Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good animation and character interaction but...
As the ads for the original comic book said, Just Imagine! Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman and more on one team. Well, actually as a child of 1970s, I can imagine it quite easily. On TV, it was called The Superfriends. But in the comics, these heroes were The Justice League. Now, they are back!
This DVD is the first three episodes of a new cartoon series which at...
Published on April 26, 2002 by Allen W. Wright

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Justice League
I haven't watched this type of program since the late `60s, early `70s. I have fond memories of most DC comic heroes and was curious to see how they've evolved in one-plus generations.

My first impression was that the acceptable, if unspectacular, animation is much better than it was in the earlier incarnation, especially the backgrounds. Took me a while to...
Published on November 12, 2004 by Steven Hellerstedt


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good animation and character interaction but..., April 26, 2002
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
As the ads for the original comic book said, Just Imagine! Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman and more on one team. Well, actually as a child of 1970s, I can imagine it quite easily. On TV, it was called The Superfriends. But in the comics, these heroes were The Justice League. Now, they are back!
This DVD is the first three episodes of a new cartoon series which at the moment isn't being shown in my country of Canada.
First the good, the cartoon is exciting. It's a fast-moving plot -- which as others have stated owes a debt to Wells's War of the Worlds (as well as some Justice League comic books, where the invaders were White Martians and Apellaxians.)
For an action-driven movie, the character interplay is very good. Flash is an impulsive joker, Green Lantern a military type, Hawkgirl a fierce warrior. Relatively simple characterization but they blend fairly well.
And I like the composition of the team. With several Green Lanterns to choose from, they picked John Stewart. I see that a former reviewer complained about this. Well, essentially, GL is just a name and a power. So, why not pick the black (or African American, as Americans say) one? The same with Hawkgirl? I really don't see the big deal here. It makes sense. After all, Kryptonians and Thanagarians and Martians --- well, that really isn't diversity.
My problems? Well, the plot is a bit thin. I think this comes from being a "widescreen" (well, full frame in this case) epic battle. But the bigger problem? I know who John Stewart is (originally a social activist with a chip on his shoulder, and an architect). I know who the Wally West Flash is. But I doubt the non-comics reader does. Sure, the DVD has a character bio section. But I think with newcomer Wonder Woman, someone could have given her a brief description of the heroes. It's called Secret Origins, but really, the only origin we get is J'Onn J'Onnz's origin. I'm not even sure anyone ever calls Green Lantern by his superhero name once.
But if their names don't come through, their characters do. Much more sharply than they did on the old Superfriends.
Still... my biggest problem? That it doesn't contain all those cool adventures I've been hearing about? Manhunters? The Injustice Gang? A Pseudo-Earth 2? Metamorpho? Bring them on!
Oh, and as for the person who said this was DC's answer to the X-Men? Well, the Justice League came first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't explore the characters? Yes it does., March 2, 2002
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
I don't get what anyone says about it not exploring the characters. Of course we're not going to see them out of costume very often, because most of them don't know each other's secret identity, but there is a lot of character development. "Secret Origins" is basically a meeting of each and they all learn each others basic personality. Not deep delving, but it is development. We learn that Green Lantern is a rigid military type, Wonder Woman is a rookie, Batman isn't a team player, etc. The whole story is about J'Onn J'Onzz (the martian) and goes into his character and background quite a bit. The other episodes that have come along have been mostly about a specific character. In "In Blackest Night" there is a lot of development and backstory for Green Lantern. "Paradise Lost" is all about Wonder Woman, her mother, and her home. "The Enemy Below" didn't give you much about any of the main characters, but it did develop Aquaman immensely as a guest star. I'll buy any of these on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's give credit where credit is due!, March 16, 2002
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
