Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!
This book is a wonderful book with endearing characters who teach the Spanish alphabet in a fun and interesting way! The vivid illustrations will engage any young reader. The book is a great way to incorporate the Spanish alphabet and vocabulary into the elementary classroom!
Published on September 13, 2009 by Sarah Akers

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what you expect
While the illustrations and the flow of the book are great it is not a traditional alphabet book they way one is used to. It is an English book that provides just the words of the alphabet in Spanish. While the story has a point, it is not overpowering at all: It's not what or how much you bring to the party, but that you come at all". Some of the alphabet words chosen...
Published on July 1, 2010 by Bibliophile


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what you expect, July 1, 2010
By 
Bibliophile "Book Lover" (orlando, fl United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
While the illustrations and the flow of the book are great it is not a traditional alphabet book they way one is used to. It is an English book that provides just the words of the alphabet in Spanish. While the story has a point, it is not overpowering at all: It's not what or how much you bring to the party, but that you come at all". Some of the alphabet words chosen are not words that will be used by children learning their ABC's in either language. It is definitely not an "I can read it all by myself" kind of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, September 13, 2009
By 
Sarah Akers (Sherrills Ford, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
This book is a wonderful book with endearing characters who teach the Spanish alphabet in a fun and interesting way! The vivid illustrations will engage any young reader. The book is a great way to incorporate the Spanish alphabet and vocabulary into the elementary classroom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Cute!!, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
I love the illustrations in this book! It's an adorable tale perfect for "Dia de Los Muertos" or any other day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Cultural Perspective to the ABC's, November 23, 2010
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
Just In Case

Written and Illustrated By: Yuyi Morales

Pura Belpre Award - Picture Book

Great asset to any early childhood classroom! Just In Case is a unique book that incorporates learning the ABC's from the Spanish speaking cultures point of view. The illustrations are creative and fun and it promotes learning the alphabet in a fun and festive way. It's a great way to incorporate Spanish words into the classroom as well as the home. It may be hard for some young readers to read on their own as it is a little wordy. A great read aloud!

Morales, Y (2008). Just In Case. New York: Roaring Book Press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Present, September 29, 2010
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
Just in case is an exceptional Spanish Alphabet book. I really enjoyed reading this book; it has very bright colors and excellent illustrations! I can imagine reading this book to a classroom and I believe that children would really enjoy listening to this book. Although, there is one thing that I wish this book had, and that is a pronunciation section for the Spanish words. I don't speak fluent Spanish and some of the words in this book I was a little unsure how to say correctly so I think that the book should have had a section where they had all the pronunciation for the Spanish words. This book is very beneficial for children though, not only because it's a Spanish alphabet but also because after every Spanish word they give the definition of it in English, and a picture of the object. This really helps children relate the certain word to the correct meaning. I think this is a great way to bring Spanish into the classroom and for children to have fun and enjoy a good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sr. Calavera does it again!, May 27, 2010
By 
Maria (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
This follow-up to Just a Minute is as charming and beautiful as the first. I just adore Sr. Calavera!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would LOVE to be tricked by Senor Calavera!, March 12, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
When I look at the artwork of Yuyi Morales I say, "How does she DO it?!" She brings such magic, movement and color to each page in such a fresh and unique way. She weaves this wonderful love story (following Just a Minute) through the alphabet. The kindly ghost of Zelmiro tricks Senor Calavera into doing just that right thing.
Magic, amazing and wonderful. How could you not LOVE this story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Case You Like Perfection, March 11, 2010
By 
E. C. Porter (Port Jefferson, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
Another perfect picture book from Yuyi Morales. This book is a sequel to her clever and funny "Just a Minute" but Morales' mastery has grown in the intervening years since she published that book. The vibrant colors in JIC practically leap off the page. Sr. Calavera is still there, apparently no longer wishing to "take Grandma Beetle" he is now invited to her birthday. And he's as gullible as ever, letting Zelmiro the ghost guide him into bringing her the perfect gift. A fabulous, fun ending kids will enjoy. Buy this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good alphabet book, March 5, 2013
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
Age 4 and up

This book is good for kids who want to learn Spanish alphabet with fun. Each Spanish word has its English explanation which makes learning much easier. Although the main character Señor Calvera is the death, his image is positive. As Señor Calvera thinks about the gifts, he became more caring about grandma’s happiness not just want to give a meaningless gift. At last, he brought grandpa to the birthday party. This book teaches kids more than alphabet but the love among our family. It is really worth to have this book for your kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just in Case, December 1, 2012
This review is from: Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book (Hardcover)
I thought this was an adorable story with outstanding illustrations. A great read for Spanish speaking and non Spanish speaking children. This book is a great way to introduce children to the Spanish language and the Spanish background. There is a lot of good topics for families to talk about and discuss involving death and culture. I highly recommend this book for children of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book
Just In Case: A Trickster Tale and Spanish Alphabet Book by Yuyi Morales (Hardcover - October 14, 2008)
$17.95 $13.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.