Customer Reviews


383 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


317 of 330 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Jumpstart Getting In Shape
If you want to jumpstart your eating and exercise routine for a vacation, reunion, or wedding, or just to amp up your get-in-shape progress, you may be interested in Bob Harper's new book telling you how to jumpstart to skinny in three weeks. Bob created this 3-week plan for clients who want to get in shape quickly such as a musician client who was going on tour, wanted...
Published 20 months ago by L. M. Keefer

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You will lose weight but there are risks ...
(The beginning of this review includes the reason I started this plan and some tips for those who choose to partake in it. The end of this review includes my results and the reasons I could not complete this program safely).

I have spent the last year in "diet recovery". I was what you might classify as a "disordered eater". While I didn't have an official...
Published 18 months ago by Stacie A.


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

317 of 330 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Jumpstart Getting In Shape, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss (Skinny Rules) (Hardcover)
If you want to jumpstart your eating and exercise routine for a vacation, reunion, or wedding, or just to amp up your get-in-shape progress, you may be interested in Bob Harper's new book telling you how to jumpstart to skinny in three weeks. Bob created this 3-week plan for clients who want to get in shape quickly such as a musician client who was going on tour, wanted to look her best, and shape up in a healthy way.

This book has ideas on how to jumpstart progress in a three-week plan emphasizing 13 rules including daily low-impact cardio exercise such as walking, and metabolic-conditioning 20-minutes exercises for five days a week.

If you wish you had a "get-in-shape" coach to advise you on a combined diet and exercise program to jumpstart your progress, Bob acts as one via this book.

The 13 Rules to jumpstart getting in shape are in brief below - recommend reading the book as the explanations, scientific research and rationale in Bob's words are motivating. Research shows that reading a diet and exercise book is a commitment and makes it much more likely that you will continue on that path to getting in shape. This is similar to the dynamic they found if a child opens a savings account and only puts $1 in it, much more likely they will go to college than if they hadn't opened one up at all. ANY positive action you take towards a goal, makes it many times more likely that the goal is going to be achieved. So, creating a shopping list for this book, trying a new recipe in it, going shopping for the healthy foods each week, or ordering an exercise ball multiplies significantly the potential that you will achieve the goal say psychologists. Here's a very quick overview of Bob's 13 steps which are also listed on Dr. Oz's website in more detail, if you want more background.:

#1 - Take control with proper proportions--40/40/20 - 40% protein/40% carbs/20% fat plus unlimited vegetables on Bob's freebie vegetable list that you want to eat. Carbs you can eat DO include whole grain pasta, oatmeal and others he includes in recipes. The protein is not all meat-based, and he lists other protein sources for this plan.
#2 - Cut back on calories: 800 calories for women & 1200 for men - plus the additional calories from Bob's recommended vegetables.
#3 - Eat no complex carbs (in whole grains) after breakfast - eat whole grains with breakfast foods.
#4 - Get rid of water weight by drinking more water - he explains reasons for this based on research and names other beverages that meet this requirement.
#5 - Get your electrolytes - ensure you have enough electrolytes - Bob recommends a mix he likes that is fairly inexpensive that you can add to water.
#6 - Do 45 minutes a day of low-intensity cardio, preferably before breakfast.
#7 - Five times a week, do 15 to 20 minutes of Bob's Jumpstart Moves. Part III of book has seven distinct routines you rotate with over 50 photos of Bob doing the moves.
#8 - Cut the salt - recommended salt amount is explained.
#9 - Take advantage of the restorative power of fish oil - preferred amount is listed and why.
#10 - Fall back on veggies - a list of recommended unlimited veggies for optimum weight loss is provided.
#11 - No fruit during week three - the fructose (fruit sugar) in fruit can slow down weight loss. That's the only food that changed for the last week.
#12 - Lay off all booze - for a number of reasons including calorie count to optimize weight loss.
#13 - An espresso a day ... or two or three - Bob lists other hot beverages also acceptable for this three week plan.

You DO get to eat whole grain carbs like whole grain pasta, Ezekiel bread and whole grains on his approved menus. However, you only eat these healthy carbs at breakfast. This doesn't change during the three weeks. A day-by-day meal menu is provided with 63 new recipes. If you find a dish you like for his "power breakfasts, lean lunches and thinner dinners", you can have it more than once a week. Here's a few of the creative names for recipes Bob includes in the book: Shrimp Skimpy, Pizza Toast, Chicken Alla Fresca, Turkey Scramble, Mango Chicken, Eggplant Chili, Salmon with Watermelon Cucumber Salad, Jumbo Stir-fry, Buffalo Chicken Salad, Mediterranean Salad, Gourmet Pork Chop and Spanish Scramble.

