Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Goofy, Honest and Enjoyable Romantic Comedy
Alot of people see Ashton Kutcher and Brittany Murphy and they write Just Married off as another silly teen movie made for the MTV crowd. Think again. From start to finish Just Married shows the trials and tribulations a young couple face when they fall in love too quickly and become impulsive.
The movie starts out after the honeymoon when Kutcher and Murphy are at...
Published on May 3, 2003 by c_e_l_e_b_r_i_t_y

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable; Second Half is Funny
I found this movie to have two distinct halves. I somehow did not find it funny when Ashton Kutcher pushed Brittany Murphy near the beginning of the film. Getting liquid all over her front was supposed to be slapstick, but I thought it was cruel and mean, even if they weren't getting along. Because of this beginning, I found it difficult to get into the movie...
Published on June 15, 2003 by Lonnie E. Holder


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable; Second Half is Funny, June 15, 2003
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
I found this movie to have two distinct halves. I somehow did not find it funny when Ashton Kutcher pushed Brittany Murphy near the beginning of the film. Getting liquid all over her front was supposed to be slapstick, but I thought it was cruel and mean, even if they weren't getting along. Because of this beginning, I found it difficult to get into the movie initially.
Our story is an old one. Poor boy meets rich girl. The two fall in love. The families object. The two persist, and get married, and it turns out badly until the end of the movie; sort of like "Romeo and Juliet", only nobody dies, and it's funnier.
However, I didn't get my first laugh until about 22 minutes into the movie. I had to wait until about halfway through the movie before it started to get really funny. The movie was supposed to be funny before that, but the humor was flat. For example, Ashton Kutcher is plugging a sex toy into an electrical outlet. Of course the toy has a plug for 110 volts, and the European hotel they are in has 220 volts, the European standard. Ashton somehow believes he can get the plug in. His rather more experienced wife stands by while he jams the plug in and predictably causes all sorts of havoc.
Later the couple plows into a snow bank. Ashton throws a snow ball at a passing car that doesn't stop to help them. The old lady driving the car backs up and, again predictably, pushes their car over the edge while giving the two of them an obscene gesture (that part wasn't predictable).
While I found the first half of the movie predictable and funny only in places, the second half of the film picked up substantially. I finally identified with the characters, the movie became funny, and I thought the ending was touching.
This movie does one thing really well. Most movies about weddings and honeymoons try to paint a picture of how perfect everything is. This movie shows a honeymoon disaster. Further, it shows how two people who truly are in love with each other can find how truly difficult life can be when things go wrong.
If you like light romantic comedy, this movie may be for you. You may find more humor in the first half than I did. If so, the second half will be an absolute riot. The ending touched me. Worthy of watching at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Goofy, Honest and Enjoyable Romantic Comedy, May 3, 2003
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
Alot of people see Ashton Kutcher and Brittany Murphy and they write Just Married off as another silly teen movie made for the MTV crowd. Think again. From start to finish Just Married shows the trials and tribulations a young couple face when they fall in love too quickly and become impulsive.
The movie starts out after the honeymoon when Kutcher and Murphy are at eachother's throats wanting a divorce. They can't stand to be together, but can they bare to be apart? The movie then begins to unfold when a lonely and miserable Kutcher tells how it all started.
At first, you believe the whole movie will be shown through flashbacks and his memories, but that's not the case. Soon he starts at the beginning and that's where we watch these two people fall so madly in love. To say much else would give the movie away. So I'll shut up and just say what I liked about it.
From their first kiss to their wedding and even into their honeymoon, Kutcher and Murphy bring realism and charisma to their characters all while exuding a rare chemistry on screen that many romantic comedies lack.
The couple have the typical problems: their in-laws fight, they have different ideas about how to spend their free time and jealousy from past lovers ensue.
They also have their not so typical problems: getting married and realizing they don't know who the other person is or what they want out of life and eachother.
He just wanted a buddy, someone to give his empty life meaning, but he's too clueless and hard headed to fight for love. She wants a dream man, someone to sweep her off her feet and prove her rich, over bearing daddy wrong, but her spoiled past makes her not so willing to fight when times get tough.
Will the couple survive and have a happy ending? Before you say of course they will, watch the movie and see for yourself how this original love story unfolds.
Sometimes the most exciting thing about love is also the scariest: No one said love lasts forever.
This movie goes with this notion and fills in all the blanks with alot of funny jokes and zany mishaps the honeymooners find themselves in.
I would highly recommend this movie to anyone who wants to laugh, cry or remember what its like to fall in love. An excellant movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very well-written, touching romantic comedy., November 16, 2003
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
I was completely surprised to read so many bad reviews about this movie. It's high up on my list of favorite movies. It makes me laugh every time I see it, and it has some incredibly romantic, touching moments. Ashton Kutcher and Brittany Murphy did a fantastic job of portraying newlyweds. I adore this movie and hope people will read this and think about buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can True Love Conquer the Honeymoon from Hell?, July 25, 2003
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
With a pretty hilarious premise "Just Married" is your typical romantic comedy that should make great viewing fodder for a night on the couch with your loved one.
THE STORY:
Despite the disapproval of their family and friends, Sarah (Brittany Murphy) and Tom (Ashton Kutcher) wed after a whirlwind romance. The newlyweds young marriage are tried by various factors including (the aforementioned) disapproving family and friends, an old suitor from Sarah's past and not too mention, the Honeymoon from Hell in Europe.
THE COOL THINGS:
Basically this is just one hilarious movie. The amount of "things going from bad too worse," while not quite at the level of "Meet The Parents," are just hilariously played out. Those two just don't have any luck!!! Seeing the French and Italian countryside was a great bonus as well. The core moral of the story of "True Love Conquers All" shines brilliantly through all the horrible situations Tom and Sarah find themselves in. The simple plot device of "jealous suitor" returns to wreak havoc is very effective and plays itself out nicely through the film.
BEST SCENES:
1. The French hotel scene with the "thingy" and the electrical outlet
2. The rundown Italian hotel scene
3. The airline scenes
4. Tom vs. Peter
THE DVD FEATURES:
While a little on the sparse side, the extras on this DVD are still a winner and are guaranteed to make it worth your while, particularly the deleted scenes. Here are the goodies included on this release:
1. Feature length commentary by the Director and Co-stars: Enlightening as always
2. Comedy Central's "Reel Comedy: Just Married." Brittany and Ashton sit down and go over the movie with the host while playing "Guess What They Said" in this 20 minute piece from Comedy Central. Fun listen!!
3. 4 deleted scenes with optional director commentary. These are actually some of the better deleted scenes I've seen on DVDs, and I've seen a lot of DVDs.
4. "Making of Featurette." Actually it's more like a 4 minute promotional spot for the movie.
5. Theatrical Trailer plus two other promotional trailers for "Le Divorce" and "LXG."
THE VERDICT:
Overall, "Just Married" makes another excellent viewing choice. If you're into romantic comedies you're bound to love this one. Again, the number of situations Tom and Sarah get into are just hilarious (think "Meet The Parents" or another other hilarious comedy, just on a smaller scale) and the ultimate point of the movie "Love Is All You Really Need" is just a very true and important thing we all need to remember. The DVD extras, while a little sparse, help make this DVD a fine choice for your viewing (or purchasing) pleasure.
FINAL GRADES:
The Movie: 4 stars
The Extras: 3.5 stars
Final: 3.75 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious comedy!, November 1, 2005
By 
Ingeborg (Norway, Europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
The reason I think this movie is so fab might have something to do with the fact that I did watch it on a 14h airplane trip (5 times...), but the story is good and the funny bits are many!