Inasmuch as we have become a world of readers whose reading is limited to the latest offering from J.K. Rowling, John Grisham, or Stephen King, we seem to have forgotten the authors of classic literature. Obviously Lukic and company realize this and decided to loosely adapt the "Justice League" pilot on one of the greatest novels in science fiction history: H.G.Wells' "The War of the Worlds."
Making variations in Wells' original, the invaders are not Martians, but unnamed aliens that decimated Mars years before, thus enabling the storyline to introduce J'onn J'onzz, the Martian Manhunter. Each of the remaining superheroes is more familiar to the viewing audience; due to their various television incarnations of the past, little "introduction" is required.
The animation is adequate; the voiceover talent is comparable to the exemplary acting of the previous WB animated shows of recent years. The brilliant Kevin Conroy returns as Batman, showing that 10 years under the "cowl" is still his domain.
For lovers of comic books and quality-animated storytelling, this DVD is a worthy effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE WORLD'S GREATEST HEROES DEBUT, March 25, 2002
By 
KEN HOLTZHOUSER (MATTOON, ILLINOIS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
At last,the talented folks who brought such award-winning cartoons to the screen as BATMAN :the animated series,SUPERMAN and BATMAN BEYOND have turned their talents to DC Comics premiere superteam,THE JUSTICE LEAGUE.This latest incarnation brings the pleasant saturday morning memories of the SUPERFRIENDS in line with the depth and richness of modern storytelling.In the debut adventure,SECRET ORIGINS,we follow Batman and Superman into a crisis that may well be beyond their talents to contain.They (and we)are introduced to several exciting new heroes including Wonder Woman,Green Lantern,the Flash,Hawkgirl and pivital to this adventure,The Martian Manhunter.The story is engageing and the animation is crisp.I loved seeing these classic characters re-invented for a new millenium.Forget the X-men and other jonny-come-lately superheroes,the JUSTICE LEAGUE is what all superheroes hope to be when they grow up.I'm happy to see some of the greatest icons of comics history in glorious adventures.Somewhere in the world,kids are playing Justice League on the playground and there's plenty of cool heroes to go around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your father's Superfriends.....I mean Justice League, May 1, 2002
By 
Hazen B Markoe (St. Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
After the success of its Batman, Superman, and Batman Beyond cartoons, it was only a matter of time before Bruce Timm and the rest of the Warner Brothers animated unit tackled the DC superhero team known as the Justice League. Created for the Cartoon Network, this DVD covers the hour-long premiere episode which introduces the superteam. In order to protect Earth from an alien invasion, Batman, Superman and new ally Martian Manhunter must enlist the help of some of their fellow crimefighters to stave off the threat. But can the heroes mesh their rather different personalities in time to work as a team before it's too late? Despite having to juggle 7 main characters, JUSTICE LEAGUE proves to be another feather in Warner Brothers' cap. As always, the animation is especially vivid and the voice acting is solid. By now, Kevin Conroy can voice Batman in his sleep, but he still turns in a definitive turn in the role. Michael Rosenbaum (aka Lex Luthor in TV's SMALLVILLE) is fun as the smart-alecky Flash. Carl Lumbley (Jennifer Garner's agent partner on TV's ALIAS) is appropriately enigmatic as the Martian Manhunter. Obviously, because of the more globe-trotting/space-hopping nature of the series, this series is a tad brighter in tone from BATMAN:THE ANIMATED SERIES. But Timm and Co. never talks down to the audience. As a result, we get a series that provides solid entertainment. Despite the rather skimpy DVD features, this is definitely something for the comic-book hero fan to enjoy. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Justice League, November 12, 2004
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
I haven't watched this type of program since the late `60s, early `70s. I have fond memories of most DC comic heroes and was curious to see how they've evolved in one-plus generations.

My first impression was that the acceptable, if unspectacular, animation is much better than it was in the earlier incarnation, especially the backgrounds. Took me a while to get used to the exaggerated physiques and lunch-bucket jaws on the super heroes, especially Superman and Batman.

The story in JUSTICE LEAGUE is interesting and involving. Earth is invaded by an army from Mars who plan to block out the sun, subjugate the human race and take over the Earth for some nefarious reason or other. The writers cribbed a lot from H.G. Wells and a bit from latter-day science fiction to cobble this one together. The invaders speak tinny squeak talk and look like marshmallow blobs studded with nougats. A worthy test for this newly formed super hero league if ever there was one.

