Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie...Highly Recommend
I will give my review without trying to ruin the movie for fans of this genre, this review may contain spoilers, but I will do my best to not go in depth. This movie is a loose adaption of comic book writer Mark Waid's accliamed 2000 miniseries Tower of Babel, with a little bit of the more recent New 52 from DC comics. This film was directed by longtime DC Universe...
Published on February 27, 2012 by J. Lawrence

versus
30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
I've been a JL fan since the 1970s and loved the Bruce Timm produced JL and JL Unlimited series in the early to mid 2000s as well as Bruce Timm's DCAU movies. JL Doom is OK, I don't think it's nearly as good as Justice League Crisis on Two Earths. The story here is has potential but I think the execution could have been better. Two key characterization flaws here. I don't...
Published on March 5, 2012 by Torontodog


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie...Highly Recommend, February 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I will give my review without trying to ruin the movie for fans of this genre, this review may contain spoilers, but I will do my best to not go in depth. This movie is a loose adaption of comic book writer Mark Waid's accliamed 2000 miniseries Tower of Babel, with a little bit of the more recent New 52 from DC comics. This film was directed by longtime DC Universe veteran Lauren Montgomery who was also responsible for bringing us Wonder Woman and Green Lantern: First Flight, which just happens to be one of my all time favorite animated movies.

This movie like all the previous animated movies are a animated feature which are always nice and has the feel to it of the Justice League animated series series. This film also introduces Cyborg which is a character some people might not be familiar with, even though he was a hugely popular character in the animated cartoon series of Teen Titans and has had some good success in comics recently, and is a nice change of pace to the story. This film does a good job of plot twists and those not familiar with the Babel story will be shocked at some of the things that happen.

The film is rated PG-13 like the other films that DC has released so parents with younger kids should be aware that it is given this rating not only for intense action and some blood, but several of the heroes weaknesses are used against them in a dark way, and some are tortured, so there is some emotional drama going on that you do not previously see in the other animated films. You also have the usual Superman beating up on villains type of action. The basic premise of this movie is what would happen if villains new about each members of the Justice Leagues greates vulnerabilities and knew exactly how to exploit them all in a plot to get rid of them for a even more sinister plan. Even worse, how did they find out about their weaknesses and come up with the plans necessary to make it happen? You have to watch this movie to fid out.

Longtime fans will be excited to know that Justice League: Doom boasts a lot of voice veterans that they will be familar with. Tim Daly (Superman), the great Kevin Conroy (Batman), Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Michael Rosenbaum (Flash), Carly Lumbly (Martion Manhunter), and the newest addition of Bumper Robinson (Cyborg). For the hardocre fnas it has what they believe to be the best Green Lantern in Hal Jordan voiced by Nathan Fillion, and fans of the Justice League animated series and Justice League Unlimited will recognize some of the villains in Mirror Master and Vandal Savage.

My final review is I found the movie highly entertaining and hope that they continue to make movies like this. I do wish that these movies were longer, maybe even feature film length in the 2 hr range, or at the very least the 90 min range escpecially with the PG-13 rating and darker content it is possibly geared more towards adults and pre-teens and they are trying to find the right mixture of violence/action for the adults that they can still watch with their children, with that said, another 20 minutes would have been perfect because they do such a great job of setting things up to it to only feel rushed in other parts. I found the animation to be on par with the previous films, and in Blu Ray it looks even better.

I recommend this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in a decade?, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (Amazon Instant Video)
In a series of videos based on important comic story lines, this one stands out. What I like about this is each character was depicted accurately showcasing his or her strengths and weaknesses. The story was a solid one back when it was first printed, and the writers did a good job transferring it to the screen. The director did a good job taking the audience through the action scenes and plot points, and it was nice to have the voice talents back from the 90's animated series.

I also really enjoyed the character design. The stylization was just enough the make the drawings more handsome.

