Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon June 27, 2006
At a high school graduation party, overweight Chris Brander (Ryan Reynolds) attempts to reveal his true feelings for his best friend Jamie Palomino (Amy Smart), but ends up making an utter fool of himself. What's worse, his humiliation takes place in front of his jeering teenage peers. A decade later, Chris has become a success story. He is now thin, prosperous, is a hit with girls, and works as an executive in the music industry. His latest assignment is escorting wacky starlet/pop princess and ex-flame Samantha James (Anna Faris) to Paris, France. But their plane has to make an unscheduled landing in Jersey, Chris's high school home. Rationally, Chris and Samantha decide to stay at his old house. Chris has a reunion with his former buddies, including the winsome Jamie, who immediately rekindles that old spark within Chris. The remainder of the film concerns Chris's efforts to make Jamie see him as more than a friend, while simultaneously fending off the warped Samantha. Competition comes in the form of a former fellow nerd turned sensitive guy Dusty Dinkleman (Chris Klein).

Just Friends is a very funny, feel-good movie. Ryan Reynolds is a hoot as a brash L.A. stud who disastrously channels his inner dweeb whenever he's around unrequited love Jamie. Ryan is really excellent with physical comedy. There are scenes with him that are just uproarious (case in point, the aftermath of his politically incorrect hockey game with the kids). I even enjoyed his frequent Three Stooges encounters with his kid brother (Chris Marquette). And when he has to, Ryan steps outside the slapstick and layers in a deeper nuanced, more introspective performance. I ended up rooting for Chris, even though he was overly cocky and big-timed his home town folks. And then there's Amy Smart, who seemingly can do no wrong. There's just something so lovable and natural about her. She embodies the type of girl every guy would want to be with. Anna Faris's turn as the unstable Samantha adds to the already boisterous feel of the film. Samantha actually scares me. Chris Klein's Dusty, Chris's guitar-playing, song-writing rival, is disgustingly touchy-feely. One would wish that a different sort of arc for Dusty's character had been laid out; the script writer, in my eyes, sold out and made things too convenient for Chris, with regards to Dusty. Julie Hagerty (Airplane!) has a goofy supporting role as Chris's mom.

The special features are tasty:

- a filmmakers' film commentary
- "Tales from the Friend Zone" featurette (the cast & crew talk about real life "just friends" experiences)
- "Developing Just Friends" featurette (wherein we learn of the script's 7 year odyssey and how, originally, Chris didn't get the girl at the end)
- "A Director's Guide to Comedy" featurette
- "The Transformation" featurette (about Ryan's fat face make-up)
- "The Body Shake" featurette (the awkwardness of when you're dropping off a date; do you hug or kiss?)
- "It's Friggin' Cold" featurette (the cast & crew basically complaining about how cold the shooting was)
- "A Writer's Journey" featurette (focus on script writer Adam "Tex" Davis)
- "A Disaster in the Making" featurette (about the making of the Palomino house X-mas decor and its eventual fate)
- "The Reshoots" featurette (the making of the eventual ending of the film, which wasn't the original ending)
- a so-so blooper reel
- deleted scenes
- an alternate ending (this was the initially intended ending; you could see why they changed it)
- an amusing "Jamie Smiles" video
- theatrical trailer

So, try out this movie. It'll make you smile and laugh and even feel nostalgic because, let's face it: just like me, you've been in Chris's position before, too.
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2007
Great comedy!

This movie had me laughing almost the entire time. Anna Faris gives an amazing performance in this movie as a ditzy pop wanna-be singer. The rest of the cast is amazing in this movie as well. The story is very good and many could relate to it, specially if you've had a crush on someone in high school and you always felt like you were never good enough, unless you were rich, famous, and thin. This is defiantly a good comedy and revolves around the holidays but it's not just another holiday comedy either.

I have this movie as my top favorite films of all times. Just watch it and you'll see what I mean. great movie at a great value!

The shipping was fast, and the DVD was in great condition. This DVD has a great variety of DVD extras. You'll also get to see a lot of behind the scenes and a writer's journey on how to become an actor for a small role in the movie. It's a great DVD with lots to offer and it will keep you entertained through out the whole movie and special features as well.

