Customer Reviews


309 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to start The New 52
An extremely FUN read. Just getting back into comics after 15 years, and was very intimidated, but the way DC structured the New 52 format is very new reader friendly.

Highly recommend this book as a starting point.
Published 22 months ago by Gonzo

versus
74 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You can call us... the Super Seven!"
- Green Lantern: "What are your powers anyway? You can't fly."
- Batman: "No."
- Green Lantern: "Super-strength?"
- Batman: "No."
- Green Lantern: "Hold on a second... You're not just some guy in a bat costume, are you? Are you freaking kidding me?!"

So when the hullabaloo's died down, what then? For a few months DC dominated the comic book...
Published on May 20, 2012 by H. Bala


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "You can call us... the Super Seven!", May 20, 2012
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
- Green Lantern: "What are your powers anyway? You can't fly."
- Batman: "No."
- Green Lantern: "Super-strength?"
- Batman: "No."
- Green Lantern: "Hold on a second... You're not just some guy in a bat costume, are you? Are you freaking kidding me?!"

So when the hullabaloo's died down, what then? For a few months DC dominated the comic book market with its new "no trunks" 52 relaunch, its cr@pload of number one issues compelling you and me and that hopeful speculator to empty out our pockets. DC's flagship title, JUSTICE LEAGUE, started off strong, as only a project could when helmed by Geoff Johns and the mighty, mighty Jim Lee. The near-irresistible hook presents us with these heroes meeting each other for the first time all over again, and most of them copping an attitude.

This inaugural story arc is set five years ago, in this reimagined universe. It's a time when DC's metahumans first burst onto the scene and were immediately viewed with suspicion and alarm by the populace. Except there's nothing like a global alien invasion to all of a sudden quell them pangs of mistrust.

It's a really promising start. The first four issues are helluva fun reads, mostly because we're eyeballing Jim Lee's dynamic classic artwork (he really does make Superman's metal-plated costume look good) and because we get to soak in these new again characters' awkward, prickly interactions with each other. The first issue, which features Batman and Green Lantern's frosty first meeting, establishes the tone. I get a big kick that each new hero then introduced would echo Green Lantern's natural curiosity in determining what Batman's super-powers are. Geoff Johns infuses these initial issues with a good amount of humor, mostly at the expense of the Dark Knight. Surprisingly, Superman takes a back seat, what with the other heroes itching to prove their badasssery (**coughGreenLanterncough**). FOr whatever reason, I like Wonder Woman's battle lust and smile at her sheer obliviousness (or is that naiveté?) at the snarky sausagefesting going on around her.

Ultimately, it all feels too pat, and progressive issues went on to erode my bump of fan joy. The good banter aside and once the initial excitement's died down for me, it turns out I have problems with certain elements of this arc. I'm a bit torn about Johns' use of decompression. On one hand, it makes sense that he'd take his time to showcase each character. For greater dramatic effect, in introducing the big guns, it may be best to pace out the issues. But, at the same time, there's this sense of water being treaded. I was enjoying the verbal back-and-forth and the posturing, but I also wanted for things to get a move on already.

I comprehend the need for a really big bad to match up against our heroes in their debut get-together, and certainly Darkseid is the biggest big bad in DC not named the Anti-Monitor. So it's disappointing that Johns didn't do his due diligence. Once the dust settles, what impression will readers - especially them new ones - take away from having seen this Darkseid in deliberate action? That he's got destructive eyebeams that crazy zigzag and relentlessly track their targets, yes. That he's a hulking brute that can stand toe to toe with Wonder Woman, certainly. But Johns doesn't build up enough to what separates Darkseid from other, more pedestrian super-villains. In these issues, there's no whiff of the scope of this dark god's depraved and cruel excesses. And other than one panel of the media reporting of these "boom tube" portals opening up around the world, there's no sense of the sheer scale of the global invasion or the devastation wreaked by Darkseid's hordes of para-demons. Payoff's kinda weak, yo.

I like Cyborg, but I like Cyborg in the Teen Titans, call it my old-school bias. Vic Stone's insertion into the Justice League is jarring. It feels forced, as if the DC folks took a peek over at Marvel and noted how this guy, Luke Cage, was having such a strong and prominent role in the Avengers. I really like the old Cyborg. I want to like this Cyborg. Except I feel that Geoff Johns is forcibly spoonfeeding me this version of him. It makes me snarl.

Okay, here's a big honking SPOILERS alert...

