Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars20
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon August 29, 2002
The Justice Society of America was the premiere superhero group of the 1940s. Now, Wesley Dodds--once known as the crime-fighter the Sandman--falls victim to an old foe who is looking for the Fate-Child, the baby that will grow up to inheirit the mystical garb of Dr. Fate. The elder statesmen of the superhero world gather at Dodds' gravesite. Jay Garrick, the Flash. Ted Grant, Wildcat. Wonder Woman. Hourman, who carries within his synthetic makeup the remnants of Rex "Tick-Tock" Tyler. Alan Scott, the original Green Lantern who now goes by the name Sentinel. Dinah Lance, daughter of the original Black Canary. While attending the funeral of their old friend and comrade-in-arms, the surviving members of the JSA as well as young heroes witness the death of Fate, the man who currently carries the weapons of Dr. Fate. They are attacked by undead warriors Sentinel names as the Sons of Anubis who strive to take the weapons from the dead man. That murder and attack, following so closely on the heels of the death of Wesley Dodds, unites these warriors old and new and brings them face-to-face with a villain that has lived for ages.
David Goyer has become an author of repute. He wrote the screenplay for BLADE and BLADE 2, starring Wesley Snipes, in the movie adaptation of the Marvel Comics hero. He's also written NICK FURY, AGENT OF S.H.I.E.L.D., DARK CITY, and THE PUPPET MASTERS. James Robinson, the co-author of this graphic novel, has written THE GOLDEN AGE, LEGENDS OF THE DARK KNIGHT: BLADES, TERMINATOR, STARMAN, VIGILANTE, and LEAVE IT TO CHANCE . Artists for the first graphic novel gathering the first five issues of the on-going series are Scott Benefiel, Stephen Sadowski, and Derec Aucoin, with inks by Mark Propst and Michael Bair.
A combination of nostalgia and stunning story-telling enhanced by some of the best comics artwork in the business, JSA: JUSTICE BE DONE succeeds as a treat for the eyes and the heart of the long-time comics follower as well as newbies who take an interest in these legends. Goyer and Robinson's character interplay and dialogue works together to bring a depth to the story as well as a richness to their imagined world. The narrative on the panels is taut and driving, voice-overs for the action that explodes from the pages. The full page splashes of heroes like Hawkgirl and Dr. Fate are absolute treasures. Long-time fans of the JSA will enjoy the way the new authors pay homage to Gardner F. Fox, the first of the writers for the series back in the 1940s, when they split the group into teams to send to missions in different parts of the world. That was very much a Gardner Fox plot device. And they play fairly with Roy Thomas, the scribe for INFINITY, INC., who created the character of the Silver Scarab, Hector Hall.
JSA is one of the best books currently being done in the market. Goyer, because of his training in the film world, possess a cameraman's eye for shots, and Robinson's skills lead him into deep and rich characterizations. They compliment each other, but standing apart on different projects shows that each writer is nearly equally as skilled. Readers will note that the writers obviously have a good time playing off of each other. This graphic novel compliation of the first five issues states the JSA's purpose, to thoroughly entertain the reader and dazzle him or her with gorgeous artwork. Comics lovers who haven't yet tuned into the JSA will find this volume is the perfect place to start.
0Comment36 of 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2002
I was very pleasantly surprised by this collection. It was far better than I expected. I am following James Robinsons' Starman trades as they come out and I like them, but I'm not crazy about them. I expected JSA to be as good or maybe a little worse because it just doesn't get the same critical acclaim as Starman. When I read it, I found it to be a lot better and even better than JLA. The characters are all interesting although Sand is probably my least favourite. Its got the best of new and old, some icons and some obscure characters. It has a similar link with the past that Starman has, which is always good because it takes advantage of DC's rich history, which is too often ignored. I have to admit that I was a bit disappointed when they revealed who the new Dr Fate was, but given time he may grow on me. And anyway, at least the helmet and medalion are back! I liked reading about the fate of the original Sandman and this comic is also making me like Wonder Woman (Hipolyta) more! The bad guy is a little [ineffectual], but the plot makes up for it. I also think that it offered a plausible excuse for JSA to reform.
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2002
Thats saying a lot, but it's true. The JSA where the first and set the foundation for all Comic Superhero teams that came after it. (The JLA, X-Men, all of them) This book is sooooo good, soooo well written. I just loved it!
I use to hate the JSA, but now after reading some of writer Geoff John's issues I was converted and now love the JSA! This book contains the first 5 issues, and first secret files, of the new JSA series. This was the most popular and best reformation of the team.
