Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Bands
There is little that Los Lobos hasn't played in the years they've been around. And, with "Just Another Band from East L.A." you can experience this growth from the beginning all the way through "Kiko". This compilation contains more than forty tracks of traditional Spanish music, Tex-Mex, blues and rock.
Few bands honor their roots like Los Lobos does. The beginning...
Published on February 4, 2002 by Russell Diederich

versus
3 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The Spanish songs are awesome - the rest are your average Top 40, indescript / inert / lifeless / as seen on TV / out of the meat grinder songs (or rather, collections of sounds). My advice: don't bother - just get La Pystola y el corazon and whatever else they have in Spanish. That is the good stuff.
Published on July 19, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Bands, February 4, 2002
By 
Russell Diederich (Littleton, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
There is little that Los Lobos hasn't played in the years they've been around. And, with "Just Another Band from East L.A." you can experience this growth from the beginning all the way through "Kiko". This compilation contains more than forty tracks of traditional Spanish music, Tex-Mex, blues and rock.
Few bands honor their roots like Los Lobos does. The beginning of disc one has several Spanish folk songs, including the beautiful ballad, "Sabor a Mi" flavored with Latin guitar runs. The flavor turns a little more rock in the middle of disc one and holds onto it for the remainder of the album. The power of Los Lobos' songs is heard in "River of Fools", "Will the Wolf Survive?" and "On Time One Night". Covers of Ritchie Valens' "Come On Let's Go" and his arrangement of the traditional "La Bamba" helped bring Los Lobos national acclaim.
Things are great on the first disc, but things get better on the second disc. Again the second disc is a mix of rock and blues and songs sung in Spanish. With songs like "Down On the Riverbed", "Angel Dance", the incredible "Kiko and the Lavender Moon" and a live cover of Cream's "Politician" make this album a keeper. The best song on this compilation is the live cover of Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On". The guys do a great job on one of the best songs ever written.
Besides getting nearly two and a half hours of Los Lobos, and a great sampling from all their albums pre-"Colossal Head", there are also four previously unreleased tracks and nearly a dozen live cuts. An albums worth of live cuts and never before heard material makes this compilation definitely something to look into even if you already have all of Los Lobos' albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just another reviewer from East LA, May 12, 2000
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
This is the Album that dosen't collect dust. It takes me back to a time long ago in a land far away from today. It is true that for any of us brought up on the east side our music was a blend of our parent's tunes and rock and roll. The liner notes are a faithful description of life for us in the 60's and for 70's. The La Bamba stuff is important because it's good fun music and it honor's Richie Valens. His contribution opened doors showing us that we, (Americans of Hispanic Descent) have a voice. This album can be sumed up as... The music that plays during the family's backyard BBQ when all was right in the neighborhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best band of the last quarter century, April 9, 2003
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
The last quarter century has not generally been an era favorable to bands, except for the brief New Wave of the early 80s. But it was 1978 when "Los Lobos del Norte" put out their first Norteno music that appears on this CD - pricelessly beautiful and skillfully played, and still a feature of their music today. Then came 1984 and "Will the Wolf Survive?", the defining album of their early rock period, mixing Norteno with rock 'n roll and a vision of east L.A. street life. In the 90s, the Lobos turned funky and experimental, and "Just Another Band" captures many songs from "Kiko", their legendary album from that period, and the most recent music represented on the CD. Most recently their CD "Good Morning Aztlan" blends all these styles, and the legend still grows.
No other band today can claim the riches that Los Lobos have given us for these 25 years. No other band can pull together the disparate styles of the American street so strongly and movingly. And there is the paradox that this band that is so particularly of the streets of East L.A. is also the most completely American band of this era, accessible and belonging to all of us.
"Just Another Band from East L.A." does full justice to Los Lobos and their history. All the best tracks I would have wanted from the albums I already knew are here, plus some excellent never released songs (especially the beautifully moving "Someday"), several live tracks, and the smile-inducing Latino version of the King Louis monkey song "I Wanna Be Like You" from the Jungle Book.
To top it off, the boxed package includes great pictures and the story of the band's socio-cultural origins. It deserves a special place on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America's Band, August 25, 2010
By 
Mr. Mambo (Burnsville, MN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
I am 60 years old. When I was five I got turned on to rock & roll by Elvis. Then came the Stones, Beatles, Beach Boys, Yardbirds, back to Muddy Waters, Little Walter, then Dylan, Van Morrison, Otis Rush, Charlie Musselwhite, The Band, John Hiatt, Dire Straits, U2, and....Los Lobos. To me Los Wolves are in the same strong roots tradition of The Band. This is music put out by men. Men who care about the music more than anything else. One of the things that set The Band (Levon Helm/Robby Robertson/Rick Danko/Garth Hudson/Richard Manuel) apart way back then was that they consciously set out to be the antithesis of rock stars. It was not a fashion show; it was only about the music. Likewise, Los Lobos. There are no gimmicks here, never have been.

