Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for the busy gamer.
If you love gaming, work all the time, don't have time for games needing hours of investment then this is the game for you!

I watched a video of a developer playing the game quite a while back and had forgotten about Just Cause 2 until the demo was released on Xbox Live for Gold members. All those memories of amazement while watching that video came flooding...
Published on March 25, 2010 by J. Maronde

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets repetitive.
The graphics are incredible. The gameplay was very addiciting at first. The map is huge and there is a ridiculous amount of time that can be consumed by playing this game.....only thing is nothing changes. You do basically the same thing in every city on the map. I liked it, it just got old to me and I never finished it.
Published on August 6, 2012 by iLLbiLL


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game for the busy gamer., March 25, 2010
By 
J. Maronde (Olive Branch, MS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If you love gaming, work all the time, don't have time for games needing hours of investment then this is the game for you!

I watched a video of a developer playing the game quite a while back and had forgotten about Just Cause 2 until the demo was released on Xbox Live for Gold members. All those memories of amazement while watching that video came flooding back into my head. The game is just plain fun from the moment you put the disc in. Only have 30 minutes to spare? Put the disc in your Xbox and you can roam free around the entire 35 square mile world and pretty much do whatever you want to whomever you want instantly. No time for completing a mission? No problem! Go grapple onto a chopper, shoot the gunner,throw the pilot out and steal that joker! Perform your own Shock and Awe campaign for those precious 30 minutes of gaming you have.

The game is totally unrealistic but I do not want to play "Real Life Simulator" as I do that everyday. The controls of the game can be a bit tricky at first but you will get the hang of it; especially if you do some tweaking to the X and Y sensitivity settings in the options menu. The camera however can be a bit frustrating at times. The camera will sometimes recenter itself when you do not want it to and there is no way to turn auto centering on/off. The camera only has these issues when you get really, realy close to a building/cliff or while controlling a vehicle. I have trained myself not to touch the right stick while controlling a vehicle and that has helped a lot. If you read the manual it tells you that while using your parachute to steer with the left stick and only make minor corrections with the right stick. That information should be in the game because it is very important to getting very skilled at parasailing. The minor camera and control issues are why I took off one star from the overall game rating.

If you have any doubts about this game then I highly recommend checking out the demo on Xbox Live if you are a Gold member. If the demo does not sell you on the game then do not buy it. For those of you with a PC that has a decent graphics card you may want to purchase the PC version of this game instead, since the Xbox version does not offer any multiplayer features. The controls would probably be much better with a computer.

-Striker777
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Biggest Sandbox Yet, May 23, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Sandbox games have really advanced in the past few years, especially since the clones of GTA were released. Just Cause 2 is what I'd call the latest incarnation of the sandbox game. It is based on a fictional island nation in Southeast Asia, where you are looking for a rogue agent. Your task is to get in with the local revolutionaries and understand the big picture in Panau.

Main Points

Positive
-Insanely large, multi-faceted open world
-Many different vehicles; planes, tanks, helicoptors, bikes, cars etc
-Graphics are generally good and very believable
-Pretty large weapons cache
-Grappling hook and parachute makes the game feel like a 007 movie
-Black market feature allows you to purchase vehicles and weapons anywhere on the island

Negative
-Game is difficult even on casual
-Ammo goes quickly, leaving you on a constant hunt for bullets (and health)
-Main storyline is really short, probably 7-8 hours
-Many sidequests and challenges are cookie-cutter and can get repetitive
-Vehicles are far from realistic i.e. cars don't handle well, planes are slow

Map - 9 of 10
The size of the playable area of Just Cause 2 is mind-bendingly large. It is claimed to be 400 square miles according to the scale. And I'm inclined to believe it. The map is so diverse, expansive and realistic. There are numerous airports, military bases, settlements, skyscrapers and cityscapes to name a few. In fact, there are 368 distinct locations to explore on Panau. Topography is impressive as well, including hundreds of miles of coastline, mountains, deserts, rivers, jungles and even a Zeppelin which has a night club underneath. My only real qualm with the map is that it is so big that even with planes it will take you a good 10 minutes to traverse the full map. This makes use of a car almost pointless.

