Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big. Really Big. Maybe even TOO big.
This game has an extremely large, totally open world. The main problem I have with this game is that it is TOO big. Because they elected to have "Safe Houses" in which you could save your game and respawn after you die, the gameplay is a little bit frustrating. For example, you can drive to a mission point for a good ten minutes, get there, die, and then have to start...
Published on September 4, 2007 by M. A Doyle

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The perfect name for this game
I'm playing this game, hanging from the tail of an airplane, and I jump to a helicopter and kick out the pilot. My son asks, "Why did you do that?" And my answer is, "Just cause."
The whole game plays in this manner- do whatever you want- steal a car, steal another car, drive it off a cliff, swim to a boat, parachute off the back of it, etc etc. The fun factor in...
Published on January 29, 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The perfect name for this game, January 29, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'm playing this game, hanging from the tail of an airplane, and I jump to a helicopter and kick out the pilot. My son asks, "Why did you do that?" And my answer is, "Just cause."
The whole game plays in this manner- do whatever you want- steal a car, steal another car, drive it off a cliff, swim to a boat, parachute off the back of it, etc etc. The fun factor in this game is a solid 4/5. It reminds me of the GTA series, only the terrain you cover is much larger. I'm used to massive game worlds, like in Morrowind and Oblivion, yet the size of this world is almost intimidating.
I've played for about 15 hours; I've completed six of the main missions and forty of the side missions. Now, I'm putting the game down and starting something else. Seriously, the game may be TOO big.
Overall, I'd rate the game a 3.5 out of 5. The world graphics are beautiful; I love how all the vehicles have loose handling, yet they all have unique traits. Some are great going over hills; others have superior top speed, and so on. And the side missions are fun- at first. Before long, they're all the same. I'd have liked more variety.
I think that's the problem with this game- you end up doing too much of the same thing. After stealing hundreds of vehicles, and liberating so many enemy strongholds, it gets kind of old. Other complaints include horrible character models and animation, and uneven collision detection, especially when driving through jungle areas.
Still, you can get this game at quite a discount now- I paid $15 for it, and it's well worth that price. Great casual game, but not much depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big. Really Big. Maybe even TOO big., September 4, 2007
By 
M. A Doyle (elmira, ny United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game has an extremely large, totally open world. The main problem I have with this game is that it is TOO big. Because they elected to have "Safe Houses" in which you could save your game and respawn after you die, the gameplay is a little bit frustrating. For example, you can drive to a mission point for a good ten minutes, get there, die, and then have to start back over driving another ten minutes. The safe houses themselves are too far away from each other, as there are only about forty or so on this island that has at least 100 settlements that need to be liberated. Which brings me to my second point: the settlement liberations, which are a main part of the game, are all TOTALLY IDENTICAL, except for minor details, like how much the road bends or how far the road blocks are from each other. Much more fun (and Frustration) can be had by liberating cities. Unfortunately, there are only maybe 6 cities in total. Totally the opposite of the liberations, the side missions and main missions are totally unique and, even though I have been playing this game for a good 4 months, I still occasionally stumble upon a new type of side mission.

The story itself is pretty well done. You are Rico. You cause crap to happen. Bad crap. You are an expert in "regime-change", a term used a good fifteen times throughout this game. The other main characters you encounter along your journey are each unique, even though only maybe three character models were created for those you have to kill.

This game is in no way realistic. For example, you can steal a car right in front of the police, and they won't care. However, if you bump into another car in the car you just stole, the fuzz will be on you like white on rice. Cliches aside, the physics are totally unrealistic. I went six kilometers into the air, then jumped out of my plane. I landed, without ever deploying my parachute, in the ocean. I was totally okay, not even hurt. Also, Rico has serious ups, as he can jump easily from a stationary car to a helicopter flying overhead.

Minor gameplay tweaks were needed for this game to receive 5 stars in the fun column, but overall it is a very satisfying, free-roaming shooter with stuntman-like moves and lots of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freefalling fun, December 21, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I knew I liked this game after jumping out of a helicopter at about 15 thousand feet, freefalling AFTER the helicopter (with clouds rushing by), grabbing onto the falling helicopter in freefall, and getting back and flying off again with about 1500 or so odd feet to spare. :) The glide ratio of the parachute took some getting used to (it's much higher than typical skydiving parachutes), but it's for the best since it allows one to travel really far under canopy. Fun stuff.

