Customer Reviews


321 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Just Dance Game!!
Just Dance has made improvements and more options in this game. There are also music from the 90's if you like old school music(: The downloadable songs in the shop so far are Can't Stop Us by Macklemore, Wake Me Up by Avicii, Pound the Alarm by Nicki Minaj, and We Can't Stop by Miley Cyrus, What About Love by Austin Mahone, American Girl by Bonnie Mckee and more. You...
Published 14 months ago by Amanda

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to par with other dance games
This game is OK. I think my family will have some fun with it. But the on-screen guidance and feedback is really lacking, making this game less playable, and less discoverable than I was hoping.

At a party last year, I got to experience Dance Central on the XBox 360, which is really well done. The dance moves have names, and good on-screen pictographs to...
Published 12 months ago by T. Epstein


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Just Dance Game!!, October 8, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Just Dance has made improvements and more options in this game. There are also music from the 90's if you like old school music(: The downloadable songs in the shop so far are Can't Stop Us by Macklemore, Wake Me Up by Avicii, Pound the Alarm by Nicki Minaj, and We Can't Stop by Miley Cyrus, What About Love by Austin Mahone, American Girl by Bonnie Mckee and more. You need to use a credit card to purchase the songs in the shop. There are 48 songs included:
Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight) - ABBA
Dançando - Ivete Sangalo (NCSA-only track)
The Way - Ariana Grande Ft. Mac Miller
Could You Be Loved - Bob Marley
Isidora - Bog Bog Orkestar
Fine China - Chris Brown
Limbo - Daddy Yankee
Get Lucky - Daft Punk Ft. Pharrell Williams
Moskau - Dancing Bros.
She Wolf (Falling To Pieces) - David Guetta Ft. Sia
Prince Ali - Disney's Aladdin
It's You - Duck Sauce
Turn Up The Love - Far East Movement Ft. Cover Drive
Signorini (Eroe Nazionale) - Fedez (EMEA-only track)
The Love Boat - Frankie Bostello
Careless Whisper - George Michael
I Will Survive - Gloria Gaynor
Rich Girl - Gwen Stefani Ft. Eve
Feel So Right - Imposs Ft. Konshens
Wild - Jessie J Ft. Big Sean
I Kissed A Girl - Katy Perry
C'mon - Ke$ha
The Other Side - Jason Derulo (US-only track)
Applause - Lady Gaga
Just Dance - Lady Gaga Ft. Colby O'Donis
Just A Gigolo - Louis Prima
Blame It On The Boogie - Mick Jackson
In The Summertime - Mungo Jerry
Pound The Alarm - Nicki Minaj
Starships - Nicki Minaj
Troublemaker - Olly Murs Ft. Flo Rida
Kiss You - One Direction
Feel This Moment - Pitbull Ft. Christina Aguilera
Gentleman - Psy
Ghostbusters - Ray Parker Jr.
Maria - Ricky Martin
Where Have You Been - Rihanna
Candy - Robbie Williams
Blurred Lines - Robin Thicke Ft. Pharrell
99 Luftballons - Rutschen Planeten
Miss Understood - Sammie
Nitro Bot - Sentai Express
Danse (Pop version) - TAL (EMEA-only track)
Flashdance...What A Feeling - The Girly Team
Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In - The Sunlight Shakers
Y.M.C.A. - Village People
#thatPOWER - will.i.am Ft. Justin Bieber
Follow The Leader - Wisin & Yandel Ft. Jennifer Lopez
Also download "Roar" by Katy Perry for free in the Song store as soon as you buy your game!!

There is World Dance Floor, which is a multiplayer option. You could dance/battle with people around the world in REAL time.(Xbox Live needed) You could also dance with your friends!

On Stage mode is like you're really performing on stage with a audience, which is a good alternative choreography to the song! Same as Just dance 4, you could choose your character you want to dance as. There is a Alternative mode, it is different than On Stage mode. In Alternative mode, there is a alternative choreography of the dance to the song, they also added props to the dance.