Exercise seems sensible and consistent - just 45 minutes of walking in the morning a day, and 5 days a week 15-20 minutes of basic movements as outlined by Bob any time during the day. If you are already walking 30 minutes a day, then it's just 15 minutes more walking and add the metabolism conditioning movements which add to your lean look, says Bob. There are 57 photos of Bob doing the jumpstart metabolism conditioning exercises in correct form.

Regarding preparing a shopping list: if you eat pretty healthy, you may be buying these foods already and have some of them on hand like canned vegetable broth, or chicken breasts and lean ground turkey breast in the freezer. I load up on vegetables every week for salads, soups and roasting. So, would only need to buy a few new ingredients. Most of us are probably not going to try a new recipe every meal. You can eat the same meal 7 days a week says Bob. Personally, I may skip the swiss chard and halibut. If you find a few core recipes you like, have the ingredients on hand, you can have them every days, says Bob. If you have NO foods already in the house, and are going to make every recipe, below is what you may want to buy for the first couple week's shopping list. Bob seems to provide variety so we won't get bored, but we can find core recipes we like and make them again and again over the three weeks. I buy, or have, 80% of these ingredients already, and will skip some after deciding on the recipes. Here's a sample shopping list:

PROTEINS: egg whites, no-salt sliced turkey breast, lean ground turkey breast, roasted chicken, chicken breasts, salmon, halibut, shrimp, cashews or walnuts

VEGETABLES: eggplant, spinach, arugula, kale, mixed greens, broccoli, cauliflower, spaghetti squash, celery, avocado, plum & cherry & regular tomatoes, asparagus spears, green & red cabbage, zucchini, red-yellow-green onions, red bell pepper, sweet potatoes, radishes, baby bok choy, swiss chard and the infamous Persian cucumbers

FRUITS: apples, fresh blueberries, frozen berries, watermelon, mango, unsweetened apple sauce, lemon-lime-orange for juice

GRAINS & FATS: rolled oats, quinoa, ground flax seed, Ezekiel bread, whole grain penne pasta, almond milk, almond butter, non-fat Greek yogurt, light sesame oil, extra virgin olive oil, olive oil spray

SEASONINGS & OTHER: fresh cilantro-dill-parsley-rosemary-thyme-bay leaf, garlic cloves, cinnamon, Dijon Mustard, Parmesan cheese, pesto, balsamic and red wine vinegars, fennel bulb, black and red pepper, vegetable broth, pico de gallo, hot sauce, Bragg's liquid aminos-for stir fry

These look like healthy mainstream foods we should be eating anyway. Bob provides make-ahead recipes in this book, which can be prepared in advance for busy nights. There is a variety of options for the three weeks. Frankly, I tend to eat yogurt with fruit, oatmeal or eggs for breakfast and salads and soups for lunch, chicken and roast vegetables or stir-fry for dinners most days. So, preparing a shopping list from this will be easy. Was glad to learn about olive oil spray which Bob mentions for roasting vegetables and baking chicken.

After the three weeks, you can transition to menus in Bob's SKINNY RULES book - which uses most of these same foods in recipes - which is a healthy life-long eating plan. If you've been wishing you could hire Bob to fine-tune your menu and exercise to get in shape for the beach or a special event, this book is an inexpensive alternative. To help decide if you want to read the book, there's an excerpt from this book, and a short video of Bob talking about this jumpstart program, at the top of this product page just under the picture of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


295 of 327 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - I spent an hour on Week 1 shopping list, though, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss (Skinny Rules) (Hardcover)
Great Book - exactly what I was expecting and would expect from Bob... except there was no shopping list. For Week 1, I did the work. Here is my list. If you copy/paste to a table you should see the formatting correctly
Week 1 Ingredients Amount Have at Home? In Cart
Almond Butter ½ Tablespoon
Apple 2 ½ cups
Arugula 8 cups
Asparagus 24 spears
Avocado 1
Baby Bok choy 1 head
Balsalmic Vinegar 2 teaspoons
Basil (fresh) ¾ cup + 1 Tablespoon
Bay leaf 1
Bell Pepper 2
Bell Pepper (red) ½
Berries ¼ cup
Black Pepper
Blueberries 1 cup
Bragg's Liquid Aminos ½ tablespoon
Broccoli 3 large heads
Cauliflower 1 cup
Celery 1 large bunch (or more)
Chicken Breast 7 4oz portions
Cinnamon Dash
Crushed red pepper ½ teaspoon
Dijon mustard 2 teaspoons
Dill (fresh) 1 teaspoon
Egg Whites 30
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Ezekiel bread 2 ½ slices
Fennel Bulb ¾ bulb
Fresh cilantro 2 Tablespoons chopped
Frozen Berries ¼ cup
Garlic cloves 5
Grated Parmesan Cheese 2 ½ Tablespoons
Green Cabbage 1
Green Onions 3
Ground flaxseed ¼ cup + 1 Tablespoon
Halibut or cod 8 oz
Jalapeno pepper 1
Kale 2 cups chopped
Lemon (for fresh juice) 2
Lime (for fresh juice) 2
Low-sodium crushed tomatoes 32 oz
Low-sodium vegetable broth 1 cup + 2 Tablespoons
Mixed Greens (salad) 19 cups
Nonfat Greek yogurt 2 Tablespoons chopped
Olive oil spray
Orange (for fresh juice) 1
Parsley 2 teaspoons + 3 Tablespoons
Persion Cucumber 3
Plum tomatoes 4
Quinoa ½ cup
Radish 3
Red onion 1
Red wine vinegar 2 teaspoons
Rolled oats ½ cup
Rosemary ½ teaspoon chopped
Salmon 4 oz
Sesame oil (toasted light) ½ teaspoon
Spaghetti Squash ½
Spinach (fresh) 19 cups
Swiss chard 2 bunches (5 cups)
thyme 1 fresh sprig
Tomato 2
Turkey breast 4 oz sliced
Turkey breast 12 oz lean ground
Unsweetened almond milk ½ cup
Watermelon ½
Yellow onion 1 3/4 cups
Yellow Squash 2
Zucchini 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