This movie and JLA: The New Frontier are my 2 favorite DC releases over the last 12 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, March 5, 2012
I've been a JL fan since the 1970s and loved the Bruce Timm produced JL and JL Unlimited series in the early to mid 2000s as well as Bruce Timm's DCAU movies. JL Doom is OK, I don't think it's nearly as good as Justice League Crisis on Two Earths. The story here is has potential but I think the execution could have been better. Two key characterization flaws here. I don't like how Wonder Woman is de-powered so much here. In Crisis on Two Earths she fought toe-to-toe and eventually got the better of the evil superwoman who was knocking Superman around. Here Diana can barely hold her own strength-wise against Cheetah and it appears they took her ability to fly away. I'd say they made her barely as strong as Spiderman compartively speaking here. The other big characterization flaw is how the Flash is portrayed. In this movie he is Barry Allen, police scientist (well CSI officer here). But the Flash is portrayed as wisecracking, and somewhat immature ...a hallmark of Wally West's personality which was well established and consistent in the JL/JLU TV series. That is not Barry Allen's personality. I agree with others in that I'm glad they used a main villan other than Luthor/Joker. Vandal Savage was a good choice. The fight sequences here aren't as good as Crisis on Two Earths. The way Hal Jordan was defeated was interesting. Despite its flaws if you are a JL fan you should watch this and despite my lukewarm reception to this movie I hope they keep making these movies because these films are a great escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best One In Quite a While (4.5 stars), March 21, 2012
By 
This review is from: Justice League: Doom (Amazon Instant Video)
While I found the last five or six of these DC efforts subpar, I think the producers did a great job with this one. The animation was good, the story was very good, the acting and direction excellent, and the dialogue outstanding. I was really pleased to find the (correct, IMHO) voices of Tim Daly and Kevin Conroy in place as Superman and Batman. I thought the action sequences were convincing, and there were nice topical references here and there, e.g., regarding the economy and moribund newspaper industry. Both the JLA members and the bad guys spoke and behaved logically almost all the time. Overall, an entertaining and intelligent production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm glad I bought it. I'd watch it again., February 23, 2012
Is Waid's story better? Heck yes! Did this movie do a good job of giving the general gist of what ToB was supposed to be about with only 77 minutes? Again, yes. If you only have enough money to buy one or the other, buy ToB. However, if you can spare a few extra bucks, I recommend getting this movie as well.

Moving into the movie, I liked the new plans/altered plans that Batman came up with in this film just as much (if not more) than ToB and so have no problem with the changes. In fact, Bane beating Bruce's a** was one of the more wonderful parts of the movie.

Overall, the plot wasn't amazing (again, 77 minutes) but for what they had it told a decent story. (Remember, ToB didn't just span its 4 issues, but was also told with follow-up JL issues and it even had repercussions for the younger heroes like Robin in Young Justice.)

Also, for those fans in-the-know, there were several hints throughout the movie to previous things that had happened in the comics (Bane, anyone?) which I'm just nerdy enough to get a real kick out of.

The artwork was great and it looks as if they were drawn by the same person that does Young Justice. The music is again by Christopher Drake and the main theme is a sort of remix from the awesome Crisis on Two Earths song.

One thing I did find odd is that Flash is Barry Allen but voiced by Michael Rosenbaum (who voices Wally in the Justice League cartoons). Nothing wrong with that since I do like Michael's voice, but it threw me for a loop until they definitely confirmed that it was Barry and not Wally as the Flash.

In case anyone is wondering, the line-up is such: Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash (Barry, obviously), Green Lantern (Hal), Cyborg (not a member of the JL, for you whiners!). For baddies you have Vandal Savage, Bane, Cheetah, Mirror Master, Star Sapphire, Metallo, & Ma'alefa'ak, as well as a minor appearance from the Royal Flush Gang. As much as I love Luthor and Joker, I'm glad they decided to go for some different villains for once.

As for the special features (on the Blu-Ray), the ones I've seen so far were just ok. The preview of Superman vs. the Elite was cool and I can't wait for it, but the Guarding the Balance: Batman and the JLA had more commentary about American history and politics than Batman. :( The episodes that Bruce Timm Presents are Wild Cards Part 1 & 2, which is cool but I already own the entire Justice League series. I haven't watched the other features yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOOM Is A Fine Justice League Addition, February 29, 2012
By 
frankbif "frankbif" (Wesley Hills, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Top-quality voice narration, great Blu-Ray picture quality, a good story, decent features - there's not much to dislike in this latest addition to the JUSTICE LEAGUE series. The storyline is good, there is plenty of action, and you don't need to be a JL fanatic to appreciate or understand the storyline and characters. And in one of the best improvements - maybe the folks at DC or Warner actually read their e-mails ?? - the Bruce Timm-selected cartoon episodes were upconverted so the picture quality is light-years improved from previous offerings on earlier Blu-Ray releases. The cartoons fill a Hi-Def TV screen naturally and are almost as rich in detail as the movie.

