Customer Reviews


783 Reviews
5 star:
 (527)
4 star:
 (142)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really surprised me
This movie is just plain good. I did not particularly enjoy the comic series or the aftermath with the New 52, but this movie was so much better than I expected. It made the story more cohesive and understandable. Like many others, I was very happy to see a Flash movie, though I do miss Wally West! This is a must for any comic fan but be forewarned: this movie is violent...
Published 13 months ago by Darth Yoshi

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very violent movie and should be rated pg-17 or more.
This movie reminds me of japanese anime. If you are looking for the traditional old school Superfriend type move this is not for you. There are numerous people that are killed! This is not for young children or the sensitive! I really liked the movie and the idea that changing the past can have dire consequences. If you like R rated movies with action and are not put off...
Published 6 months ago by d. daniels


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really surprised me, July 18, 2013
This movie is just plain good. I did not particularly enjoy the comic series or the aftermath with the New 52, but this movie was so much better than I expected. It made the story more cohesive and understandable. Like many others, I was very happy to see a Flash movie, though I do miss Wally West! This is a must for any comic fan but be forewarned: this movie is violent. This is a modern tale of the super hero genre. Kids need to watch something like All-Star Superman. I put this up there with Under the Red Hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for young children!, July 20, 2013
This review is from: Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie is amazing - but be warned, it is probably the most violent animated Justice league film I have seen. The PG-13 rating on this is no joke...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is a Justice League movie, July 21, 2013
This review is from: Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm a sucker for alternate universe stories, given how they allow characters we all know to go outside the boundaries of how they are written and this movie does not disappoint. Gritty, violent and fun. You will not be disappointed. I hope DC keeps cranking these out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say "Goodbye" to Everything You Knew, August 1, 2013
This review is from: Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
No spoilers.

The Flash wakes up in a world counting down to doomsday, and he's the only one that can stop it.

It's amazing what they managed to accomplish in only 81 minutes. It's as good as any episode of Justice League Unlimited. You should be cautious, because it is very bloody. Don't let the kids see this one. It's based off the Graphic Novel Flashpoint by Geoff Johns and Andy Kubert. Unlike previous adaptations, they didn't try to imitate the art by Andy Kubert, instead they used the "house style" from Studio 4C, the Japanese Animation Studio responsible (most recently) for the Berserk movies. You can see it in the bits of CGI throughout the film. It looks fantastic, and you can also spot all sorts of character models carried over from Young Justice.

Seriously, let me reiterate, don't let kids watch this because no one is "safe."

If I can say one thing, that is I really like Cyborg in this. Previously, Cyborg's inclusion really felt like a token gesture. This movie, I feel, really legitimizes his inclusion in the Justice League. But, besides that, it really is a Flash centric story. We get so few movies that don't focus on Superman or Batman, hopefully this will prove that other heroes can carry films. I really love this movie.

Extras on the Bluray include

Audio Commentary with the Writer (Jim Kreig), Director (Jay Olivia), Producer (James Tucker), and the original author of the comic (Geoff Johns). I loved this commentary track.

A Flash in Time - A short featurette about the possibility of time travel. Honestly, it's not that informative. That's what happens when you try to explain theoretical physics in layman's terms. It's 20 minutes I'll never get back.

My Favorite Villain! The Flash Bad Guys - a 20-minutes look at the Flash's Rogues with Geoff Johns.

Four episodes: "Flash and Substance" featuring the Rogues from Justice League Unlimited, "Legends" parts 1&2 from Justice League, which is about alternate dimensions, and "Requiem for a Scarlet Speedster" from Batman the Brave and the Bold featuring the three people to use the name the Flash.

And a Sneak Peak at Justice League War, a reboot of the Justice League.

Trailers and a digital comic pad out the disk.

If you love Justice League, you'll love this movie. If you're a fan of the Flash, you're gonna love this movie. If you're a fan of all of these DC-Movies, here another fantastic movie. For a great story, great animation, and some real nice bonus features, I give Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox a perfect 5-out-of-5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DC On Parade, July 23, 2013
By 
This review is from: Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Overall, DC Animated has done an excellent job of bringing numerous DC characters and stories to DVD/Blu-Ray over the past several years. It's great to see these characters become more accessible to a wider audience. Unfortunately, too many focus on the Big Two (Superman and Batman), but ignore the rest. Yet the DC Universe is a deep one with numerous great characters and stories.

Here we find a great story set in an alternate timeline - something that DC does quite well. And it centers on the character that launched the Silver Age of Comics, Barry Allen's The Flash.

This is a violent DC adaptation, but not gratuitous. The film is well paced and plotted. It may be necessary to know a few things about standard DC fare, like who Superman and Batman are and a bit about their backstories, though I'd guess that just about everyone knows those.

If you're a DC fan, you'll be giddy to see alternate versions of favorites - Black Manta, Cyborg, Batman, etc.

