Buy Used
$4.00
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by -bearbooks-
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: USED book, some wear from reading and creases. Qualifies for PRIME and FREE SHIPPING!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Just Another Morning Hardcover – May 4, 2004


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.72 $0.01
Paperback
"Please retry"
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Children's Christmas Books
Visit the Children's Christmas Bookstore to find stories about Santa and his reindeer, cozy books to read by the fire, and sweet stories about family celebrations.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 4 and up
  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (May 4, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0060290536
  • ISBN-13: 978-0060290535
  • Product Dimensions: 11.1 x 8.9 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,393,147 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Linda Ashman is just another author with a graduate degree in urban planning and plenty of experience writing research reports. Linda used to live in New York City and Los Angeles and now lives in Denver with her husband, Jack Hicks, and their son, Jackson, who is just another extraordinary child who makes every day an adventure.

More About the Author

Linda Ashman's children's books have been named to the "best of the year" lists of the New York Times, Parenting Magazine, Child Magazine, New York Public Library, the Bank Street College of Education, the IRA/CBC and more. She lives in Chapel Hill, NC with her husband, son, and their two dogs.

For more information about Linda's books, including "The Nuts and Bolts Guide to Writing Picture Books," visit www.howtowritepicturebooks.com or www.lindaashman.com.

Photo credit: Amy Stern Photography, Chapel Hill, NC

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Carla Stafford on October 13, 2007
Format: Hardcover
My son who just turned four absolutely adores this book. He calls it "The Book Where the Little Boy Gets Up and Does Whatever He Wants." The story starts out by the little boy waking up in the zoo (amongst the stuffed animals in his bed) and follows him throughout his day (spent in his pajamas of course)where he wrestles with snakes (the garden hose), ventures through the jungle (his Mother's garden) and is finally wrestled by a giant (his Dad) who feeds him magic sleeping punch (juice) and he goes to sleep...only to start all over again...Engaging, charming and creative! The illustrations are colorful and precious! I highly recommend it! We should all have such freedom:-)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
ISBN 0060290536 - Fans of Calvin and Hobbes will love this book. Adult Calvin fans will love sharing this book with little ones! Just Another Morning isn't quite "just another book".

A young boy awakens in the morning to find himself... in a zoo! A quick escape and a perilous journey past giants and down a mountain leads him to a feast and, when the giants wake, a secret door offers him a chance to vanish. The boy's extraordinary day continues until finally, captured by a giant, he is forced to eat sticks and weeds and drink a "magic sleeping punch". When he wakes up from his slumber, he finds himself... in a zoo!

Children with wild imaginations always make for great kids' books. There's nothing like the ability to see colored rocks as sparkling jewels to make an ordinary day into an adventure. The nameless boy here really does bear a resemblance, in spirit, to Calvin and illustrator Claudio Munoz has even created some physical likenesses, as well (probably not intentionally, which makes me wonder if wildly imaginative little boys have a physical stereotype). The text, by author Linda Ashman, is in rhyme. The vocabulary is fairly easy, for young readers, but this is one that really ought to be read aloud.

- AnnaLovesBooks
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This story inspired imagination in my 2 1/2 year-old youngster by demonstrating how the young boy in the story uses his fantastic imagination to construct an incredible narrative around an ordinary day. Rather than waking up in his bed with stuffed animals, he wakes up (as usual) in a zoo! Surrounded by wild animals, he must forge on. Next he must tiptoe past sleeping giants (adults) and later in the day, where most people would agree that he was served a nice salad for lunch, he is in fact convinced that he is being force-fed sticks and leaves by his giant captors.

I have read a hundred or more childrens books, and this is my all-time favorite.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Danielle on March 25, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I got this book for my nephew who is 3 because it's so adorable and fun. A great gift.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again