Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 26, 2008
This retelling of the origin of the Justice League has been one of the best feature film from DC Comics that I have seen thus far. It's original and has many elements that make it a movie that I would watch more than once.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
loved the movie and came in great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2008
I prepared myself with the knowledge that New Frontier wouldn't measure up to the book. But, this is true of almost any book to film adaptation.

What did I love? First off, I loved the Flash. I totally want DC to produce a cartoon version of Flash for tv. I enjoy Wally on JLU, but this interpretation made him into someone I could truly root for. He is a man who is fearful but driven...with a splash of humility and humor. It didn't matter that he was Barry...he could have been Wally or Jay or Bart. The main thing seen here is respect to the man beneath the mask. The Flash in New Frontier is a true hero and I can see why his hometown would honor him with a museum. The Flash was the best part of this movie.

Hal Jordan was also great. It's funny how perfectly David Boreanaz was for the part. It almost seemed like the animators made Hal resemble the popular Angel and Bones actor. In the opening job interview scene at the restaurant, with Carol, he looked just like Boreanaz. Or does Boreanaz just resemble Hal? Whatever the answer, it was a perfect voice performance. Hal was the second best part of the film. He was actually Hal more than GL and I didn't care. They made Hal a true hero and, maybe for the first time ever, truly felt connected to the character. I've always connected with Jon and Kyle more. This is a watershed moment for Hal Jordan in animation.

What else did I love? J'onn was amazing. I loved him in JLU, but here he was just as heroic. It's cool how he almost seemed more human than Batman. (Who, was also done very well. He had more of a secondary role here. Which is fine. Usually Batman steals the show. It was nice to see Flash and GL get the spotlight.) I also LOVED Wonder Woman!!!!

Lucy Lawless is ideal as the voice of Diana. I hope they keep her for the upcoming WW dvd they are doing. She was tough but had a sense of humor as well. Her determination and bravery was well done in her all too brief scenes. My first complaint is that I wanted to see more of this Diana. The invisible plane moment was cool and I liked when she took over for Superman in leading the troops. (Nice to see the Blackhawks and Adam Strange get cameos as well.)

Also, the History of the Justice League extra on disc one is a must see. Mark Waid and Stan Lee were my favorites. This is a great introduction to the DCU for new fans.

New Frontier isn't close to being as good as the book, but, as a tribute and a way to lure viewers to the comic version, I say it's pretty darn perfect. Major kudos to DC for including a leaflet in the dvd advertising the graphic novel of NF. The animation is done with love and the voice acting is perfect. An extra 20 minutes would have been nice to flesh out the story a bit, but, as is, it is still worth everyone's time. Don't watch New Frontier to see what they cut out...just enjoy it for what it is: a rollicking, action packed adventure that celebrates the DC Universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2008
Lifeless, dull, boring and done before? If those words entice you then go ahead and buy this. Really this was just a bad idea that actually came out worse that I had thought it would. The original graphic novel is among the most overrated comics that I can recall. Its a tired, boring formula of going back reintroducing everyone in a different era with slight differences tossed in. Here you have literally no character development and just an empty headed mass villain mess for them to fight.

I do like the way they did Wonder Woman and the Martian Manhunter but other than that the other guys are the same more or less (read less). The voice overs are not very good and the choices (outside of WW and MM which are both great) are nothing to write home about.

They need to dig deeper and find better works to adapt or these direct to DVD movies will unfortunately die a quick death. They could have and should have done a lot better than this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2010
The movie itself, I felt suffered from the lack of an interesting enemy. Too misc & undefined.

The history in the bonus section was interesting or it would be a 2 star movie from me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2008
This is an amazing film, and the message behind the story is something that a post 9/11 America needs to hear. Setting the story during America's Red Scare period (first communism, then terrorism..), this Justice League story about how the heroes band together to fight not just a powerful super creature but the fear and suspicion of ordinary people.

Most notable is the juxtaposition of origins of the Martian Manhunter and Superman; the "Bad" alien vs. the "good" alien. The Flash subplot also reinforces this "judging by outward appearances" theme (a guy in a bar says "Flash must be a commie, always wearing red.."). The Red Scare is depicted here as well, Batman is treated as a villian and Superman and Wonder Woman are forced to sign "Loyalty Oaths" - deeds are not enough, formally stating that you are a "good American" is necessary.

The best part of the film is the end, when all the heroes unite to fight "The Center" (a reference to William Butler Yeats, "The Second Coming"?), a giant monster with psychic powers. The heroes convince the army to drop the Left Wing-Right Wing arguments and unite with the heroes to fight the common enemy. A very good speech indeed.

Buy this DVD, even if you are not a Justice League fan.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2008
The movie itself was nicely done and it shows the origins of green lantern, Martian Manhunter and others. My main complaint is thats the movie is a bit on the short-side, about 75 mins, and at times it feels like they are rushing the story along.
I give the movie itself about 3 1/2 stars (maybe 4 on a good day), but what really saves this product is the extras, 2 commentaries, a very well done history of the Justice league(and pretty much superhero comics in general), 3 entire episodes of Justice League Unlimited, and an in depth sneak peek at the upcoming release of Batman: Gotham Knight.
Overall its a good movie packed with some great extras and it's a must have for fans of the DC universe.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
Was fun.. but that's about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
excellent work by darwyn cooke
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2008
Saw this movie on Saturday and was blown away.
YES if you have not read the book things may be slightly confusing but like the creators said at Wondercon, this was made for the fans. People who appreciate DC, Bruce Tom and love serious and faithful takes on these characters. I shall be purchasing this bluray disc version the day it comes out.
Also thumbs WAY UP on the killer soundtrack.
Overall it may be a bit too stylised for some haters but people who love or appreciate atomic age/pulpfiction/Superhero style visuals and love Superman/Batman Wonderwoman/Greenlantern should take a look at this.
Also one of the coolest interpretations of Batman, from his voice to is lines, just wicket.
4 stars, minus one for possible confusion among non DC/comic readers. This is a super faithful adaption of New Frontier and a trillion times better than the Superman Doomsday which I did not like.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.