If you are like me and a fan of the old "Legion Of Doom" episodes from the 1970's and 1980's, or even the recent incarnation from JUSTICE LEAGUE, then "DOOM" remains faithful to the original: a group of super criminals collaborate together to take down the Justice League and wreak havoc on Earth. That said, you have Vandal Savage and not Lex Luthor leading the group, and the super villains here are mostly 2nd or 3rd level super criminals (I did not know who "Vandar Aag" was since he never appeared in earlier cartoon series). Kevin Conroy, Tim Daly, Susan Eisenberg, and Michael Rosenbaum all reprise their characters from the JUSTICE LEAGUE series (not sure why Flash is Barry Allen and not Wally West, though I was glad they kept Rosenbaum for a slightly different DC timeline). Bumper Robinson does a good job voicing Cyborg; I wouldn't mind seeing more of him in future movies. The only storyline that was a bit confusing was the relationship between Carol Ferris/Star Sapphire and Green Lantern; this was never covered in the recent JUSTICE LEAGUE series so unless you read GL comic books you might be a bit confused over those scenes, small as they are.

That said, there are a few annoyances with the way the disk is outlined. First, I am getting tired of having useless promos and advertisements load before I can get to the Main Menu. Second, don't give me promos about other TV or cartoon series coming out on DVD or Blu-Ray -- if they want to entice people to buy them, put a free episode on the disk, maybe even Part 1 of a 2-part episode. Most people buying the disks are already fans of the other cartoon series so we have either seen the shows or purchased the DVD's/Blu-Ray's. Third, while there is a 2-part JUSTICE LEAGUE episode ("Wild Cards") included, there is plenty of space on the 2-disks to include more episodes from that series or from some of the newer series.

A few minor quibbles: If you are going to create a movie called "DOOM", I bet some of the older buyers wouldn't mind seeing the old cartoons from the 1970's or 1980's included, which featured The Legion Of Doom. If there are future movies playing on older cartoon themes, then include those cartoons for nostalgic fans. The artwork is out of the current YOUNG JUSTIC format; I still prefer the art style from the recent JUSTICE LEAGUE series on Cartoon Network. Phil Morris (aka "Jackie Chiles" from SEINFELD) does good work voicing Vandal Savage but considering he actually played the Martian Manhunter on SMALLVILLE I would not have minded him voicing the same character here. Claudia Black ("Vala" from STARGATE: ATLANTIS) does good work here as Cheetah.

Pros: Action-packed movie with good story, decent bonus features, DVD disc basically `free' with the Blu-Ray purchase, digital comic included, nice Dwayne McDuffie tribute, upconverted JUSTICE LEAGUE cartoon episodes.

Cons: Could have more cartoon freebies, annoying disk interface leading to previews and purchases, ultra-violet feature of little use to anybody but tech geeks, very drab Main Menu interface

Overall, a quality addition to the DC Comics/JUSTICE LEAGUE universe, and the improvements outweight my personal dislikes which will not be shared by all JUSTICE LEAGUE and DC Comics fans. You definitely get your money's worth with this purchase, and the decade of continuity from Bruce Timm and Andrea Romano and the other folks behind the scenes is most appreciated. And yes....LOVE those upconverted JUSTICE LEAGUE cartoons - keep `em coming !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD STORY, TYPICAL ANIMATION, March 3, 2012
By 
MR. KENT (SEATTLE, WA.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
JUSTICE LEAGUE:DOOM is by far one of the best plots for the League yet. To see the depths of Batmans parinoia brought to light in such a ugly and twisted way. Then to realize that even though it was a betrayal most vile...it was needed. This was a dark and adult look into the world of the League and, it should have been treated as so. When oh WHEN will the creators of this series realize that there is an adult market for this an make a series just for us? Create and market a League movie just for adults and then, do a MUCH better job of animation. My suggestion would be getting the animators that did the BOONDOCKS episode "The Red Ball".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Saw' meets the Justice League, March 3, 2013
If you've seen one Justice League movie you've seen 'em all, right? It's amazing how the stakes can seem so meaningless even when they're so high. See the Justice League fight off an alien invasion; see the Justice League fight off an extradimensional invasion; see the Justice League...you get the idea. "Justice League: Doom" breaks the mold by making things very, very personal. Add in the fact that it features the DC Animated Universe voice cast and you have a recipe for a very different kind of Justice League cartoon.

