Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 11, 2012
Samantha's first hitless album (at least in the US) follows pretty much the same formula as her others. PWL hi-nrg productions, full force productions, some rocking girl pop, and some house music that hints more at the 90s sound than the 80s. If you like her other albums, you should like this one just as well. There are several curiosities as well. There's a medley of 70s disco tracks More More More and Love to Love You Baby. A cover of Kiss's Rock n Roll All Night. Samantha doing the track Walking On Broken Glass, which would be a hit for Annie Lennox. And a very Stock Aitken Waterman hi-nrg recording of That's What Love Can Do before it became a more downtempo hit for Boy Krazy. Plus, the numerous bonus tracks and remixes make this a great deluxe edition. Track list:

CD1
(Hurt Me! Hurt Me!) But The Pants Stay On 5:44
More, More, More / Love To Love You Baby (Medley) 4:16
Don't Wait Up 4:14
Just One Night 5:53
Pleasure Zone 4:39
Another Woman (Too Many People) 3:59
Don't Cry Wolf 3:46
Nothing You Do, Nothing You Say 4:13
Saving It Up 3:54
Spirit Of America 4:48
What You See Is What You Get 3:27
Now I Lay Me Down 4:35
Hot Lovin' 3:48
I Wanna Rock And Roll All Night 3:37
Walking On Broken Glass 3:29
Go For The Heart (Original 1991 Version) 4:24
That's What Love Can Do 3:42
A Second Chance 3:45
Forever True 3:06

CD2
Love To Love You Baby (Original Version) 5:06
(Hurt Me! Hurt Me!) But The Pants Stay On (DJ Pierre's Remix) 6:40
Another Woman (Too Many People) (Harding / Curnow 12" Version) 7:34
That's What Love Can Do (Extended Version) 6:48
A Second Chance (Extended Version) 7:33
Now I Lay Me Down (Soundtrack Version) 4:16
Don't Wait Up (Extended Version) 5:08
(Hurt Me! Hurt Me!) But The Pants Stay On (The Pants Come Off Mix) 6:27
Love To Love You Baby (Lee's House Mix) 4:45
Another Woman (Too Many People) (Harding / Curnow Rap Version) 3:58
(Hurt Me! Hurt Me!) But The Pants Stay On (Instrumental) 5:42
Love To Love You Baby (Sleaze Mix) 5:09
Just One Night (Radio Edit) 3:56
Forever True (Instrumental) 3:06
Another Woman (Too Many People) (Harding / Curnow Instrumental) 3:40
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2000
When Samantha Fox pens a song she sure knows how to make you feel it. "Nothing You Do, Nothing You Say" is the best track here along with a few others, "Another Woman", "Just One Night", "Pleasure Zone", and "Spirit of America." Check out her I Wanna Have Some Fun cd she co-wrote another great song named "Confession."
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2014
Samantha Fox was never a favorite of rock critics, and British journalists have been especially unkind. As a rule, critics tend to favor artists they feel are challenging or provocative on some level; that's why Bruce Springsteen, U2, Public Enemy, Ani DiFranco, and the Clash have been critics' favorites, and it's why artists they see as unchallenging (such as Bon Jovi, Celine Dion, and Kylie Minogue) have received a lot of negative reviews. As '80s and '90s rock critics saw it, Fox was nothing more than a Barbie doll who made a fortune by exploiting sex and putting out commercial fluff that lacked substance. But then, Fox never claimed to be Joan Baez, and if one accepts Just One Night for what it is -- fun for the sake of fun and entertainment for the sake of entertainment -- this isn't a bad album at all. Fox was usually smart enough to surround herself with capable producers, and this time, the producers include Full Force, Eric Foster White, and the Robert Clivilles/David Cole team (among others). Having a diverse group of producers enables Fox to provide a fairly diverse CD -- one that is dominated by dance-pop and urban contemporary but also contains some glossy pop/rock offerings. A sense of frivolous fun defines the album, and Fox goes for a party atmosphere whether she is celebrating '70s disco (Andrea True Connection's "More, More, More" and Donna Summer's "Love to Love You, Baby" are united as a medley) or getting into a pop/rock groove on "What You See Is What You Get" and the Prince-minded "Pleasure Zone." Just One Night isn't Fox's best or most essential release, although it's a decent outing that her more hardcore fans will appreciate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 1999
Like that album, especially "Just one night" which is the definitely the most stimulating song I know (put it in when you get romantic with your partner). Also "Don't cry wolf"is good and really speedy. "Nothing you do nothing you say" is great (also written by Sam herself)."Spirit of America" gives a real- you can reach for the stars- feeling. Also "Another woman" is a smash. All other songs are very nice,too. Like it a lot!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2000
Back when "touch me" came out in 86 I really loved the song. I was living in Europe at the time and it was a huge hit over there. When I discovered the album by the same title I bought it right away in order to start my collection of Samantha fox. Browsing through the other albums I heard the samples for "Just one night" and thought, I have to get this one next. I didn't know about the album until I got onto the net and discovered Amazon.com (yes my life is nothing without Amazon.com) the samples hooked me so I ordered it. On the first listen, I thought, Give me a break, can't the woman do anything more then moan and groan her way through a song? I liked Hurt me Hurt me but knew right away it would not be a favorite of mine. "Love to love you" is much better though she goes overboard with the moaning. for me the best track on the album is "Another woman" "Spirit of America" grew on me and so did "pleasure zone." I can see however with this album why Samantha's career suddenly dried up. I mean you've done it once with the sex thing, move on; Madonna did. this is the kind of CD that you will play once in a while and only if you feel like listening to something different. It certainly is not going in my top CD rack. I do however like the spoken word aspects of the album and would love it if Samantha released such a CD for a laugh. She sounds like a really nice woman, funny and sexy but her problem from day one has been that she has put her sexuality above her music and it cost her in the end.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2002
Ah, Samantha Fox. She was an 80's pin-up queen, notorious for her days as a topless Page 3 model in the UK. She's also quite notorious for what could only be called 'sleazy cheese'. Campy pop songs with a naughty vibe in them sung by a naughty girl.
Naughty Miss Fox opens the album up with the thumping club cut 'Hurt Me! Hurt Me! (But The Pants Stay On)'. Silly and sleazy is the tune she's playing here, and she plays it so well. Fun continues on with a medley of the disco classics 'More More More' and 'Love To Love You Baby', done in true Fox style. A clubby pop cut 'Don't Wait Up', is a good track too, and is followed by the title cut, which is a funkier R&B attempt.
Sam's next track sort of reminds me of Janet Jackson's 'Escapade', and is called 'Pleasure Zone'. The rest of this album all falls along the same vein as these tracks, fun club pop from the early 90's. More good examples of this includes 'Don't Cry Wolf' and 'Saving It Up', the latter of which reminds me of the Pebbles single 'Giving You The Benefit'.
Now there is one chunk of rather stinky cheese wedged in this fun little collection. The not necessarily bad 'Spirit Of America' is weak, in it's attempt at faux- patriotism. Sam's a Brit babe, why sing an ode to us? Very odd really. Not bad, but just, well, strange.
I think it'd be really fun if Samantha Fox made a comeback. Hey, crazier things have happened. Fun little pop effort.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 1998
On this CD, The version Of Love To LOve You baby and More More More are simply fabulous, Don't Cry Wolf is ans infectious pop dance song really really good!!!A beautiful ballad: Nothing You Do, Nothing You Say and the rock What You See Is What You Get but it comports some lack like: Don`t Wait Up and Pleasure Zone... But A very very good album!:O))
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
I re-bought this album for the track Samantha made with Clivilles and Cole, 'Pleasure Zone' and for the brilliant rework of 'That's What Love Can Do' and the bonus 'A Second Chance'. I've been interested in this artist for her work with PWL and Full Force also. Something tells me there may have been a bit of re-recording with 'That's What Love Can Do'. Samantha's vocals sound clearer and stronger, or it could just be a case of great use of the latest studio technology. Everything Cherry Pop has delivered has been fantastic to date , from an 80's music lover's perspective! I look forward to the release of 'Sequal' the deluxe edition (in a few days). I also hope that Matt-Pop can continue to recreate and produce more material (and I love the extra vocals). He's an outstanding artist.