152 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to suck it up buttercup!, April 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After reading through all the reviews on here I purchased this book yesterday in the Kindle edition. Obviously I have not yet completed the three week program so I can't actually tell you if I will lose 20lbs or not (though I have completed the book). However, if you're in a similar position to me then I think the book is great and I do believe it will work. I'm in relatively good health but over the winter I've slacked off and gained some weight. I'm not overly obese but I'd like to drop about 20lbs before it comes time to put on a bathing suit. I am a fairly motivated person but I do agree with other reviewers that you will need to be motivated to carry through on this. Now I'm going to address all the issues that the other reviewers have complained about.
1) Calories. Yes, women are only allowed 800 calories per day. Though technically you could consume more than that because you can eat unlimited veggies (there's a list in the book). Bob addresses the fact that this is not to be sustained over a long period of time. It's just 3 weeks! And you're trying to lose 20lbs!! 800 calories per day for 3 weeks isn't going to hurt you. Especially not if you heed his advice and take daily vitamins.
2)Cost/hard to find ingredients. Eating lunch out will cost you $10 @ day at most places, dinner is $15 or more. None of these recipes will cost anywhere near that much. I think it's silly when people complain at the cost of making a recipe yet they're willing to go out to eat and pay 3x as much. Most of the recipes consist of chicken and veggies. He tells you that you can sub the veggies for other ones. So if you can't find this elusive Persian cucumber you could use some other green veggie from the list. Also the exercises involve using a medicine ball but if you don't have the money to spend just use something heavy! One thing that does cost is the fish oil that you have to take, however you should be able to buy a supply large enough to complete the program for about $10. Only other thing is to buy the electrolyte replacement, but (off Amazon) a 3 week supply would also only cost you another $10. There's nothing here in this book that will have you spending large amounts of money. I'd bet in food cost, you'd probably save money over the 3 weeks compared to what you may normally buy (unless possibly you're living off ramen noodles straight, then yes, this will cost more :)).
3) Shopping list. This seems to be a big complaint but in my experience most cookbooks don't include a shopping list. He already breaks it down by everything you can do ahead of time. Personally I think this complaint is a little silly but I guess if a shopping list is that important to you then don't buy the book and figure out some other way to lose 20 lbs in 3 weeks.
4) Portions. A few people said portions aren't broken down and they don't know how many servings are in a recipe. I think they missed reading a page because Bob tells you that the meals are all for one female. Men will need to make 1.5 times the food. To put it in another way, each recipe makes one female portion.
Here are my own pros about the book:
-Super, easy, fast read. I'm glad I was able to read the book in one day and understand exactly what I need to do. I would have been disappointed if I first had to spend 3 weeks reading the book.
-Doable. It's 100% doable. Nothing is crazy is this book. Of course you will have to work at it but it's within reach. Plus it's only 3 weeks. You're not going to keep this plan up forever.
-Research. Bob cites plenty of studies to back him and his advice up. He's also honest and in some parts says that more research needs to be done but this is what has worked for him.
-Kindle edition. I love that in the Kindle edition there are links throughout, so when he references something like Rule #7, you can click back to that rule to review it.
I think if you're like me and you just need a kick in the right direction (with a plan) then I think this book is the way to go. Now if you need long term weight loss then don't buy this book. It's not for you.
We'll see in three weeks if it works, which is the true test, but I believe it will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect weight loss routine for a non-dieter, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss (Skinny Rules) (Hardcover)
I'm on day 6 of week 1 and have lost 5 lbs. Pre-diet, I did more snacking than cooking and ate out if I wanted a real meal. There is a lot of prep work, but the meals are tasty and huge portions, so it's worth it. I really haven't felt hungry or deprived. I drink zero calorie flavored water when craving something sweet. I get up an hour earlier to walk and cook and the exercise doesn't feel onerous. I really love this diet and may continue for longer. Definitely will purchase his other book to obtain additional recipes. Who knew veggies could taste so good?