There's enough action to keep the kids interested and there's story enough to keep the adults quiet in their seats, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Justice Leauge - Not Just a Kid Show, July 25, 2004
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
There has been some disturbing reviews about the appearances and powers of the heros. For one thing, Wonder Woman is supposed to be taller than most of the men, she's an Amazon, she's not an oridinary human female. She also could fly in her original comic series, but later was reduced to long jumping in the TV series incarnation(Who's Who in the DC Universe, #4. Written by Mark Waid-DC Comics). Secondly, Superman is rather weak in a sense, he's defeated with just kyrptonite, but I can't agree with the reviewer who says the show portrays him as weak. On the contrary, the show portrays him to be rather arrogantly powerful because it is mostly him, who at the end of the day is strong enough and has the most indepth power to save the day. And that's the on-going machismo bickering that he and Batman battle with on nearly every episode as to whom can outwit and outmatch whom. Thirdly, I am disgusted to see a reviewer comment that Hawkgirl and the "black" Green Lantern are forced minorities? Have you not read DC comics Green Lantern series? The Green Lantern's powers were transfered into John Stewart in the early 70's premiering on January 1972 to be exact, so this character is not just a made up version of the Green Lantern--he has been this hero for the past 32 years. People if you are going to comment on this series...PLEASE know what you are talking about, because it makes you look foolish and it it does not help potential buyers who may shy away from buying this wonderful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Where's the Boxed Set?, February 5, 2004
By 
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
Justice League is the most faithful adaption to comic book characters ever aired on television. It's fun, without being kiddie,an engaging without any hint of campiness. There is an open respect from the creators for the characters and for the intelligence of the audience. This origin episode was a must have, but I have to confess that I have not purchased the other two because I am anxious for a boxed set of the entire seasons 1-2. The price of $16.00 for four episodes is a bit steep when considering what comparable boxed set would cost. C'mon, Warner Brothers, get on the stick! Collect this fantastic series as it wass meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-Packed Comic Book Fun, January 23, 2002
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
Wow! I was simply amazed by this series when it first premiered on Cartoon Network. Combining the personages of the world's greatest superheroes, Secret Origins Parts 1-3 introduces the team and introduces a threat that no one superhero can tackle. Any fan of the 1970's show "Superfriends" or of the comic books series in which these characters star will love and appreciate the intricacies and nuances of a team that, from this perspective, is off to an exciting start. A definite must see, the Justice League premiere is not only a great stand-alone movie, it introduces the world to a new and ongoing series on Cartoon Network AND is a great collectible! I say, if they keep making 'em this caliber, the golden age for comic fans has truly arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD STORY BUT LITTLE VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY, January 28, 2005
This review is from: Justice League - Secret Origins (DVD)
Justice league Secret Origins contains the three part story line where the Justice league came together for the very first time. The world has turned over its protection to Superman and disarmed. Now an alien race called the Imperium has decided that Earth would make a good colony for them and begin converting our atmosphere for their arrival. Superman and Batman rescue a Martian who has come to earth to warn the world about the invading aliens. This of course would be the powerful, shape-changing Martian Manhunter.

Soon the trio would be joined by several other of earths heroes including the Flash, Green lantern, Wonder Woman, and Hawk Girl as they eventually defeat the alien threat and the Justice League of America is born. Very enjoyable storyline with the animation quality we've come to expect from Warners. The voice talents are outstanding as usual and include Mark Hamill, Phil La Marr, Michael Rosenbaum, Gary Cole, Clancy Brown, and James Remarr.

The problem is why isn't Warners giving us the season one on DVD? I mean $12 or so for 3 episodes and just 60 minues is really weak. Add to that there's basically no extras you get a set that has very little value for the money. Hopefully they will wake up and give us a set with at least 15 to 20 episodes on it with solid extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Justice League - Secret Origins
Justice League - Secret Origins by Gardner Fox (DVD - 2004)
$14.97 $6.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.