Buy and enjoy this album, it's worth it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2009
What makes this album good? What kind of styles she does? Since 1987, Sam decides to move from her rock roots to more of US Urban music by working with Full Force, Cheryil Pepsi Riley and Cilives and Cole and X Grilfriend. Now this album is good. Now Sam is very ecletic with her styles, like on this album, the first half were Freestyle and Hip Hop which was productions by Full Force and last 2 were rock styles except for what you see is what you get which sounds more pop. However, sam continues to go what she does best is sexual teases with her moans and sexual lyrics like Hurt Me! Hurt Me! But The Pants Stays on, More More More/Love To Love you Baby, the title track and Saving It Up, which she goes overboard with her moans. Nevertheless, this isn't a bad album but its worth listening to. If you like this album, try Kylie Minogue's lets get to it and martika's kitchen
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2009
WELL TOO MANY WORDS HAVE BEEN SPOKEN AND TO MANY THINGS HAVE BEEN SAID SO I WILL PUT IT IN ANOTHER SIMPLE WAY: ''JUST ONE NIGHT'' ALBUM BY SAMANTHA FOX WAS A GREAT ALBUM BUT UNFORTUNATELY IT DIDN'T TOP THE CHARTS BECAUSE FOR S O M E P A R T I C U L A R R E A S O N IT HAD NO PROMOTION FROM THE SINGER'S RECORD LABEL! ITS SOUND WAS EXTREMELY FRESH AND MATURE (SAMANTHA WORKED WITH THE HOTTEST GROUP AT THAT TIME, C&C MUSIC FACTORY, AMONG ALL THE OTHERS PRODUCERS) AND IT WAS SIMPLY MUCH BETTER THAN SOME OTHER R'N'B ALBUMS THAT WERE RELEASED AT THE SAME TIME BUT HAD A BETTER PROMOTION AND THUS A BETTER LUCK TO THE CHARTS....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$24.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.