I highly recommend it!!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
My husband and I absolutely love this movie - we feel it is a totally underrated comedy. We quote it on a pretty regular basis, and look forward to watching it every holiday season (and throughout the rest of the year). Ryan Reynolds (Chris), Chris Klein (Dusty), Anna Faris (Samantha) and Chris Marquette (Mike) are all perfect in their roles and keep us laughing through the entire film, no matter how many times we've seen it. The love story between Chris and Jamie (Amy Smart) is adorable, and the love triangle with Dusty is hysterical. It's also one of those movies that gets funnier with repeated viewings, so give it a shot and I don't think you will be disappointed :)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 11, 2006
This movie definitely turned out to be better than expected. I'd just seen "Waiting", which was decent, so I was interested to see what this Ryan Reynolds film would have to offer.

This movie had a much better storyline than did "Waiting..." It was very refreshing to see Ryan Reynolds play a character that wasn't Van Wilder-esque. He gives a very funny performance as the fat-kid turned Hollywood man-about-town who returns home and reconnects with the girl who broke his heart in his youth.

The movie is funny right off the starting line and remains funny throughout.

Recommended.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2011
This is not hi-def quality. It's lo-def recorded onto a blu-ray disc. All the cost, none of the detail. Doesn't even have the extras that are on the dvd. For the record, I loved this movie and was very anxious to get it in hi-def, but this was a complete rip-off. Don't waste your money. Just get the dvd.
55 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2010
This movie is a scream. I'm a big fan of Ryan Reynolds anyway, and he is a belly laugh in this movie, so he certainly doesn't disappoint. The whole cast is very well put together, and enhance the movie in it's hilarity. Then, after all the craziness, there is a believable, good ending.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2014
Anna Faris' portrayal of the crazed music-star: "Samantha James," is the one that carries this movie to the highest degree (FOR SURE: 5 STARS FOR HER!!)! The rest of the actors aren't too bad and, Chris Klein does an excellent portrayal of the "Dusty" character as well - so he follows Anna in the best of the best in this movie & keeps it afloat.
It's either, Ryan Reynolds can't act humorously (as compared to his other movies...ewll, sucks) like Anna & Chris or maybe it's the character he has to play: a real pussy wimp BFF. I mean, he plays the "successful-LA-womanizer guy" quite well in this movie, but as the fat-BFF-kid with Amy Smart's character "Jamie," early on in the movie or later after he lands in Jersey, it fails & it may have been better if they had another young 18yr old actor tackle the young fat "Chris Bender" character. I really think it's the impossible role of the BFF (which in real life could never happen) turning into the "love of the lifetime" mate at the end that dooms Ryan Reynolds. Or maybe if they had another actor do the "Chris Bender" character instead of Ryan Reynolds, it would have been better, I don't know.
Whatever I still watch it often, to see Anna Faris & Chris Klein do their characters quite well - which continues to crack me up - every time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was very disappointing and so poorly done that we couldn't even finish it. I think we stopped less than 1/2 way into the film. If you're looking for a cheerful romantic comedy this is not it. Check out Leap Year instead - it's a fun, cheery one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2015
We watch a lot of romantic comedies and this is one of the funniest we have seen so far !
More laughs than most comedies, cute love story. The movie really makes you feel the pain and sympathize with the lead character played by Ryan Reynolds and has you rooting for him through out.
There are kids in the film, as the the lead characters love interest, Amy Smart, is a substitute school teacher, so the humor is clean cut enough that you can watch it with the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
Our new go-to Holiday movie! Who hid this from me for like 8 years? I was already a Ryan Reynolds fan, but somehow missed this one.

17 kinds of fun with unstoppable Ryan Reynolds. We discovered it over New Year's. Somehow the mostly believable, always wild physical comedy never ends. Don't worry: all that laff-a-minute slapstick plus truly whacked out family holiday insanity will break the ice whenever and with who(m)ever you watch this . Three side plots and superb work in uber pranks and brotherly wrestle-a-rama by Live-At-Home Little Brother Chris Klein (Oz in AMERICAN PIE), keep it moving.

For all of us who always wanted to right some really uncomfortable high school wrongs, bonk the right person in your hometown for once, and free the Nerd Within, this laugh-a-thon's for you. And you know you wanted to see all that NJ Christmas yard display stuff get toasted, right?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.