Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Note: This is a review for the Jurassic World Premiere Pack: Jurassic World Premiere Pack: Jurassic Park Digital HD (1993) + $15 Fandango Promo Code for Jurassic World in Theaters + Pre-order of Jurassic World [HD]

The Jurassic World Premiere Pack is perfect for those who are planning to see "Jurassic World" in theaters and also want to own it on home video. I've included what's in this Premiere Pack below, with some additional details that might help you decide whether or not it's worth a purchase.

1. "Jurassic Park" (the original '90s Spielberg film) in Digital HD format added to your Amazon Video Library
- Current retail value of this is about $9.99.
- This is a digital copy of the movie which can be streamed or downloaded.
- When you purchase, the movie will immediately be added to your Amazon Video Library.
- The digital copy never expires, you own it forever.
- Where you can watch your digital copy:
-- You can watch the movie online in your web browser when logged into your Amazon account.
-- If you have an Amazon product tied to your account, such as a Fire TV Stick or a Kindle Fire tablet, you can watch the movie there.
-- You can also watch on non-Amazon devices (such as iPad and Roku) by downloading the Amazon Instant Video app.

2. A Fandango Promo Code for $15 off one "Jurassic World" Movie Ticket
- Your ticket will be purchased through the Fandango website. The code and redemption instructions will be delivered to the email address associated with your Amazon account. (NOTE: The code will not be emailed until a day or two after your purchase, so do not expect the email immediately after you place your order.)
- The movie ticket is valued up to $15. If one ticket costs over $15 for the movie time/location you selected, you will owe the difference to Fandango at checkout.
- Code is only valid for the value of ONE TICKET. [Example: If you order two matinee tickets @ $7.00 each, your total is $14... but this code will only take the price of one ticket (in this case $7) off your total.]

3. Amazon Pre-Order of the Jurassic World Blu-Ray combo pack
- Approx. Retail Value of a new release blu-ray varies, but is generally around $20.
- Combo Pack will include Blu-Ray disc, DVD disc, and a digital copy of the movie.
- This product will not be automatically sent to you; you will have to place a separate order for it. Once you order the Premiere Pack, a promo credit will be applied to your account that will allow you to order the blu-ray for free.
- Link to blu-ray combo pack: amazon.com/gp/product/B00YHP3LMI/
- The combo pack will be available to pre-order starting 6/1. You must place your pre-order by 9/30/15 or the promo credit will expire.
- Those who are not familiar with pre-orders: If you are a Prime Member, you can select "Release Date Delivery" at checkout and get the movie the day it is released. If you are not a Prime member and you opt for standard or super saver shipping, you should expect to get your blu-ray several days to a week after the release date.

At $30, this Premiere Pack is a really great value assuming you are interested in all the components and you can get a decent value out of the movie ticket. I hope this review was helpful; feel free to ask any question in the comments section and I will be glad to answer.
1111 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
***This review really is for the 3D Blu-ray version. I preordered it and it arrived the day before official release :) ***

My wife and I watched it and the 3D is very well done, they clearly did full 3D mapping with curved shapes for faces and pixel infill behind things when you can now see around them. My wife found it as good as 3D gets. As an engineer with image processing background I noticed a few things like artifacts around fast moving stuff and places where (of course) things would not be in focus that were not originally in the plane of focus. I think if you don't go looking for flaws it will just be a great 3D experience, this isn't a cheap cardboard cutout change to 3D, it's the good kind.

The Bluray took a while to start up and then would repeatedly get stuck showing "downloading new attractions from BD-live"; until I turned off BD-live for the Bluray player. .... Update on BD-Live: It would seem that getting stuck at "downloading" was likely due to getting the disk before release. It never gets stuck now (it shows multiple downloaded commercials).

-I.C.A.Q.

(edited to fix some typos and clarify that this review is for the actual 3D Bluray)
1818 comments| 188 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 27, 2014
Anyone who has seen JURASSIC PARK can tell you of the thundering AWE they felt the first time they saw it. There are few cinematic experiences that can rival the spectacle of a herd of Gallimimus stampeding on an open plain, or a giant Tyrannosaur roaring in the rain. Jurassic Park, is quite simply, one of the greatest blockbusters ever made. The plot looks simple: a group of experts and friends are invited to explore a theme park that has yet to open - but the premise is high-concept in that way only Michael Crichton is high-concept: the park is filled with living dinosaurs cloned from ancient DNA. And quickly, the ordinary tour becomes a terrifying thrill-ride for survival, complete with claws, teeth, fangs, venom, and more.