Just finished Week 2 and am still loving this diet. I've lost 10 lbs. Others have already posted Weeks 1 and 2 shopping lists. Week 3 shopping list is below.
Condiments and spices
almond butter 1 t
balsamic vinegar
Bragg's Liquid Aminos 1/2 T
Cajun seasoning 1/2 t
capers 3 t
cidar vinegar 1t
Dijon mustard
hot sauce 1/2 t + 1/8 t
lemon juice 1t + 2T
lime juice 1t
olive oil
olive oil spray
red wine vinegar
vegetable broth 1 3/4 c

meat
chicken breasts 7 4 oz
pork tenderloin or chop 8 oz
salmon, fresh 4 oz
shrimp, large, cooked and peeled 5 oz
shrimp, peeled and deveined 4 oz
steak, lean 4 oz
tuna, canned low-sodium 4 oz
turkey breast, ground 4 oz

Other
egg whites 30
Ezekiel bread 1/2 slice
Greek yogurt, nonfat plain 1/4 c + 2T
orange juice 1 T
Parmesan cheese, grated 1/2 T
quinoa 1/2 c
rolled oats 1/2 c

produce
arugula 6 c
asparagus 24 spears
avocado 1 1/4 avocado
basil, fresh 1 T
broccoli 2 c
Broccolini 1 c + 4 stalks
chives, fresh 1 t
cilantro, fresh 1T
dill, fresh 1 t
eggplant 1 large
garlic bulb 1
green beans 12
green onion/scallion 3 onions + 1T
green pepper 1/2 pepper + 2c
kale 4 c
marjoram, fresh 1 t
mint, fresh 1 T
mixed greens 23 c
mushrooms, cremini 6
onion, medium 1 onion + 1/4 c
oregano, fresh 1 1/2 t
parsley, fresh 1/4 c + 7T
Persian cucumber 7
radish 1
red bell pepper 2.5 peppers + 2 1/2 c
red cabbage 4 c
rosemary, fresh 1/2 t
spinach, fresh 13 c
sweet potato 1/4 c + 1/2 potato
Swiss chard 3 c
thyme, fresh 3 t
tomato, lg. beefsteak 1
tomato, plum 5
tomatoes 4
zucchini 2 zucchini + 5 c
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jumpstart your weight loss but be prepared to work hard for it!, September 23, 2013
By 
Z-Dog (Scottsdale, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
I am obese. Not morbidly, but was at least 55 pounds overweight five weeks ago. I tried many diets, cutting out carbs, fats, drinking lemon water - you name it, I've tried it all with zero success. I've lost a few pounds only to gain it back and then some.

After a stay in the hospital for my heinous ways and bad habits (beer, meat, Taco Bell, beer; repeat daily until dead) I got out and my wife told me to try Bob Harper's "Jumpstart To Skinny." Its only three weeks. I've got this...so I thought.

I am going to start with the cons of this program.

1. Price for all the food you will eat: I shopped at Costco and various supermarkets, watching prices and trying to stay within some reasonable budget. If you follow this to the letter you will spend about $320 a week for one person. That number slides with two people because you can share foods and not have food go to waste. It still is about $460 for two people. It seems like a lot of money, but you are only eating food you cook - no restaurants, lunch places, breakfast, etc.

2. Refrigerator Space: Make your list (you can find the shopping lists in several Amazon reviews on this book,) and shop for everything you need for the week. We have two refrigerators and both were filled with our new life. Believe it or not, we actually took all the beer out of the refrigerators and sadly put it under a cabinet.

3. Time spent chopping/prepping/cooking/exercising: Don't have a live in maid or cook? So sad. (We don't either) Oh, you work a normal 8-5 job? Wake up earlier. What do you mean 1 hour of exercise daily is too much? Wake up even earlier! You will chop, you will prep, you will cook, you will clean. Then, you will do it again and again and again.

4. Taste Buds? Better hope not: Some of the recipes are downright nasty. Some are good. Not a single recipe will make you do a happy dance as you shovel four cups of greens into your fat face. You may lose weight just because your mouth refuses to open for another bite of Ezekiel bread. There is no salt on this diet. I broke down and bought a salt lick just to keep by the bed after two weeks. Take that, Bob Harper!

5. Water: Quoting Samuel Taylor Coleridge, "Water, water everywhere." You will drink more water and visit the bathroom more times than you ever have before. Try a little lemon in your water, and learn to love the fizzy electrolyte drinks two times a day. It is amazing how much water you will drink.

