Customer Reviews


354 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She's no ordinary girl
At a high school graduation party, overweight Chris Brander (Ryan Reynolds) attempts to reveal his true feelings for his best friend Jamie Palomino (Amy Smart), but ends up making an utter fool of himself. What's worse, his humiliation takes place in front of his jeering teenage peers. A decade later, Chris has become a success story. He is now thin, prosperous, is a hit...
Published on June 27, 2006 by H. Bala

versus
31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a blu-ray
This is not hi-def quality. It's lo-def recorded onto a blu-ray disc. All the cost, none of the detail. Doesn't even have the extras that are on the dvd. For the record, I loved this movie and was very anxious to get it in hi-def, but this was a complete rip-off. Don't waste your money. Just get the dvd.
Published on June 13, 2011 by dwc


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She's no ordinary girl, June 27, 2006
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
At a high school graduation party, overweight Chris Brander (Ryan Reynolds) attempts to reveal his true feelings for his best friend Jamie Palomino (Amy Smart), but ends up making an utter fool of himself. What's worse, his humiliation takes place in front of his jeering teenage peers. A decade later, Chris has become a success story. He is now thin, prosperous, is a hit with girls, and works as an executive in the music industry. His latest assignment is escorting wacky starlet/pop princess and ex-flame Samantha James (Anna Faris) to Paris, France. But their plane has to make an unscheduled landing in Jersey, Chris's high school home. Rationally, Chris and Samantha decide to stay at his old house. Chris has a reunion with his former buddies, including the winsome Jamie, who immediately rekindles that old spark within Chris. The remainder of the film concerns Chris's efforts to make Jamie see him as more than a friend, while simultaneously fending off the warped Samantha. Competition comes in the form of a former fellow nerd turned sensitive guy Dusty Dinkleman (Chris Klein).

Just Friends is a very funny, feel-good movie. Ryan Reynolds is a hoot as a brash L.A. stud who disastrously channels his inner dweeb whenever he's around unrequited love Jamie. Ryan is really excellent with physical comedy. There are scenes with him that are just uproarious (case in point, the aftermath of his politically incorrect hockey game with the kids). I even enjoyed his frequent Three Stooges encounters with his kid brother (Chris Marquette). And when he has to, Ryan steps outside the slapstick and layers in a deeper nuanced, more introspective performance. I ended up rooting for Chris, even though he was overly cocky and big-timed his home town folks. And then there's Amy Smart, who seemingly can do no wrong. There's just something so lovable and natural about her. She embodies the type of girl every guy would want to be with. Anna Faris's turn as the unstable Samantha adds to the already boisterous feel of the film. Samantha actually scares me. Chris Klein's Dusty, Chris's guitar-playing, song-writing rival, is disgustingly touchy-feely. One would wish that a different sort of arc for Dusty's character had been laid out; the script writer, in my eyes, sold out and made things too convenient for Chris, with regards to Dusty. Julie Hagerty (Airplane!) has a goofy supporting role as Chris's mom.

The special features are tasty:

- a filmmakers' film commentary
- "Tales from the Friend Zone" featurette (the cast & crew talk about real life "just friends" experiences)
- "Developing Just Friends" featurette (wherein we learn of the script's 7 year odyssey and how, originally, Chris didn't get the girl at the end)
- "A Director's Guide to Comedy" featurette
- "The Transformation" featurette (about Ryan's fat face make-up)
- "The Body Shake" featurette (the awkwardness of when you're dropping off a date; do you hug or kiss?)
- "It's Friggin' Cold" featurette (the cast & crew basically complaining about how cold the shooting was)
- "A Writer's Journey" featurette (focus on script writer Adam "Tex" Davis)
- "A Disaster in the Making" featurette (about the making of the Palomino house X-mas decor and its eventual fate)
- "The Reshoots" featurette (the making of the eventual ending of the film, which wasn't the original ending)
- a so-so blooper reel
- deleted scenes
- an alternate ending (this was the initially intended ending; you could see why they changed it)
- an amusing "Jamie Smiles" video
- theatrical trailer

So, try out this movie. It'll make you smile and laugh and even feel nostalgic because, let's face it: just like me, you've been in Chris's position before, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll always be fat to me!, April 11, 2006
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
This movie definitely turned out to be better than expected. I'd just seen "Waiting", which was decent, so I was interested to see what this Ryan Reynolds film would have to offer.

This movie had a much better storyline than did "Waiting..." It was very refreshing to see Ryan Reynolds play a character that wasn't Van Wilder-esque. He gives a very funny performance as the fat-kid turned Hollywood man-about-town who returns home and reconnects with the girl who broke his heart in his youth.