Yet at the heart of this is a story and a great one at that. The beginning and end are tied together so well. We also get to see the main character, Barry Allen as The Flash, grow from beginning to end. There's action and consequences of those actions throughout. You'll be left with something to think about and a desire to watch it again.

This animated film also touches on the possibilities for a Justice League live action film, but also for a film of The Flash - and one is rumored to follow the next Superman flick (featuring Batman! Yay!). When you see Flash run up a tall building, jump, glide across a helicopter blade, bounce off a building, and run on top of the water - well, you can see the cinematic possibilities of seeing his powers on display. The Flash is so much more than just a speedster. He may be the most powerful of all the DC stable of heroes. I'm glad to see him at the center of a great DC Animated film finally. Here's hoping for a great live action adaptation.

This one is worth your time and money. It's near the top of the heap of the DC Animated Universe, maybe just a notch below The Dark Knight Returns. I recommend it, though I'd be wary with kids that are too young. Watch it first before you let them see it.

And look into the other DC Animated movies if you haven't had the chance to enjoy them. There's a great world out there to watch and it's never too late to discover all that DC's characters have to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a Serious Flash Super Hero Movie..., July 18, 2013
By 
C. Shultz (Anchorage, AK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes.....this is by far the first serious Flash Movie and the way they did it with an alternate reality was super cool because it has great story line. I would put it up there with the resent Dark Knight Returns movie with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, August 9, 2013
This review is from: Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
3rd best DC Animated Universe movie, right behind Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker and The Dark Knight Returns. This movie is epic, with more violence than any previous animated DC venture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GETTING BETTER AND MORE GROWN UP, August 15, 2013
By 
MR. KENT (SEATTLE, WA.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Violence, blood and a harsh story line that is unflinching and brutal. Its about time. From the war brought on by an affair between Wonder Woman and Aquaman that leads to the decapitation of Aquamans wife. Then this new, dark version of Batman (If you can even say that about the Dark Knight) who actually uses GUNS to a world that is without the Green Latern. I will actually buy this movie from Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Amazon for letting us view this film earlier., July 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow, this film blew me away. It had me interested from beginning to end. It is one of their most creative and daring films. Not to mention that it shows Flash as a central character with major importance in the story line. It is dark, pessimistic and violent at times: thank you. Thank you for keeping your films real, realistic. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I waited for this release with eager anticipation and I wasn't disappointed. The movie flowed well with the Flash as the main character as well as the alternate Batman who was Bruce Wayne's father in this version. This is also Flash story, so you would have to know a little something about the villains and supporting cast around the Flash. I'm also speaking on the Barry Allen Flash, and not the Wally West Flash which is going back at least 20 or even 30 years. I have not followed a Flash series since the 80s. However, I think the story does a decent job explaining these characters if your not familiar with the Flash characters.

But this isn't just about the Flash, this is really a crazy version about what if you change something in your life. Does it effect other people around you, even your closest friends? Clearly, the answer is yes in this movie. This starts with Flash as he saves his mom from being murdered only to find the World on the brink of World War 3. Aquaman and Wonder Woman are main the antagonists here who use their empires to plunge the Earth into chaos. Superman also is found hidden away by the United States Government as a socially crippled man treated like some science experiment gone array. In this alternate reality of Superman, his rocket crashed in Metropolis that killed thousands, instead of crashing in rural Kanas where no one was hurt. Thus, from childhood, Superman is raised in a harsh government facility instead of the farm life of his loving adoptive parents, the Kents.

I don't want to ruin the movie for you, but reading up the Flashpoint comic book series would help understand some of these changes. I think the movie stayed on point and told an effective story, even better than the comic books. I would rate this as well done. I just wished than more detail would have went into the war between Wonder Woman and Aquaman. They really only briefly touched on the reasons behind the war, which in my opinion weren't enough of an explanation. Cyborg was a pleasant character who seem to be the most level headed hero in this world. The Thomas Wayne Batman was great, as a doctor turned crime fighter, with even a more ruthless moral code than his son Bruce who was murdered that night in the dark alley instead of Thomas and his wife, which the movie clearly hints as her being the Joker.

I also wish more time could have spent on Thomas Wayne's world since he was also a main character in this movie. Here, unlike Bruce Wayne who projected the playboy image, Thomas alter ego as casino tycoon was a bit more rough edged, since running a few casinos in Gotham City which put him at a greater financial pressure on his business and as a crime fighter. Thomas partially explained this on his Bat plane when he flew the Flash, Cyborg, and the Shazam kids to Europe, to confront Aquaman and Wonder Woman. The Batman Flashpoint comic books were fun to read. They could have used some of that material too.

The Reverse Flash is excellently portrayed in this film as the main villain. I don't think he really ever got his due on the screen until now. I really enjoyed the final scenes as Flash battled Reverse Flash. I think an origin story might have came in handy on the Reverse Flash but with so much going on, clearly there would have been no where to fit it. I would recommend this animated movie as a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox [Blu-ray]
$24.98 $17.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.