I absolutely do NOT buy Batman's revealing of his Bruce Wayne identity to Green Lantern. I feel that that was done too soon. Yes, the world is being threatened, but, even in this so far Frank Miller-less reboot, Batman must surely still foster a healthy bump of paranoia. You'd think Batman would be resourceful enough to arrive at a pep talk that doesn't involve his having to unmask in order to motivate GL to get with the program. This totally took me out of the story.

There, end of SPOILERS.

JUSTICE LEAGUE Vol. 1: ORIGIN collects issues #1-6 and offers the following bonus stuff:

- variant cover gallery
- Jim Lee's cover progression from first sketch to finished product
- Transcript of Amanda Waller's interview with Capt. Steve Trevor concerning Wonder Woman and other debuting meta-humans
- Excerpts from David Graves' book THE SECRET HISTORY OF ATLANTIS
- early Jim Lee sketches
- 4 entries from the S.T.A.R. Labotaries employee dossier
- Justice League sketchbook: art by Cully Hamner and Francis Manapul, based on Jim Lee's designs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to start The New 52, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League, Vol. 1: Origin (The New 52) (Paperback)
An extremely FUN read. Just getting back into comics after 15 years, and was very intimidated, but the way DC structured the New 52 format is very new reader friendly.

Highly recommend this book as a starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spetacular Collection, July 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Justice League, Vol. 1: Origin (The New 52) (Paperback)
As an introduction into the new Justice league of the new 52, this collection stands well on its own, bringing you into a realistic world in which meta humans and superheroes are not the saviors of the day like in the old gold and silver age comics, but instead are regarded with fear. The early stages of the book are well paced, slowly bringing together the team, and providing a well fleshed out and emotional origin for Cyborg. All in all the feel of the store is reminiscent of the secret origins from the JLA cartoon of the early 2000's. Which is not a bad thing...

The story is fast paced, and quick witted, pitting hero against hero before they must band together to fight a much greater threat, and ultimately leading to the formation of the JLA in the post Flashpoint universe. The book perfectly ends setting up for the follow up of VOL 2, and hits at further characters, and the inclusion of some might be villains. The art is fantastic, like much of the new 52, and the story is developed, with well rounded characters, and each of the major players having their own part to play. the one thing i would have liked to see more of was the new Aquaman, who unlike the rest seems to show up in the middle of the climax, with no backstory beyond one line of why he is there in the first place.

All in all this is a book i would recommend to both newcomers, and fans of the JLA like myself, who have been reading since the time of Infinite Crisis, and the original Secret Origins. i for one will stay tuned for what is to come in this possible flagship series of DC's new 52 universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor product for a relaunch **SPOILERS**, June 19, 2012
By 
Joseph Kennedy (Des Moines, IA, US) - See all my reviews
The New 52 relaunch by DC has met with a flurry of response covering the full range from excellent to terrible. In my own opinion, I'd say it lands in between.

For the artwork, the book is very solid. Jim Lee brings out the feel of the characters and the monstrous looks of their enemies. Occasionally the backgrounds do not feel well realized but that is his style which works for him.

The story is where the title fumbles greatly. The pacing of the book left much to be desired. While a decompressed storytelling is popular nowadays, this felt practically unstructured. Reading the book, it was more like waiting until the final page to have something happen. I found myself having to flip back a page or two just to verify I didn't miss something. Really a poor read in general which is surprising because I've enjoyed Geoff Johns over the years. He had been excellent with the JSA and Green Lantern titles, so I am so confused by some of the choices he went with in this opening story arc.

***The Spoilers***

Two huge issues that I have with the story --

1) Heroes don't kill - The foes that they fought (parademons) are living beings. Yet, these heroes attack savagely, killing these opponents. I may be old fashioned, but to me, that is completely wrong for these characters. Superman shouldn't swing a bus through a group, leaving a trail of bleeding body parts in his wake nor Aquaman stabbing his trident through a creature's head. It's not what I feel like these character's represent.

2) Batman taking of his cowl - I really do not get why Batman kept taking his mask off with people he just met. The story is set as the first meeting between these heroes, so there is no additional connection between anyone. To have Batman take off the mask in front of them at this point makes no sense. Maybe after the years it can be done (I would recommend reading Tower of Babel and Divided We Fall for an excellent two story arc run on why the shedding of the cowl can be done right) but as of right now, that move was poorly timed and executed.