Other options include Dance Mashup, Puppet Master Mode, Dance Battle, Dance Quests, Dancer Card. A Dance Mashup same as Just Dance 4, it has mashups of choreography from previous Just Dance games to dance to. You also get Mojo points from dancing, to boost up your dance rank. (Great for competing against your friends)

Just Sweat counts the calories that you burn from dancing. In Just Dance 2014 Just Sweat session, you could choose any songs to dance to while it counts the calories that you burn. There are also different types of Just Sweat timed sessions (10 minutes, 20 minutes, 40 minutes)

Other creative features include Just Create lets you create your own dance routine. Just Design lets you create your own character and save it. Just Dance TV lets you browse and share your Autodance videos. (In order to use Autodance you need a Xbox Hard Drive!) Karaoke tracks your voice and gives MOJO points on how accurate you sing while dancing! With those points, you could use it to "buy" Alternative song modes and mash ups.

Ubisoft is making Just Dance games even better! Happy Dancing & Singing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Party Game (w/ a Couple Drawbacks), November 25, 2013
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Xbox Kinect dance games come down to two options every year: Just Dance and Dance Central. Which one you should buy is based on what you want out of it. Just Dance is a party game (up to four players after unlocks) while Dance Central is more technically accurate dancing. As for me, I like them both. And I dislike them both. This is a review for Just Dance so let me tell you about this game.

The game is fun, has a lot of current (2013) and classic songs, has vibrant visuals, and is easier to play. Pick up and play on Just Dance is a blast and great for a group of adult players to spend a game night. The music has songs that have topped the charts over the last year including Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Robin Thick, Rihanna, One Direction and dance house fav Daft Punk. The dancers (remember in Just Dance you see dancers not you on the screen) are colorful and energetic. The game is well made and Kinect picks up on your moves well.

A couple things I didn't like: I've never been a fan of the dancers on the screen instead of the players. Seeing the dancers makes you feel you are doing better than you are, but at parties I want to see the hilariously bad dancing on the screen - it's part of the fun! Also, I'm not a fan of having to unlock party modes through playing. I want a party game that is ready to go out of the box. In fact, one the best parts of the game is that some songs allow 3 or 4 dancers in it (Xbox One is supposed to allow 6!) and the dancers do off the wall stuff like carrying another dancer on their back or stacking. That's the stuff I want to get to right away with a party game; not having to wait until we unlock it. Minor issues, but something that holds the game back.

Overall, this is a very good game that plays well and makes for a great party game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing Dancing Dancing!, October 14, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I LOOOOOOOOOOOVE this game, it has improved in so many ways! It was worth the wait! I enjoy msot of the dances on here and I enjoy the stage mode! I was extremely happy to receive free downloads form this game you get Katy perry's roar and also bonus Avitar cards for owning all the other just dance games!!! I enjoy the sweat mode and the fact that i can pick and make my own work out!! Omg and the motivation when I am competing with others around the world! I most definitely recommend this game to all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Dance 2014 - More Content!, November 17, 2013
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Menu:
The new navigation is totally revamped from the old, but once used to it, it's very easy to navigate (which you can do by controller as well.) It has a "recommended" song in the middle, the online multiplayer "World Dance Party" at the main top left, the Sweat mode at the main top right, the Shop on the main lower right & the Just Dance TV on the main bottom right. If you go to the right, you'll access the song list, which plays nearly the entire song if you stay on a selected song long enough.
Uplay:
Is located at the very top left which will take you out of the game & requires an internet connection. This Ubisoft interface isn't user friendly, but to unlock more songs on the disc as rewards for getting achievements you earned, you will be forced to deal with it. It's Ubisoft's way of forcing people to use their software/website for online multiplayer/content already on the disc that you paid for.
Settings:
You can change your avatar & check your progress at he the very top right where it says your name. You can also turn on/off Autodance (seeing your video clip of you dancing & can add special effects), Help, lyrics, pictos, share (your video dancing to the world), etc.
Mojo points:
You earn them as the same, but you can get extra for random songs the game selects, for singing while dancing, for dancing online (especially during daily "Happy Hour.") Instead of randomly unlocking things, you can decide which song you want to unlock at your desecration in the "shop" area.
Shop:
You unlock content on the disc you earned w/mojo points & to buy DLC w/real $. Katy's "Roar" is free & waiting for you as soon as you pop in the disc.
Sweat Mode:
There are no long list of playlists, instead you decide the time (10, 20, 40 min.) which you can do the selected songs or just change one or all, or do "Free Mode" & just use the regular song list to choose your songs one by one.
JTV:
Just Dance TV wasn't working for about a month, but witht he new update, it is now. You can share with the world your video of you dancing & see everyone else who shared. It allows you to follow people, like a video, etc.