The movie is funny right off the starting line and remains funny throughout.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not a blu-ray, June 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Friends [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is not hi-def quality. It's lo-def recorded onto a blu-ray disc. All the cost, none of the detail. Doesn't even have the extras that are on the dvd. For the record, I loved this movie and was very anxious to get it in hi-def, but this was a complete rip-off. Don't waste your money. Just get the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Comedy Movie!!!, June 17, 2007
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
Great comedy!

This movie had me laughing almost the entire time. Anna Faris gives an amazing performance in this movie as a ditzy pop wanna-be singer. The rest of the cast is amazing in this movie as well. The story is very good and many could relate to it, specially if you've had a crush on someone in high school and you always felt like you were never good enough, unless you were rich, famous, and thin. This is defiantly a good comedy and revolves around the holidays but it's not just another holiday comedy either.

I have this movie as my top favorite films of all times. Just watch it and you'll see what I mean. great movie at a great value!

The shipping was fast, and the DVD was in great condition. This DVD has a great variety of DVD extras. You'll also get to see a lot of behind the scenes and a writer's journey on how to become an actor for a small role in the movie. It's a great DVD with lots to offer and it will keep you entertained through out the whole movie and special features as well.

I highly recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of our favorite holiday movies!, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My husband and I absolutely love this movie - we feel it is a totally underrated comedy. We quote it on a pretty regular basis, and look forward to watching it every holiday season (and throughout the rest of the year). Ryan Reynolds (Chris), Chris Klein (Dusty), Anna Faris (Samantha) and Chris Marquette (Mike) are all perfect in their roles and keep us laughing through the entire film, no matter how many times we've seen it. The love story between Chris and Jamie (Amy Smart) is adorable, and the love triangle with Dusty is hysterical. It's also one of those movies that gets funnier with repeated viewings, so give it a shot and I don't think you will be disappointed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic comedy pick, December 28, 2010
By 
VO POV (Pleasant Prairie, WI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
This movie is a scream. I'm a big fan of Ryan Reynolds anyway, and he is a belly laugh in this movie, so he certainly doesn't disappoint. The whole cast is very well put together, and enhance the movie in it's hilarity. Then, after all the craziness, there is a believable, good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Laughed Till I Cried, March 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
I didn't really like Waiting, another Ryan Reynolds film. So I was leery about this one, but my sister assured me that it was totally different, and boy, was she right. This one's in the romantic comedy category, but with an American Pie attitude, which makes for a very funny movie. And I've never liked Ryan Reynolds more.

Reynolds plays Chris, a guy who was fat and unpopular in high school, but had a really great friend (played by Amy Smart) who hung out with him and had sleepovers w/him. Unfortunately, he saw her as more than just a friend, but she didn't feel the same way at all. After an embarrassing moment at a grad party, he gets on his bike and rides away, saying, "This town if full of losers, and I'm pulling out to win!" Flash forward ten years-- Chris is now a total hottie with a body and has a flashy job in L.A. working for a record label. He has to escort the pop princess Samantha James (the hilarious Anna Faris) to Paris. But when their flight is grounded in Jersey because of an onboard fire (thanks to Samantha!), Chris heads back to his home to catch up with his mother and little brother, and maybe regain what he lost when he left-- the girl of his dreams. Throw in a wacky little brother (played by Chris Marquette, whom you will LOVE in this role!!!) and another cute guy (Chris Klein) and you've got some serious obstacles!

Such a funny movie, really good physical comedy on Reynolds' part, he really reminded me of Jim Carrey in this movie, especially in that car scene when he's lamenting over his crappy first "date" with Jamie. Reynolds and Marquette are hilarious together; man, brothers sure know how to push each others buttons. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sorry ,but it's the truth: Fat dudes don't get the girl, June 25, 2006
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
"Just Friends" is about truth. It's about known, universal, guaranteed truths that bridge all boundaries in America. Aside from the ending, which was completely and utterly ridiculous, the entire movie was factual. Here's what I learned (already knew):

1--It's proof of the Ladder Theory. All women have two ladders. One ladder is reserved for friends. The other ladder is reserved for men she would potentially date and/or have sex with. Once you are on the friend ladder, you can never move to the dating-love-sex ladder.

2--The massage-trick is almost universally known. Both men and women know that when a massage happens, and it is not performed by a licensed masseuse, there is more than likely some sex on the horizon.

3--Dorks, dweebs, nerds, and geeks will never, I repeat, NEVER, get the popular hot chick...unless he's a rich dork.

4--Every guy in high school that looked like Chris Klein was going to get the girl, and there was nothing anyone could do about it. Added on to that is the fact that the same guy would inevitably treat the girl like a worthless whore, and he'd still keep getting the girls, despite the universal knowledge that he was a douche bag that would cheat on every girlfriend he had.

5--It's much harder to *ahem* seal the deal, when it's a woman you like immensely. Someone you are not interested in for anything other than the physical, well, that's a different story.

6--Fat guys lip-synching will always be funny.

