Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Justified: Season 3 [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11,011
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$13.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 24, 2013
The main 'villian' in this season is a bit over the top, almost cartoonish, which somehow made the show less enjoyable for me this year. If you liked other seasons, you will like this one too. However, if you are new to the show, definitely watch season 1 and 2 - they are much better!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
Sorry to say this season was a step down for Justified. The whole season was slow and cleary the writers were running out of ideas. Raylan got mean, the Limehouse character was stiff it was tiresome to see him waving around a knife cutting up pigs in every show. Boyd and Eva got a little tiresome. Quarlles was fun to watch throughout, but the penchant for tying up pretty boys??..... Why??? This is really a 2.5 season but you cant do half stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
Mags Bennett is the elephant in the room. Mags dominated season 2 of JUSTIFIED, and season 3 found itself in need of a antagonist after the end of the second season. This season of JUSTIFIED is great, but it doesn't quite live up to the expectations it created for itself after the fantastic sophomore season. Like previous seasons, the first 6 episodes are episodic and standalone in nature, but this opens up as the plot gets thicker to more serialized installments.

The season opens with a rogue's gallery of new villains who are fighting for control of Harlan's crime scene. Season 3 serves as a battle royale for these antagonists, as the scene quickly becomes a fight to be the last man standing. Twists, turns, and treachery are abound, especially in the latter half of the season. Fans of previous episodes will not be disappointed with new developments; the writing and dialogue is still fantastic, the cinematography is still wonderful, and the acting is still terrific. Timothy Olyphany, Nick Searcy, Walton Goggins, and the new villains are all a joy to watch on screen.

My biggest complaint for this season involves some convolution towards the end of the season (the writers' instincts are usually very good, but in a few instances, they fail), but I can't really go into it here without spoilers.

I'd recommend this series to fans of BREAKING BAD, SONS OF ANARCHY, and THE WIRE; importantly, the first two seasons should probably be watched before jumping into this one though! Stand out episodes are "Thick as Mud" and "Guy Walks into a Bar."
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
As much as I love Neal McDonough as an actor I can't get past his character being so demented. There's just nothing okay with a guy who abuses young men the way he does, I don't care why he does it. I know this stuff happens in life (sadly), but I don't want to see it on TV. I haven't watched the season past episode 10 and I barely made it to that point. They missed the mark on this character in my opinion. Also, the liberal use of the GD word is frustrating. I just don't find it necessary at all and it's offensive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
Several years ago we began watching "Justified" because of Timothy Olyphant's lead role. We loved him in HBO's "Deadwood" and were anxious to see him in a somewhat similar role. But watching it on cable TV with a dozen interruptions for commercials just ruined it for us and we finally gave up after about half of the season. Our wait was rewarded when we purchased an Amazon Fire Stick and started watching the show with our Prime account.

Timothy Olyphant is so right for this role - and it is reminiscent of his Deadwood performance. Not only that, but from time to time we will see other actors from that great series as well such as Jim Beaver. The casting is near perfect and is full of surprises such as seeing "Bubba Shrimp" showing up as a leader of a group of African-American ne'er do-wells (mostly, but not always) who show up later in the series to complicate Marshal Raylin Givens daily life.

Along with the excellent casting the location filming is also excellent. The Kentucky "hill country" is true to the actual locations, even though much of the show is filmed in southern California. The special effects are believable and version shown on Prime most of the "adult" scenes are presented naturally and mostly uncut, although actual sex and full nudity is implied and not shown to a point of grossness. In other words, your mature teenager could watch this show and not be damaged for life.

If you like classic westerns in the Clint Eastwood and Sam Peckinpah style, you should enjoy the general flow and storylines of "Justified."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
This third season is crucial now the main gang has lost their head, their chief. The only actors are the black gang and Crowder’s gang that has recuperated Arlo Givens, Raylan’s father. The new element that is going to animate the whole season is the arrival of the son of a Detroit gangster, rejected by his own father and who is playing the carpetbagger of the 21st century in Kentucky. That means this season is going to be business as usual in an unusual circumstantial situation with the invasive action of an invader from the North who does not seem to know how things are going down South.