Ashton and Brittany do a great job in this movie where they play the young couple that just got married, or maybe it's just Brittanys voice that maked the movie enjoyable. Everything is fine, till they go on their honeymoon.

If there's anything that drags this movie down, it's the serious message in the movie (brittanys parents are rich snobs and don't want her to be with ashton, but with her snobby ex) - it gets old too fast. It just does not fit in. Go see it for yourselves :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, August 11, 2003
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
I did not have high expectations for this movie--I just wanted laugh... while it was not an all-out comedy, it filled the time with a pretty decent movie--better than a lot of the romantic comedies I have seen lately. Both Kutcher and Murphy were cute, and awkward like newlyweds would be. They did try a little too hard at times (scenes of climbing out of the bathroom window to avoid a girl in the bar, chasing the ex-boyfriend with a fire-poker, etc. come to mind)but overall a pretty fun movie with a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wacky Wedlock, November 13, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Opa" (Colorado Rocky Mountains) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
.

A happy young couple, Sarah (Brittany Murphy) and Tom (Ashton Kutcher) marry against the wishes of Sarah's friends and family and go to Europe for their Honeymoon. Unfortunately for them, Sarah's parents send Sarah's ex-boyfriend Peter (Christian Kane) to break up the happy marriage.

The European honeymoon is entertaining. They happy couple spend a night in snow drift, and another night blowing electrical circuits in a castle (5 star hotel) and being ejected. Desperate to find lodging they spend a night in a cockroach infested Venice pension and a night fighting in a classy Venice hotel. As a final treat they spend a night in jail.

This movie has lots of slapstick comedy, but social lessons as well. Tom demonstrates why a man needs to avoid getting his ego in the way of his actions when he blows hotel circuits, insults a hotel manager and gets kicked out of a five star resort Sarah demonstrates why some secrets must be told and others withheld and why guilt gets in the way of starting a marriage. Both learn that love can conquer a lot of trouble if you allow the love to work.