"Doom," doesn't just take on the Justice League, it deconstructs each of its members. It's one thing to beat Batman (Kevin Conry) up, but quite another to bury him alive with the corpses of his parents. We all know the Martian Manhunter (Carl Lumbly) is vulnerable to fire, but what would happen to him if he was set perpetually ablaze? In a lot of ways the fate that befalls each of the Justice League feel like a throw-down between two elementary school comic fans: anybody can beat Superman (Tim Daly) with a kryptonite bullet, right?

What makes "Justice League: Doom" so much fun is how it takes common horror movie plots and applies them to superheroes. Flash (Michael Rosenbaum) gets trapped in a "Speed"-like diabolical trap in which he can never slow down without exploding. Filling this Jigsaw-esque role is Vandal Savage (Phil Morris), the DC universe's resident Dr. Phibes.

If that was all there was to "Doom," it would merely be a noteworthy addition to the DC Animated Universe. "Doom" is also a tongue-in-cheek throwback to the cheesy animated series, "Challenge of the Superfriends" and the Legion of Doom, complete with domed fortress and an unlikely agreement to work together to take down the Justice League. Hilarity ensues.

Unfortunately not every diabolical plot is up to "Saw"-level standards: Green Lantern's (Nathan Fillion) is particularly nuanced and Wonder Woman's (Susan Eisenberg) seems to be far-fetched to say the least. But the denouement makes it all worth it when we discover who the real diabolical genius behind all these evil plans are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story and character's only to be outshined by the Bat!, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Vandal Savage is a great villian and this movie does him a decent justice in showing how extreme he is compared to the majority of villians. As well, this movie is a great example of how flawed the JLA really is and that none of them are invincible by any means. Their flaws were legitimately exposed without it being too far fetched, for the most part. As well, it shows the flaws of the villian's in which they always would rather have their counterparts suffer before death, as well, they are proven to be far less extreme compared to those like Vandal Savage. The art is what I expected from a DC movie, not incredible, but still good nonetheless. This story is one of the best and personal favorites and was shown pretty well throughout this movie. Batman once again reigns supreme as it should be. Although he is only human, Batman has one strength the rest don't have in that he literally is a one man fail-safe, as the basis of the storyline, that never lets emotion or trust take place of reason. Ultimately, emotion is a key weakness in all of the heroes and lack there of is one of Batman's greatest strengths. The only gripe is the fight sequence towards the end, as another reviewer pointed out, showcases the JLA all fighting their counterparts once again. Still enjoyable don't get me wrong, but instead, it should've been mixed and matched to show how well the JLA works together and needs one another. All in all, still a good movie and thoroughly enjoyable. As a true Bat Fan, I was impressed with the true showcase to all that makes the Bat so great and the JLA incomplete without him. I highly recommend this DC movie and is at the top of my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable Movie and Pre-52 DVD Collectible, September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the first Justice League movie I had to see twice. My first viewing took place immediately after I received it. When I finished, I delayed submitting my review. Then, when I was ready, I learned Dwayne McDuffie had passed. Again, I delayed my submission to properly mourn a writer that breathed so much life into the Justice League mythology, no other animated screenplay writer could have done a better job. Then, DC Comics created the New 52. I postponed my review yet again to give this revamped DC Universe a chance. I viewed the movie a second time so I could contrast the pre-52 and new 52 Justice Leagues (yes, I have seen Justice League: War).

Justice League Doom had a promising start. I enjoyed hearing the voices of Kevin Conroy, Tim Daly, Susan Eisenberg, Michael Rosenbaum and Carl Lumbly. Their voice-over performances took me back to the Justice League and Justice League Unlimited animated series. I have to admit, though, it was peculiar viewing Barry Allen (Flash) in action with Wally West's voice. While the plot was more ideal for a JL or JLU two-part episode and lacked the cinematic intrigue of Justice League: Crisis of Two Earths, it reminded me of why I will always prefer the pre-52 Justice League over the new-52 JL. The heroes of Justice League Doom have a camaraderie so powerful, a betrayal of trust could not prevent them from collectively performing the one task they carry out ably: saving the world.

I would recommend this movie to fans of the pre-52 Justice League that consisted of superheroes with the capacity to be both exemplary teammates and comrades that safeguarded the world and each other from the DC Universe's abundant representations of entropy and anarchy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Justice League: Doom
Justice League: Doom by Lauren Montgomery
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.