Gameplay 7 of 10
As an agent for some secret US security team you are basically the best at what you do, which is apparently cause havoc. You're equipped with two very important items: a grappling hook and an infinite number of parachutes attached to your back. Any number of things can be achieved with the parachute/grappling hook combo. You can shoot far away from yourself and pull out the parachute launching yourself into the air. You can scale a mountain with only the hook. You can attach the hook to enemies pulling them towards you. It allows for a very creative gaming experience. This is what separates Just Cause 2 from other similar sandbox games. In fact it makes me think of a James Bond movie every time I jump out of a plane.

It's clear, however that the developers fully intended for you to do A LOT of piddling around the country, because there are only seven main storyline missions. The number of sidequests with the local guerrillas is probably around 100. These take maybe 10-15 minutes each. The problem with the sidequests is there are so many that they start to run together and can get really repetitive. If you really want to explore in depth (and get the achivements), you'll go to each settlement and cause chaos. This includes destroying any number of government installations such as fuel tanks, SAM sites, statues, radars, generators - you get the picture. A bunch of achievements are associated with "finishing" a settlement. This means getting all the parts located in the settlement and destroying everything necessary.

My biggest problem with the game is definitely the difficulty of the game, which is considerable in my opinion. There are four levels of difficulty and I'm on the lowest one - casual. On most shooter games, the lowest level of difficulty means that I'll never die. And I've been killed at least a dozen times by enemies. You'll be swarmed constantly. That's not the ridiculous part either. I've been killed that many times with the fifth level of armor equipped. It appears that even though I've leveled my armor, that it really doesn't provide any extra protection. The same thing seems to happen with the guns. Leveling them up is so marginal, that you'll have to take the weapon to the max level to notice the difference. What really bothers me is this: you have four levels of heat or your wanted level. The number of guys that attack you isn't based your heat level. You'll face basically the same amount of enemies on level 1 as on level 4. The only real difference on the higher levels is that they'll pursue you more.

Vehicles 7 of 10
This part of the game definitely needed more work. Though there are 104 different vehicles including planes (some armed), tanks, helicopters and cars. Many of them have control problems. Sports cars are touchy to the point of being almost impossible to drive at high speeds. And the weight of the vehicles is far from realistic as even hitting a small bump could send your vehicle hurling end over end. That being said, there is a great variance of the types of vehicles you can drive and what can be done to them. One of the more impressive parts of the game was the ability to upgrade vehicles and weapons via the Black Market. As you go through the game you'll find vehicle parts and weapon parts which can be used to increase speed, handling, acceleration etc. But only the vehicles on the Black Market list can be upgraded, which is less than 20 total.

Along with that, the air vehicles are astonishingly slow. I figured out that the fastest plane on the game will only do about 250 mph. You might say it's fine for a game, but until you see the size of the map, you won't understand.

Graphics 7 of 10
Visuals on the people in Just Cause 2 are average, probably at best. But the rest of the map is gorgeous. Textures are very detailed and have the brilliance of a plethora of colors. Water in particular has a reflective quality I've only seen in a few other games. In fact, the ocean floor is littered with rocks, seaweed and reefs. The most amazing part about the graphics is that there are no loading times while you're just walking around the island. Animation is very smooth and for the most part realistic.

Conclusion
Just Cause 2 takes the size of a sandbox to levels never before reached. It is a fun mess around game where you could drop hours just exploring or just do a couple of missions and quit. The sheer size of the map is something that anyone who's into sandbox games should see. So here's the gist of it: very good weapons cache, ability to upgrade vehicles and weapons, grappling hook and parachute make the game quite unique, tons of stuff to do and beautiful scenery as well. Unfortunately, the sidequests can get repetitive and the difficulty will definitely turn more casual gamers away. Also, most of the non-flying vehicles seem almost superfluous because of the size of the map. So it's not a perfect game by any means, but has probably a good 50-70 hours of playtime which not a whole lot of games can say they have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Cause 2 is in the running to be my Game of the Year, July 29, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Sequels for video games have a better reputation than say movie sequels. Many of the most innovative games ever made (Mario 64, Grand Theft Auto 3, Final Fantasy VII) were of course sequels. Indeed in this generation we have seen many sequels improve upon their original outing (Assassins Creed 2, Mass Effect 2). These games succeed by fixing many of the niggling issues, that made the first game less than perfect, while still keeping the tone of the original piece.

