Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sock Crosby-Wyman tint tuner
Yes, Its Bing Crosby and Jane Wyman in a colorful, tuneful musical comedy - Just for You (1952) The songs are excellent and include the lively Zing a Little Zong as well as The Live Oak Tree, I'll Si Si Ya in Bahia and a Mexican Ballet sequence. In the picture Bing is having trouble with his teenage children, played by Robert Arthur and Natalie Wood. Ethel Barrymore...
Published on July 27, 2004 by Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bing at a bargain
There are no special features here, and the "Groom" film is in black and white, but for Bing Crosby or old-fashioned musical fans, you can't go wrong with this at a bargain price. The "Groom" film features the Oscar-winning song "In the Cool Cool of the Evening" (fun lyrics by Johnny Mercer) and it's a treat. Who knew Jane Wyman could sing!? The movie plot is sappy and...
Published on March 8, 2008 by TravelMod


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sock Crosby-Wyman tint tuner, July 27, 2004
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
Yes, Its Bing Crosby and Jane Wyman in a colorful, tuneful musical comedy - Just for You (1952) The songs are excellent and include the lively Zing a Little Zong as well as The Live Oak Tree, I'll Si Si Ya in Bahia and a Mexican Ballet sequence. In the picture Bing is having trouble with his teenage children, played by Robert Arthur and Natalie Wood. Ethel Barrymore appears in the picture as a school headmistress cum motor mechanic, specialising in starting tricky outboard motors! Excellent fun all the way. The film does, however, have its serious moments and makes a good point regarding the music publishing business.

Here Comes the Groom was made in 1951 in Black & White. This is an excellent musical comedy (Directed by Frank Capra) with serious moments. Alex Smith appears in the picture and a rival to Jane Wyman for Bing's affections. Songs include In the Cool Cool Cool of the Evening, Your Own Little House, Misto Christopher Columbus and Bonne Nuit. There are a few cameo guest appearances.

The quality is excellent especially considering the material is over 50 years old. The double bill is good value for money. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm fuzzies to spare., August 29, 2005
By 
Hal Owen (Burbank, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
Fans of the great Bing Crosby will certainly enjoy this double bill from the early 1950's. With the Hollywood studios reeling from the effects of television, the House On UnAmerican Activites Committee, and the war in Korea, "Here Comes The Groom/Just For You" were and are better than average musical fare both then and now. Both films find Mr. Crosby in splendid voice with better than average song material such as "Zing a Little Zong" and the Oscar winning "In the Cool,Cool,Cool of the Evening." Famed director Frank Capra, who gave us such American classics as "You Can't Take It With You" and the holiday favorite "It's A Wonderful Life" elevates "Here Comes The Groom" out of the level of routine studio fare while Elliott Nugent wraps a twenty year career behind the camera with his jewel-like "Just For You." In addition to Crosby, both films feature the radiant Jane Wyman and a number of major stars to include Franchot Tone and Ethel Barrymore along with rising stars Natalie Wood and Anna Maria Alberghetti. Like another Bing Crosby double film offering, "Holiday Inn/Going My Way", "Here Comes The Groom/Just For You" serves as a pleasant reminder just how much fun movie musicals were and still are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 ON 1, January 12, 2006
By 
alain robert (ST-HUBERT,QUÉBEC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
JUST FOR YOU is mainly a vehicule for JANE WYMAN and BING CROSBY who had great chemistry together.We all know how it's gonna end and the plot is a little melodramatic.Nevertheless,it is a rather pleasant affair.After a very shaky start,HERE COMES THE GROOM becomes hilarious and shows CAPRA getting the most of all his actors.It is the only film of the fifties whose highlight is a wrestling match between two women.BING has a field day in this part and it's easy to understand why the director thought that he was a fabulous actor.The producers certainly knew that IN THE COOL,COOL,COOL OF THE EVENING was going to be a hit.If you like BING but never saw this movie,you are missing something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love one of the movies!, June 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
I bought this for Here Comes the Groom which stars Jane Wyman and Bing. I love this movie. Bing is a guy with commitment issues and Jane is his girlfriend who wants a commitment NOW. She's waited several years and she's ready for wedding bells. Just about the time that Bing comes home with two orphans, ready for commitment, she has broken up with him and found someone else. It's a fun musical and the kids are adorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crosby and Capra and Wyman, oh my !, April 16, 2013
By 
culture lover (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
As a fan of Frank Capra, I had to see "Here Comes the Groom," even though it's one of the postwar ones that everybody knocks. So I was pleasantly surprised when -- but I'm getting ahead of myself.

Paramount has an interesting pair of films here. Made one year apart, both star Bing Crosby and Jane Wyman and both are 50's musicals. Beyond that the difference is striking. One's in color; the other isn't. One is quite good, and the other . . .