This retrospective two-disk set is endlessly diverse, entertaining, and challenging. It's chock-full of great songs from all of the band's LP's, up through Kiko, a truly stupdendous array of amazingly varied types of music. Of course, they have released many great albums since Kiko, so if this is your first Los Lobos purchase, you've made a wise choice. I like to put this on in my car, especially on longer drives, when I can listen to both disks. David Hidalgo is truly the "Garth Hudson" of the group: inventive, a musical genius, plus a fabulous singer. Like The Band, which eschewed flash guitar solos, you will find few instances of instrumental pyrotechnics here; however, when they do "step out", it's obvious that these gentlemen are master musicians.

Los Lobos are, for me, the band which has been the most consistently great over the past thirty (!!) years. They are a national treasure. We are lucky to have seen them, to have been witness to their incredible talents. They have made the world a much better place simply by passing through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Band in the World, October 6, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
This collection shows the tremendous range of this amazing band. Los Lobos shows off their musical chops on songs ranging from traditional Mexican folk tunes to growling post-punk, pulling off every track with a Latin vibe that doesn't quit. Also check out Collosal Head to see what they've been up to since this collection was compiled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great music. great depth. worth the time and the money., September 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
a great compilation of Los Lobos. too often bands simply rehash their most popular music. this CD shows the depth and the originality of Los Lobos that none of their other albums do as well. for a free trip to East LA, get this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You're Buying Your First Los Lobos CD, November 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
This is the one to buy. Two cd set starts off with more latin based music on the first disc and slowly turns more to rock & roll including a great cover of Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On?" These guys are all excellent musicians who are greatly underappreciated by most of the people I know--"La Bamba" was both a blessing and a for them as far as I'm concerned. These guys play an eclectic blend of music and can play anything so well. See them live and you'll know what I'm talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Variety is the spice of life!!!, August 26, 2003
By 
Catherine Alexander (Danville, NH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
Hi if you want variety Los Lobos can give it. Very good music and really upbeat. Warm Regards: Cathy Alexander(NH)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Around Musicians, June 8, 2007
By 
Anna Cantu (Pflugerville, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
You don't have to be Hispanic to enjoy the incredible talent of Los Lobos. This CD is actually a replacement for the old one I wore out. This band can play virtually any kind of music but they have a way of weaving traditional Mexican Ranch music into their rock. The richness of the music is great to listen to when traveling or even working around the house. I highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anything but "Just Another Band from East L.A.", May 25, 2010
By 
This review is from: Just Another Band from East L.A.: A Collection (Audio CD)
Don't let the title of the album or my review fool you... These guys haven't been "Just Another Band from East L.A." in decades. I'm not an expert on TexMex music but I don't have to be to know that they're more than "Just Another..." This is a great collection of wonderful music that you might never hear if you only listen to their "pop" output. These guys are brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.