In the human corner, we have Sam Neill as Dr. Alan Grant, a crusty but passionate paleontologist, and his partner Dr. Ellie Sattler, played with childlike wonder by Laura Dern. Richard Attenborough's excellently optimistic performance as the park's creator John Hammond is a highlight of the film, as of course is Jeff Goldblum in full Goldblumish glory as chaos theorist Ian Malcolm. The supporting cast, including Wayne Knight, Bob Peck, and Samuel L. Jackson give tremendous performances, and the immortal lines "Clever girl", and "Hang on to your butts!"

But of course, all of our humans are overshadowed by the real stars of the film: the dinosaurs. In the dino corner, we have the T-Rex, a tremendous achievement in special effects, and one of the most awe-inspiring, earth-shattering characters in film. With the roar of a baby elephant, tiger, and alligator in one, the T-Rex has been shaking cups and terrifying moviegoers for 20 years. When you add to that several devious velociraptors, brachiosaurs, and gallimimus (sorry, I'm a total dinosaur nerd - I can't help it)... you have both an incredible achievement in digital and practical effects, and the groundwork for the most awe-inspiring, gut-clenching set-pieces this side of anywhere.

If you haven't seen the film a) what's wrong with you? b) I can't stress enough how powerful that first viewing is. Ask anyone about the first time they saw Jurassic Park, and they will be able to tell you where, and who with, and of course, about that feeling of sheer awe in the face of Spielberg's spectacle. And that's the greatest thing about Jurassic Park: Yes, the special effects might be a little dated, and maybe those kids are annoying. But no matter how long it ages, Jurassic Park still affects and terrifies, even 20 years on. And THAT, my friends, is why I give the film 5 stars. Jurassic Park is an unforgettable cinematic experience that has no equal anywhere. Step back into an age where dinosaurs walked the earth!

P.S. If this review was helpful to you, please give it a like. Cheers!
0Comment| 129 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
It's more than a little uncommon for a film to visually impress two times in a row. What made for spectacular viewing the first time becomes old news by the second. And with the rate at which the technologies used at the movies advances, these former special-effects heavyweights begin to look dated very quickly.

That makes it all the more impressive that Jurassic Park 3D - a classic celebrating its 20th birthday this year - is still eye-poppingly amazing to look at. The special effects alone have aged like a fine wine, due in no small part to the film's reliance on animatronics over computer animation. Whereas CGI tends to leave everything looking just slightly "off", the dinosaurs of this park feel as real as they come. There's none of that oddly shiny, too-perfect look of modern movies.

Someone at Universal deserves a pat on the back for the job of converting this movie to 3D. The original was obviously never filmed with 3D in mind, but the new sense of depth is completely convincing. It is, in a word, awesome. And in a movie that has the awesomeness of the natural world as a major theme, that really helps to sell it to you.

Behind Jurassic Park's new bells and whistles is the same excellent Spielburgian film it has always been. John Hammond, a visionary scientist, has had a jolly old time playing around with genetics. The fruit of his labor is a private island filled with creatures long since extinct, which he wants to make into an amusement park. He invites three scientists - the couple Alan and Ellie, and the eccentric ladies' man Ian Malcolm - for some academic cred, as his investors are having some trouble believing that resurrecting long-extinct T. Rex's is actually safe. The opening act allows us time to soak in just how incredible this prehistoric wonderland really is. From the huge beasts, to the hatching of a tiny infant raptor, the world of Jurassic Park is wild, but seemingly controlled.

Controlled that is, except for the park's malicious computer programmer, Newman - err, Dennis Nedry. In an attempt to steal dinosaur embryos for a rival genetics company, Nedry inadvertently shuts down the park's security, releasing the hordes, including one hungry T. Rex. The delightfully carefree and safe dino zoo quickly turns into a prehistoric nightmare, with the scientists, Hammond, and his grandchildren all fighting to survive.

Jurassic Park knows what it wants to be - it's a science-fiction thriller, and it does that well. There are more iconic scenes here than a raptor has teeth. Beyond that, though, it's effective as something of a pseudo-nature documentary. When they aren't trying to gobble up the heroes, the dinosaurs simply go about their business - running with their herds, finding a meal, and nesting for the night. It's a grim reminder of humanity's dualistic relationship with nature. Sometimes we live in harmony and mutual wonder. Sometimes they eat us instead.

The acting is mostly excellent, particularly with Jeff Goldblum as Ian. His sarcastic skepticism plays off of the other scientists' straight-man performances hilariously well. Richard Attenborough also does a wonderful job as Hammond and his rapidly-decaying ego. Despite the fact that the entire park was his idea, you do feel sorry for the man as his dream crumbles to pieces around him. While the characters are not the centerpieces (Jurassic Park is much more War of the Worlds than ET), it helps the film immensely to have such engaging performances.