Songs:
The songs are listed left to right, when you click on a song, the song keeps playing (great addition), and you can choose the (1-6 different) modes you want, there are many new additions!
Classic - the main choreography with more amazing backgrounds.
Sweat - new choreography higher energy version which is great, more new choreography for these new songs.
Mash-up - takes clips of old videos of dance moves of this game's & JD's 1-4 to make new choreography. I didn't like this as much as clips weren't always edited well enough to flow right & felt disjointed in the choreography to follow well at all. It's better then nothing though, but LOVE the other modes better as it's not clips smashed together.
Sweat Mash-up - higher energy mash-up
Battle - takes dance moves from 2 songs to battle against a friend or now allows you to battle the AI!
Extreme - new choreography that has more complex dance moves then the rest, though you can still get a decent score if you're a beginner.
On Stage - 3 person choreography to feel like you're the star with 2 backup dancers that has very easy choreography for the star & moderate choreography from the backup dancers, a great new addition! More new choreography for the star or follow the backup dancer.
Mode w/a name of a month - you have to unlock that mode in the shop during that month, if you miss it, you have to wait 'til next year.
Party Master - DO NOT use any mojo points on this yet. This is to have a friend who doesn't want to dance be the DJ, etc. But so far it's not working on the xbox 360, wait until there's another update or Ubisoft says they have this working, it automatically is working on the Wii U which people have posted on youtube which shows, instead of the static pictograpms in this/past JD games, a moving smaller dancer previewing the next move. This was in Ubisoft's Hip Hop Dance experience & Black Eyed peas Dance experience, WHY is this not in ALL the dance modes?

World Dance Party:
Ubisoft finally added online multiplayer (even the Wii gets it). You will join in mid-way of a song when you start or be in a lobby voting for a song. You see your scores & those in your lobby on the left w/cartoon noises when someone enters the song. If you have "share" on & "autodance" on, clips of you dancing will be shown to everyone if you are #1 in scores for that lobby.

Pros:
* Still has VERY talented, ENERGETIC dancers (the most important thing in any dance game/fitness dvd)
* Has online multiplayer!
* New & MORE Modes - extreme, battle w/AI, on stage mode, sweat mash-up
* Good menu system
* Allows you to choose which song you want to unlock w/your mojo instead of being pre-chosen.
* Sweat mode gives you more control over the song choices
* Great background graphics, but rather choose more choreography content per song, over graphics
* Songs in other languages, opens up more choices, good choices so far that are energetic & not too different from mainstream songs.
* They added a song from an animated movie, very cute, opens up more possibilities.
* They added a few great 60s/70s song classics.