Even among these improved sequels Just Cause 2 stands out. The original Just Cause could neither be called beloved nor all that terribly well received. Calling the first Just Cause a flawed open world game with some fun bits would be the kindest of labels. Nobody certainly seemed to be clamoring for a second go. When Just Cause 2 was delayed from an Christmas 2008 release date to 2009 and eventually 2010 there was no gnashing of teeth. Many expected it to never be released or at the very least, to be an under the radar, by the numbers rehash.

So when Just Cause 2 was finally released it was a jaw dropping shocker. Here was the open world Michael Bay movie we all wanted (even if we didn't know it). In fact Just Cause 2 nails two factors with such perfection mere words simply cannot do it justice.

The first is the open world itself. In the somewhat crowded field of open worlds to explore the island of Panua is simply a standout. In fact it is simply the best open world ever designed. (Knocking Oblivion and Grand Theft Auto IV out of the top spots). It is huge. It has everything from snow capped mountains to rally style deserts to Tarzanesque jungle to coral reefs. What is more impressive is that it is truly three dimensional. Unlike many open worlds you can fly anywhere up to a mile high or dive anywhere a few hundred feet below the surface. The travel is seamless and the graphics are jaw dropping gorgeous.

If the open world is the star of the show the dual-grappling hook is the love interest. Words again simply fail to describe the eventual joy one gets from use of this tool. With a grappling hook one can tie enemies to trees, fling oneself through the jungle like some parachute wearing Tarzan, hijack any vehicle in the game (including 737 passenger jets), and fulfill your Spider-man fantasies than any Spider-man game can.

Alas like any Michael Bay movie the plot itself is a throwaway. You play Agency Agent Rico Rodriguez being dropped into the South-east Asian island nation of Panau. Panau has taken over by Kim Jong Il doppelganger Baby Panay, who assassinated his father, institutes a hilariously propaganda filled regime and cuts off all ties to the US in favor of eventually revealed evil foreign powers. Your mission is to oust Panay from office, as well as track down your mentor from the first game Tom Sheldon, whom the Agency fears has gone native while on the island. To achieve all this you ally yourself with the three dominant criminal gangs on the island: the Roaches, the Reapers, and the Ular Boys.

In other words you blow stuff up to unlock criminal gang missions (which honestly consist of blowing stuff up)to finally unlock Agency missions (which also consist of blowing stuff up).

Fortunately blowing stuff up (like shooting super-mutants in slow-mo while playing Fallout 3) simply never gets old. In fact the game gets more enjoyable the longer one plays it. As one becomes more comfortable with the grappling hook-parachute mechanic, learns which cars to avoid, and realizes that the developers really did think of everything. The Island of Panua becomes an increasingly enjoyable experience.

The Nitpicks

Anytime I gush uncontrollably about a game it only seems fair to point out those few niggling problems that others may have noticed.

Vehicle Control: With over a hundred vehicles in the game it is no surprise some are better than others. With cars one will find their comfort zone between the Tuk-Tuks that can't seem to make it up hills and the overpowered Titus ZJ Cabriolet sports cars that cannot seem to go two hundred yards without flipping over. Cars in general handle well as do motorcycles and boats. Helicopters in particular are a joy to control... and that is an awfully good thing to since planes are the definite fly in the vehicle ointment.

For some reason developers decided to control planes with only the left stick. How does one fly a vehicle in three-dimensional space with a two dimensional control? Very poorly it turns out. Fortunately, outside of one mission where your jet fighter has to shoot down a rocket in flight, this really doesn't come into play if you do not want it to.

The Story and Voice Acting. I finished the main story without really finishing the game. In fact I was only 22% done when the final credits rolled. (In the games defense It did take me 33 hours to get to that point.) Needless to say many of the Easter eggs, Mile High nudie bars, Japanese WW2 soldier encampments and the island from the TV show Lost will have to wait till my next play through.