6. Exercise: This is the type of exercise that does not involve putting a bomber or two of Stone's Ruination IPA into your jogging stroller as you push the kids around the block and drink from a plastic cup. This is real exercise, where you commit to 45 minutes in the morning of light walking and than 20 minutes at night of cardio. Every day for the walking, five times a week for the cardio. Examples are given and you will most likely hate doing them.

The Pros: This diet works. Without a doubt if you make it even past the first week you will see results. I am 22 pounds lighter today. My blood pressure is now normal, cholesterol levels are good. Bob Harper has written an intelligent, easy to read and easy to follow book. He explains in layman's terms how the body works with nutrition and why you need to change the ways you consume. This book is inexpensive and should be purchased immediately. (Shameless plug)

Even though the diet is only for three weeks, in that time you will have created habits (or at least learned enough guilt) to stay on the 40/40/20 plan and continue losing weight. In the first week alone I started sleeping better, started waking up feeling rejuvenated and wasn't hungry most of the time. In the first week, you will spend more time thinking about food then actually being hungry. By the middle of your second week you will hit a "plateau" with your weight loss. Don't give up as it only lasts four days. Then your body adjusts and starts losing again.

I am off Bob Harper diet, but my eating habits have not changed other than eating a few more ounces of protein with each meal. Some of the recipes were easy enough that I did start using them in our regular meals. I added yoga daily and continue to take the walks, increasing speed and distance. I continue to take the fish oil and multivitamin and continue to drink a lot of water. I did have a few beers the other night and realized that I didn't like the way I felt when I woke up. May not quit drinking completely but going back to using IPA's as a meal replacement is not in the near future. Pick up a copy of "Superfoods to Boost Your Metabolism" by Melissa Gates as it is also helpful. Another tool I use it [...] - invaluable for tracking your progress and its free.

I have 33 more pounds to lose and I know using the techniques Bob teaches and the common sense health knowledge I picked up in the last five weeks, 33 pounds is reachable before the end of the year.

I put on a size XL shirt (I've been a tight XXL for three years) yesterday and wore it out of the house. That was proof that the diet works. That and the fact that I needed to buy a new belt because my fat pants are now falling off when I walk. It is an incredible feeling to feel healthy and see actual results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally works if you're willing to put forth the effort, May 4, 2013
By 
Redd =) "sj" (west point, ut United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss (Skinny Rules) (Hardcover)
I have not yet completed the 21 days of this program. I have completed 5. I weigh myself once every week, and I've lost 6.4 lbs so far. This past weekend I went with some girl friends for an overnighter, days 4 and 5, and it sure helps to prepare. If you're prepared, you won't be going for the brownie or potato chips at the checkout counter. I had packed a small cooler containing cooked salmon and chicken, broccoli, cauliflower, an apple, celery, and green beans. I ate my own breakfasts and lunches, and when we went out to dinner my girls were kind enough to think of me, and they chose a place with a salad bar.

I don't love all his recipes, but he said it was okay to eat the same dinner every night if I wanted to. Just as long as you eat week 1 recipes in week 1, 2 in week 2, and 3 in week 3. That suits me just fine. And there is definitely more than 1 recipe that I enjoy.

There is 1 rule I don't follow. #13: An Espresso a Day...or 2 or 3. I'm not a coffee drinker. I will not drink it. But as you can see, so far this has not hurt me. I'm right on schedule to lose 20 lbs.

It's not easy. I knew it wouldn't be. It takes a lot of determination and will power, but I have been telling all my friends who've asked me about it, these 21 days are going to pass by whether I do this or not. I know what I want. I knew Bob's plan would help me achieve it. It's still hard to sit there while all your friends are eating pizza and pasta, or having a burger fries, and shake. Sometimes I think the smell alone will do me in. But again, I know what I want. With Bob's plan, I will not only survive, I will lose that 20 lbs that I do not need.

I was going to take off a star for the recipes I don't love and the coffee rule, but it's not Bob's fault I don't like those things, maybe you will. And besides, I love Bob Harper. =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great diet if you like veggies, May 19, 2013
By 
Leepay "esemonian" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss (Skinny Rules) (Hardcover)
I like this diet book because it is a mere 3 weeks of torture to get results. Bob Harper spells out the recipes and exercise for each day. The recipes include about 12 ounces of meat a day, lots and lots of veggies, and a little fruit and a little grains. I'm going on week 2 and curse Bob several times a day. But, I have lost weight and am eating much more healthy than off the diet. I will definitely keep using some of the recipes after the 3 weeks and also keep eating lots of veggies for breakfast. The book would be better if it had some lists of the foods to use for shopping. Someone kindly posted week 1 and I'll share my list (which may not be perfect) for the foods for the recipes in Week 2.