7--It shows how shallow most women truly are. Sure, everyone wants to act like men are the kings of the world of shallowness; but in reality, women charge the king rent. She didn't want him when he was fat, but now that he's attractive and rich (the same as the C.Klein character), she practically throws herself at him.

Other things to be aware of while watching the movie:

1--This movie is proof that Amy Smart and Anna Farris are not the same person. They are in a scene together, thereby dispelling the rumors.

2--Most people who do everything considered nice, helpful, and philanthropic are probably doing all some of the activities with ulterior motives. The world is not all rainbows and butterflies; deal with it.

3--I'm sorry; but, in the real world, the ending of this movie will almost never happen. Sure, it happens on Lifetime (when men aren't being blamed for everything wrong with the world), and it occasionally happens on an E-Harmony commercial (although I can't prove the veracity of any of the ads), but it almost never actually happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Laughs...And More Laughs, December 14, 2008
By 
S. Schell (OH United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
A romantic comedy with a modest budget, the box office for "Just Friends" surpassed expectations when it grossed a surprising $32.5 million domestically and that is no doubt due to its star talent. With Ryan Reynolds, Anna Faris and Chris Klein headlining the cast, people going into "Just Friends" will get laughs aplenty with room to spare for a few genuinely touching moments.

Chris Brander (Reynolds) is a lovable teenaged dweeb - shy, overweight and head-over-heels in love with his best friend Jamie Palamino (Smart), a girl from the popular crowd. No longer able to bottle his feelings, he confesses his love but gets the rejection he feared while being mortified in the process. Deciding that he will no longer be a suffering fool, he retreats on his bicycle, determined to make something of himself.

Fast forward ten years and Chris is several pounds lighter, a successful record producer in Los Angeles and a real ladies' man who has broken more hearts than can be counted. Though he lives the life of which every bachelor dreams, Chris's unrequited love has made him a cynic and a womanizer. His just-desserts for his chauvinistic behavior come in the form of rising pop star and manic ex-girlfriend Samantha James (Faris), a singer that he is ordered to recruit for the record label for which he works. Jumping his bones the moment she sees him, Samantha suggests an impromptu trip to Paris but by a strange twist of fate they end up in Chris's home state of New Jersey and he decides to visit his family for the holidays.

While trying to keep the psychotic and high-maintenance Samantha occupied, Chris looks up Jamie and much to his delight, she is still beautiful and still single. Resentful for having been kept in the "friend zone" all those years, he hatches a grand plan to take advantage of her but he doesn't count on falling in love with her all over again.

He also doesn't count on some fierce competition in the form of Dusty Dinkleman (Klein), another shy and stuttering nerd who was also infatuated with Jamie. Now a confident and handsome part-time EMT who is positively enchanting on the guitar, Dusty pulls out all the stops to win her over and in the process reveals that he doesn't have the best intentions. A farcical war develops between the two men, one that has both of them cleverly disguising their own agendas while fighting the urge to expose the other (lest they expose themselves in the process).

Though an inexperienced screenwriter, Adam "Tex" David's screenplay gets many laughs from its even-handed sarcasm and slapstick as well as the superb execution of the film's skilled comedic actors. Ryan Reynolds is no stranger to comedies - with the starring role in 2004's "Van Wilder" as well as the portrayal of another womanizer in 2005's "Waiting" (also opposite Anna Faris), his delivery and facial expression are dynamite. Klein, another comedic film veteran (Election, American Pie), impresses with his ability to cut loose and be absolutely insane as Dusty, a man whose ulterior motives become all too clear towards the end.

Both of them are almost overshadowed by Anna Faris, a comedic actress made famous by her starring role in the Wayans brothers' "Scary Movie" trilogy. Faris is insanely funny as Samantha James, a ditzy and petulant celebrity who is sickly sweet one moment, horny another and then flying off the handle the next.

Amy Smart tends to play the straight role in comedies whilst everyone else has all the fun and she does it again here as Jamie; despite being the only serious performance in the movie, she still holds her own next to Reynolds and Faris.

Bottom line: Replete with an even mix of physical comedy as well as a good dose of wry humor, "Just Friends" will procure many chuckles from its keen writing, direction and performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny!, December 27, 2009
This review is from: Just Friends (DVD)
I just saw this movie on TV the other night and found it thoroughly enjoyable and hilarious! So much so that I just ordered it from amazon.com. Ryan Reynolds was awesome...very funny, wonderful actor! We watched him years ago in "Two Guys, A Girl, and A Pizza Place". Loved Chris Marquette (the little brother) and Anna Faris (the pop star)as well. They all had me in stitches. The interaction between those three characters was my favorite parts of the movie. Anna as the very self-indulgent and unstable pop star and Chris as the annoying little brother were great! This is a movie that I'll be watching over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just Friends
Just Friends by Roger Krumble
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.