While clearly Just Cause 2 has an insane amount of content (There is an achievement for 75% completion but none for 100% ) I do wish the story had been a little more... well there. The criminal gangs you do missions for could have also been a little better drawn as they all seem to blend together (Think the gangs in Saints Row 2 as an example of gangs done right).

The voice acting is universally awful. If it is so bad its good is truly a personal judgment. (I vote for no). Who gives the worse performance in Just Cause 2 is a game one can play with ones friends. The popular choice around here is Bolo Santos' G-Man like Singaporean accent as leader of the Reapers, but I am inclined to give the prize to Tom Sheldon's massacre of a Texas drawl.)

Ironically even though you are forced to play with a fixed character throughout (A common complaint I have with Rockstar open world games) the sheer lack of story and personality actually negates my usual complaint of being unable to "roll my own".

Some others have complained about the lack of ammo (and general difficulty) in the beginning of the game, the loose gun-play (which once you get used to it works rather well) and the fact they want a pony.

Generally these complaints (outside of the pony one) are negated as one gets used to the controls, upgrades their weapons, and discovers the myriad ways one can use the dual-grappling hook. The game really does improve with time and I am chomping at the bit to try another go (at a higher difficulty level no less.)

Just Cause 2 is in the running to be my Game of the Year (against some pretty hefty competition) and is simply a must by for any action fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, only twice as good., March 23, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Take Just Cause 1 and improve almost everything and you have Just Cause 2. From great visuals of deserts, snow mountains, jungles, beaches, oceans and towering skyscraper cities, this game looks great.
The controls are improved for vehicles too. And they sound crisp and realistic (great sound from the weapons, explosions, overall sounds too). Only thing I miss is the ability to zoom into a first person view. There's only a distant 3rd person view, which takes away a lot of the impact of "Being right there with the vehicle". It's more like "Watching a toy vehicle from a birds eye view". This is most evident when flying a helicopter or plane. Too far away to really feel like you're flying it. More like a Remote Control toy.

And the grappling hook/parachute combination as you've probably read is a huge reason to buy this game. You can be out in the middle of a flat desert (think Red Dead Redemption's vast drylands), and within two quick moves, be up in the air. How? Aim the grappling hook at a point ahead on the ground, tap the hook button, slingshot automatically towards that point and quickly press the parachute. You can continue this flight without ever touching the ground by using the momentum from grappling the ground from the sky. Great stuff and more effective than most vehicles for escaping enemies.
On foot, the gunplay is solid, with a welcome return of the over the shoulder camera for some great "right in the game" action.

The missions are mostly fun and varied, but learning how to use the new control features on the first mission took some trial and error. After the first hour of missions, you're free to explore everything. And most of the time, as long as you don't shoot in public, no one will attack you. No more constant helicopters flying over every 2 minutes either thankfully.

There's not many interiors, but climbing a skyscraper "Bionic Commando" style is plenty of fun, and jumping off the top with a running leap, even better. For skydiving, few games deliver an experience like Just Cause 1 and 2. Just wish there were a few stunts thrown in, like a cannon ball, fast spins, and more.

If you're an explorer, this game delivers one of the largest worlds ever made for an on foot/vehicle game. Think Test Drive Unlimited and Fuel in terms of size, much like Just Cause 1. And plenty of nice variation, though the small villages are a bit dull with not many interiors. Not much to complain about, with plenty of options to adjust (unfortunately, almost everything but control mapping). It does feel like an improved version of the first game, but that's also a good thing. It's a sequel after all.