Cons:
*Though I don't miss the boring music in sweat mode for the warm-up, cool-down, I do miss the choreography & wish they could have kept those from previous JD's in this one.
* I had some issues with the game saying I was one dancer when it was actually tracking me as the other, especially in pre-timed sweat mode (where you can't decide which dancer you are once you start the timer/sequence.)
* Possibly some tracking issues, I got perfects when I thought I didn't deserve it & Xs when I knew I should have gotten at least a good.
* Some of the moves didn't flow like they always used to, I understand if they run out of basic moves, but I'm not against them redoing moves with the new dancers/songs so that the choreography flows.
* They added a slow song like "Careless whisper" which wasn't fun, why add such a slow song??? There should never be any slow songs in a dance game.
* Some jumping moves & others seemed WAY too advanced & was hit/miss if you can fake it enough to get a good score.
* Loved the extreme choreography, but needs a tutorial or at least an ability to play at 1/2 speed to learn it. Having 1/2 speed on all songs to make it easier to learn wouldn't be a bad & easy to program option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basically Just Dance 4's less attractive sister..., November 25, 2013
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I own Just Dance 4 and enjoy it quite a bit. Somehow JD2014 lacks the quality songs and the irreverent sense of humor of JD4. There are at least 10 songs in JD4 that everyone enjoys - Rock Lobster, Final Countdown, Istanbul, Call Me Maybe, What Makes You Beautiful, etc, etc. This one... maybe Blurred Lines. The dance moves seem boring and uninspired. Many times I get half way through a song and I'm like, geez I'm still dancing, when will this be over.

This could all just be my personal preferences. Somehow to me Ghostbusters is a tired old dust bin song that should be permanently retired from ever being heard again, but Final Countdown is an old forgotten masterpiece. Take a look at the song lists and decide for yourself.

If you already have JD4, this game is a nice way to shake things up a bit. But if you don't already own Just Dance 4, I would definitely recommend starting there for your family-friendly dance game needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super fun as well as forgiving, October 26, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a very easy to start, very easy to understand, and fun to play game. my kids under 10 had a blast. the dancers on the screen that you are supposed to imitate are extremely talented professional dancers, and i was originally concerned that the game might be too difficult for my kids to play. however, they were able to imitate as best they could, and the game was set in such a way that every so often they'd get motivational stars and "good" "okay" or "perfect" comments under their avatars (which showed their silhouettes dancing along)--in other words, the game is very forgiving, and will not make fun of you even if you're not a Solid Gold dancer (remember that show?). if you are a great dancer, you can compete w yourself and others to outscore one another, and there is plenty of room on the upside to keep you interested.

Unlike Dance Central, which we also own, this game is not really trying to teach you how to dance in a step by step way, or do specific moves (which Dance Central does very well, btw)- Just Dance assumes you can follow along with general, somewhat repetitive moves (like a workout) that requires some basic knowlege of dance-- like going to an advanced aerobics class-- some moves will be familiar to you if you have danced before, but will be much more challenging if you have not. my kids, who don't have any dance basics at all, were still able to follow along and enjoy w/o trauma. they went through about 10 songs in a row, which knocked some of the energy right out of them! i tried one song, and was immediately wiped out :)--this is great exercise, and a fun way to do it. in addition to new and old songs from the present back through the 70s and 80s, some of the dancers wear costumes (teddy bear, pineapple), so that you can choose to immitate something other than a human dancer. my youngest got a real kick out of that, and it made the game that much more fun for her.

all in all, a really fun game- up to four people can play at once- this would be great for a party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Dance 2014, October 8, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Just Dance 2014 is the first entry in the Just Dance Series to have a year instead of their traditional number ordering. This means that the whole game itself and the series has fully revamped!

Interface
With the new styled up navigation everything is on one page I don't mean it in a bad way. Everything is wonderfully organized on this one page! You can move around to a song and it would have it's little folder containing Mashups, On-Stage Mode, Sweat/Sweat Mashups, & Extreme Modes. I find this fine and easy to navigate through as I spent 4 hours dancing my heart out. Thanks to the Just Dance Team they have integrated controller use so you are able to switch from Kinect to Controller navigation. If you are stuck halfway through the diverse and creative playlist you can either move your hand or use the controller pressing upwards to bring you back to the main section which is indeed handy at times.