Week 2 List

Vegetables and Fruit
zucchini 8
yellow squash 3
asparagus spears, large, 20
cherry tomatoes 1 pint
garlic cloves 6
eggplant, 1 cup diced
cauliflower 2 heads and 1 cup chopped
plum tomatoes 9
arugula 4 cups
dill, fresh, 1 T chopped
Persian cucumbers 15
Blueberries 1/2 cup
Dandelion greens 2 cups
lemons enough for 5 T and 1 tsp juice
pineapple, 1 cup diced
mango, 1 cup diced
kale, 3 or 4 large bunches (9 cups chopped)
swiss chard, 1 large bunch
broccoli, 1 large head and 3 1/2 cup (chopped)
spinach, fresh, 16 cups (chopped)
parsley, fresh, 4 T (chopped)
sweet potato, one 3-inch
red bell pepper, 5 1/2 cups (chopped/diced)
cilantro, fresh, 3 1/2 T (chopped)
green onions 4 T
kale 5 cups chopped
avocado, 1/4
mixed greens 37 cups (chopped)
apple 1/4
butter leaf lettuce, 4 leaves
fresh chives, 1 tsp
lime juice 1/2 T
swiss chard, 3 cups (chopped)
thyme, fresh, 1 tsp
mango, 1/4 cup chopped

Meat & eggs
chicken breasts, skinless and boneless, 28 ounces (7 4-ounce servings)
halibut or cod, 4 ounces
Lean ground turkey breast, 11 ounces
21 egg whites
shrimp, 5 ounces
lean steak, 5 ounces
sliced turkey breast, no salt, 9 ounces

Other Items
Olive oil spray
apple cider vinegar 1/2 T
balsamic vinegar, 1 T and 6 tsp
rice vinegar 1/2 tsp
Cracked black pepper
2/3 cup whole-wheat or whole-grain penne pasta
1 tsp dried thyme, herbes de Provence, or Italian seasoning
low-sodium vegetable broth, 3 cups
walnuts or cashews, 3 1/2 T toasted
grated parmesean cheese 1/2 T
Nonfat Greek yogurt, 1 1/2 cups
ground flaxseed 2 1/2 T
Quinoa 1/4 cup
extra-virgin olive oil, 6 1/4 tsp
Dijon mustard 2 tsp
Hot sauce 1 and 1/2 tsp
Rolled oats 1/3 cup
Unsweetened applesauce ("natural unsweetened") 1/3 cup
Ground cinnamon 1/2 tsp
Vanilla extract 1/2 tsp
Almond milk, unsweetened 1 cup
cayenne, 1 pinch
capers 1/2 T
crushed red pepper, 2 pinches
Bragg's Liquid Aminos, 1/2 T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of work...but worth it, June 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I choose not to write this review until I completed the 21 days...which I almost did. Due to unexpected travel I was short by 2 days, however, that did not stop the dramatic result of 17.5 lbs being lost. Let's face it, if you're reading my review, that's really all you want to know right? Well, there IS more. Please read on.

It was the easiest hardest weight loss plan I've ever done. What do I mean by that? With a busy schedule (and I do mean BUSY) I have come to the conclusion that I need a diet to tell me what to eat and when to eat it. (this works best for me)

I spent a lot of time putting together shopping lists (decided it was easier to go European and shop for the day rather than once a week) and peeling and chopping...and peeling and chopping...and peeling and chopping. Seriously I feel if I wasn't eating (the meals are HUGE and took me nearly an hour to eat) I was chopping and peeling.

Confession: I did NOT do all of the workouts as prescribed. Let's face it. I need to lose about 90 lbs so it will take a while for my "toned" muscles to show. I did do the low impact cardio every morning (with the exception of week 3, but we'll get to that). Having said that, I did do what I could. I got stomach cramps trying to do a sit up, so I stopped and did some other kind of standing ab work. I can't do a real push up, so I started with standing push ups and worked my way to the incline ones (using a workout bench) and that believe me...was effective.

Week 3... I got a puppy...it's like having a new born. I managed only one morning to walk on the treadmill, after that it was a lost cause...still I carried on and moved forward with the eating portion of the program.

Cons:

1 -It was VERY expensive for me (the cost of living where I am is very high) and the first week I spent $315 on groceries...some of which went bad (my grocer's fault for selling near rotten veggies) before I could use them (hence me turning to the European method of buying for the day) which changed my routine a bit, but I found it worked better in the long run as packages of spinach and kale do take up their fair share of space in the refrigerator.
2- It allowed me to drink coffee (which I had JUST kicked...but if you insist! :-)
3- Required at least an hour to go over the shopping list (I honestly wish it was broken down for you. Adding up cups of spinach and the # of cucumbers you need to buy for the week etc.
4-Organization organization organization is REQUIRED!!!! You have to always think ahead to the next meal and what you need to do to prepare which was a nightmare in week 2 when I never got home before 9 pm.
5- As someone with a dairy allergy it was a bit of hit and miss with the recipes that required dairy (Greek Yogurt, parmesan cheese etc.) the first week I just avoided the dairy. The second week I thought I would give it a go...and paid dearly for it. :-(
6- I HATE cauliflower...but in week 2 I caved...I haven't eaten cauliflower since 1986! It was a miracle I actually ate it... it wasn't bad... I guess the steak helped :-)
7 - He doesn't give alternatives for people like me (allergies...strong dislike for certain veggies etc.)