Locally we only have one element that has some deeper meaning: the sheriff of the main county of the action has to face re-election. Boyd Crowder and his gang decide to play their pack of cards to get their own man elected. The Detroit invader tries to pay the incumbent sheriff to keep him in office. In fact the election is very tricky and the result is astounding. We must always consider being a newcomer in an elective job is necessarily a handicap but American elections are full of surprises. Remember the 2000 presidential election “won” by decision of the Supreme Court who stopped the recounting of several millions of votes that were not exactly correct. No allusion of course to rigged elections of any sort that are not possible in the USA: that’s typical of third world countries or Asia or Europe, hence of everywhere except the USA.

The second question is the place of a black gang among several white gangs in the South. Segregation is still real and effective though now some members of the black gang are not that clean or faithful as for their own gang and they may give some information to the other side, turning a tricky situation into a very messy situation.

What’s left then if the social and cultural issues are rather light?

Some good intentions that are both illegal and ethical but they create more problems than the conflicts they may solve. The objective is not to shoot all gangsters down, but to put them in prison, at least for a while, and if they have to be shot, they must not be shot dead. That’s the real problem for Raylan Givens, but he seems to be becoming civilized.

The season then ends on a good fine rich situation since most gangsters are eliminated, except one, the black piggy bank is broken and the content is brought to light from the depth of the stomach of this piggy bank and Raylan visits his ex-wife who is presently pregnant with his own child to make sure she is OK at her sister’s where she found refuge from the saucy bullet-ridden situation at “home,” if a police corps is a home of any kind.

So we end without a cliff hanger really but with a nearly cleaned up plate. So how are they going to renew the situation to have new “adventures” in this southern jungle to put on the platter of next season?

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
I cannot say enough about the writing and the character interplay of Justified. This season has seen some great new characters, led by the sociopath, Robert Quarles, played to perfection by Neal McDonough, and the King Solomon-like Ellstin Limehouse (Mykelti Williamson) a butcher/BBQ owner and keeper of secrets of Harlan County. We are introduced to Limehouse and the people of Noble's Holler, a town run by African-Americans and a place of refuge for people in trouble; Limehouse supposedly holds the last of Bennet money that Dickie Bennet so desperately wants to recoup. Season 3 is not as crisp as Season 2, mainly because there is less of Boyd Crowder. Any time Boyd (Walter Goggins) has dialogue with an antagonist like Dickie Bennett, Limehouse, or Raylan,, it is just such infectious and so brilliant. The only other issue with the season is that the writers have added so many different characters. It is a difficult balancing act, but they are up to the task. Quarles, by far, is such an over the top character and he just chews up any scene he is in. Quarles needed more exchanges with Boyd, but alas, that will probably not happen. BTW, there is a twist at the end of the season you probably won't see coming. Once again, Justified reins as my favorite drama on T.V. and is not getting enough attention.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
And it's there I read on a hillside gravestone,
"You will never leave Harlan alive” - Brad Paisley tagline to Episode 7, Season 2

Five AWARD-WINNING Stars! Season Three of the Peabody Award-winning FX Channel Production of “Justified” stars the talented actor Timothy Olyphant and the writers ramp up the action from Season 1 and 2 introducing new characters among the familiar faces and some very surprising shifting situations and personal relationships. “Justified” is based on the short story “Fire In The Hole" by the acclaimed novelist and executive producer Elmore Leonard who helped expand that story with writer/TV developer Graham Yost into a marvelous TV police drama. Reassigned to an eastern Kentucky US Marshall Office following his involvement in a shooting in Miami Florida that gained national attention, Deputy US Marshall Raylan Givens (Timothy Olyphant) is now on the staff of the head marshall played by Nick Searcy (7 Days) that serves an area that includes Harlan County, Kentucky which at times resembles the Old West. Raylan knows the Harlan County area only too well since he grew up there.

