Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hybels Motivates Christians to Evangelize
Throughout his book, Just Walk Across the Room, Mega-church pastor Bill Hybels stays on his message that all Christians, labeled "Christ-followers" by Hybels, are "called, equipped, and expected to share the gospel." Sharing the gospel, according to Hybels, is as simple as walking across the room and is powerful enough to impact eternity for those living far away from...
Published on August 23, 2009 by C. Stephans

versus
89 of 122 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Friendship only -- NOT evangelism
What's good about the book:
- Hybels encourages people to have more concern for the lost (though he calls them merely the "unconvinced").
- He rightly points out that the time is very short and the need is urgent.
- He suggests relying on the Holy Spirit in our witnessing.

What's bad about the book:
He follows through on none of this...
Published on August 3, 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do You Want to Fish for Dollars, or Destiny?, April 11, 2012
This review is from: Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith (Hardcover)
This book is really a life-changer. A short review cannot do justice to this simple, but yet immensely encouraging book.

I have found that most believers are reluctant to even talk a walk across the room to greet a stranger. Yet, even this simple step can have life-changing consequences. This simple step can be the start of a life-changing conversation. The author relates numerous stories of some faithful believer making that simple walk, with the goal of loving someone who is lost.

Bill points out that Christians generally make fewer and fewer non-Christian friends the longer they are a believer. I have found this to be a true observation. Don't we tend to cluster around those who are safe? And we certainly don't want to get into any messy relationships with "those" people. Of course, this is the exact opposite of what Jesus did.

Jesus had a real focus on loving people. That's what being a Christian is all about.

The author presents the 3-D approach of: Developing Friendships, Discovering their Stories, then Discerning the leading of the Holy Spirit. I don't think this is really a system--just one way of living-out love for others.

My favorite chapter was on the subject of "Fishing for Dollars, or Fishing for Destinies." Bill encourages the reader to stop focusing on making dollars, and begin fishing for the "Six Footers." As he says it, you can fish for 6-inchers, or you can fish for 6-footers.

Filled with lots of encouraging stories. I bet you will be as encouraged as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book...very inspiring..., December 19, 2009
By 
T. Kingi (Sacramento CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith (Hardcover)
After watching the DVD's on this book I decided to read it also. The book was truly amazing! I read ALOT of books and this one was VERY simple, biblical, and really the nuts & bolts of how to lead people to Christ WITHOUT going outside you're comfort zone. It just reaffirmed my committment to step outside my already "saved friends" and seek out those who are far from God. Thanks Bill for this practical but powerful book! T.Kingi, Vacaville CA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars personal evangelism, July 16, 2009
This review is from: Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith (Hardcover)
Hybels is the pastor at one of the mega-churches, Willow Creek, in the suburbs of Illinois. ANd he's a prolific writer, this book is about personal evangelism. About just walking across the room and taking that chance at introducing the lost to Christ (though sometimes I wonder if Hybels is just wanting to make a sailing buddy). It's a highly readable book that is good for small group study, probably best in that context in fact since the book at times is a little too simplistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Practical, Inspirational Guide to Personal Evangelism, April 12, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith (Hardcover)
This is a great book for Christians who want to share the message of Jesus but are hesitant to get into evangelism. This book contains many practical, yet inspirational ideas to help guide you as you take the message of Jesus to your friends, relatives, associates and neighbors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A practical way to reach the people around you, January 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith (Hardcover)
Most believers are embarrassed, and non-believers are offended by the stereotype of a Christian who beats them over the head with the Bible.

This book shows a different approach, in a way that respects people as individuals. Learn how to take the opportunity to reach out and befriend people, and eventually the opportunities to witness come naturally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Presenting Jesus without a sales pitch, at last!, April 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith (Hardcover)
Our society has trained us to keep our faith to ourselves. Most of us haven't got a clue how to share our faith and most of all do it naturally. We sign up for classes on evangelism that are basically a sales pitch or a system using steps to get people to pray the right words, most of which serve to inoculate people to the good news of Jesus. They feel they have "tried Jesus", when in truth many have said the words to get an over zealous Christian off their back.

This book is all about relationships and the value of people, which happens to co-inside with God's view. He valued us enough to send Jesus to reconcile the world to himself. This book shows how to respect others, love them where they are at and have a chance to make a difference in the lives of those around us. If we love God & really want to share His goodness with those far from God, THIS IS THE WAY TO DO IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book. Highly Recommended, November 27, 2007
By 
John Murphy (Lansing, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith (Hardcover)
As a Christ-follower who struggles with evangelism, Bill Hybel's latest book was very timely. Read the book for the details, but in short, reaching people for Christ involves: getting out of my own comfort zone; loving people where they are; listening to them! (really listening to their story); sensing where the Holy Spirit is moving; and finally realizing that my involvement may only be helping them move a step closer to faith, and that's okay! You won't be sorry for buying and reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Heibels books, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved "Just Walk Across the Room" so much I'm now reading another of Bill's books. They are so easy to read and such a good message. I'm probably going to read many more of his books. Excellent reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered as promised!, December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Clear and practical advice given through sound biblical teaching and creative story-telling. Bill Hybel's down-to-earth approach and openness to his own struggles draws in the participants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! An easy guide for leading others to Christ., December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow! What a book! We are using this at our church to teach others to share their faith in an easy way, and to write a short testimony that fits the guidelines in this book. Thank you Bill Hybels for this book, and for sharing easy steps to guide others to Christ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith
Just Walk Across the Room: Simple Steps Pointing People to Faith by Bill Hybels (Hardcover - June 29, 2006)
$19.99 $16.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.