So with such a giant world (with a nice day/night cycle and weather), what is there to do? walk, run, sprint, jump, duck, roll, grapple, parachute, skydive, fire weapons, drive, fly aircraft, cause havoc, explore, side missions, story missions and plenty more. Overall, Just Cause 2 may deliver more of the same, but twice as good. If you're a fan of the first and want another world to explore with Rico, this game delivers like few others. Excellent and recommend to exploration/action fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't believe it., May 6, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Ok. If you researched "What is the best free-roaming game for xbox 360?" You'll probably get Fallout 3 or some other sellout (ha) as the answer. Don't even think about trusting them. If you want awesome explosions, a huge map, smart AI, varied landscapes, grappling hooks, giant cities, tiny villages, huge military bases, and Military Strongholds, not to mention awesome stunts, James Bond action, cool weapons, skydiving, hijacking, sweet chases, or sunsets (weather :D), then you should SO get this game. Believe me. It may be totally underrated, but it IS the best free-roaming game out there. And, no sexual content(except Mile High Club), no one TAKING drugs, or too much alcohol, or too much frustration or difficulty (there is some). So, to summarize, you should get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good destructive fun, August 17, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Just Cause 2 has its share of problems. The plot isn't very engaging. The characters are wild enough caricatures to be quite amusing, but they have no depth (and it would be out of place). I wish there was a bit more of a progression mechanic. The main one is collecting weapon parts and using them to upgrade the guns you find in game. This is a nice little advancement method but I would have liked a little more in the way of goals to work toward that would improve my character.

That said, this game is tons of fun. The open world of Panau is simply a blast to roam around in and cause chaos. If anything, it's so much fun to blow things up and find collectibles that it can be hard to focus on the missions! The shooting works well and blowing things up is very satisfying. The vehicles control well and are enjoyable to drive or fly around in. But the main place they got it right is the grappling hook/parachute combo. There are just so many cool ways you can use those tools. It adds a whole other dimension to the game. You can use the grapple to move around quickly, tether things together, and even keep yourself flying almost indefinitely with your parachute.

Just Cause 2 is great for when you have a few minutes and just want to blow some stuff up without having to get too immersed in an RPG or story-driven shooter. It's a great way to waste some hours and an excellent value for your money because there is always something more to do.

DLC

The DLC is okay, I guess. The big thing you aren't told is that all weapons use specific ammo. So if you get the DLC zooming assault rifle, for example, it will not take regular assault rifle ammo. The DLC weapons don't drop from enemies, so the only way to refill them is to buy them again from the black market dealer. That pretty much guaranteed I didn't use them. Vehicles must also be bought from the black market and I tend to get anything I'm riding in blown up pretty quickly. So the only DLC I could really recommend is the one that has the jets for your parachute. You do have to re-buy it if you die, but that's pretty fair since it's a nice upgrade for drifting around with your canvas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much gameplay for the dollar, August 2, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I've been playing this game since its release, and I'm still nowhere near finished.

That's not to say it has to take long. If you focus on the core missions, you can probably finish it in under 20 hours.

But who would want to? This game is so much fun as a chaos simulator, it makes you want to avoid finishing the story. If you have a half-hour to kill, load it up and figure out new ways to conquer a base. Use the head from a destroyed statue as a wrecking ball, hanging below a helicopter. Sneak around and plant charges on all the explodable structures and then set them off all at once. Storm in Rambo-style and shoot everything in sight. Shoot out the tires of a police jeep and watch it careen into a gun emplacement. The variety is amazing, and it encourages creative exploration.

I've played almost every major 360 release this year, but Just Cause 2 is the one I keep coming back to. I'm nearing 50 hours in the game, and still having fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing open world shooter, January 6, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is the 48th game in my collection. I say that to let you know I play EVERYTHING.
I won't get into the details of everything, but let you know about a few things that I wondered about before buying the game.
First off--this game is not for someone looking for the following: cutting edge graphics, great voice acting, intriguing story. It will not provide much if any of that. What it lacks in those departments it makes up for in every other way.
I expected this to be a lot like GTA: get a job, roam around, shoot people, get paid for doing the job, get another job. While it does follow this pretty well, it is so much more. When I say you can do anything, you can do anything. Go anywhere, use anything, and solve problems and fight bad guys your own way. Just a quick example:
There is a car chase where you are the passenger shooting at other vehicles while someone drives you to the destination. You can climb anywhere on the car to shoot at the guys, you can jump onto their car and shoot at them, you can hijack their car and crash it, you can grappling hook your car and para-glide with your parachute and kill from above, or you could even grappling hook their car to another object causing them to crash. That's just what I could think of--there is so much more to do.
This game is great because it causes you to be creative in how you take care of business. I would recommend this without hesitation to anyone looking for a good time. Don't come for the story or the look, you'll be disappointed. Otherwise this is a sure fire way to have fun and it is super re-playable.
As with all my reviews if you have any specific questions or concerns, please feel free to leave me a comment and I will give you my OPINON. Remember that folks, reviews are opinions not the Gospel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splodies!!!, June 17, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
You are Rico Rodriguez, a US agent sent into the fictional Southeast Asian country of Panau, where a new non-US-friendly dictator has taken over and the previous US agent is nowhere to be found. Your mission is to find out what's really happening in Panau.