This book features great characters like Star Girl, Hawk Girl, Dr. Fate, Wild Cat, Wonder Woman (Diana's mother), Golden Age Green Lantern and Flash, and also the death of the orginal Sandman and his side kick, now grown up, Sand. (Who becomes leader, and a Sand Like Man, and totally rules!)
Even if you aren't a comic fan, this might be a good start. It's a interesting story, with lots of action. Fans will love this! (Series was voted Best Comic of the Year by Wizard Magazine)
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2003
JSA is one of the best comic titles in print today. This volume collects the first issues of the series. DC has taken its classic hero team introduced during the 40s and modernized it with extraordinary flair.
While steeped in history, Goyer has written this story arc so the reader isn't required to be versed in 60 years of comic adventures. References to the past are made where necessary or flashbacks are cleverly used and well integrated into the story. The story itself is spectacular as these retired heroes, attending the funeral of an old friend, decide to reform the world's first super team to search for the next Dr. Fate.
Sadowski's art is simply breathtaking. There is astounding attention to detail that brings the illustrations alive. He also gives a realistic picture of these aging super beings. They have been around for decades and a paunch here and a wrinkle thrown in there are in sharp contrast to the typical pysically perfect, six pack abs hero that never seems to age.
Not only would I highly recommend this book, but its follow up trade paperbacks and the series itself. This dip into history is time well spent.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2000
Capitalizing on the popularity of the JLA, DC at last managed to pull off a successful revival of the Justice Society, the first super-team in comics. Part of the credit also belongs to James Robinson, the author of the excellent Starman series, and to the fact that the ugly continuity problems that plagued many earlier attempts at revival have been sorted out to a more or less stable, if not always satisfactory, degree. Robinson settles the question of membership (over 20 potential members of the team existed) by killing off several possible candidates, but I think the members he chose are the best ones. The plots and characterization are excellent, as usual for Robinson. It is best if you have some familiarity with the characters, but at any rate, don't miss this series!
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2002
The best super hero team ever. Cranky, old, frustrated, senile and faltering. Just as we remembered them from the great rebirth of the team in the mid seventies, now just a number of years older. But the JSA led the way for every other superhero group, and continue to do so in this compilation TPB. The artwork and color work are first rate, as is the storywriting. It begs repeated readings. If you loved the JSA way back when, you'll love 'em today.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2000
The Justice Society of America (JSA) was Earth's first and original superhero defenders (The Flash, Hawkgirl, Starman, Wildcat, Black Canary) who in the Titan Books graphic novel, JSA: Justice Be Done, are brought back from retirement to once again stand and fight against seemingly overwhelming forces of destruction in the form of an unstoppable foe who emerged from the mists of time to challenge the revived and rejuvenated team. Highly recommended reading for fans who remember these comic book superhero characters with fond nostalgia, JSA: Justice Be Done is the collaborated work of James Robinson, David Goyer and Stephen Sadowski and will aptly serve to introduce these memorable characters to a whole new generation of readers.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2006
JSA: JUSTICE BE DONE is a successful reboot for comicdom's original super-hero team. Writers James Robinson and David Goyer deserve a lot of credit for not only coming up with a good story, but infusing it with the necessary characterization and respect for the team's glorious (and far-reaching) history. The artwork is dynamic and the story streamlined and exciting, culminating in the birth of a new Dr. Fate and a sorcerous showdown with a truly fearsome evil wizard. The revamped JSA features a strong mix of old-timers and up-and-comers, hopefully satisfying fans of the Gold and Silver Age heroes while still giving the new generation of fans some of their own. Though I would have probably preferred a story that simply reintroduced the earliest JSA, that wasn't going to happen in DC's revamped Post-Crisis continuity and what we end up with is still an excellent story with the foundation in place for many more to follow.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2005
This is a very important collection in that it contains the first six issues of the very popular JSA comicbook. It chronicles a new beginning for comicdoms oldest and most revered superteam. James Robinson is an intelligent writer who has love and respect for his characters and it shows.He is ablely supported by screenwriter David Goyer and a trio of above average artists.The individual comics comprising this collection are hard to find and expensive.Highly recommended
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2015
JSA is ushered into the new era by comic historian James Robinson and his writing partner here, David Goyer. While they do a great job introducing young and old to the young and old members of the JSA, there is a lot going on for a first volume. I mean a lot. For those of us who didn't grow up reading DC Comics its difficult at times to take it all in. At times the dialogue is hokey but overall the writing is good. The art, mostly by Stephen Sadowski is fantastic. He's got a plethora of different heroes to draw and handles them well. Overall, its a nice entrance for the JSA into the main stream but overwhelming at times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.