Pro:
1- It works!!!!!!!!!!
2- I had NO symptoms of IBS (or whatever it is that makes me feel sick when I eat)
3- Some of the recipes were so good I'd eat them again and again just because they are delicious. (some I will never eat again)
4- I actually felt better than I had in MONTHS
5- People saw a difference after just one week
6- I slept better
7- I looked better

Overall... I would recommend this over and over and over. If you have 21 days (read the book first) Plan, Prepare, Focus and then go for it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for those wanting to lose weight., September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bob Harper has written a very concise guide to quick weight loss. By restricting carbs and eating 3 meals a day along with exercise, you CAN lose weight.
I bought this book to help guide me through weight loss and I found it to be the perfect way to get me started. I chose a couple of my favorite meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and then just repeated them throughout the week. For me, that was easier than preparing each meal. To me, as long as the general guidelines were followed, I felt I was still going to have success.
I have only been on this plan for a week, but have lost 7 pounds already. I have increased energy, either due to the daily walk each morning or to the lack of sugar "ups and downs". But, whatever the reason, I feel great. I have not had any jittery feelings that some have written about. I look forward to my expresso each morning.

I am 59 years old, and am doing this on my own ....I have tried to tell friends about this "new" eating plan, but no one seems to want to give up their addicting carbohydrates. It is amazing to walk through a grocery store now and be aware of every carb loaded product on the shelves. Amazing. No wonder we have weight problems.

The only caution I would give is that this is a very regimented program and for me, it works, but for someone not very disciplined it may prove to be difficult. I feel though, that if you really want a change in your life, you have to work on it and give it your all. I hope others will see my results and perhaps give it a try as well.
I am 5'4" and started at 149 lb. and it is funny to hear my friends say, "You don't need to lose weight". But my reply is now, " hey, I just want to be able to fit into all the clothes in my closet, which, obviously I didn't originally buy too small, so I must have gained some weight...I just want to be able to wear what I have". That usually causes them to pause and agree with me.

I hope this review will encourage others to try this book and the eating plan and see the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You will lose weight but there are risks ..., June 27, 2013
By 
Stacie A. (Gig Harbor, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss (Skinny Rules) (Hardcover)
(The beginning of this review includes the reason I started this plan and some tips for those who choose to partake in it. The end of this review includes my results and the reasons I could not complete this program safely).

I have spent the last year in "diet recovery". I was what you might classify as a "disordered eater". While I didn't have an official eating disorder, I was always jumping from one weight to the next. I began doing an "intuitive eating" lifestyle and it has literally changed my life and my relationship with food. However, in order to change my relationship with food, I had to add some freedoms back into my eating that caused some weight gain in the beginning. I chose not to let this get the better of me but I did put on about 15 pounds. What resulted was someone who is much better at listening to her body and is now eating much smaller portions without it feeling like deprivation. However, I still want to get my body back to it's starting weight. So I opted (a bit reluctantly) to try Bob's plan since it would be quick and I could then return to intuitive eating. My initial plan was to return to the intuitive eating lifestyle and see if I maintain without needing another diet. If I go back to 161 pounds while eating well, exercising and keeping portions small, then I guess that is where my body is comfortable. I don't need to be a bikini model to be happy. I just want a normal relationship with food.

All that being said, here are some of the tips I would like to share that I discovered while doing this plan. You may not agree with everything, but I hope it's helpful to some. Our bodies are all so unique - so there isn't one answer or perfect plan for all. Take what works for you, and toss out the rest. You know yourself best.

Tips:

1. To save time, make more of some things and freeze them for easy meals later. This was especially easy with the turkey Bolognese. One pound of turkey makes 4 servings, so just quadruple the recipe, freeze in single portions and keep a bunch of pre-cooked spaghetti squash in the fridge. This meals is very filling and satisfying - especially when you are not in the mood to eat a bunch of raw veggies in a salad.

2. Don't feel obligated to eat a salad every day for lunch. If you need something warm and cooked for a change of pace, make one of the breakfasts (without the whole grains) or dinners for lunch. I did this a number of times because sometimes the thought of ANOTHER salad made want to vomit. Since the dinners have the same nutritional value and calories as the lunches, I see no reason not to swap! For example, you could make scrambled egg whites with roasted veggies and sliced avocado for your lunch.

