Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Fall Denim Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Night Beds The Next Storm Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Shop Popular Services Home Theater Setup Plumbing Services Assembly Services Shop all furious7 furious7 furious7  Amazon Echo Fire HD 6 Kindle Voyage Assassin's Creed Syndicate Gear Up for Football Deal of the Day
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • By Jupiter (1967 Off-Broadway Revival Cast)
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

By Jupiter (1967 Off-Broadway Revival Cast) Cast Recording, Original recording remastered

6 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Cast Recording, Original recording remastered, September 11, 2007
"Please retry"
$69.95 $49.94

1. Medley: For Jupiter And Greece/Ride Amazon Ride
2. Jupiter Forbid
3. Life With Father
4. Nobody's Heart
5. In the Gateway Of the Temple Of Minerva
6. Here's a Hand
7. Finale Act I
8. Wait Till You See Her
9. The Boy I Left Behind Me
10. Ev'rything I've Got
11. Bottoms Up
12. Careless Rhapsody
13. Medley: Finale Act II/Now That I've Got My Strength/Ev'rything I've Got (Reprise)/Jupiter Forbid (Reprise)
14. Bonus Track

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 11, 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Cast Recording, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Drg
  • ASIN: B000U1ZIQU
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #352,843 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By William S. Oser on September 12, 2007
Format: Audio CD
I have this on vinyl (yes vinyl) and love it. The CD is on the way, although I have an advanced pressing so I can discuss the sonic quality. First of all its great to have this album back in circulation. By Jupiter is Rodgers and Hart's last NEW score, and its a great one. Tunes such as Wait Till you See Her, and Everything I've Got Belongs to you are fairly well known Rodgers and Hart classics. The title tune and Nobody's Heart Belongs to Me are top draw. All of the performers are excellent, full of life. DRG has done its usual fine job of remastering, making an album whose sound quality was not state of the art sound better than it did. Now to the orchestrations. Ooops, but Rodgers allowed someone to give the show a very modern sound. With ears that are now accustomed to original orchestrations via John McGlinn and period orchestrations, newly done by the likes of people like Russell Warner, these are glaringly out of step with the early 40s style of the show. It would be wonderful to have a historically informed version of this wonderful score, but until that lucky day you know darn well baby, I can only offer you this. Its really quite good.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful By J. T Waldmann on September 18, 2007
Format: Audio CD
What a shanda it is that so many examples of the American musical theater are not available on CD, especially in "authentic" recordings. It seems that titles disappear from major labels' catalogues faster than DRG, ArkivMusic & Fynsworth Alley can reissue them and far faster than City Center's Encores! can concertize them. Even a worse shanda is the way our Broadway "pioneers" have been treated. Where are all those fabulous scores by Vincent Youmans, Sigmund Romberg, Victor Herbert, Rudolf Friml and - to a lesser degree - Jerome Kern, and Rodgers & Hart? Gone are the days when the major labels gave full rein to people the likes of Goddard Lieberson, John McGlinn and John Mauceri to bring these composers' glorious music to life in the recording studio. Shanda! Shanda! Shanda!

So, whenever the opportunity comes along to sample these treasures, we should jump at it, as I encourage you to do in the case of BY JUPITER, even though it's not grade A Rodgers & Hart and decidedly not a top-notch recording. But it's all we have for now, so savor it. The mystery is why it took so long to make it to CD. Thanks to DRG, it's finally here.

Even though BY JUPITER may be second-tier R&H(art), it does contain three bona fide classics: "Nobody's Heart (Belongs To Me)," "Wait Till You See Her," and the feisty, fisty duet "Everything I've Got (Belongs to You)." The rest of the score is serviceable, but neither the tunes nor the lyrics are up to the standards of THE BOYS FROM SYRACUSE, PAL JOEY, or even A CONNECTICUT YANKEE. Nevertheless, it had the longest run of any Rodgers & Hart show - 427 performances - slightly beating JUMBO (421). No doubt it would have run longer had not its star, Ray Bolger, left the show to entertain America's fighting men and women during World War II.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By R. Burnett on September 25, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Kudos to DRG for releasing another obscure or long unavailable cast album! But in their usual fashion, the liner notes are insufficient (see another review above). And worst of all, in usual DRG fashion, the track listings are incorrect (as they are in Amazon's listing above; there is no Bonus Track). The case and booklet list 13 tracks, when in fact there are 14. The 14th track is actually the "Jupiter Forbid" portion of the finale that is shown included in track 13. Careless of DRG, and disrespectful of their (admittedly, limited) audience. Let's hope for an "Encores" production and recording, but until now, this is a very enjoyable recording of a typical 60's off-Broadway offering.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category