By "find out what's really happening", I mean, "blow up as much stuff as possible". And there is plenty to blow up, with 369 locations to discover and explore. This game is really all about the splodies. Gas tanks, SAM sites, oil pipelines, generators, transformers, statues of the president, literally thousands of possible sabotages. If you prefer live victims, the game offers tons of creative ways to reduce the size of the Panauan military, including hanging them from buildings and whipping them to death, dragging them behind vehicles, blowing them high into the air with rockets, pulling them down from towers so they fall to their deaths... all accompanied by satisfying screams. There's also a lot of vehicular mayhem to be caused and you can do this in your vehicle of choice - motorcycles, cars, trucks, badass tanks, boats with rockets, helicopters with rockets, jets, airliners and even tractors and tuk-tuks. Plus, the island is littered with temptingly shiny boxes which, once collected, allow you to upgrade your armour or black market items. Some of them are simply cash; apparently the good people have Panau don't worry about leaving boxes of $2500 on their back porches or in their fields.

Rico is hailed as a saviour as he goes around destroying this idyllic little island nation's infrastructure, all in the name of regime change. The storyline is silly, so silly that I have to think the developers meant it to be that way and, while far from brilliant, it's good for a few laughs. For example, the last battle of the game takes place while riding flying nukes. On the whole, the cutscenes are pretty skippable and the game doesn't force you to watch most of them.

This is really a pretty easy game once you get the hang of it and especially once you learn how to use the grappling hook and parachute to good effect. Switching guns once you run out of ammo (which will happen a LOT) is vaguely annoying as the game doesn't do it automatically. You will accumulate an enormous amount of money as you go through the game and so any time you get stuck you can use the black market to your advantage. The game has four difficulty settings, allowing an appropriate level of challenge for almost anyone, and it autosaves all the time so you almost never have to go back and do things over again. The one exception to this is during some missions where the checkpoints are spaced quite annoyingly far apart. However, most of the faction missions are short (sometimes only "kill this one guy") and can be made even shorter by finishing off the area before you start the mission, thus eliminating most of the resistance you would have faced. Quite a few of the races are easy as well (and btw, the checkpoints make a satisfying bang when you go through them...)

This game is as long as you want it to be. I finished off all the agency missions, thus beating the game, in about fifteen hours with 26% completion, but you can take your time between or after those missions and go around the island exploring all 369 (the game says 368, but somehow I ended up with 369/368) locations. I've put in 122 hours on my primary game (being temporarily unemployed has its benefits!) and am at 96% completion. As the game autosaves all the time, and as it's a world where you can roam around pretty freely, there's really no requirement to finish a certain set of tasks all at once. You can pick it up and put it down whenever you like and just do whatever you have time for.

Rico has some good one-liners ("Try to transport fuel now, you pipeline jerks!" and "Someone not dancing to Uncle Sam's tune?", for example) and is generally a likeable (and ruggedly sexy!) character. The other characters are entertaining as well, though I found two out of the three faction leaders to be rather creepy...

If you like big explosions, and lots of them (and who doesn't??) then this is the game for you. If you're into storytelling... well, maybe not so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets repetitive., August 6, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The graphics are incredible. The gameplay was very addiciting at first. The map is huge and there is a ridiculous amount of time that can be consumed by playing this game.....only thing is nothing changes. You do basically the same thing in every city on the map. I liked it, it just got old to me and I never finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360
Just Cause 2 - Xbox 360 by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
$19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.