Let's start with "Just for You." Bing plays a Broadway impresario who is personally and professionally attached to his leading lady, played by Jane Wyman. The fly in the ointment is Bing's two teenaged children, who have been neglected by their widower father. Bing tries to make up by spending more time with his son, who falls in love with Wyman. (Are you laughing yet?) The flawed conceit of the script requires an actress to be old enough that Bing isn't "robbing the cradle," yet young enough to appeal to his 18 year old son. Wyman may be lovely, but not enough to appeal to someone literally half her age. (Side note: the actor playing Bing's son has such a baby face, that seeing him in suits makes him look like a little boy playing "dress up.") Natalie Wood, who plays Bing's daughter, was in-between the cuteness of "Miracle on 34th St" and the vivaciousness of "Rebel Without a Cause." The biggest problem, however, is she is hardly given anything to do. Ethel Barrymore and Natalie's drunken governess do their best to keep things lively and there's a nice musical number, "I'll Si-Si Ya in Bahia" but overall, this one just WASN'T for me.

Next is "Here Comes the Groom." Made a year earlier and in black and white, "Groom" is far superior. Much of the credit must go to director Frank Capra. Watching this for the first time, I wondered why people didn't regard this as fondly as "It Happened One Night" or "You Can't Take It With You." True, it's no "Mr. Smith" or "It's a Wonderful Life" but what is?

Here Bing plays Pete, an overseas reporter who has become attached to two French orphans. He needs someone to act as mother to little Bobbie and Suzi, just when his long-suffering fiancee, Emmadel Jones (Wyman) has given up on him and plans to marry her millionaire employer (Franchot Tone). There is more drama in the first ten minutes (a scene with Anna Maria Alberghetti in a cameo role before Pete even decided to adopt the kids) than in the entirety of "Just for You." There's also a funny and inventive "talking record" performance of Emmadel giving Pete a kiss off.

Alexis Smith is wonderful as cold, repressed Cousin Winifred. Capra's love for supporting characters is in evidence here, with much attention given to Robert Keith (Brian Keith's dad) as Pete's newspaper editor boss. Nominally a throw-away role, Capra allows Keith the space to enliven his character in a way that warms the film. To a lesser extent, Connie Gilchrist as Emmadel's mother is also permitted enough room to be a character and not just an obstacle in the script.

Crosby is a delight from start to finish, especially in the "makeover" scene with Alexis and Robert Keith. Wyman, who was reportedly looking for lighter fare after playing dark roles in "Johnny Belinda" and "The Glass Menagerie," really throws herself into the role (in a good way). Her singing and dancing number with Bing, "In the Cool, Cool, Cool of the Evening," is a treat. The difference between her charm here and in "Just For You" is the difference between a milkshake and skim milk.

So why isn't this regarded as warmly as "It Happened One Night" ? Several reasons. Capra was slowing down and it shows. Some of the dialogue wasn't tweaked to the fine edge of his earlier works. An over-reliance on old-fashioned vaudeville humor (especially Wyman's drunken Irish father). Franchot Tone, who still has the charm to play a latter-day Prince Charming but the ravages of his real life alcohol problems can't be covered up. Mostly, however, it's a third act that doesn't quite gel. But the first two-thirds are delightful.

Not a bad deal for the price. If you like Crosby, Wyman or classic rom-coms, you owe it to yourself to see a near classic ("Groom") paired with an also-ran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bing at a bargain, March 8, 2008
By 
TravelMod (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
There are no special features here, and the "Groom" film is in black and white, but for Bing Crosby or old-fashioned musical fans, you can't go wrong with this at a bargain price. The "Groom" film features the Oscar-winning song "In the Cool Cool of the Evening" (fun lyrics by Johnny Mercer) and it's a treat. Who knew Jane Wyman could sing!? The movie plot is sappy and entirely predictable, but as in many of his roles, Bing adds just a touch of jazzy hip flourishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Here comes the groom, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
I've seen Here comes the groom many times before so I wanted to have a copy of my own to watch whenever I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bing & Jane in color, earning 5 stars!, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
Bing and Jane were great in Here Comes the Groom and even greater in Just For Yous since it was a better story line, it was in technicolor, and had a great supporting cast including Ethel Barrymore, Natalie Wood and Robert Arthur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here comes the groom., December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
I had Here comes the groom on VHS and it took me sometime before I found this copy on DVD. I was so excited when
I was able to find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Bing Fans, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just For You/Here Comes the Groom (DVD)
Great movie for people that remember Bing and definitely for fans. Any movie were he sings he is at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just For You/Here Comes the Groom
Just For You/Here Comes the Groom by Elliott Nugent (DVD - 2004)
$36.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.