***End of Spoilers***

If you are brand new to DC and wanting to read a book containing the heavyweights of the universe, this is the book you should read. You will get what you want out of it. Now if you are not new to DC or looking for a strong story, this isn't where you should go to. There are many other trades from the "old DC" that will have more appeal that this one. Both Jim Lee and Geoff Johns have done better elsewhere, and those books should be sought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice league, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good start for the justice league. If you like dc pick this up you won't be sorry. Great artwork blew my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wait what?, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I picked this up because i am really intrigued about the new 52 in general. I think they did a wonderful job in introducing each character in case you aren't reading their individual stories, and making them work work together in a way that makes sense with the plot. Its a fun read and i look forward to further antics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought it was an interesting book. This was the first comic I've read since I was 6-8. I'm not the conventional comic fan but I bought this book to help with an advertising assignment for my college. They asked me how I'd make a Justice League film and how I would market it. It provided me with insight on how the justice league was formed and gave me several good ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You're looking at The New 52's greatest disappointment.,, August 12, 2014
This review is from: Justice League, Vol. 1: Origin (The New 52) (Paperback)
Originally written 1-27-13

Batman is pursuing someone via rooftop and hot on both of their heels are the police. The police see them both as a threat therefore they press their attack. Green Lantern arrives to help Batman, but they lose track of their target. They catch up with him and learn that the suspect is an alien, and because of this they believe it's some how linked to Superman. This takes them to Metropolis where they confront The Man of Steel. -summary

Justice League Vol: 1 Origins happens to be the flagship title of DC's New 52 reboot. Apparently this was the project DC wanted to be headed by their biggest star writer Geoff Johns, along with superstar artist whom always brings his A-game Jim Lee. I probably wouldn't be wrong if I said this is the book more than 90% of DC comic fans were looking forward to, because this was pretty much going to set the tone for this new reboot. To date, the reception has been mixed and for very good reasons. To me, like Superman: Action Comics Vol. 1, Justice League embodies everything wrong with DC and then some. The title feels terribly forced, it's all flash and no substance, and I warn long time fans not to come into this title expecting some of the great things they saw in Grant Morrison's JLA run. This TPB collects issues 1 - 6.

The plot begins when the future JLA members meet through various circumstances, and they soon find themselves in battle with the Parademons from Apokolips whom are on a rampage on Earth. This battle eventually leads to a confrontation with their ruler Darkseid.

After following Geoff Johns work through his Green Lantern run and his decent work across Justice Society. It actually bothers me to even think that this was a phoned in job, but that's exactly what this is. I mean almost from start to finish this story just screamed weak and uninspired; it's pretty much unacceptable by the standards Johns set for himself. The characters for the most part are bland stereotypes, and the story is fueled by the most annoying cliches in comics. The characters meet, bicker, fight a threat, then the grand threat appears, you know the drill. There's no sense of urgency or even the slightest amount of build up. It's so by the numbers, it's simplicity at its absolute worst. Darkseid is easily the greatest recurring threat in the pages of DC. He has owned Superman in one on one battle, and he "killed" Batman. He has a lot of depth to his character that can't be summed up in so few pages. He's not just another villain filling a role. Unfortunately, when newbies get done with this book, that's exactly what they're going to think. Why should anyone be looking forward to his next appearance?

I really didn't like some of the characterization in this story. Wonder Woman is too one dimensional here, and Batman simply just does the unthinkable. The injection of Cyborg into the Justice League couldn't feel anymore forced. It's as if DC took a look over there at Marvel's New Avengers and saw the building popularity of Luke Cage. Thus, giving it a run here hoping for the same effect. Unlike Cage though, Cyborg totally feels like the token black guy. Call me old school, but I liked him better with the Teen Titans. The story is so badly written in many areas; supposedly during Darkseid's invasion of the Earth, the planet was being bombarded globally by Boom Tubes, in which these are teleportation devices used to transport his troops. There is like no broad scope of this threat whatsoever, so you never really get the full, "this is the end" feel. It's a plot device that isn't really taken anywhere.

The story isn't completely terrible, as Johns at least delivers with some fan service by giving fans some decent confrontations. I liked his portrayal of Superman here a lot, as he's a living powerhouse, almost appearing to be an unstoppable force of nature; this is something that has been missing from the character for quite some time. Green Lantern was no match for him, which is something I did enjoy watching. And to the disappointement of the Batman fans, well... come on people. Did you honestly think the Bat would match up against Superman in the heat of battle like that? Plus Johns definitely earns some cool points for making Aquaman look awesome. I did not expect that.

