Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best cocktail books I've ever seen, January 10, 2011
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
If you're searching for a high-caliber book of tiki cocktail recipes, look no further. Kevin has spent a lot of time creating cocktails that are unlike anything you've ever tasted before. The book itself is a quality design - recipes with full color pictures on heavy stock, that is spiral-bound for easy access while mixing drinks. These are not 'girly drinks' - they use delicious blends of ingredients to produce wonderful (and sometimes high-octane) cocktails that will make you the star of your bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to buy more rum with Kahuna Kevin's fantastic recipes!, January 8, 2011
By 
LARRY DEXTER (PHOENIX, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
Got a copy of Kahuna Kevin's Tiki-Licious Rum Cocktails and these libations will impress your taste buds and friends! Great drinks for the tiki fan or somebody who just needs a little tropical paradise in their life! Get your copy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent High End Cocktail Book, January 6, 2011
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
If you are searching for the perfect rum tropical cocktail, look no further than this book. Kevin has put his knowledge, expertise, art and love into these 40 cocktails. The artwork is awesome as well. If you are looking to go beyond that simple mai tai, this is the book for you. I can't wait to make all 40!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for those who craft cocktails..., March 1, 2011
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
Kahuna Kevin's Why Is The Rum Gone? is highly recommended for those who craft cocktails. The recipes require a well stocked bar but are worth the investment! I frequent most of the Los Angeles Tiki haunts and Kevin delivers some fine beverages unlike any other. Recommend for any aspiring tiki mixologist and seasoned one alike. Nice artwork and photos with a clean layout. Printed on high quality thick stock with 'stay open' spiral binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kahuna Kevin puts the Exotic back in Cocktails, March 1, 2011
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
Looking for a great cocktail book? Want to impress your friends with cocktails they won't get at any bar? Just like tiki mixology in general? Then you need this book. Kahuna Kevin shows that he can craft a full line of exotic cocktails that follow the old masters. Fresh ingredients, no substitutions, and plenty of creativity blend to form drinks you have not tried anywhere else. Listen to the Zen Tiki Lounge podcast for a review of three of the great cocktails in Kahuna Kevin's book. Visit [...] and check out podcasts 202, 203 and 204.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know why all the rum has gone!, April 22, 2013
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
Kahuna Kevin's book takes tiki cocktail standards like Mai-Tai's and Zombies and knocks them on their ass! I picked up this book and started making the drinks page by page. I haven't found one I didn't like. While some of the ingredients aren't always easy to come by, anyone with access to a good liquor store and the internet can find a substitute or make it from scratch. These exotic drinks are delicious, and in some cases powerful! The artwork and photography is well-done and the recipes are easy to follow as long as you haven't been sampling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely worth it, January 23, 2013
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
great book with awesome recipes. lots of details to really help beginners with making the drinks. high quality material that doesn't tear or get ruined when you spill like some of my other recipe books. the book will require some spending at the liquor store but having a stocked up bar is always nice. stop reading this review and just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs some exotic cocktails in their lives :o), January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
Fantastic Cocktail book. Great for having friends round and trying new cocktails. Good book for the Tiki lover. Buy it and try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are going to need more Rum!, September 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
I had been hearing about Kevin's work for a while and was interested in exploring some of his tastes creations. I ordered a copy off Amazon.com and have to say I am very pleased with the book. I enjoy Kevin's no substitutions, no apologies approach to creating the drinks in his book. His take no prisoners Tiki mixologist with a Punk Rock attitude gives this guide a vibe that I had not seen before in a cocktail book. This unapologetic approach is seen on every page from the introduction, recipes, to the final Thank you. This approach is one of the main reasons I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to improve their repertoire of drinks. You will find no classic cocktails in these pages but 40 new drink creations that are as delightful as they are complicated. My only problem with the book is some of the ingredients are very difficult to procure and may or may not involve rums available in your state or region of the world. Be prepared to spend at least 200 dollars on rums and ingredients if you want to create them with no substitutions.

Do not let the 25.99 price tag get in your way. The glossy spiral bound volume, liquid resistant cocktail exploration is just what you need on the table when you want to mix to impress or sharpen your mixing skills. The pictures are sharp and nice confirmation when the drink you mixed and the one on the recipe match. I am really impressed with how much time and dedication went into the different cocktails recipes as well as the well thought out design of the book. I look forward to reading volume 2 when it is released.

For more Rum related reviews and travel check out Rumjourney.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of original, innovative, complex and tasty recipes!, August 19, 2011
By 
Rawim (Palmdale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 (Paperback)
The newer cocktail books of the Tiki genre seem to fall into one of two categories nowadays, one type of book tends to be a well researched tome of full old tiki drink recipes. The drinks crafted by the patriarchs of tiki decades ago and secretly passed down until revealed today in all their glory. The other type of book is usually a kitschy collection of (Usually over) simple and (Usually over) sweet recipes complied for the casual home drinker who doesn't want to spend the time or the money to craft truly complex and tasty drinks.

This is where Kahuna Kevin comes in and offers us a glorious and refreshing third-way in "Why is the Rum Gone?" Kevin has taken up the banner of the tiki drink-makers of old by crafting original, innovative, complex and most importantly tasty rum based cocktails. The drinks in his book are not for the faint of heart or weak of liver. You will often have drinks with over ten ingredients, and many a time they will call for somewhat obscure (Yet still readily available online and in big liquor stores) ingredients. But when the long and winding recipes are followed you are often treated to magical and mysterious rum based libation that is sure to put your mind at ease and liver on red alert.

My only mild criticism of the book and its recipes is that author is very specific in his ingredients, almost always requesting certain brands and ages of rums, syrups and mixers. While this is good for providing an accurate replication of the drink as it was developed in the Kahuna's Tiki Test Labs is can make some drinks a daunting task to round up all the required recipes. Perhaps calling for slightly more generalized genres of rum would make for a more accessible and serviceable ingredients list.

But baring that one suggestion I am very impressed with Kahuna Kevin's book and the included recipes. With forty original concoctions from the "Addled Wench" to the "Unassuming Bastard" you are sure to find something to tickle the taste buds, soothe the nerves and probably kill some brain cells too. I encourage you to pick up this book if you want some truly original tiki cocktail recipes made in the spirit of what the original tiki drink makers had in mind for their drinks and their patrons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1
KAHUNA KEVIN'S Why Is The Rum Gone? Tiki Cocktail Bar Guide - Vol 1 by Kevin La Bounty (Paperback - January 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.