If you like playing around with a parachute this game is a good time. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., November 16, 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is one of the most amazing games for the Xbox 360 in terms of its graphics. The enviroment is expansive and the most realistic I've seen for most 360 games. It just makes you want to "get in" the game...amazing graphics. The missions are quite easy to understand and most missions are fun to do. It's an open enviroment so you can literally go anywhere on the map even off road. There are tons of vehicles to steal from civilians, gangsters, and even cops and the military. I have drove in the game numberous cars, trucks, motorcycles, ATV, boat, helicopter, an airport buggy (those that haul the luggage bags) and even a bulldozer I found in a field.

You'll love this game if you like adventure type games and doing missions. You can built you rep with the local guerillas and druglords and shoot cops and government officials. Somethings I found was that the screen gets jaggy when I move the screen or camera really fast, maybe that's just because I have it set on 1080i on my HDTV. However, the characters looks smooth, much like the ones in Dead or Alive game. Because of the gorgeous graphics I rated it a 5, but after a while you might get bored of running around all across the map to get to a certain location or do a mission. Other than that...spectcular game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's like taking a vacation to the Caribbean... only with guns!, January 15, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game doesn't do a whole lot. It's mostly kill this and grab that. Most of the enemies are about as dangerous as a wet bag full of puppies. But what this game does do, it does VERY well!

The freedom in this game is phenomenal, allowing you to rampage like a little Godzilla from one end of a lush tropical paradise, to the other. Jumping from vehicle from vehicle, once mastered, will allow you to zip around at maddening speed. And overthrowing government controlled towns and drug-lord HQ's is a real blast!

The only downside to this game is that a vehicle stealing missions are painfully unbalanced. In these, you need to steal and bring back a speical vehicle in one piece. This is nearly impossible, as EVERYTHING damages your vehicle. This game is very much bent on allowing you to DESTROY everything, not keep anything in one piece. It's often easier to jump out of said vehicle, go back on foot, and take out the 20+ jeeps, helicopters, tanks, and generic soldiers with just a machine gun and some cheezy one-liners, then even bother trying to drive.

The game is also a bit low on the challege side of things. The only things in this game that will even remotely threaten you are the occasional heat-sinking missile and slow drivers. The missiles tend to sneak up quietly and without warning, blowing up you and your aircraft instantly, without warning. The slow drivers, on the other hand, are just a game glitch. When you get hit by a vehicle, the game not only takes in account the speed of the vehicle, but also the amount of time you touch it. So if somebody runs into you VERY slowly, like a peasant in a truck, they can grind you to death faster then taking 20 speeding jeeps to the face! This makes stealing vehicles a bit more hazardous then it really should be.

Other then these minor problems, the game is awash with amazing visuals and insane combat. It's like taking a vacation to the Caribbean, only with guns. If you like beautiful, free roaming, treasure hunting, and GTA-style F***ing with people type of games, you'll LOVE Just Cause! But if you like dirty, blood-soaked games that play on a rail, moving you from one game element to other, without the slightest bit of freedom or control, then go buy Gears of War instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Gaming in the GTA Style, October 1, 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
In the style of Saint's Row and Grand Theft Auto, Just Cause lets you free a stereotypical Caribbean island from a drug-lord-connected corrupt president.

You're not a secret agent, nor a tough-talking street punk. Instead, you are Rico Rodriguez - smooth, suave, and probably decked out in rich Corinthian leather.

The island map you explore is HUGE, made up of many smaller sub-islands with roads, jungles, bridges, coastlines, and tons of villages. Everything is a mix of bright, tropical colors and run down, Cuban / Haitian slums. Compared to some of the grey, dreary games on the market, you might think the colors here are too cartoony. However, if you're ever lucky enough to visit the Caribbean, you'll realize that the sea really *is* that blue ... the lush jungles are really a brilliant green.

That's not to say you're in an eden here. Rico has been brought in by the CIA to mingle with the local revolutionaries to topple a corrupt government. You're not bound by many laws while you do this. You quickly start stealing cars, motorcycles, boats, helicopters and anything else that strikes your fancy. You can hop into the back of open trucks, ride along on the top of moving vehicles, and do numerous 'stunt moves' to carry out your missions with flair. You have a magical unlimited parachute pack on, so any time you find yourself falling into trouble, POOF your parachute opens up and you sail to safety.

This definitely enjoys its action movie lack of realism with great gusto. The cliches abound, as does the peppered-with-key-words Hispanic dialogue. There are numerous side missions - find the 10 boxes of coca. Find the 10 sniper scopes that were washed ashore.