Just Married is a comedy worth viewing. It is an above average film that can tickle your funny bone. I recommend it for a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Funny..., December 31, 2003
By 
Christopher Berry (Hale, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
This film was very light hearted and sometimes funny....it was hilarious all of the things that the couple went through during their honeymoon, and it was sweet in the end that they decided to not let anything or anyone stand in the way of their love for eachother...very cute and something to watch when you just want to relax and have some fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Married, January 12, 2003
By A Customer
Just Married is the funniest movie of the year! Tom Leezak (played by Ashton Kutcher from That 70's Show) is a future sports caster who meets Sarah McNearny (played by Brittany Murphy from Clueless, Don't Say a Word, 8 Mile, Girl Interuped, Drop Dead Gorgeous, and many more.) They get married, go on their honeymoon, and everything that could possible go wrong does. From the first second it is so funny! So if you want to go see a movie go see JUST MARRIED! You'll have a great time, you will probaly want to see it again! And the #1 reason you should go see it is because Ashton Kutcher is in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No big belly laughs, but plenty of snickering, September 21, 2004
This review is from: Just Married (DVD)
The story of two mismatched individuals meeting each other and, after trials and tribulations, overcoming their initial dislike of the other person only to fall in love is older than both the motion picture and modern literature.

With the DVD release of 20th Century Fox's romantic comedy "Just Married" however we are treated to a slight twist on the storyline. In this mundane and occasionally hilarious romp our two protagonists fall madly in love and throughout the course of the picture gradually fall out and end up careering through an airport lounge attempting to cause the other as much discomfort as possible.

Yes, not since the Griswold's turned the Old World on its head (and knocked over Stonehenge in the process) in "National Lampoons European Vacation" has the continent across the pond been so mistreated and abused by vacationing Americans. Current flavors of the month Ashton Kutcher (fresh off the success of "Dude, Where's My Car") and Brittany Murphy play two newlyweds that should have had the perfect romantic honeymoon in France and Italy but instead end up at each others throats and endure more

misfortune and mishaps than most couples could expect in a lifetime.

The vast majority of the picture is shown in flashback with the opening credits playing against the return of the duo from their European vacation and Kutcher's characters examination of what went wrong.

Kutcher plays decidedly blue collar Tom while Murphy tackles the role of the decidedly wealthy Sarah (her father is part owner of the Lakers and Dodgers). After a chance encounter on a beach they fall into a passionate affair and several months later announce their engagement to her suitably shocked (and disapproving parents). Will love conquer all? Well the answer may be obvious but the filmmakers still attempt to inject some doubt with the interruption of a persistent suitor, and the sheer magnitude of the hard luck stacked upon the couple through their first days of wedded "bliss".

The problem with the narrative however is that it is simply not funny enough. The trailer promised big belly laughs and instead all we are given in subdued chuckles. In fact if you have already seen the trailer the truth is that you have already seen the funniest parts of this movie.

Picture

The picture quality of Fox Home Entertainments DVD release is reasonably good with a nice 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen transfer (and a full frame version on the flip-side). Although dark in parts and soft the colors are well defined and appropriate. Although not particularly remarkable the video quality is adequate.

Audio

Also somewhat average is the audio on this DVD. Granted a new 5.1 Dolby Digital track by Fox one might expect it to be great (considering the standout work done by the studio on other recent releases) but instead it is simply standard. Still for fans of the soundtrack are treated to a decent surround mix.

Special features

The most distressing element of the special features is the fact that they are split over both sides of the disc. This results in having to get up and flip over the disc (and endure the copyright warnings) to fully appreciate the entire package being delivered by Fox Home Entertainment. The only feature offered on both sides is an optional audio commentary.

Participating in the audio commentary is Director Shawn Levy and stars Kutcher and Murphy. Obvious from this and other supplements the two Hollywood heart throbs fell in love both after the camera lights went out, as well as onscreen. As such most of the contributions provided on the audio commentary are delivered by Levy. For his part Kutcher is slightly dull and Murphy is, well, quiet. On the scale of other discs audio commentaries this one is a bit of a dud and truly only for fans of the stars or the movie (which judging by the statistics should result in their comments being well listened to).

In contrast we are provided with a 21-minute Comedy Central Reel Comedy TV special which I am sad to say is a whole lot funnier and more entertaining than the main feature. The special features love struck Kutcher and Murphy along with a host chatting about the movie and answering some nonsensical trivia (parents be warned some of this is adult humor).

Next up are four deleted scenes (with optional directors commentary), which add little to the overall picture and hardly worth much of a look.

Rounding out the "Just Married" features is a very short promotional featurette and the theatrical trailer. Probably of more interest are trailers for two other Fox movie releases "Le Divorce" and "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen."

Overall

If you are looking for big belly laughs, this movie will not deliver that, but it could prove mildly diverting for a couple of hours. Really a purchase is only recommended for fans of Kutcher and Murphy, for everyone else this looks like a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just Married [Blu-ray]
Just Married [Blu-ray] by Shawn Levy (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.99 $6.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.