Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TV Must See
This is by far the best Transgender related movie I've seen to date. A wonderful light-hearted story about being who you want to be and having a little fun along the way. Adrian Pasdar does a wonderful job portraying Gerald/Geraldine who struggles with the inner turmoil of transvestism, losing his wife rather than try to explain to her what he truly doesn't understand...
Published on August 2, 2001 by ambertgirl

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD release
The movie, Just Like a Woman, is a typical British light romantic comedy that deals with an unusual subject. Julie Walters is THE actress for these movies. She starred in Personal Services, which featured prostitution and sex parties; and Calender Girls, where middle aged ladies take their clothes off for charity...

This movie deals with the issue of cross...
Published on January 2, 2010 by Steve Ayres


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TV Must See, August 2, 2001
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is by far the best Transgender related movie I've seen to date. A wonderful light-hearted story about being who you want to be and having a little fun along the way. Adrian Pasdar does a wonderful job portraying Gerald/Geraldine who struggles with the inner turmoil of transvestism, losing his wife rather than try to explain to her what he truly doesn't understand himself. He soon befriends Julie Walters who runs a boarding house, and she is intrigued by the "mysterious female friend" that sneaks out of Gerald's room at night. With all the bad press Crossdressers get from talk shows and the like, it's nice to finally see a story that represents the common heterosexual transvestite. Like Geraldine, we just want someone to love and accept us for who we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The subject matter (cross-dressing) is well dealt with, April 23, 2005
By 
M. C. Crammer (Lawrenceville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It's certainly a topic that leaves a lot of people rubbing their heads trying to figure it out -- what it means about the sexuality of the people involved. If a heterosexual woman is attracted to a cross-dressing man, is that still heterosexual? This movie makes you question a lot of traditional categories that we put people in. The film reminds us that it's not that tidy.

The plot involves a successful investment banker (American living in London) whose wife throws him out when she comes home unexpectedly and finds all sorts of women's clothing and makeup. It's his, only he doesn't tell her because she doesn't want to talk to him at all. His money is tied up in the divorce, so he rents a room with a recently divorced woman who is attracted to him -- and he to her. The other plot involves his work as an investment banker, working for a real jerk and trying to put together a deal with a Japanese company.

I know some people might shy away from the subject matter, but it's handled very well and raises some questions that are worth thinking about. I personally recommend the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things you overlook, August 2, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I've never given any thought to transgendered people. I'm kind of your boring mainstream female. I saw this movie when it first came out, and what impressed me about it was that at first, you find yourself questioning the durability of a May-December romance, and then, when more truths surface, you realize there are bigger things for the protagonist to overcome. I enjoyed the ride all the way. This is a movie that gently makes you shift paradigms and overlook things that would normally be a major barrier for you.

Even the somewhat absurd denouement was just what the doctor ordered. I was still thrown by the plot and became accepting, as was the protagonist, of the lifestyle of her love interest; at this point, I really needed a neat ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate TG/GG Love Story, November 3, 2002
By 
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As the reviewer before me states, this film is a must see for every transgendered person out there, especially crossdressers & those of us women who adore them. I was nearly in tears during the scene where Geraldine & Julie danced. It is so rare to see a loving relationship between a crossdresser & genetic female portrayed on film. This movie is absolutely wonderful. Not only does Julie accept Geraldine, she encourages her, even when things take a turn for the worse. And better still, this movie is based on a true story. It is refreshingly realistic with a lighthearted humorous touch. This is the ultimate TG/GG love story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heat Warming and Funny, May 6, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Just A Woman is a funny well directed movie. A story of a man that has a hidden passion that unfolds and shows not only his inner beauty but his strong courageous ability to bring himself peace and happiness while moving about in a close minded society. I loved every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing DVD release, January 2, 2010
This review is from: Just Like a Woman (DVD)
The movie, Just Like a Woman, is a typical British light romantic comedy that deals with an unusual subject. Julie Walters is THE actress for these movies. She starred in Personal Services, which featured prostitution and sex parties; and Calender Girls, where middle aged ladies take their clothes off for charity...

This movie deals with the issue of cross dressing (or transvestism) sympathetically and the big business subplot adds the opportunity for a feel good ending. I personally enjoyed the movie and would love to own it on DVD. But this movie never made a impression internationally and of course a Region 1 DVD release never happened.

My 2 star rating is not meant to reflect on the movie, but rather the poor DVD release. A UK region 2 DVD, the movie is presented full screen. Even my UK VHS tape of the movie is widescreen. A lack of any extras on the DVD and no decent marketing leaves you with a DVD that it seems they weren't really interested in.

I'd love to see a quality release of this DVD but it's never going to happen, the market doesn't exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious! Better than "Tootsie.", January 1, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This was hilarious! It tends towards the English sense of humor (a bit odd). In some ways it reminds me of the film "Tootsie" but better, more touching, more open-minded, funnier and much odder. Overall uplifting. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must see this one!, May 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Adrian Pasdar is excellent in this movie. He makes a fascinating and believable woman! He chose his own clothes for the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best representation of a heterosexual cross-dresser!, December 3, 2013
By 
Avid Learner "Joyful 1" (north central Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a great portrayal of a heterosexual cross-dresser and his lady. It's a more realistic representation of this cross-section of humanity than the many movies portraying drag queens, most of whom seem to be gay men. It's also wonderfully entertaining, funny, and sweet, with the added twist of the main character's business challenges. This movie is based on a true story which I read many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars cheese food, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Like a Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I don't seem to find cross-dressing that funny any more, just as I don't find Abbott and
Costello, Dean and Jerry funny, I guess I've grown up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just Like a Woman [VHS]
Just Like a Woman [VHS] by Christopher Monger (VHS Tape - 1996)
$18.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.