Full of conflicts between the friends, family, gangs, dirty cops, skin heads, con men, hot women, the ubiquitous Crowder and Givens family members, prostitutes, a great acting turn by the irrepressible Neal McDonough (Boomtown), and the fabulous Mykelti Williams (Forest Gump) who is the tough patriarch of a crime family. The writers get off some great 'laugh out loud' moments amid the gore and some of the best writing on TV. There are two moments in Episode 12 that may cause the viewer to gasp with shock. This show is marvelous in an often-understated, always deliberately-paced manner with the occasional gun play along the way. Episode 8 is also especially remarkable as things start coming apart. Also featuring Joelle Carter, Jacob Pitts, Erica Tazel, Natalie Zea, an over-the-top role by Jeremy Davies (Lost), Joseph Lyle Taylor, Kaitlyn Dever, a sensational Emmy award-nominated role by Walton Goggins as Boyd Crowder, and an excellent group of supporting actors. Developed for TV by Graham Yost. My Highest Recommendation. Five ADDICTIVE Stars. (Amazon Instant Video. FX Productions. Rated TV-MA for language and violence, Color, CC, 13 episodes. This is Season 3 of 6 seasons.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
i have been viewing this show's all three seasons in one big gulp via my computer with instant viewing. it has been a great viewing experience. every season only improves on the one before it. this is so because the series is superbly written and acted. as usual, timothy olyphant as the deputy Marshall and Walton Scoggins as his foil are just brilliant. it would be a huge mistake to lose either one as a character. However, every other character in this drama is its own mini study in character acting.

front and center this time is that the criminal Bennett family, of whom only Dickie survives, supposedly left hidden a huge cache of money. everyone wants to find this and they assume only dickie knows where it is. dealing with dickie, however, is an exercise in supreme frustration as he usually behaves like the byproduct of too many generations of backwoods inbreeding. his closest friend, with the complete loss of his family, has become Dewey Crowe played by Damon Harriman. Harriman turns in the comic performance of the year as the most hapless criminal in the universe. Convinced his kidneys have been cut out to be sold to transplant criminals, he goes on a crime spree to buy back his kidneys, of which he thinks he has four! harriman really is deserving of an emmy for his performance this season.

we also experience thugs from outside trying to muscle in on the money in criminal actions in eastern kentucky. they make the usual mistake, underestimating the locals, who have grown up with shotguns in their hands it seems as soon as they were able to stand and walk. muscling in as an outsider with this clannish set of murderous folk is a course fraught with peril that none of these outside badmen seem able to perceive until it is too late.

if you are taken with the theme song, as i was, it is, of all things, bluegrass rap. the song is LONG HARD TIMES TO COME by Gangstagrass with T.O.N.E Z.

i don't want to give too much away here so i will simply conclude by saying this is must see television, deserving of every accolade being heaped upon it.

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
I don't like rednecks and I loath their ethos; so, I really enjoy watching Raylan shoot them. He seldom uses one bullet and, if you listen carefully, you might hear the "blooshhh" sound as one of his hollow points blows through a shit-kickers corpus. I loved it when he shot Boyd Crowder and look forward to him shooting Ava Crowder. Justified delivers what I want. Raylan, a smart ass, US Marshall with a tripple digit IQ shoots red necks who have double digit IQ's. Justified is an addictive beer drinking, peanut chomping series.
The women in Justified are all lame-brained, drunken sluts who are so impulsive that they almost never do anything that makes any sense at all: that's true to life. The men are all half-wit, drunken, career criminals. They don't plan; they scheme. They don't have any solutions to life's challenges; they only have scams. Once again, the writers of this series have hit the nail on the head.
Many people may miss the "Road Runner" Cartoon influence on the show's writers. That's on a murky,deep, Freudian level, but Boyd and his moron companions, "Arol", "Devil", "Colt", have their "Wiley Coyote" moments; while Raylan has his "RoadRunner" moments. Think APEX dynamite, cliff top, ambush, explosion, "Wiley Coyote" being blown through a building leaving an exact cut out of his body in the side of the structure. There is a definite cartoon undertow to JUSTIFIED.
In addition to the joy I get when Raylon shreds a hill billy, I get as much out of the excellent character portrayals. One of my favorites is a skinny, sociopath with a grotesque limp. The writers wrote perfect dialog and he acts what they wrote so well that I could almost smell the boiled peanuts on his breath. I'm hooked because the writers, actors, and producers of this first rate show consistently give me 3-D characters in acting in believable plots. I'd swear I can almost hear the JOHN'S fart when they finish with the whores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.