The true saving grace is Jim Lee's artwork. His character designs and backgrounds have always been something to write home about and it's no different here. Everyone looks awesome and even though I don't dig Superman with the armor, it still looks too cool. Darkseid is the best of the bunch though, he's actually scary looking; he's very large with a truly demonic appearance as if he came straight from hell and not another planet. The action panels are very fun to look at, and even though Superman and Aquaman are great here, it's Green Lantern who steals the show with a variety of different constructs created by his ring. Justice League is mediocrity at its finest, but it can be damn fun mediocrity though.

Justice League: Origins is overall a very shallow read. It feels like a movie script Michael Bay would probably be proud of. The reason I say "probably", is because it doesn't have enough lame and pointless comedy to be something he would truly gush over. As an origin story and something meant to appeal to newbies I guess it works. The artwork is indeed very flashy and there's lots of action. If that's what you're looking for then this book is for you. To those who read this book and disliked it, please don't use this book as a reason to avoid The New 52. There are some very good stories in the line up, with Batman: Court of the Owls and Aquaman: The Trench being two of the most notable.

Pros: Gorgeous artwork

Cons: Weak story, cardboard characters and weak characterization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Intro, Lots of Action, January 2, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
DC’s The New 52 has hit the ground running, splitting the fan base to a degree, but raising the sales overall, which is a good thing for comics. With all the superhero movies doing so well at the theaters these days, the spillover is a blessing in the medium.

I have to admit, I wasn’t comfortable with the idea of throwing out all the previous history of my favorite characters, and it took a while for me to come around to sticking my toes in the water. And I also have to admit that I’m enjoying most of the stuff that’s going on. It’s just … different, but some of it (like Aquaman) is amazing.

Geoff Johns, long a favorite writer of mine, created the whole concept as I understand it, but left the re-creation of the individual character to the writer/artist teams for the most part. Justice League didn’t arrive in the first wave of DC’s The New 52. DC waited a while to let the reinvented characters make themselves known, which I think was a smart idea.

This new origin story for the Justice League is commendable. Like the Gardner F. Fox story that started the original team-up back in Brave & the Bold #28 in the 1950s. The menace then was, like Dardseid in this book, an otherworldly menace and featured pretty much the same characters. Superman, Batman, Flash, Green Lantern, Wonder Woman, and Aquaman were all there, but the Martian Manhunter was replaced by Cyborg in this latest incarnation.

I’m not even going to go into what’s been done to the Martian Manhunter in this revamped world. That’s one of the things I’m not particularly happy about. J’onn J’onzz was a favorite of mine when I was a kid. Don’t know why especially, but he was.

I like this graphic novel. Lots of action, lots of characters, lots of really good dialogue. Batman and Green Lantern duking it out, then arguing is really cool. Both of those characters are well done. Aquaman, of course, is just freaking amazing, but I was familiar with the character from those graphic novels I read (which is really great stuff and I can’t recommend it enough). Wonder Woman seemed a little thin character-wise, just not developed enough. Flash was pretty much what I remember from Johns’s take on him in Rebirth and Flashpoint, and I was happy with him. Superman is just a cipher, really flat, and Victor Stone (Cyborg) was a sad sack who somehow translated into a sudden genius with all the replaced body parts.

I had some problems with some of the story points, like Batman snatching Green Lantern’s ring away at one point (don’t think the ring would allow itself to be stolen – cars have alarms on them, and they’re certainly not as sophisticated), and there was no reason for Batman to reveal his secret identity to GL when he did. Batman has always been the most secret identity conscious of all the heroes in my opinion.

Victor’s relationship with his father is just too much of a downer in some respects. If this is what they’d always had between them, Victor would have given up long before now and gone his own way. And the whole curveball of throwing the alien hardware on Victor after his accident just seemed to be too easy. There was no real explanation that carried weight for me, just a, here’s your origin story. I prefer my Cyborg to be more cerebral than Victor seems to be here.

But the story comes together in the battle against Darkseid and Apokolips. As I said, I enjoyed the action and the pacing. The book is a good read, but I think it’s best if you read some of the solo adventures of the heroes in this new world before you dive into this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Place To Jump On!, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
DC Comics chose a great team in Geoff Johns and Jim Lee to "relaunch" their line of comics. Johns continues to grow as a writer/creator with each project he takes on. I am an unabashed Jim Lee fan. I read everything he does and he does not disappoint with Justice League! It was truly enjoyable to see Jim's extended take on characters other than Batman and Superman. Again, if someone wants to jump into DC's new universe, Justice League Vol. 1: Origin is the place to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Justice League, Vol. 1: Origin (The New 52)
Justice League, Vol. 1: Origin (The New 52) by Jim Lee (Paperback - February 5, 2013)
$16.99 $8.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.