Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation in top notch edition
This combined edition (Jurassic Park/Lost World) is an attractive presentation of this late author's most popular story. The leather binding with embossed and colorized illustration is top-notch. The printing is set up in the style of the original editions with well placed illustrations and text fields. With gilded edges, the pages are durable and somehow manage to...
Published on July 19, 2011 by J.P.E.W.

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Assembly quality is very poor
I purchased the B&N copy and after 2 weeks, the glue attaching the pages to the spin cracked, and the pages began separating at the top. I was not rough with it, I didn't open it beyond a reasonable angle. I returned the book for another copy only to discover the same thing happens. It mainly does so at the top of the spine. The ribbon bookmark has quite a lot of old...
Published on November 11, 2012 by John G. Pettit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation in top notch edition, July 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park / The Lost World (Leatherbound Classics) (Leather Bound)
This combined edition (Jurassic Park/Lost World) is an attractive presentation of this late author's most popular story. The leather binding with embossed and colorized illustration is top-notch. The printing is set up in the style of the original editions with well placed illustrations and text fields. With gilded edges, the pages are durable and somehow manage to trim the surface space that the two original volumes would have occupied. I highly recommend this edition for those who treasure the stories enough to want a legacy copy for a print library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book! But you knew that already, I mean come on, it's Jurassic Park, I'm sure you've at least heard of it by now.., March 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My review is not about the story, because by now we ALL know it. (Although I will say that if you only knew the movie, like I did, reading the book now is actually really cool. You'll see how much the movie actually DID follow the book's main scenes, but what makes it quite awesome is seeing how "dark" and kinda scary it is in the book.. in fact certain famous scenes in the movie were downright frightening in the book. The whole t-rex part is so much more intense in the book, you have no idea... Or when Nedry gets killed by the spitting dinosaur, wow, the book version is truly disturbing.)

Anyway, what I wanted to say in this review was that I was a little disappointed to find SO MANY typos. Like little minor errors here and there, that almost make you think the publishers didn't proofread it or something. Obviously this has no impact on the quality of the book or story, etc., but at the same time it's a little sloppy for something so classic. The first typo I forgave, and the 2nd typo I raised an eyebrow... But then I found a 3rd, and after that I lost count. Just little things, like forgetting a letter, or repeating a word. But DEFINITELY typos, not like me thinking they spelled some dinosaur name wrong, I mean things that absolutely would've been fixed had they proofread it before printing. I guess by the time they printed this fancy version of the book they were like, "Eh, we've all read it before, no need to read it again!" haha

Overall though, GREAT book. And I don't know what these other reviewers are talking about in terms of the physical quality of the book, mine still looks brand new after reading the whole thing. Never had a problem with glue or the red ribbon ripping off, etc. So maybe they just got a couple bad ones, I don't know, mine is an AWESOME book to add to my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Assembly quality is very poor, November 11, 2012
I purchased the B&N copy and after 2 weeks, the glue attaching the pages to the spin cracked, and the pages began separating at the top. I was not rough with it, I didn't open it beyond a reasonable angle. I returned the book for another copy only to discover the same thing happens. It mainly does so at the top of the spine. The ribbon bookmark has quite a lot of old glue attaching it to the spine as well, and that, too, comes off quite easily and quickly. After just a month, I had returned 2 copies of the book.

For $20 the book should have had sewn pages. It was a rip off for the price. I will not purchase anymore B&N leather bound books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freakin' awesome!, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is freakin' awesome and even better than the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book is beautiful, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hve read the stories previously; no surprise there. The book itself is beautiful to observe, wonderful to touch, and beautifully bound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome condition thank you so much it looked like it has been read, and it doesn't look bad at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book, February 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park / The Lost World (Leatherbound Classics) (Leather Bound)
Even though some of the paint discolored some of the white to look pink it was still a nice book because with a damp rag it came out. And it stands out in my leather bound book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for 14 year old grand-daughter, January 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park / The Lost World (Leatherbound Classics) (Leather Bound)
My grand-daughter loves this book.
Such an easy way to purchase a gift. She sent me the exact information I needed to order. thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, January 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice, solid, well made. Should be a nice addition for a fan. I just wouldn't order it from FHB. Their shipping seems to take much longer than anyone else and if you leave negative feedback, they'll request that you remove it!
Be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classy presentation, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park / The Lost World (Leatherbound Classics) (Leather Bound)
This book is very fancy and has great graphics on the cover. I love the silver around the pages. This was a gift for my fiance and he can't wait to begin reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Jurassic Park / The Lost World (Leatherbound Classics)
Jurassic Park / The Lost World (Leatherbound Classics) by Michael Crichton (Leather Bound - 2011)
Used & New from: $31.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.