3. To save money and time, don't be afraid to eat the same meal twice or even every day for an entire week! If you like scrambled egg whites with tons of roasted veggies on Ezekiel bread for breakfast, it's super easy to just make all the veggies in advance, keep a loaf of bread in the fridge (or even freezer to make it last longer) and whip that up in no time. I personally prefer more variety, but it is sure nice to have that option if needed.

4. In week 2, I was especially excited to change up the breakfasts and add in some yogurt with flax seed and fruit. I needed a little extra sweetener so I opted for a tiny bit of Stevia (a natural product and not dangerous like artificial sweeteners). I know Bob says that leaving out any sweetener helps train your sweet tooth, but I chose to cheat on this one. Kill me.

5. I made many of these dinners for the whole family. I just quadrupled the protein, made extra veggies and always served some sort of carb on the side (sorry, but my hubby and kids would probably disown me if I didn't serve some yummy potatoes or healthy bread to go with dinner).

6. Add a little salt! OK Bob, don't hate me. But some things are just NASTY without salt. Plus, I don't think a pinch of table salt is the kind of salt that's killing America. It's the salt that is added to items in cans - tons of it. So if a tiny pinch of salt takes a meal from gross to enjoyable, I say go for it ... especially if that helps you stick with the plan. One example - in the first week, you are supposed to make a marinara sauce with low-salt tomatoes. I found canned crushed San Marzano tomatoes (better than average - highly recommend for Italian cooking) that had almost zero salt and used those instead. Then I added just enough salt to the Bolognese after it was all done. It ended up being less salt overall but I could adjust to my taste.

7. Electrolyte powder - I found one on Amazon that worked well. It's called "ElectroMIX" and it's made by the same folks who make Emergen-C. They come in packets so you can throw them in your purse/car when you need them on the road. Plus, one packet goes with a litre of water so you really get your money's worth by using half a packet with your 16-oz. glass of water. Plus, they are zero calories and made with Stevia so I preferred that too.

8. Fish oil - I just realized my fish oil has 10 calories per pill. On this plan I'm supposed to take 6 pills a day in order to equal the full mg dosage Bob recommends. So that's an extra 60 calories a day. So I guess you could say women actually get 860 calories a day!

9. Persian cucumbers - Many questions about these on other reviews. So I thought I would at least mention that where I live (in WA state), you can buy them at Costco. They are delicious (and cute!). But don't feel obligated to use them. There are many other veggies substitutions if you can't find them.

10. Hunger - I felt hungry quite often on this plan. After reading many doctor reviews of Bob's book, there seems to be a consensus that there is just not enough fat to keep one satisfied on so few calories a day. I have seen many other reviewers state that they were never hungry. I wasn't one of those. So whenever I was super hungry or light-headed, I added a little extra fat/protein to my day. Typically, it was about 4pm and included celery with PB or a piece of string cheese and PB. Sometimes I would added extra avocado to a meal as well. I know it wasn't following the plan "exactly", but even if I lose a pound less because of it, I don't care. I felt it was what my body needed. And apparently, many experts agree.

11. Portions are huge for most meals. Sometimes I would eat half my meal and save the rest for another time of the day when I was more hungry (as long as it wasn't complex carbs from breakfast).

12. "Carb crash" - This is the term I found online when I was trying to figure out why I was feeling so awful from days 3-7. Apparently, if you have mostly relied on simple carbs for fuel and then switch to a higher protein diet, the body can go through an adjustment period of switching it's fuel source that can make you feel jittery, run-down, tired and grumpy. You can also experience strong carb/sweet cravings in the beginning. I believe this is what happened to me. So if you feel this way, most of the people online recommend adding a few healthy carbs and some healthy fat back into your diet. This may be why I have been craving peanut butter in the afternoon. If you need to ease into things a little slower like me, then adding some sweet potatoes, fruit, PB, extra avocado, etc, may help. The other big thing they point to is dehydration. And apparently, that is also a result of some water flushing that happens when you switch your fuel source. So I really ramped up my water/electrolyte consumption (about Bob's recommended amount) and this seemed to help a little. But ultimately I got so dehydrated that I had to alter things - going slower on the addition of so much fiber and adding in some carbs. This slowed weight loss but ultimately I had to worry about myself medically. If you wonder about dehydration, look for the symptoms I had - dry mouth, excessive thirst and urination, diarrhea, headache.

Bottom line - in order to protect my health (see #12 if you skipped to this part of the review), I only made it one week doing this plan. I lost 5 pounds that first week. The second week, I ate probably 1000 calories a day with extra carbs and lost 1 pound. As soon as I got back to normal eating, I felt much better and decided that overall, for my body, it is better to lose weight very slowly and without extremes such as this. Just listen to your body. It will speak to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jumpstart to Skinny: The Simple 3-Week Plan for Supercharged Weight Loss (Skinny Rules)
$25.00 $15.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.