I had both good and not-so-good feelings about the graphics. On one hand, they dida good job of showing the run down nature of many of the towns, the style of cars available, the vegetation. But on the other hand, we have seen some awesome graphics on our XBox 360 - and this just wasn't up to the same quality level. Many items in nature seemed blocky. The shadows were often jagged. I suppose it's a trade-off - they created a HUGE world, far larger than pretty much any other game I've seen - so perhaps the detail in that massive world wasn't quite up to other games. I think I personally would have rather had a smaller world - so you weren't running across vast empty wastelands to get to destinations - and kicked the graphic quality up a bit.

Still, there is a lot to enjoy here. There are a ton of vehicles, a ton of locations, and lots of main and side missions to work on. If you're into the GTA style of gameplay and want to take your show to the country, definitely give Just Cause a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very refreshing, October 1, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
One of the best-looking games yet from Eidos, the 16-rated Just Cause is set in a vast tropical world which players can explore in a tempting array of almost 100 vehicles, including Jeeps, boats and helicopters.

Behind the handsome eye candy is an equally compelling caper involving corrupt governments, dodgy South Americans and Weapons of Mass Destruction. Where the game departs from reality is that here, at least, such weapons do actually exist.

Players sign up for a tour of duty with a secret American agency charged with triggering events to overthrow the gangsters and conmen who rule San Esperito. In a detailed world spanning 250,000 colourful acres, anything goes just as long as that evil ruling party loses its twisted grip on power -- teaming up with drug barons is every bit as legitimate here as infiltrating the corridors of power. Missions can be picked off in any order and the gameplay is both robust and thoroughly involving, with a number of neat touches; fans of the Nintendo SNES classic Pilotwings will literally jump at the chance to parachute from any of the aircraft for spectacular views of the vast landscape below.

There is bound to be a sequel, because this original is so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a vacation...everything looks great, but I'm still bored., November 23, 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
From a technical perspective, the 360 version of Just Cause stands out for a few reasons. The game engine is very capable and manages to render the huge areas on the fly with little loading times. Everything has a nice sheen and overall, the game looks awfully good. While the in-game models look fairly average, the island of San Espirito looks alive, bustling with activity. The sheer depth of it over the horizon is what grabs you from the initial parachute drop. This one-ups GTA...

Unfortunately, like a lot of similar games, you'll end up playing some repetitive missions, and the game can bog down a bit here and there (I found myself not playing it for a while as a result). It's not that bad, but you start to feel like you're going from one end of the island to the other, over and over, for nearly the same objectives. There are some side-quests to add some variety, but they too aren't all that interesting. Fortunately, Just Cause adds the addition of the grappling gun and parachute, which make exploring the island a bit more enjoyable, in and of themselves. With the meat of the gameplay being a bit lackluster, at least they made getting around in the game more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Cause stands on its own!, October 27, 2006
By 
L. Barker (Abilene, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Just Cause should not be compared to GTA as it stands on its own. It has beautiful graphics that really stand out on the Xbox 360. I enjoyed looking at the quickly approaching landscape has I dived out of my air plane for the landing zone.

The only problem I have with Just Cause is you will have to be a Xbox Live subscriber to get the required software updates. Just Cause incorporates a new technology known as motion blur which looks awesome, but will also lock up your system if it isn't updated. My system locked up quite a bit before the October 31, 2006 update was applied. But now, the game is awesome!!

I enjoyed the sound effects, especially the music since it adds that Latin feel to the game. The voices are basic with the regular chit chat coming from every character as you pass by. I also like the way the main character, Rico only talks when he has to. This makes him "man-of-few-words" tough, and also everybody's hero.

Overall, Just Cause is a truly an excellent game that is unique for its many insane stunts, and drop dead beautiful graphics! Avalanche Studios and Eidos Interactive have done an outstanding job in creating this highly recommended game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is FAWESOME, October 2, 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Cause - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Though I would have to say that the game is a little too easy, this game is truly fawesome. I have only played for about 10 hours, and already I'm addicted.

I say it is a little too easy because Rico seems to be fairly bullet-proof, and with the aid of your grappling gun you can steal almost any vehicle from anyone, INCLUDING helicopters. This makes the "seek and destroy" submissions VERY easy. Just grappling-gun a heli, real yourself in and hop in the heli.

Overall, though, EXCELLENT. Highly recommended, especially for $50!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just Cause - Xbox 360
Just Cause - Xbox 360 by Eidos Interactive (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: $6.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.