Mojo & In-game rewards
The New Mojo System is now flawless and flexible! After Dancing and or singing to a song you earn these Mojo Coins in which you will be able to purchase with the coins any Mashup, Extreme Mode, Sweat Mode, or On-Stage mode at any given time! You no longer need to strive for all the Mojo like in JD3 or spin a roulette in JD4 everything is flexible and free to your choice.

New Features!
New features have been implemented into Just Dance 2014 to make your experience full! With the On-Stage Mode I feel as if I'm actually performing at a concert! With the World Just Dance Floor you will be able to compete against other dancers worldwide in real time! I've been longing for this feature and thankfully they made it come true in the new edition of Just Dance!

After a song you are optionally able to view the Auto Dance of the song you Just Danced to back then in JD4 you weren't able to customize or change-up your Auto dance and it literally Automatically did it for you but now You are able to put in funky cool effects that make the moment vivid to your liking! I find this funner to add it on Just Dance TV showing off my dance moves with the awesome effects!

If you didn't appreciate the Avatar Card in Just Dance 4 you will in this one! Just Dance 4 only supplied you with a limited amount of Avatar heads and it wasn't as nice as it seemed but in Just Dance 2014 you are able to unlock new ones and old ones by either dancing to a song or purchasing them with Mojo Coins! I like to set mines as She Wolf because it's my favorite song to dance to! They have a whole entire gallery of Avatar Heads that range from the first Just Dance to this one! I wonder how long it will take to unlock them all. . .

SWEAT SWEAT and Guess What MORE SWEAT!
Just Dance 2014 was crafted for fun and sweating! The new moves in every song are more active and makes the game feel more alive when playing! After playing 5 songs I was already sweating and having a good time! Along with the more advanced Sweat Mashups and Sweat Routines they really give you a good workout so you don't need to go to a fitness place and pay membership when this game is bound to make you sweat! Hopefully I will lose some weight this year and this day playing Just Dance 2014 makes me feel determined I will.

Just Dance 2014 (aka PARTY MAKER)
I absolutely love how unique the track list is! Going from modern pop to Spanish Party Music to the classics! With this tracklist the whole family is going to be involved! My friends and I killed it when we played Pound The Alarm by Nicki Minaj! It was all kinds of fun with the new and improved graphics along with the amazing visuals especially She Wolf man that opening!

This concludes my review I apologize if it's very long there was alot of information to get down for people who are iffy on buying. If this hasn't made you think about buying it well then you're missing out on a whole new Just Dance experience! With the Awesome sweat mode, amazing track list, and online mode~! This game is perfection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Just wish they would have made all of the song choices family friendly for younger children. Some definitely are not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just dance!!, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This has to be by far my most favorite one of the series! It has a ton of songs I just love!!! The dances are a lot of fun and my kids love to do the ghostbusters dance!
I really can't find one thing wrong with it!
I totally agree with everything the other poster said about the game. I can't wait to try out the world dance and see what that's about.
I like the different kind of music this game has. Has something for everyone! I really like the whole karaoke thing going on. Dancing an singing and it seems as though you gain some extra points by singing. We were singing and by the mic looking thing it was saying perfect!
To the one person who rated this negatively I just wanted to say that before you rate something as badly as you did maybe you should get your facts straight and ask a question as you CAN use the controller to scroll through and pick the songs you want. We were using the controller while playing the game.
So this title is definitely worth the money and I can see a lot of family nights happening and a lot laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun game but not for a 3 year old, March 18, 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Love this game. Got it so I could sweat and my three year old could do it too. Some of the dances get a little too sexy, I try to shield my little girl from that kind of stuff so she doesn't think it's so "cool." But overall very fun but do have to pick through some songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360
Just Dance 2014 - Xbox 360 by UBI Soft (Xbox 360)
$39.99 $25.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.