Jurassic Park is definitely worth a second viewing, especially in 3D. The added dimension fits the film perfectly, as if it were shot that way all the way back in 1993. And if you're somehow lucky enough for this to be your first viewing, than enjoy. You're in for a wild ride.
11 comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
My review pertains to the quality of 3D:

As someone who loves home theater 3D, I have probably every major 3D Blu-ray release, and I'm pretty sure this tops them all.

Literally every scene has been remastered for 3D conversion, and it shows. Its a beautiful, fun, and awesomely entertaining 3D showpiece. Exceeded my expectations in every way.

Also, the "Extras" has an overview of how they spent 9 months transferring the source material to 3D. You really can't go wrong with Jurassic Park 3D.. get it now.
0Comment| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
This might have been a great deal. But I have no idea when i am getting the rest of the package i paid for. As with other reviewers, I am told that that the blu ray disc that was supposed to come with the pack isn't available for the people who ordered this special even though the movie has been released already. I could go on and order one today and get it in 2 days, but I won't be getting the one I ordered back in June anytime soon. disappointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
I preordered the Premiere Pack of Jurassic World back in June because I loved the movie and thought it would be cool to also get the digital copy of Jurassic Park with my order which is the whole reason I ordered the Premiere Pack instead of just the Jurassic World Blu-Ray. But unlike every other movie I've ever preordered from Amazon, this one did not come on its release date. Supposedly I should receive the rest of my order that I've been waiting for (and already PAID for) since June, sometime in the next 3-5 days. I'm not pleased with Amazon's lack of preparedness to fulfill these orders as, from the reviews, this has happened to a lot of people who ordered this Premiere Pack option.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
If you were already planning on getting the Jurassic World blu-ray, you should get this. The cost covers the blu-ray, plus you get $15 for a Fandango ticket (I'm seeing it in IMAX 3D - cost me less than $3.00 with the promo code!) and a digital copy of Jurassic Park. Even if you weren't planning on getting the blu-ray, you should take advantage of this deal!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
I am writing this review after having seen the 3D-IMAX version of this movie yesterday at the theater. I can only hope this is the version being released later this month (April 2013).

All I can say is WOW! I and my family were immensely pleased. This is every bit as amazing as I remembered it, and then some.

The 3D was definitely a benefit here, and it heightened my appreciation of the movie. While of course Spielberg had no inclination that this would eventually go 3D, the movie has several sequences that really seem to have been made specifically for it. As anyone who has seen the movie can guess, there are all sorts of scenes that almost literally jumped out at the audience in the original, and they're even more super-charged here.

While this has to be one of the most-watched movies ever, I'm sure there are many who have never seen it -- in fact, I could tell there were a few in the audience nearby me, as they jumped more than a few times at key moments.

What's really terrific is that the 3D was never obtrusive, but only improved the movie and made it more intimate. It is as if we gained a new sense of experiencing a film beyond regular sight and sound. And yes: the sound was even more improved as well. Believe me, it kicked butt.

See it if you can at the theater: on the big screen this is mind-boggling. I will bet those with a big 3D screen in their house (and a suitable sound system) will be totally impressed as well, but this was amazing to see on the big screen.

It was stunnning: "Jurassic Park" HAS NOT AGED ONE DAY since it was released 20 years ago. Spielberg's movie is that good. Credit is due his special effects team (Dennis Muren, Stan Winston, Phil Tippett and Michael Lantieri), who received Oscars for their work (the movie won two Oscars for sound editing and mixing) and they deserved every penny they earned for their work. Even on the big screen there was not the slightest hitch with their work.

See it at the theater if you can, but I am sure you will love it at home, too. It is an exhilarating movie that hasn't lost a step in 20 years: truly AMAZING!

NOTE: It makes you wonder if we'll ever see Jaws re-released this way, or Close Encounters of the Third Kind (30th Anniversary Ultimate Edition)...can you imagine them as 3D? One can only hope.
77 comments| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
Bought the Premiere Pack which included a Jurassic World Combo Bluray Pre-Order. The Bluray isn't expect to come until December 2015, and it is released now. Very disappointed in this pre-order. Pre-orders generally work very,very well.

UPDATE: Took some of the advice of a reviewer in this thread. My Bluray has been shipped. This is a good package for the price, but I still probably wouldn't have done it over again because of the hassle that went along with it.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse