. I didn't even get into Loretta Devine's character or Angela Bassett's, who were every bit as predictable as advertised - one a little bitter, another a little disgusted, both un-necessary. But without conflict I suppose there really isn't a compelling story. I guess what is most frustrating is that there was quality here and good actors but perhaps not the best directing. There was real opportunity for some special moments in the movie, like having the bridesmaid fall for the chef, Jason's cousin putting to rest some of his demons & perhaps even being inspired for more out of his own life. Or what about noticing a bit more that Jason's uncle really was a good hearted individual - doing more to highlight some of these positives. Oh, and how about going deeper into Claudine's background which I was honestly a little interesteed about. I am not saying that the movie had to be a 'feel good' story or Inspirational uplifting saga. Just that there was a missed opportunity to give it and the actors a chance to provide the characters more depth. Which makes me think that perhaps the movie wasn't thought out as much as it should've been and ironically suffered from a kind of identity crisis of it's own. The funniest moment though to me, was that in the end (SPOILER), you wonder what the heck was the big deal about jumping over a broom... if it was that important, just do it. lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jumping brooms, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
I liked the movie. I am a sucker for romantic movies so naturally you can imagine that I liked this...however. my favorite part has got to be the dance moves at the end of the movie. Loved it!!! I did not understand the jumping of broom tradition much but I do understand that during marriages each culture has got their own tradition that they follow and to do otherwise is viewed as a taboo. Oh well..Individual preferences I guess but speaking from experience, what I did wish during my wedding was that they let us do whatever we wanted but I come from a culture where your parents (at least back in the days) practically took over your wedding like it was theirs! Ah, I digress! I guess what is actually important is what happens after the wedding not the actual event.

Loved Angela Bassett in this movie, she can do no wrong as far as I am concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
I truly loved this movie. It made me laugh, it made me angry and it made me sad...I love it when a Movie moves me emotionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie EVERYONE SHOULD WATCH THIS OUTSTANDING ACTING., December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
This movies is awesome showing the value of having family and how they deal with marriage. I ENJOYED EVERY BIT OF IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumping the Broom (DVD)
it is funny and full of life actions.... great movie for all... it has something to learn from and also give one a sense of family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jumping the Broom
Jumping the Broom by Salim Akil (DVD - 2011)
$14.99 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.